tr1ad wrote:A "world phone" is always much more expensive
Their prices are comparable and not too bad as they intend to make a profit
And it's a fact some prefer a mobile operator outlet warranty than a kiosk warranty
Strauss wrote:Google Says It Will Stop Supporting Gmail App for BlackBerry
Nov. 9 (Bloomberg) -- Google Inc., the maker of Android software for mobile phones, said it will stop supporting the Gmail application for rival BlackBerry smartphones, made by Research In Motion Ltd.
The app for Google’s Web-based e-mail will no longer be available as of Nov. 22 and won’t be supported after that, the Mountain View, California-based company said in a blog posting. Users may continue to use the app if already downloaded, Google said.
RIM is struggling to find ways to stop a decline in smartphone market share as customers increasingly opt for Android devices or Apple Inc.’s iPhone. Google’s move is an inconvenience for BlackBerry users with a Gmail account who want to access those messages on the go and also a signal to RIM more than anything else, said analyst Roger Entner.
FULL STORY:
http://www.businessweek.com/news/2011-1 ... berry.html
Strauss wrote:It's been a rough year for RIM.
I don't totally buy into pulling gmail because they are competitors. If that was the case, there'd be no google apps for the iPhone.
It could be that Blackberry's share of the pie is becoming so relatively small, that perhaps it doesn't make sense to develop an app for the minority.
This! My bold fall down countless stairs and still running like ah monster. I doh think i could do that with my droid when i buy it. A case wld be in effect for thatStrauss wrote:^^^Could be just bad luck.
Their phones always took a beating and kept going, even with buttons missing and cracked screens.
Strauss wrote:^^^Could be just bad luck.
I'm not a BB user anymore (not for a long time), but their phones always took a beating and kept going, even with buttons missing and cracked screens.
Is this the first BlackBerry with the QNX OS?
We've just gotten a look at what might be the first-ever photo of the next iteration of BlackBerry devices (based on the QNX operating system), and we wanted to share. The phone you see in the picture above is apparently dubbed the BlackBerry "London" (this could be a variant of the BBX, but that's unconfirmed), and is said to be headed for a June 2012 release. The phone allegedly is equipped with a TI OMAP dual-core CPU clocked to 1.5GHz, 1GB of RAM, 16GB of onboard storage, an 8-megapixel rear camera, and a 2-megapixel front-facing shooter. The London is reportedly "thinner than the iPhone 4" and roughly the same size as a Galaxy S II (though our source didn't say which S II specifically). Oddly, the source says that the phone can be stood straight up on one of its sides (suggesting more boxiness than can be seen in the picture).
As you can see, the phone is running some variation of the PlayBook's operating system, though coloring and icons have definitely been tweaked. For instance, the music app icon looks more like an evolution of the note you see on the PlayBook's version (this time appearing overlaid onto an optical disc). Our source says the phone shown was a "dummy" model, so it's likely the screen is nothing more than a static image.
What's strange about the phone design is that it closely resembles RIM's Porsche Design P9981. Given the source of this image, it's possible that this is also a Porsche-designed BlackBerry destined for countries other than the US or Canada. We're told that RIM is also showing off two lower-end devices, as well as the next version of the Torch, which is said be "very thin" with a 3.7-inch display and slide-out keyboard.
Even though we did multiple passes on this image for Photoshop and / or rendering artifacts, this could ultimately be someone's hilarious idea of joke. It's also possible that this is a prototype or concept design, and won't make its way to production. Still, given the detail in the image and some of the information we were given to back it up, we believe there's truth to this story. We're pounding the pavement for more info as we type, so stay tuned for updates as we get them.
The Verge
dan80 wrote:This! My bold fall down countless stairs and still running like ah monster. I doh think i could do that with my droid when i buy it. A case wld be in effect for thatStrauss wrote:^^^Could be just bad luck.
Their phones always took a beating and kept going, even with buttons missing and cracked screens.
The already troubled (and much respected by me in person) RIM has shown its cards by an unprecedented move that would strengthen the dwindling trust of people in this once-upon-a-time-in-corporate-world-ruled-BlackBerry.
RIM is moving on to a more diverse and multi platform mobile device management. The new technology, called the BlackBerry Mobile Fusion, allows businesses and government organisations to manage smartphones and tablets running not only the BlackBerry OS but also Android and iOS.
This move comes as an acknowledgement by RIM on how diverse the corporate world is becoming with each passing days. We must not forget that more than 90 per cent of Fortune 500 companies provision BlackBerry devices.
RIM’s VP for enterprise product management and marketing Alan Panezic said in a statement
It provides the necessary management capabilities to allow IT departments to confidently oversee the use of both company-owned and employee-owned mobile devices within their organisations.
The service makes use of BlackBerry Enterprise Server technology, allowing admins to manage devices using a single web-based console. It provides asset and configuration management, security policy definition, remote lock and wipe, connectivity management and scalability.
The whole exercise is still in Beta phase, but we are pretty sure this would hit the real world soon.
The press release is as follows:
RIM Announces BlackBerry Mobile Fusion – The Next Generation Enterprise Mobility Solution for BlackBerry, Android and iOS Smartphones and Tablets
Simplifies Management of Smartphones and Tablets for Business and Government
Waterloo, ON – Research In Motion (RIM) (NASDAQ: RIMM; TSX: RIM) today introduced BlackBerry® Mobile Fusion – the Company’s next-generation enterprise mobility solution and RIM’s entry into the multi-platform Mobile Device Management (MDM) marketplace. Building on years of leading enterprise mobility management solutions from RIM, BlackBerry Mobile Fusion will simplify the management of smartphones and tablets running BlackBerry®, Google® Android® and Apple® iOS® operating systems.
“We are pleased to introduce BlackBerry Mobile Fusion – RIM’s next generation enterprise mobility solution – to make it easier for our business and government customers to manage the diversity of devices in their operations today,” said Alan Panezic, Vice President, Enterprise Product Management and Marketing at Research In Motion. “BlackBerry Mobile Fusion brings together our industry-leading BlackBerry Enterprise Server technology for BlackBerry devices with mobile device management capabilities for iOS and Android devices, all managed from one web-based console. It provides the necessary management capabilities to allow IT departments to confidently oversee the use of both company-owned and employee-owned mobile devices within their organizations.”
RIM is the leading provider of enterprise mobility solutions with over 90 per cent of the Fortune 500 provisioning BlackBerry devices today. The enterprise market for smartphones and tablets continues to grow in both the company-provisioned and employee-owned (Bring Your Own Device or BYOD) categories. BYOD in particular has led to an increase in the diversity of mobile devices in use in the enterprise and new challenges for CIOs and IT departments as they struggle to manage and control wireless access to confidential company information on the corporate network. This has resulted in increased demand for mobile device management solutions.
BlackBerry Mobile Fusion brings together the market-leading BlackBerry® Enterprise Server (version 5.0.3) for BlackBerry smartphones; new management capabilities for BlackBerry PlayBook tablets built on BlackBerry Enterprise Server technology; and mobile device management for smartphones and tablets running Android and iOS operating systems.
BlackBerry Mobile Fusion will provide the following mobile device management capabilities for all supported mobile devices*:
• Asset management
• Configuration management
• Security and policy definition and management
• Secure and protect lost or stolen devices (remote lock, wipe)
• User- and group-based administration
• Multiple device per user capable
• Application and software management
• Connectivity management (Wi-Fi®, VPN, certificate)
• Centralized console
• High scalability
BlackBerry smartphones will continue to benefit from the many advantages of the end-to-end BlackBerry solution including the same advanced IT management, security and control available with BlackBerry Enterprise Server 5.0.3, which is part of BlackBerry Mobile Fusion. These advanced features include BlackBerry® Balance™ technology supporting the use of a single device for both work and personal purposes without compromising the organization’s need to secure, manage and control confidential information; over 500 IT policies; over-the-air app and software installation and management; high availability; and much more. BlackBerry Mobile Fusion will also introduce new self-service functionality for employees to secure lost or stolen BlackBerry smartphones and BlackBerry PlayBook tablets.
BlackBerry Mobile Fusion is currently in early beta testing with select enterprise customers. RIM is now accepting customer nominations for the closed beta program which will start in January, and general availability is expected in late March.
For more information, visit www.blackberry.com/mobilefusion.
* Device security, manageability and controls will continue to vary according to the inherent capabilities of the individual device operating systems.