*** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

dredman1

Re: *** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby dredman1 » June 24th, 2011, 11:57 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:reember that a UPS is for backup power - they only go to battery power when there is a power failure.

if the UPS has no proper line conditioning, noise filtration and voltage regulation then you no better off than plugging it into the wall except when lights go.

Only devices with hard drives need to be shut down properly really.

Hmm - so all you guys with a PS3 hooked up as a part of your home theater system plug it into a UPS then, seeing as it has a hard drive? According to the PS3 manual there could be serious issues if it is powered off while the HD is updating...

Also, I just have this voltage regulator/surge protector http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000PC ... PDKIKX0DER for my HDTV, PS3, etc. If I want to run backup power via a regular UPS (one without noise filtration or voltage regulation), can I just plug the UPS into the outlet and my regulator/surge protector into the UPS and then plug all my devices into that and be happy like pappy?

Allyuh doh buff meh if it's a stupid question please :skurred:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 24th, 2011, 12:06 pm

^ I have a APC 550 for the PS3 but I dont have the receiver, sub etc plugged into it.

dreadman1 wrote:plug the UPS into the outlet and my regulator/surge protector into the UPS and then plug all my devices into that
yeah this will work, but I don't think that regulator, surge protector has filtration and you should check to see what it does during a brownout.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 24th, 2011, 12:15 pm

actually this is pretty decent
http://www.panamax.com/Products/Battery ... MX5102.php

some might ask if looks are the only reason to get these Panamax or Monster devices - why not just get a UPS, line conditioner etc and plug them all in since ppl already have these things lying around anyhow.

the difference with these, besides looks, is that they have 11 outlets that are made for a/v components, they offer the proper power (including 2-4 higher capacity outlets for big amps, powered subwoofers and receivers etc) AND they also turn on and off devices in proper sequence e.g. so you dont get a "thud" from your sub cause your amp/receiver switched off before it and remote triggers that will turn on your sub when the receiver comes on if you sub doesnt have auto sensing etc

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » June 24th, 2011, 12:29 pm

@ Duane - yes it does have filtration, or at least that's what I read on the package and website. "Clean Power circuitry filters out power pollution by utilizing special filters to dramatically reduce electronic noise on your AC power line". Actually got this particular one because of the extremely high 6125 joule rating, as I'm paranoid of electrical damage whenever there's lightning and thunder.

However, I'm not very confident of it's effectiveness in terms of regulating voltage fluctuations when there is low voltage (it's a surge protector, not a UPS) and it does nothing with respect to protecting my PS3 if power goes while it's updating or saving.

May very well have to look into a fairly cheap UPS which I can plug into the surge to plug my PS3 into.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » June 24th, 2011, 12:36 pm

Dat Panamax thingy nice but considering all i have is ah lcdtv and ah samsung htiab hook up outside it a bit extravagant for me to own.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » June 24th, 2011, 12:36 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ I have a APC 550 for the PS3 but I dont have the receiver, sub etc plugged into it.

Do you have it plugged directly to a wall outlet, or into your Panamax for voltage regulation? From what I see, the 4 outlets that provide backup power only provide surge protection.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 24th, 2011, 12:40 pm

I have the UPS plugged into the panamax only because that UPS cannot handle all my devices if power were to fail.

the better thing would be to go WALL -> UPS -> regulator/filter/conditioner -> device

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » June 24th, 2011, 11:38 pm

I have a 725va that I'll just use for the PC and PS3 (to avoid issues if doing an update) the rest of stuff will go to the regulator.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 25th, 2011, 12:27 am

^ that will work

if you have an LED TV you might be able to plug it in there too as they use less power.

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » June 25th, 2011, 3:36 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ that will work

if you have an LED TV you might be able to plug it in there too as they use less power.

Well I have a partner that drives an Evo and he was telling me to look at Plasmas so I doing that right now... :lol: ...... :|

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 25th, 2011, 11:01 pm

^ they really do show better 8)

MBC Autotronix

Postby MBC Autotronix » June 26th, 2011, 5:39 pm

what u all think of these media centres?

Cariszone has dem for a decent price .

WD TV LIVE PLUS - TT$847.00
http://www.wdc.com/en/products/products.aspx?id=320

WD TV LIVE HUB - TT$1720.00
http://www.wdc.com/en/products/products.aspx?id=570

MBC Autotronix

Postby MBC Autotronix » June 26th, 2011, 5:59 pm

^yeah i know....even if u have a ps3.

just sayin d price good in case someone wanna set up 1....although d ps3 does play blu-ray....

wha u think?
Last edited by MBC Autotronix on June 26th, 2011, 6:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » June 26th, 2011, 6:21 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ they really do show better 8)

Familiar with the D500+ series?
Last edited by AGENT RORO on June 26th, 2011, 6:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

MBC Autotronix

Postby MBC Autotronix » June 26th, 2011, 6:22 pm

yea....good for someone who not into gaming.....or doh need ah dvd/blu-ray drive

MBC Autotronix

Postby MBC Autotronix » June 26th, 2011, 7:14 pm

^haha....ah hear so. free delivery too

Swisha

Postby Swisha » July 5th, 2011, 4:58 pm

look Trinidad get mention by name on Engadget yes! :lol:

Netflix bringing instant streaming Latin America, global domination plan on track

Soon enough, most of the western hemisphere will be able to enjoy Netflix Watch Instantly without the need for proxies and work-arounds. Later this year the company will add 43 countries in Central and South America, and the Caribbean to its list of supported locales. It will also wrap up its North American expansion by streaming flicks into the heart of Mexico. When exactly folks in Brazil and Trinidad will be able to sign up, and how much it will cost when it launches are still up in the air at the moment. One thing is certain though -- while Hulu is striking deals with the likes of Miramax and the Criterion Collection to bolster its library of feature length films, Netflix is building a global empire.

Engadget

Netflix

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 5th, 2011, 8:47 pm

^ the netflix discussion is here
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=352101

boogy910
Location: if i tell u i'll have to kill u, unless u have vodka

help please, lcd problems

Postby boogy910 » July 6th, 2011, 10:12 pm

i have a sharp aquos that i bought recently and i have my ps3 hooked up to it. it plays almost everytin perfect, but wen i tried to play a blu-rayon the ps3, the tv put up a message tht the signal is not supported. i fiddled with all the settings on the tv and the ps3 to no avail, any help will b appreciated, thank you

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 6th, 2011, 10:24 pm

^ could be a bunch of issues

do you have your PS3 connected to the internet? It may need updating in order to play the newest blu-ray movies.

Which movie is this?

if your TV is 720p, you should ensure the PS3 is set to output the blu-ray at 720p. If it is sending a higher 1080p signal the TV may reject it.

or it could be a HDCP problem
Have you checked to make sure the Sharp Aquos you have is HDCP compliant?
HDCP is HighBandwidth Digital Content Protection that is like a security code that is passed via the HDMI cable from the player to the TV constantly - all three (tv, player and cable) must be HDCP compliant in order to play copy-protected original blu-ray discs

boogy910

Postby boogy910 » July 6th, 2011, 10:56 pm

aite, allyuh fellaz song like allyuh kno wa allyuh tlkin bout, i buy a sharp aquos lcd (40") an wen i try an play blu-rays off of a ps3, d tv sayin dat dat signal not supported, allyuh cd help meh out plz?
and i hav all my devices hooked up to a cheap surge protector, wht allyuh cd recommend as a replacement? preferrably sumn wit bak up power, and for small money too (budget tight)

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 6th, 2011, 11:04 pm

^ you didnt give any more information there than in your first post.
What is the model TV?
Can you state the EXACT message that is displayed on the TV?
Do you have the TV connected to the PS3 via and HDMI cable?

there is some discussion on page 65-68 on power protection, UPS, voltage regulator etc

boogy910

Postby boogy910 » July 7th, 2011, 8:46 pm

sry abt the double post, i actually didnt see that my org post relocated. anyway, the tv is spitting out a message "not compatible with signal". i have my ps3 hooked up to the net and d update is not the problem, i do have the tv hooked up via an HDMI, but i think it might just be the HDCP problem u are talkin about, howcan i b sure if its the cable? i lost the packaging for it.

also i bought a line conditioner and its rated at 1200 v, but when i have all my devices hooked up to it, everything will b fine until the line conditioner says its overheating and everything cuts off. u think tht might b a problem with the electricity? or the line conditioner itself?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 8th, 2011, 12:50 am

^ you need to check the requirements of each item plugged into the line conditioner and calculate if 1200VA is sufficient

you really only need the UPS for the PS3 since it is the only device with a HDD that needs to be shut down properly.

Try to borrow a cable and see if that works - process of elimination: try another PS3, BD disc, TV - ask some friends to help or take the PS3 to a store and let them test it

boogy910

Postby boogy910 » July 9th, 2011, 11:12 pm

thanks dude, will try ur suggestions and see what goin on

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » July 11th, 2011, 6:04 pm

After waiting so so patiently...

Should be getting a new, proper media stand soon. :|

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » July 11th, 2011, 6:11 pm

^Same BIC America i was asking you about.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » July 11th, 2011, 6:12 pm

^^So is a full BIC speaker setup u have there then?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 11th, 2011, 6:14 pm

^ sweeet!

bravery with where you put the TV - but nice equipment still

put a rug to get rid of some of the sound reflection off those tiles

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » July 11th, 2011, 6:20 pm

Venturi series? I read that they`re pretty decent for the money. Nice setup.

I got started on my own floorstanders

should turn out like this and i wanna do it in piano black