The Religion Discussion

Re: The Religion Discussion

Postby Slartibartfast » October 21st, 2014, 2:33 pm

bluesclues wrote:
Slartibartfast wrote:Nah, I'm not talking about the physical dude (of which we are all created as, even the dudettes and little dudarinos). I'm talking about the internal dude. The dude we must all strive to be to gain that perfect balance of dudeness as The Dude once said

"The dude abides..."

startingtobussfart you does sound real confused inno. like today you believe one thing, tomorrow you believe the total opposite and have full justification, till tomorrow again lol
All I want to know is if my reference made a whistling song as it passed over your head. If I knew you wanted to read it I would have used smaller words.

Also, I grew up reading the bible so I can justify opposites in my sleep.

Postby RBphoto » October 21st, 2014, 2:36 pm

Curry duck... fack yeah....

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 21st, 2014, 2:41 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:
bluesclues wrote:
Slartibartfast wrote:Nah, I'm not talking about the physical dude (of which we are all created as, even the dudettes and little dudarinos). I'm talking about the internal dude. The dude we must all strive to be to gain that perfect balance of dudeness as The Dude once said

"The dude abides..."

startingtobussfart you does sound real confused inno. like today you believe one thing, tomorrow you believe the total opposite and have full justification, till tomorrow again lol
All I want to know is if my reference made a whistling song as it passed over your head. If I knew you wanted to read it I would have used smaller words.

lol lol lol wam where your sense of humour boidanboi? lol

Postby RBphoto » October 21st, 2014, 2:45 pm

Hot oil massages

Postby MG Man » October 21st, 2014, 7:05 pm

Nipples erect and present, Sir!

Postby Slartibartfast » October 21st, 2014, 10:31 pm

Well if you was joking blues clues then I must be yhe hobbit cuz that went over my head :lol:

Postby ruffneck_12 » October 21st, 2014, 11:51 pm

RBphoto wrote:I believe, in Penal, there is a religion based on dhal, rice, White Oak and Roti.

And the deity is Sundar popo ?

Postby RBphoto » October 22nd, 2014, 1:53 am

ruffneck_12 wrote:
RBphoto wrote:I believe, in Penal, there is a religion based on dhal, rice, White Oak and Roti.

Riki Jai wrote the New Testament tho.

Postby black start » October 22nd, 2014, 4:33 am

ruffneck_12 wrote:

Kamala be an avid follower....

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 22nd, 2014, 8:29 am

RBphoto wrote:
ruffneck_12 wrote:

Riki Jai wrote the New Testament tho.

and where is ravi b in all this? leading the charge against the infidels? lol

Postby RBphoto » October 22nd, 2014, 8:32 am

The antichrist :/

cheese

Postby cheese » October 28th, 2014, 10:06 pm

Pope Francis declares evolution and Big Bang theory are right and God isn't 'a magician with a magic wand'

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/world ... 22514.html

The Paleontologist

Postby The Paleontologist » October 29th, 2014, 12:00 am

Good for him. Another step in the right direction

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 29th, 2014, 7:40 am

dig back. ah tell allyuh dat more than once on this same thread.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » October 29th, 2014, 11:19 am

bluesclues wrote:dig back. ah tell allyuh dat more than once on this same thread.

I agree with bluesclues we must examine the mythology of ancient times and the associated cost on soceity so that we must not allow these beliefs to continue

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 29th, 2014, 11:25 am

lmfaoo. no chance naresheep but i am not a man to begrudge a man his dreams. lol

Postby ismithx » October 29th, 2014, 12:15 pm

cheese wrote:Pope Francis declares evolution and Big Bang theory are right and God isn't 'a magician with a magic wand'

I think everyone is getting carried away with this, let's examine it for a bit. If you are God and powerful enough to make reality appear from absolute nothing (which infers that your powers go transcend the laws of physics), then why bother with an evolution process that takes millions of years? Why not just make everything perfect immediately (i.e. like a 'wizard with a magic wand').

his argument therefore makes little sense

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 29th, 2014, 2:48 pm

ismithx wrote:
cheese wrote:Pope Francis declares evolution and Big Bang theory are right and God isn't 'a magician with a magic wand'

I think everyone is getting carried away with this, let's examine it for a bit. If you are God and powerful enough to make reality appear from absolute nothing (which infers that your powers go transcend the laws of physics), then why bother with an evolution process that takes millions of years? Why not just make everything perfect immediately (i.e. like a 'wizard with a magic wand').

his argument therefore makes little sense

ok let me explain.

God infinite and eternal right. without beginning and end. so for a moment put urself in his shoes. what he do, to him will be in the blink of an eye because of the trillion of trillions of years hes been around. and for you the smaller and created organism confined to his laws of physics and time are forced to view everything in linear progression based on his specification.

let me use another example.

you are a man and you walking alongside an ant on the ground. one step for u is 10,000 for an ant.

so lets jump back to scientific analogy now.

God create matter and energy in a dead universe and set it to motion and brought about life. but the organisms in his creation view it as billions of years of evolution and that is based on how much we on earth measure time to be one year. in another planet a year could be 3 of our years. and for God a timeless and eternal being who exists outside the confines of time itself. what he do already happen. but is we who behind time watchin it play out.

you have to think from the perspective of a timeless and all powerful being.

and nothing change in my explanation from the past eh. ive explained this just like this to ppl who ask before

Postby ismithx » October 29th, 2014, 6:06 pm

all right, well here's my response

time is basically the progression of atoms and subatomic particles through existence. for example, atomic clocks measure 'time' based on the spin of electrons around cesium (or something like that). So if every subatomic particle were to freeze, time would be stopped. Regardless of how long he actually took to build the universe and everything in it (based on these conventions of time), my argument is, why would he even need evolution? Simple economics. If you want something, is better to have it now rather than later. The only reason why God might want to have things evolve is if it were to teach some lesser being (he doesn't need to learn anything since he can synthesize all knowledge). Thing is, even if some lesser being _may_ have benefited from seeing evolution, it's not something a perfect being would want. In evolution you have competition and survival, which implies that there would be death. And death or the cessation of existence is not something to be desired or implemented in a perfect system. Now then, that's why I don't consider evolution and God to go together

oh yeah, and the Bible, which is pretty much the authoritative source on things about God, does say he created everything in 6 days.... sooooo.....

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 29th, 2014, 9:22 pm

well anything that is beyond your sensory perception will seem like death. like hooking up a pc to a mac. if you dont have the proper sensors to read that particular type of data, what you will perceive is chaos, nonesense/garbage, code, or nothing. what appears to be death or nothing may only seem like nothing unless you using the proper sensor required to translate that data.

for God it was instant but for those within and perceiving existence through the constraints of time.. it takes time. timeless mean tomorrow and yesterday could happen on the same day for you. what you going to do tomorrow already happen and stuff like that. so it wouldve been instant. but you cant see it that way from this perspective. that is where we start seeing why it not very easy to fathom God. shaking off pride and denial and admitting that yes, we real stupid in the face of the Creator of all this. the 7 day creation story would be largely symbolic and conveying a hidden meaning in addition to it's factual statement. so it's designed a certain way to be factual and carry hidden messages for adepts. as far as the big bang goes i see it as sound agreement between science and religion. where the creation story deviates from mainstream science belief is where it states God created man as man. maybe a bit hairy caveman etc, but not a total monkey. science believes we came from monkey. but that could only happen through spiritual intervention.. i.e - God. who else could command nature to perform the tasks necessary for this desired outcome? to evolve an entirely new species out of a monkey into a human being that is so different it cant even mate with the monkey anymore. and carries many more much higher intelligence faculties like the ability to speak and not just grunt and scream. writing and mathematics etc kinda shows we are pretty high above all other animals pretty much in terms of design and abilities. right there you see progress and purpose because the new version always better than the previous version. man keep evolving. bible says we could evolve just like that out of being just men to being better still. the bible itself is about evolution. but there may be a bit of a cross railing between the symbolic message and the factual aspect in that part of creation story.

then it have a few misteachings that you might need to get out of the way to make sense of it all. like the fact that adam and eve were created in spirit and the terms refer to the spiritual bodies before they fell to earth confined to the world of material, decay and death. many people envision them being created on earth as we seeing it here but they were spiritual and timeless as well when first created. so the early parts of the creation story are all told through the eyes of a spiritual timeless group of beings. in the realm where the angels were commanded to bow to Adam. so you see what going on there with the days? thats just the tip of the iceberg. when everybody manifest on earth now is when life in the bible start to make sense and play out like expected real life scenarios. you can relate better to that because you are familiar with this material world. if you unfamaliar with the spiritual aspect it will be hard to imagine it.

so lets just see how this fit..

God make the heavens and the earth and animals including trees and the monkey. then he make man direct from the spiritual realm and ask him if he want to sleep with the monkey(lol). the man say no so God took a rib out adam and made eve. when they eat the fruit, they fell to earth as human. so how did that process manifest? in a purposefully controlled and directed evolutionary process of some type of monkey into human being.

that explanation fits is all im saying. it falls in line with both science and religion at a sort of middlepoint. the question is how do we interpret the fall? did we come through a portal? or were we sorta always here but eyes seeing heaven until we fell and saw earth and nakedness? i prefer to believe the latter. God created us when he was creating everything. adam and eve were immortal/spiritual state so many billions of earth years could have passed and they did not die until they became mortal and lived out their lives as mortals would. having to farm, chop firewood etc. so there wouldnt be much archeological evidence of man existing beyond a certain date. we're completely different species, like a cat and a goat, or a frog and a fish. science has alot of answers. but not all of them.

Postby ruffneck_12 » October 29th, 2014, 9:31 pm

so how was allyuh day?

The Paleontologist

Postby The Paleontologist » October 29th, 2014, 10:35 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:so how was allyuh day?

Stressful

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » October 29th, 2014, 10:36 pm

Everyday is a good day, some are better than others and sometimes we have a few best times.

I like how bluesclues trend of thinking,

What will you all do if you were God?

Postby ruffneck_12 » October 29th, 2014, 11:02 pm

If I were God, I'd do the same thing I do on Garry's Mod

Spawn a set of good/bad NPC's and let them battle to see who win.
Then who ever survives, gets nuked

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 29th, 2014, 11:11 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:If I were God, I'd do the same thing I do on Garry's Mod

Spawn a set of good/bad NPC's and let them battle to see who win.
Then who ever survives, gets nuked
maybe that's exactly what's going on with us.

The Paleontologist

Postby The Paleontologist » October 29th, 2014, 11:45 pm

Mind=blown:shock:

jeffers31108

Postby jeffers31108 » October 30th, 2014, 2:27 am

Our very existance proves that God is real. God is no fake theory or make believe. God is going to prove himself to everyone, however the choice is us to accept or not

sickbad

Postby sickbad » October 30th, 2014, 2:34 am

Id say all animals really (have souls) why should we think of ourselves as so special. We breath eat .die..

Then again what is a soul, why do we have to cling on to an idea that we live on forever bla bla. Imagine how many ancestors in their billions.. are all of them floating around clingling onto "life was so fun, the party is going to last forever"

We need to see it for what it is, who really knows when youre dead and what is the use pondering about what happens then now.. we would have in essence lived for death as we are so facinated about what happens next..

I say celebrate life, orgasms, good times, health to see more days

Postby ismithx » October 30th, 2014, 5:51 am

@bluesclues I believein something much simpler, I just take the bible literally at its word in that part, sine I have no compelling evidence to belive otherwise

Postby Slartibartfast » October 30th, 2014, 6:06 am

ruffneck_12 wrote:so how was allyuh day?
Sickbad have the right idea so I sabbathing right now.