COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 21461 cases, 425 deaths, 8710 active, 12326 recovered in T&T

Postby MaxPower » May 27th, 2021, 10:38 am

^ sigh

I’m from Point and it’s scary that if something was to happen to me, my family or my employees there will be little to no attention.

My neighbor broke his leg yesterday and cannot get treatment…..imagine that.

Keep safe people.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 21461 cases, 425 deaths, 8710 active, 12326 recovered in T&T

Postby aaron17 » May 27th, 2021, 10:41 am

Anybody went victoria labs for pcr testing via drive tru? I went on the website and its appointment based in which you can select a day and specific time you want to get tested. But when you go there for the timeslot ...you still have to wait in long lines? Kinda makes no sense....unless there aren't any lines to begin with.

Postby Habit7 » May 27th, 2021, 10:46 am

aaron17 wrote:Anybody went victoria labs for pcr testing via drive tru? I went on the website and its appointment based in which you can select a day and specific time you want to get tested. But when you go there for the timeslot ...you still have to wait in long lines? Kinda makes no sense....unless there aren't any lines to begin with.

Yeah they give you a time, you pull up in the carpark and drive under a tent. Pretty smooth when I went pre-surge.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 27th, 2021, 10:46 am

MaxPower wrote:66688e88-f536-4966-9011-bfff6ececa41.jpg

WE, the Business Community.

That's going to backfire, nonsensical plan.

Postby aaron17 » May 27th, 2021, 11:00 am

Habit7 wrote:
aaron17 wrote:Anybody went victoria labs for pcr testing via drive tru? I went on the website and its appointment based in which you can select a day and specific time you want to get tested. But when you go there for the timeslot ...you still have to wait in long lines? Kinda makes no sense....unless there aren't any lines to begin with.

Yeah they give you a time, you pull up in the carpark and drive under a tent. Pretty smooth when I went pre-surge.
Cool

DTAC

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 20267 cases, 390 deaths, 8150 active, 11727 recovered in T&T

Postby DTAC » May 27th, 2021, 11:45 am

Dizzy28 wrote:Covid patients starting to be housed at the Tacarigua Health Centre as of last night. Ambulance just dropped off two more.

So they open up Tacarigua Health Centre to take Covid patients quiet quiet, but have a ribbon cutting ceremony for a tent city by Jean Pierre?????

Postby aaron17 » May 27th, 2021, 11:56 am

I am trying to understand something ..apologies in advance if I don't know. If you are not working...and you were called up by the health ppl that you were in contact with someone with covid. You monitor yourself if you get symptoms. Then time past and you eventually get symptoms. Is it by law for you to go get tested for covid or what?

Postby aaron17 » May 27th, 2021, 12:40 pm

Are these the only places doing tests privately? I thought there were more? I thought southern medical doing it also.
Private%20Laboratories%20certified%20by%20the%20Ministry%20of%20Health-page-001%20(1).jpeg

Postby ruffneck_12 » May 27th, 2021, 12:56 pm

Maybe if more people took care of their health

Their immune system would not be compromised

and they could handle this virus better

Brb, drinking an entire bottle of soft drink with every meal

BUG

Postby BUG » May 27th, 2021, 1:16 pm

MaxPower wrote:^ sigh

I’m from Point and it’s scary that if something was to happen to me, my family or my employees there will be little to no attention.

My neighbor broke his leg yesterday and cannot get treatment…..imagine that.

Keep safe people.

Yep. This is why experts the world over tried to hammer home the "lower the curve" message so people would be vigilant about wearing masks, social distancing etc. If you go back in the Covidiots thread to a few weeks before Easter, there were a few of us there arguing that the danger of overwhelming the health system is that people with relatively treatable conditions won't be seen to and will cause many to have long term problems, even deaths from minor or major ailments or injuries.

If the hospitable is full of covid patients, where do the daily victims of car accidents, general accidents, assault, illness etc go to get treated?

If we had a real lockdown it would help with this. With fewer people going to non essential work etc and as a consequence being on the roads etc, it reduces the burden on the health care system of treating daily accidents that occur.

Postby MaxPower » May 27th, 2021, 1:45 pm

^ Exactly, we need a real lockdown.

Trinis asses are still happy and appear to be too relaxed and comfortable.

There is just too much people on the road.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » May 27th, 2021, 1:55 pm

Cases are dropping now, no need to implement more measures. We just need to wait it out and we'll be back to double and single digit cases within 2 weeks.

Postby aaron17 » May 27th, 2021, 2:00 pm

DMan7 wrote:Cases are dropping now, no need to implement more measures. We just need to wait it out and we'll be back to double and single digit cases within 2 weeks.
I think they want more pressure on the public so it can go down faster.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 27th, 2021, 2:04 pm

DMan7 wrote:Cases are dropping now, no need to implement more measures. We just need to wait it out and we'll be back to double and single digit cases within 2 weeks.
This is true. Time to end the SOE.

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » May 27th, 2021, 2:07 pm

How are cases dropping?
tapatalk_1622064489845.jpeg

Devourment

Postby Devourment » May 27th, 2021, 2:17 pm

ST Auto wrote:How are cases dropping?tapatalk_1622064489845.jpeg

Nice tracker, 2000 more tests have been done compared to the same time last week. If the positivity rate remains the same we are in for some high numbers for the next few days.

I honestly don't think we can remain safe from the P1 strain. My co-worker has been working at home for weeks, only goes grocery (his wife and child are home 24/7) and he tested positive a few days.

He is bewildered because he went off-peak, was quick in and out, wore two masks, and he still contracted it.

If that doesn't scare you, it should. We heard stories like this from all over the world, so many people getting the virus without knowing where.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 27th, 2021, 2:17 pm

Take notice tunas..
IMG-20210527-WA0105.jpeg

Postby aaron17 » May 27th, 2021, 2:20 pm

aaron17 wrote:I am trying to understand something ..apologies in advance if I don't know. If you are not working...and you were called up by the health ppl that you were in contact with someone with covid. You monitor yourself if you get symptoms. Then time past and you eventually get symptoms. Is it by law for you to go get tested for covid or what?
Any feedback on this?

Postby timelapse » May 27th, 2021, 2:22 pm

You want to guess what you sick with?
aaron17 wrote:
aaron17 wrote:I am trying to understand something ..apologies in advance if I don't know. If you are not working...and you were called up by the health ppl that you were in contact with someone with covid. You monitor yourself if you get symptoms. Then time past and you eventually get symptoms. Is it by law for you to go get tested for covid or what?
Any feedback on this?

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » May 27th, 2021, 2:26 pm

wtf wrote:

This yute man knows the thing self. 8)

Postby aaron17 » May 27th, 2021, 2:29 pm

timelapse wrote:You want to guess what you sick with?
aaron17 wrote:
Any feedback on this?
I thought the govt say once you not well..stay home

Postby 16 cycles » May 27th, 2021, 2:39 pm

wtf wrote:

ramp it up for this long weekend into Corpus Christi...cause we have no self discipline...

Postby aaron17 » May 27th, 2021, 2:47 pm

16 cycles wrote:
wtf wrote:

ramp it up for this long weekend into Corpus Christi...cause we have no self discipline...
Yea hold the course.

Postby redmanjp » May 27th, 2021, 2:53 pm

killercow wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:it have too many people on the road in my opinion. not enough police to question everyone. close every god dam business including groceries and pharmacies. met a man in aranguez yesterday who walk out the road to buy 1 bundle of celery as he hear it good for covid. its idiots like that that causing everyone else distress. people going in the grocery to buy a soda and snack just to take a 'walk out the road', people not learning and it is only licks they would understand, so shut the entire country down for 3 weeks and what happens happens.

Ask yourself, why do we have a TTDF? The one time they supposed to serve a purpose, out of the 4,000 strong you barely seeing 100. What we paying dem for then? Why do we have them? For a crime riddled country they're severely underutilised.

TTDF Head say dis ent ah crime SOE, dis is ah health SOE, so dem good skinning it back in camp. Maybe Fake Rasta could intervene?

they should be both vaccinating ppl (ent they have medics?) as well as protecting the borders from illegal immigrants bringing more P1 cases.

also ttps already like a whole 1000 short due to quarantine and 250 or so covid + :shock:

Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 21461 cases, 425 deaths, 8710 active, 12326 recovered in T&T

Postby MaxPower » May 27th, 2021, 2:57 pm

Devourment wrote:My co-worker has been working at home for weeks, only goes grocery (his wife and child are home 24/7) and he tested positive a few days.

He is bewildered because he went off-peak, was quick in and out, wore two masks, and he still contracted it.

If that doesn't scare you, it should. We heard stories like this from all over the world, so many people getting the virus without knowing where.

Hello Devourment,

Im sorry but he was not safe enough.

Maybe the wife and child are not home 24/7, maybe they have visitors, maybe his grocery runs and quick in and outs was where he let his guard down, maybe his 2 masks are ineffective or he wore them improperly…maybe he didn’t sanitize enough.

Sorry bro, based on what i am observing daily, many people are saying that they are following the protocols when they are not.

Everyone always never know where and how they got it but they boast STRICT adherence. This is a virus and its game over for any slip ups.

Please forgive my assumptions.

Postby aaron17 » May 27th, 2021, 3:00 pm

Devourment wrote:My co-worker has been working at home for weeks, only goes grocery (his wife and child are home 24/7) and he tested positive a few days.

Hello Devourment,

Im sorry but he was not safe enough.

Maybe the wife and child are not home 24/7, maybe they have visitors, maybe his grocery runs and quick in and outs was where he let his guard down, maybe his 2 masks are ineffective or he wore them improperly…

Sorry bro, based on what i am observing daily, many people are saying that they are following the protocols when they are not.

Please forgive my assumptions.
Maybe the grocery has improper ventilation. The best thing to do is interect in less busy areas. Grocery is hot spot for me.

Postby redmanjp » May 27th, 2021, 3:07 pm

speaking of grocery- ppl get paid. this is the first month-end with 8700 active cases! avoid it like the plaque this weekend!
Last edited by redmanjp on May 27th, 2021, 3:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby redmanjp » May 27th, 2021, 3:10 pm

also my couzin's father wasn't going out either but had to renew his DP. they think it might have been when he had to take off his mask to take the picture he might have gotten it then. they cremated him b4 getting back the positive test results.

RIP

i trust licensing is extending the validity of DPs now?

Postby pugboy » May 27th, 2021, 3:11 pm

What we looking at today ?
500-600 or less ?
Double digit deaths?
We still getting high positivty unfortunately.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 27th, 2021, 3:16 pm

pugboy wrote:What we looking at today ?
500-600 or less ?
Double digit deaths?
We still getting high positivty unfortunately.

Based on my data...I predicted 662 today, let's see how close I get.