COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

BUG

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 20267 cases, 390 deaths, 8150 active, 11727 recovered in T&T

Postby BUG » May 26th, 2021, 5:10 pm

wtf wrote:
BUG wrote:
wtf wrote:Alot of people have to die. Can't change that.

I'm not sure I follow?
With that amount of cases being recorded. Large numbers of persons will die. Not rocket science.

No sh*t, Sherlock. But I don't think that's the point they were trying to get across.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 20267 cases, 390 deaths, 8150 active, 11727 recovered in T&T

Postby aaron17 » May 26th, 2021, 5:10 pm

Still hard to wrap around the 24 hr period that 17 ppl die.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 26th, 2021, 5:12 pm

BUG wrote:
wtf wrote:
BUG wrote:

I'm not sure I follow?
With that amount of cases being recorded. Large numbers of persons will die. Not rocket science.

No sh*t, Sherlock. But I don't think that's the point they were trying to get across.
What do you think was the point then?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 26th, 2021, 5:13 pm

DMan7 wrote:Cases are dropping. We had 708 the other day and a few days in the 600 range. Now cases have gone into the 500 range.

but deaths not looking good
18 deaths yesterday
17 deaths today

Actually, we're still increasing if you compare it to last week and testing is increasing as well still......

I keep thinking the peak is over, but it looks like we've still yet to peak.
CleanShot 2021-05-26 at 5.11.28.png

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 26th, 2021, 5:14 pm

aaron17 wrote:Still hard to wrap around the 24 hr period that 17 ppl die.

84 people have died since Friday.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » May 26th, 2021, 5:15 pm

wtf wrote:
BUG wrote:

I'm not sure I follow?

How does your name change to "wtf" in reply comments?

BUG

Postby BUG » May 26th, 2021, 5:27 pm

wtf wrote:
BUG wrote:
wtf wrote:
BUG wrote:

I'm not sure I follow?

I don't know, that's why I was asking the OP. If he is indeed saying that high deaths correlate with high case numbers, it's a bit like telling us "water is wet", so I asked if there was something more to what he was saying. If not, all good, move along.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 26th, 2021, 5:32 pm

BUG wrote:
wtf wrote:
BUG wrote:
wtf wrote:
BUG wrote:

I'm not sure I follow?

I don't know, that's why I was asking the OP. If he is indeed saying that high deaths correlate with high case numbers, it's a bit like telling us "water is wet", so I asked if there was something more to what he was saying. If not, all good, move along.
Bro more cases = more deaths.
This is why we on lockdown. To slow down spreading so as to not overwhelm the parallel health care system.

computercentral

Postby computercentral » May 26th, 2021, 5:37 pm

To little to late

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 26th, 2021, 5:46 pm

UNC stooges and Habit7,

By end of July, given the trends, T&T will be:

#1 In covid deaths per capita in the Caribbean (including Guyana)
#1 In strictest measures (averaged) since the pandemic started in the Caribbean
- Last place in vaccinations in the Caribbean
- The only place in the Caribbean with closed borders
# Top 5 in the world in longest border closure
Last edited by Dohplaydat on May 26th, 2021, 5:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pugboy » May 26th, 2021, 5:48 pm

and #1 oxford rating eh

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 26th, 2021, 6:05 pm

The Prime Minister complains that he is being blamed for everything, but who does he think we should blame? Who gets the big salary, the office and the authority? Who leads the Cabinet and the government? Who calls the Parliament? Who sets the legislative and policy agendas? Who determines the rules, laws, fines, taxes, and what is done with public funds? In whose hands are entrusted the hopes and dreams of the young and the care of the elderly and the infirm? The job is people management but first you need to understand what exactly you want those people to do. Your lack of vision and leadership has destroyed a nation. You had the guile and cunning to twist a broken divided process in your favor, but like the quintessential example of the Peter principle, you have been elevated way beyond your functionality or capability, and while you thrash around looking for pity for your failures, it is the taxpayers who bear the burden of all of it who feel the pain of your incompetence, allow them to blame the half with twit squatting in the seat who promised them the moon and stars, who said that he could have improved their conditions if given the chance, but ended up consigning them to misery and desperation instead.

As your direct actions have resulted in this contemptible state of affairs, at least have the decency to accept their outrage for living in a country where the consequences of voting charlatans into office cannot easily be reversed.

- Phillip Edward Alexander

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » May 26th, 2021, 6:14 pm

I like you data tabulation of this. Suggest you dashboard with power bi to make it easier to analyze

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » May 26th, 2021, 6:40 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:UNC stooges and Habit7,

By end of July, given the trends, T&T will be:

#1 In covid deaths per capita in the Caribbean (including Guyana)
#1 In strictest measures (averaged) since the pandemic started in the Caribbean
- Last place in vaccinations in the Caribbean
- The only place in the Caribbean with closed borders
# Top 5 in the world in longest border closure

closed borders on paper. Thats the issue right there. I mean how on earth the Brazilian variant reach here? All the time we was good case wise. Its only when that variant reach that the place get tun up.

BUG

Postby BUG » May 26th, 2021, 7:26 pm

wtf wrote:
BUG wrote:
wtf wrote:
BUG wrote:
wtf wrote:
BUG wrote:

I'm not sure I follow?

Bro more cases = more deaths.
This is why we on lockdown. To slow down spreading so as to not overwhelm the parallel health care system.

We're both in agreement my friend!

Postby Dizzy28 » May 26th, 2021, 9:12 pm

Covid patients starting to be housed at the Tacarigua Health Centre as of last night. Ambulance just dropped off two more.

Postby pugboy » May 26th, 2021, 9:18 pm

on another note
allyuh see trevor sayers get in the wax museum?

Postby The_Honourable » May 26th, 2021, 10:56 pm

Gladiator wrote:https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/what-caused-tts-latest-covid19-surge-6.2.1333610.c434c399e4

Kalain Hosein and Rishard Khan

What was the cause of the current surge in COVID-19 cases and deaths?

Until Monday afternoon, the public and epidemiologists alike were on the same page – travel and congregation during Easter.

However, during the State of Emergency debate in Parliament, the Prime Minister liked the current surge in COVID-19 numbers to candlelight and prayer vigils held in early February for murdered court clerk Andrea Bharatt. What does the data show?

Tracking the spikes

Since the start of Phase 2 of COVID-19, Trinidad has experienced several spikes that health officials acknowledged. In 2020, there was the post-2020 General Election increase in cases, connected to the number of rallies and lack of mask-wearing. Cases surged through October, with another spike in November due to a prison COVID-19 outbreak.

The subsequent surge in cases followed Christmas and New Year’s events, where medical officials attributed the surge to house gatherings and parties. These cases were clustered, and numbers declined into February.

The Andrea Bharatt effect

On January 29, news broke about the kidnapping of a court clerk attached to the Arima Magistrates’ Court. The news sent shockwaves across the country, particularly when her body was found off a precipice in the Heights of Aripo on February 6th. Over 100 vigils occurred between February 6th through February 14th, two days after Bharatt’s funeral.

These vigils were populous, but they were held outdoors, and to occur, organizers needed to seek permission from the Commissioner of Police, where COVID-19 protocols had to be followed.

Still, epidemiologists were wary.

On February 13, one day after the funeral, the Technical Director of the Ministry of Health’s Epidemiology Division, Dr Avery Hinds, said, “We are hoping that we don’t see an increase in transmission as a result of these gatherings. Only time will tell.” Dr. Hinds explained he and his team would have looked at the data to see whether there were increasing numbers instead of decreasing numbers in the wake of activities.

February cases

According to the World Health Organisation, the incubation period of COVID-19, meaning the time from exposure to first symptoms, can be anywhere from two to 14 days. With the last highest turnout vigil occurring on February 14th, cases theoretically should have climbed between February 14 through February 28.

Based on the epidemic curve, the seven-day rolling average was at its lowest for 2021 during February, with average daily cases between three and four cases. Some days of February recorded zero cases for the day.

Change in regulations

The Chief Medical Officer, Dr Roshan Parasram, on March 22 cautioned that T&T was on the vert of a significant increase in COVID-19 cases.

At this press conference, the CMO said, “Regardless of what you want to call it, it is a significant increase again, looking upwards of 89 percent in terms of cases week on week. It really needs to be viewed by the public and the Ministry of Health as something of concern now.”

On February 21, the Public Health Regulation (PHO) was updated to include outdoor recreational sports up to 22 athletes. Fourteen days after these regulations went into effect, COVID-19 cases rose at a concerning rate.

According to the CMO, on April 1, a “large number of people coming together in close proximity, no social distance, no wearing of masks, no wearing of shields have been observed,” and he continued to say they noted roughly 14 to 21 days after the new went into effect, cases notably rose. The regulations were changed on March 18th to prohibit recreational sports. However, cases continued to climb.

Easter spread

While the exact figure is debated amongst politicians, it is no question thousands of people travelled not only from Trinidad to Tobago and back but also within both islands, as beaches were open. Though the Prime Minister disagrees, epidemiologist Dr. Avery Hinds described several reasons for the post-Easter spike in cases.

“We’re seeing cases that turn up in contact tracing including workplaces, sometimes places of worship, including indoor settings of bars and bar hopping. We are concerned that the adherence to the mask-wearing, physical distancing and not gathering is not as strong as it was previously.” Importantly, he added, “The other driving factor would have been the large congregations that would have occurred two weeks ago around the Easter period that we’re now seeing the effects of as this week’s figures roll out. We’re seeing that two-week gap between Easter and now being followed by that large surge which we have spoken about before and which we’re now experiencing.”

Tobago spread

Case spikes in Trinidad are typically mirrored in Tobago. There was a post-General Election spike from late August through October, with a second surge in December through January due to Christmas travel. During February, where there were few vigils in remembrance of Andrea Bharatt, cases remained low to near zero through the first half of March. From March 15th onward, cases continue to climb, with a record high of 42 cases reported in the last 24 hours on the island.

Thank you very much for posting this Gladiator.

Rowley and his sycophants trying hard to pin this current spike on the Candle Light Movement. It's pathetic.

killercow

Postby killercow » May 26th, 2021, 11:26 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
Gladiator wrote:https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/what-caused-tts-latest-covid19-surge-6.2.1333610.c434c399e4

Kalain Hosein and Rishard Khan

What was the cause of the current surge in COVID-19 cases and deaths?

Until Monday afternoon, the public and epidemiologists alike were on the same page – travel and congregation during Easter.

However, during the State of Emergency debate in Parliament, the Prime Minister liked the current surge in COVID-19 numbers to candlelight and prayer vigils held in early February for murdered court clerk Andrea Bharatt. What does the data show?

Tracking the spikes

Since the start of Phase 2 of COVID-19, Trinidad has experienced several spikes that health officials acknowledged. In 2020, there was the post-2020 General Election increase in cases, connected to the number of rallies and lack of mask-wearing. Cases surged through October, with another spike in November due to a prison COVID-19 outbreak.

The subsequent surge in cases followed Christmas and New Year’s events, where medical officials attributed the surge to house gatherings and parties. These cases were clustered, and numbers declined into February.

The Andrea Bharatt effect

On January 29, news broke about the kidnapping of a court clerk attached to the Arima Magistrates’ Court. The news sent shockwaves across the country, particularly when her body was found off a precipice in the Heights of Aripo on February 6th. Over 100 vigils occurred between February 6th through February 14th, two days after Bharatt’s funeral.

These vigils were populous, but they were held outdoors, and to occur, organizers needed to seek permission from the Commissioner of Police, where COVID-19 protocols had to be followed.

Still, epidemiologists were wary.

On February 13, one day after the funeral, the Technical Director of the Ministry of Health’s Epidemiology Division, Dr Avery Hinds, said, “We are hoping that we don’t see an increase in transmission as a result of these gatherings. Only time will tell.” Dr. Hinds explained he and his team would have looked at the data to see whether there were increasing numbers instead of decreasing numbers in the wake of activities.

February cases

According to the World Health Organisation, the incubation period of COVID-19, meaning the time from exposure to first symptoms, can be anywhere from two to 14 days. With the last highest turnout vigil occurring on February 14th, cases theoretically should have climbed between February 14 through February 28.

Based on the epidemic curve, the seven-day rolling average was at its lowest for 2021 during February, with average daily cases between three and four cases. Some days of February recorded zero cases for the day.

Change in regulations

The Chief Medical Officer, Dr Roshan Parasram, on March 22 cautioned that T&T was on the vert of a significant increase in COVID-19 cases.

At this press conference, the CMO said, “Regardless of what you want to call it, it is a significant increase again, looking upwards of 89 percent in terms of cases week on week. It really needs to be viewed by the public and the Ministry of Health as something of concern now.”

On February 21, the Public Health Regulation (PHO) was updated to include outdoor recreational sports up to 22 athletes. Fourteen days after these regulations went into effect, COVID-19 cases rose at a concerning rate.

According to the CMO, on April 1, a “large number of people coming together in close proximity, no social distance, no wearing of masks, no wearing of shields have been observed,” and he continued to say they noted roughly 14 to 21 days after the new went into effect, cases notably rose. The regulations were changed on March 18th to prohibit recreational sports. However, cases continued to climb.

Easter spread

While the exact figure is debated amongst politicians, it is no question thousands of people travelled not only from Trinidad to Tobago and back but also within both islands, as beaches were open. Though the Prime Minister disagrees, epidemiologist Dr. Avery Hinds described several reasons for the post-Easter spike in cases.

“We’re seeing cases that turn up in contact tracing including workplaces, sometimes places of worship, including indoor settings of bars and bar hopping. We are concerned that the adherence to the mask-wearing, physical distancing and not gathering is not as strong as it was previously.” Importantly, he added, “The other driving factor would have been the large congregations that would have occurred two weeks ago around the Easter period that we’re now seeing the effects of as this week’s figures roll out. We’re seeing that two-week gap between Easter and now being followed by that large surge which we have spoken about before and which we’re now experiencing.”

Tobago spread

Case spikes in Trinidad are typically mirrored in Tobago. There was a post-General Election spike from late August through October, with a second surge in December through January due to Christmas travel. During February, where there were few vigils in remembrance of Andrea Bharatt, cases remained low to near zero through the first half of March. From March 15th onward, cases continue to climb, with a record high of 42 cases reported in the last 24 hours on the island.

Thank you very much for posting this Gladiator.

Rowley and his sycophants trying hard to pin this current spike on the Candle Light Movement. It's pathetic.
This was also featured and explained on yesterday's CNC3 7pm news.

This PM holds a PhD and yet the metaphor 'silence is golden' continues to elude him. How embarrassing.

Postby De Dragon » May 27th, 2021, 1:18 am

wtf wrote:The Prime Minister complains that he is being blamed for everything, but who does he think we should blame? Who gets the big salary, the office and the authority? Who leads the Cabinet and the government? Who calls the Parliament? Who sets the legislative and policy agendas? Who determines the rules, laws, fines, taxes, and what is done with public funds? In whose hands are entrusted the hopes and dreams of the young and the care of the elderly and the infirm? The job is people management but first you need to understand what exactly you want those people to do. Your lack of vision and leadership has destroyed a nation. You had the guile and cunning to twist a broken divided process in your favor, but like the quintessential example of the Peter principle, you have been elevated way beyond your functionality or capability, and while you thrash around looking for pity for your failures, it is the taxpayers who bear the burden of all of it who feel the pain of your incompetence, allow them to blame the half with twit squatting in the seat who promised them the moon and stars, who said that he could have improved their conditions if given the chance, but ended up consigning them to misery and desperation instead.

As your direct actions have resulted in this contemptible state of affairs, at least have the decency to accept their outrage for living in a country where the consequences of voting charlatans into office cannot easily be reversed.

- Phillip Edward Alexander

Much as I disagree with several of PEA's points elsewhere, he is spot on here. I have been saying that JUHN Scarfy wanted to be PM so bad, for so long that attaining it was viewed, as in the case of most abject failures, as the culmination of a journey, and not the beginning of a potentially transformative one.
It's probably hard to realize that leadership isn't all foreign junkets, paid State housing/food/clothing, blue light escorts etc. His plan seemingly involved hoping for 10 years that oil/gas prices rebound, with no alternative strategy btw, and praying that a major crisis doesn't happen under his watch.
Well the proverbial wrench, actually tool box has been thrown into the works, so we see the shameless, disgusting and dishonest lying of a failed leader. for there can be fewer signs of this, than blaming dead innocents deaths for your own failure

daring dragoon

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 21461 cases, 425 deaths, 8710 active, 12326 recovered in T&T

Postby daring dragoon » May 27th, 2021, 3:18 am

it have too many people on the road in my opinion. not enough police to question everyone. close every god dam business including groceries and pharmacies. met a man in aranguez yesterday who walk out the road to buy 1 bundle of celery as he hear it good for covid. its idiots like that that causing everyone else distress. people going in the grocery to buy a soda and snack just to take a 'walk out the road', people not learning and it is only licks they would understand, so shut the entire country down for 3 weeks and what happens happens.

killercow

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 21461 cases, 425 deaths, 8710 active, 12326 recovered in T&T

Postby killercow » May 27th, 2021, 3:38 am

daring dragoon wrote:it have too many people on the road in my opinion. not enough police to question everyone. close every god dam business including groceries and pharmacies. met a man in aranguez yesterday who walk out the road to buy 1 bundle of celery as he hear it good for covid. its idiots like that that causing everyone else distress. people going in the grocery to buy a soda and snack just to take a 'walk out the road', people not learning and it is only licks they would understand, so shut the entire country down for 3 weeks and what happens happens.

Ask yourself, why do we have a TTDF? The one time they supposed to serve a purpose, out of the 4,000 strong you barely seeing 100. What we paying dem for then? Why do we have them? For a crime riddled country they're severely underutilised.

Postby hover11 » May 27th, 2021, 7:46 am

As of today, we have a total of 7,474 infected people who are SUPPOSED to be in home self isolation! How many do you think are doing that, and how many of them live in a two room apartment with their entire family, including the elderly, where it is nearly impossible to keep oneself isolated?

Postby Dizzy28 » May 27th, 2021, 7:49 am

My FIL's neighbour son is + and in home quarantine but everyday he dons a mask and drives out the road.

He is a protective services officer like all the other males in the family so there's that.
hover11 wrote:As of today, we have a total of 7,474 infected people who are SUPPOSED to be in home self isolation! How many do you think are doing that, and how many of them live in a two room apartment with their entire family, including the elderly, where it is nearly impossible to keep oneself isolated?

Postby De Dragon » May 27th, 2021, 8:01 am

killercow wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:it have too many people on the road in my opinion. not enough police to question everyone. close every god dam business including groceries and pharmacies. met a man in aranguez yesterday who walk out the road to buy 1 bundle of celery as he hear it good for covid. its idiots like that that causing everyone else distress. people going in the grocery to buy a soda and snack just to take a 'walk out the road', people not learning and it is only licks they would understand, so shut the entire country down for 3 weeks and what happens happens.

Ask yourself, why do we have a TTDF? The one time they supposed to serve a purpose, out of the 4,000 strong you barely seeing 100. What we paying dem for then? Why do we have them? For a crime riddled country they're severely underutilised.

TTDF Head say dis ent ah crime SOE, dis is ah health SOE, so dem good skinning it back in camp. Maybe Fake Rasta could intervene?

Postby hover11 » May 27th, 2021, 8:13 am

Big SOE and everybody out and about normal. Nobody ensuring that nonessential people stay in their houses. There should be road blocks everywhere, police should be asking people where they going. Businesses didn't close, they just closed their doors. Lock down completely for 3 weeks with police and army on the road. The cases will drop tremendously. But of course that would mean they would have to secure our sea borders. That's a story by itself. Smh.

Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 21461 cases, 425 deaths, 8710 active, 12326 recovered in T&T

Postby MaxPower » May 27th, 2021, 9:29 am

66688e88-f536-4966-9011-bfff6ececa41.jpg

WE, the Business Community.

Postby pugboy » May 27th, 2021, 9:45 am

where the fake ras?
i find we not hearing from him

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 27th, 2021, 10:24 am

Shortages are occurring
Screenshot_20210527-102215_Drive.jpeg