What is the PNM's plan for the economy?

Re: What is the PNM's plan for the economy?

Postby Redman » November 5th, 2019, 7:06 am

The_Honourable wrote:
maj. tom wrote:and who you going to put in? Kamla? Kamla dog?

Abdullah obviously :lol:

#cleansweep

Abdullah would end up like Dookeran-surrounded by oppurtunist-no different to what he replaced.

MSJ does not have the depth on their bench to form the GORTT.
I would like to them win 7 seats and form part of the govt-in order to build their party into the 2025 cycle.

essentially what the COP should have done in 2010

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » December 21st, 2022, 12:58 am

Chin: T&T losing investment due to out-of-control crime

Crime in this country “is really out of control and is affecting business in a big way,” regional business tycoon Derek Chin has said.

Chin, who was inducted into this country’s Business Hall of Fame in 2018, made the statement to Guardian Media in a telephone interview yesterday, as the country surges to the unfortunate record of 600 murders for this year.

“A lot of people I know, they are not investing any more money in the country, they have lost confidence and they are looking to take whatever savings they have to another destination. Trinidad is not a paradise where people feel they can invest and feel comfortable anymore. A lot of the money is going other places and that makes it worse because less business means less employment, more hardship so on and so forth. Everything is just out of whack,” Chin said.

The murder toll stood at 591 last evening after a brutal 13 hours from Monday into yesterday in which five people were killed, including two double murder incidents in Moruga and Piarco.

Chin said while a city like Miami also has crime, it does not feel the same as it does here.

“The fact that nobody seems to be held accountable, that the rate of solving crime is obviously very, very low and we don’t have confidence in the police service, it does not auger well for us who live here and the business community and those who have to go to work every day and the people don’t want to go out in the night, which especially affects us in the entertainment business,” Chin said.

“Nobody wants to go out in the night because they are afraid to go home and worse, of course, are these home invasions, where even your privacy in your own home is impacted.”

He said citizens now have to include closed-circuit television cameras, alarm systems, dogs and other security measures to feel safe at home. He said when you put all that together, it is certainly not a position or place where we want to be as a country.

“People are looking for some degree of hope, putting more policemen and going after bandits and shooting them is not the answer, you have to look at what the source is, it is not going to solve itself overnight,” Chin said.

“It is a generation or two that have gone awry and we have to look at those who have the power to look at where the problems are in those communities, where there is much hopelessness and try to solve the problem in terms of re-education and creating more courses and discussions to see how we could stymy this,” he said.

“Our police, while they try hard, they have some things stacked up against them and we don’t have the confidence with what we see happening. It is also caught up with the politics and we are looking for solutions with both opposition and government and all we getting is more bacchanal,” he said.

Gopee-Scoon:
Visitors will come for Carnival

Meanwhile, acting Minister of Tourism Paula Gopee-Scoon is confident that despite the continuing spike in murders, people will still visit this country for Carnival 2023.

T&T recorded another five murders on its way to the 600 mark.

Contacted for comment on whether she felt the continuing crime rate would affect tourism, especially with Carnival two months away, Gopee-Scoon said, “A bumper Carnival season is expected with a number of hotel rooms already sold out, costumes are being bought online and locally. I have every confidence that the flights will be fully sold out, this is the expectation, understanding that Trinidad and Tobago has the best Carnival in the world.”

Minister Gopee-Scoon noted, however, that the Government is concerned about crime in general and suggested that Minister of National Security Fitzgerald Hinds will speak to that directly.

“But I am just looking at the level of activity that we’ve had here for football and as the Christmas season rolls in, there’ve been a number of shows that have been sold out, so that I think that Trinidadians and Tobagonians and our diaspora and our visitors are all expecting much and they will be here for Carnival,” she said.

On Monday, National Security Minister Fitzgerald Hinds attributed the availability of weapons to the high crime rate. He also said most of what is done by his ministry cannot be seen but this does not mean they are not functional.

“I estimate that about 85 per cent of what we do in National Security cannot be discussed in the public... and therefore, don’t misunderstand silence for lack of care, lack of concern, it is far from that,” he said.

Efforts to contact acting Police Commissioner Earla Christopher for a comment on the latest surge in murders were unsuccessful.

https://guardian.co.tt/news/chin-tt-los ... b25f3abc17

Postby The_Honourable » December 21st, 2022, 2:02 am

People: Murders reaching 600...

Gopee-Scoon: small ting, hinds dealing with that. Carnival coming...

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » December 21st, 2022, 4:15 am

tax the citizen, get richer, empty the treasury, call a snap election and let a next party rebuild while waiting to be voted back in to empty the treasury again. red and dotish should be the supporters motto.

Postby pugboy » December 21st, 2022, 6:21 am

yup, carnival can’t come any faster
avenue pavement being prepped for mother of all carnivals
biggest distraction ever

Postby hover11 » December 21st, 2022, 6:56 am

What happens after those two days though
pugboy wrote:yup, carnival can’t come any faster
biggest distraction ever

Postby Dave » December 21st, 2022, 7:01 am

What always happen every year irrespective of who is in power
hover11 wrote:What happens after those two days though
pugboy wrote:yup, carnival can’t come any faster
biggest distraction ever

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » December 21st, 2022, 7:12 am

Carnival washes away all PNM sins

Postby pugboy » December 21st, 2022, 7:39 am

what is latest with Rowlee and the recent embarrassment from WI cricket team ?
I know he is very concerned about cricket and golf

dogg

Postby dogg » December 21st, 2022, 7:50 am

What is the PNM's plan for the economy?

They don't need a plan.

Not with that inept, drunk, meandering opposition leader.
PNM 10 more years. Cuz Kamla not going anywhere and UNC supporters will continue voting her as party leader.

Postby timelapse » December 21st, 2022, 12:25 pm

You can blame Kamla's ineptitude in her drinking.Whats Rowley's excuse?He dotish and inept while being stone sober.

dogg

Postby dogg » December 21st, 2022, 2:37 pm

timelapse wrote:You can blame Kamla's ineptitude in her drinking. Whats Rowley's excuse? He dotish and inept while being stone sober.

That's my point. Rowley could do anything he wants and be re-elected into govt.

Kamla poses no challenge.

And yet, the yellow till they dead supporters will back her every time!

Postby Gladiator » December 21st, 2022, 3:19 pm

dogg wrote:
timelapse wrote:You can blame Kamla's ineptitude in her drinking. Whats Rowley's excuse? He dotish and inept while being stone sober.

That's my point. Rowley could do anything he wants and be re-elected into govt.

Kamla poses no challenge.

And yet, the yellow till they dead supporters will back her every time!

Thanks to the brainless supporters that vote...

Postby hover11 » December 22nd, 2022, 6:52 am

When you eliminate the middle class and ruin the economy what do you expect?
FB_IMG_1671706264142.jpg

Postby timelapse » December 22nd, 2022, 7:50 am

The PNM has no plans for this country other than lowering property prices,so that its high flying ministers can buy off cheaply and tax free .That is the plan.

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » December 22nd, 2022, 9:54 am

hover11 wrote:When you eliminate the middle class and ruin the economy what do you expect?
FB_IMG_1671706264142.jpg
They will still vote PNM

The more you press PNM supporters they sure of a victory. Just say kamala to blame and that washes the sins of the PNM

Postby matr1x » December 22nd, 2022, 10:25 am

The country burning down, and they will say they provided warmth

Postby Rovin » December 22nd, 2022, 10:41 am

SuperiorMan wrote:Chin: T&T losing investment due to out-of-control crime

Crime in this country “is really out of control and is affecting business in a big way,” regional business tycoon Derek Chin has said.

Chin, who was inducted into this country’s Business Hall of Fame in 2018, made the statement to Guardian Media in a telephone interview yesterday, as the country surges to the unfortunate record of 600 murders for this year.

“A lot of people I know, they are not investing any more money in the country, they have lost confidence and they are looking to take whatever savings they have to another destination. Trinidad is not a paradise where people feel they can invest and feel comfortable anymore. A lot of the money is going other places and that makes it worse because less business means less employment, more hardship so on and so forth. Everything is just out of whack,” Chin said.

The murder toll stood at 591 last evening after a brutal 13 hours from Monday into yesterday in which five people were killed, including two double murder incidents in Moruga and Piarco.

Chin said while a city like Miami also has crime, it does not feel the same as it does here.

“The fact that nobody seems to be held accountable, that the rate of solving crime is obviously very, very low and we don’t have confidence in the police service, it does not auger well for us who live here and the business community and those who have to go to work every day and the people don’t want to go out in the night, which especially affects us in the entertainment business,” Chin said.

“Nobody wants to go out in the night because they are afraid to go home and worse, of course, are these home invasions, where even your privacy in your own home is impacted.”

He said citizens now have to include closed-circuit television cameras, alarm systems, dogs and other security measures to feel safe at home. He said when you put all that together, it is certainly not a position or place where we want to be as a country.

“People are looking for some degree of hope, putting more policemen and going after bandits and shooting them is not the answer, you have to look at what the source is, it is not going to solve itself overnight,” Chin said.

“It is a generation or two that have gone awry and we have to look at those who have the power to look at where the problems are in those communities, where there is much hopelessness and try to solve the problem in terms of re-education and creating more courses and discussions to see how we could stymy this,” he said.

“Our police, while they try hard, they have some things stacked up against them and we don’t have the confidence with what we see happening. It is also caught up with the politics and we are looking for solutions with both opposition and government and all we getting is more bacchanal,” he said.

Gopee-Scoon:
Visitors will come for Carnival

Meanwhile, acting Minister of Tourism Paula Gopee-Scoon is confident that despite the continuing spike in murders, people will still visit this country for Carnival 2023.

T&T recorded another five murders on its way to the 600 mark.

Contacted for comment on whether she felt the continuing crime rate would affect tourism, especially with Carnival two months away, Gopee-Scoon said, “A bumper Carnival season is expected with a number of hotel rooms already sold out, costumes are being bought online and locally. I have every confidence that the flights will be fully sold out, this is the expectation, understanding that Trinidad and Tobago has the best Carnival in the world.”

Minister Gopee-Scoon noted, however, that the Government is concerned about crime in general and suggested that Minister of National Security Fitzgerald Hinds will speak to that directly.

“But I am just looking at the level of activity that we’ve had here for football and as the Christmas season rolls in, there’ve been a number of shows that have been sold out, so that I think that Trinidadians and Tobagonians and our diaspora and our visitors are all expecting much and they will be here for Carnival,” she said.

On Monday, National Security Minister Fitzgerald Hinds attributed the availability of weapons to the high crime rate. He also said most of what is done by his ministry cannot be seen but this does not mean they are not functional.

“I estimate that about 85 per cent of what we do in National Security cannot be discussed in the public... and therefore, don’t misunderstand silence for lack of care, lack of concern, it is far from that,” he said.

Efforts to contact acting Police Commissioner Earla Christopher for a comment on the latest surge in murders were unsuccessful.

https://guardian.co.tt/news/chin-tt-los ... b25f3abc17

article was going well with chin repping d thoughts of most ppl [besides d die hard pee nm idiots] - then they put in dopey spoon talking a big pile of sh1t , forget all ur worries in life cause crapnival coming up jes now ... & then d other biggest pile of crap behindz talking out he ass making excuse bout he cyar discuss national security in public trying to divert he pretend he doing something & throw een ah blame kamla\unc for crime too ...

Postby pugboy » December 22nd, 2022, 3:41 pm

christmas aint reach yet but full speed ahead with carnival works in the savannah this week
place done fenced off and usual stuff going up on the strip

need to get the carnival distraction in the ppl head quick to divert the crime issues

Postby maj. tom » December 22nd, 2022, 4:39 pm

“Two things only the people anxiously desire — bread and circuses.”

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » December 22nd, 2022, 4:52 pm

maj. tom wrote:“Two things only the people anxiously desire — bread and circuses.”

So basically "CEPEP and Carnival".

Postby De Dragon » December 22nd, 2022, 5:20 pm

hover11 wrote:When you eliminate the middle class and ruin the economy what do you expect?FB_IMG_1671706264142.jpg

The LFD RFD PNM and their dotish supporters encapsulated perfectly in that picture.
Benz drving top shotta lawyer playing Mother Theresa while poor supporters line up for their dependency fix, and afterwards back to "Grate iz de PNM" :roll:

Postby paid_influencer » December 22nd, 2022, 5:27 pm

hover11 wrote:When you eliminate the middle class and ruin the economy what do you expect?FB_IMG_1671706264142.jpg

The LFD RFD PNM and their dotish supporters encapsulated perfectly in that picture.
Benz drving top shotta lawyer playing Mother Theresa while poor supporters line up for their dependency fix, and afterwards back to "Grate iz de PNM" :roll:

look the real mother Theresa

321437218_689321159427129_6093547419850430148_n.jpg

Postby timelapse » December 22nd, 2022, 6:11 pm

paid_influencer wrote:

Correct,learn a business based game instead of how to jump and wine.

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » December 22nd, 2022, 8:49 pm

The PNM needs to put off carnival for a couple of years. Crime is a major factor of carnival plus wasted money.

Postby timelapse » December 22nd, 2022, 9:27 pm

Kickstart wrote:The PNM needs to put off carnival for a couple of years. Crime is a major factor of carnival plus wasted money.
They taking the antivaxer approach.Who dead dead

Postby hover11 » December 23rd, 2022, 7:39 am

timelapse wrote:
Kickstart wrote:The PNM needs to put off carnival for a couple of years. Crime is a major factor of carnival plus wasted money.
Sad thing is you can't take a vaccine to protect against PNM and their incompetence. What PNM is doing will have long lasting effects where generations to come will still be paying for their actions. Take a lookaround not a single act in seven years to stimulate the economy but it still have ppl on here going down to their last breath that they doing a good job....
Last edited by hover11 on December 23rd, 2022, 7:39 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby timelapse » December 23rd, 2022, 8:50 am

hover11 wrote:
timelapse wrote:
Sad thing is you can't take a vaccine to protect against PNM and their incompetence. What is PNM is doing will have long lasting effects where generations to come will still be paying for their actions. Take a long around not a single act in seven years to stimulate the economy but it still have ppl on here going down to their last breath that they doing a good job....
There is.Vote for somebody else.

Postby pugboy » December 23rd, 2022, 8:53 am

the plan for everything right now is carnival 2023
expect big
push on everything

Postby De Dragon » December 23rd, 2022, 1:45 pm

paid_influencer wrote:

Yeah, dem lil chirren go eat de MC game :roll:
Ollour LFD RFD PNM apologists not only dotish, but ollour blind too.