desifemlove wrote:and? why is the notion that those who have more means to pay is wrong?
you keep mentioning the UK, as if you have extensive experience of living there.....well if you do, you'll know that most accept the idea that higher earners pay a higher proportionate share of taxes for ting...... and if it make Kwame able to study and get a good job, or kumarsingh even if he from a poor family, why not?
De Dragon wrote:eliteauto wrote:seems the PNM has gotten the closet racists out their closet, they've also gotten some idiot to form a band of merry men, achievement unlocked
PNM groupies, hangers-on, sycophants and sheep would consider this an achievement.............
Trinidad and Tobago Guardian wrote:EFCL fires Shah, Maharaj
Shaliza Hassanali
Published:
Sunday, February 28, 2016
The board of the Education Facilities Company Ltd (EFCL) has taken a decision to terminate the employment of its suspended chief executive officer Sharma Maharaj and chief operations officer, Kiran Shah.
The termination was effective on February 23.
Both men, who were retained under the former People’s Partnership government, received their dismissal letters from the EFCL’s corporate secretary.
Confirmation came yesterday from EFCL chairman and former agriculture minister Arnold Piggott.
Piggott said, “The board, having lost confidence in the two executive members, took a decision to terminate their employment.”
Piggott, however, refused to answer any further questions.
Last November, police officers were called in by the current board, as part of the ongoing criminal probe into the EFCL’s operations under its former board.
After their visits the officers reportedly carted away several hard drives from computer systems at the offices and other documents.
A private room was also discovered when the new board, led by Piggott, toured the Maraval offices.
A small group of EFCL employees were found to be doctoring documents and back-dating contracts.
Following the discovery, Maharaj and Shah were suspended with full pay and benefits, pending the outcome of an investigation into the EFCL’s operations under the previous board.
The EFCL also ordered two independent audits.
“The audits were conducted because the company was in a bad shape. We would need to put in a lot of controls in the area of accounting and auditing in particular, so that we can cut back on any wastage and provide value for money in the awarding of contracts,” a source at the EFCL said.
The source said the EFCL was seeking to re-establish good management principles and improve its image.
“EFCL is committed to focussing on the core business of the company, which is to build, repair and maintain as well as outfit all schools from Early Childhood Care and Education to secondary. This with the objective of providing a healthy and comfortable learning and teaching environment.”
The positions of both men would have to be filled, but the source could not say when.
“The board is on a re-organisation of the company and in that process will determine what is required to deliver on its mandate.”
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2016-02- ... ah-maharaj
eliteauto wrote:De Dragon wrote:eliteauto wrote:seems the PNM has gotten the closet racists out their closet, they've also gotten some idiot to form a band of merry men, achievement unlocked
PNM groupies, hangers-on, sycophants and sheep would consider this an achievement.............
I agree with you 100%, the minute you understand why I do, you'll better understand politics
zoom rader wrote:desifemlove wrote:and? why is the notion that those who have more means to pay is wrong?
you keep mentioning the UK, as if you have extensive experience of living there.....well if you do, you'll know that most accept the idea that higher earners pay a higher proportionate share of taxes for ting...... and if it make Kwame able to study and get a good job, or kumarsingh even if he from a poor family, why not?
Yes I have spent a good few years working in the UK and got to learn how their government equally run things for all their citizens . I have especially spoken to young intern, grads, apprentices and older workers . It's amazing how they started off and got funded for education. They are given grants, loans, company sponsorship and even paid to do an apprenticeship skill. Education can cost you nothing in the UK as a citizen through the right channels.
Everyone working person in the UK pays taxes. I think at below £32k you paid 25% over that it's 40% minus personal tax free allowance of £10600.
They pay taxes and get EQUAL BENEFITS regardless of status
I read where Joan Collins multi millionaire actor, when she was unemployed still claimed her job seekers allowance (dole) because she paid her taxes.
Here in Trin you are telling some people that they have to pay taxes and not receive benefits that is due to them because they are successful.
These are young ppl, it's their parents that are successful and it's the same ppl that pay taxes.
This new measure by this government is pure racist it is singling out one group of people because they choose education over naming all the parts on a glock and AK 47.
De Dragon wrote:eliteauto wrote:De Dragon wrote:eliteauto wrote:seems the PNM has gotten the closet racists out their closet, they've also gotten some idiot to form a band of merry men, achievement unlocked
I agree with you 100%, the minute you understand why I do, you'll better understand politics
Don't patronize me, and try better at the mind games.
eliteauto wrote:De Dragon wrote:eliteauto wrote:De Dragon wrote:eliteauto wrote:seems the PNM has gotten the closet racists out their closet, they've also gotten some idiot to form a band of merry men, achievement unlocked
Don't patronize me, and try better at the mind games.
you sad yes, can't force a man to think *shrugs*
desifemlove wrote:zoom rader wrote:desifemlove wrote:and? why is the notion that those who have more means to pay is wrong?
Yes I have spent a good few years working in the UK and got to learn how their government equally run things for all their citizens . I have especially spoken to young intern, grads, apprentices and older workers . It's amazing how they started off and got funded for education. They are given grants, loans, company sponsorship and even paid to do an apprenticeship skill. Education can cost you nothing in the UK as a citizen through the right channels.
Everyone working person in the UK pays taxes. I think at below £32k you paid 25% over that it's 40% minus personal tax free allowance of £10600.
They pay taxes and get EQUAL BENEFITS regardless of status
I read where Joan Collins multi millionaire actor, when she was unemployed still claimed her job seekers allowance (dole) because she paid her taxes.
Here in Trin you are telling some people that they have to pay taxes and not receive benefits that is due to them because they are successful.
These are young ppl, it's their parents that are successful and it's the same ppl that pay taxes.
This new measure by this government is pure racist it is singling out one group of people because they choose education over naming all the parts on a glock and AK 47.
i never said anything different. state where i said people who pay taxes shouldn'tget benefits. on and even JSA is means-tested. if Joan collins was bankrupt, then she would get it, if not, then fine. nohing wrong with means-testing......doh be scrooge-esque, but then it's called a compassionate society, maybe T&T would be better if people paid their way and scrunting even on a $100,000 a month salary was not condoned...
eliteauto wrote:ok lazy mind
'BP tax write-off will weaken T&T 2016 income'*
Published on Mar 1, 2016, 6:45 pm AST
By Aleem Khan
A promised tax write-off for energy giant BP's planned US$1.5 billion capital expenditure in 2016 will mean Government will not be getting much from the country's largest taxpayer, according to Finance Minister Colm Imbert.
And as a result of reduced revenue from the energy sector, Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative (EITI) director Victor Hart foresees Government having to cut expenditure “significantly” from April.
Back from Peru where he was inducted to the global board of directors of EITI last Friday, Hart said in a telephone interview on Saturday: “(Reduced revenue from the energy sector) means, in effect, that Government's receipts of revenue in the Treasury—the income—is going to be substantially reduced and therefore the Government's national budget has, of necessity, to be reduced because the income side is now lower, and that would, of necessity, mean that Government expenditure would have to be re-visited and reduced where possible.
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20160301 ... 016-income
Habit7 wrote:So much for acheivements.'BP tax write-off will weaken T&T 2016 income'*
By Aleem Khan
A promised tax write-off for energy giant BP's planned US$1.5 billion capital expenditure in 2016 will mean Government will not be getting much from the country's largest taxpayer, according to Finance Minister Colm Imbert.
And as a result of reduced revenue from the energy sector, Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative (EITI) director Victor Hart foresees Government having to cut expenditure “significantly” from April.
Back from Peru where he was inducted to the global board of directors of EITI last Friday, Hart said in a telephone interview on Saturday: “(Reduced revenue from the energy sector) means, in effect, that Government's receipts of revenue in the Treasury—the income—is going to be substantially reduced and therefore the Government's national budget has, of necessity, to be reduced because the income side is now lower, and that would, of necessity, mean that Government expenditure would have to be re-visited and reduced where possible.
If only we had elected KamlaThis would have never happen
~Vēġó~ wrote:discontinuance with the case against Malcolm Jones....convenient achievement.
hong kong phooey wrote:toyolink wrote:Rory Phoulorie wrote:*KRONIK* wrote:. . . For new properties, the value needs to be assigned by a government valuator. . .
What's all this fuss about property taxes then? Government valuations are always below true market value.
Trinis always complaining about taxes in T&T, but have no issue with paying them when they go faren.
I believe the problem here is the lack of clarity coupled with what appears to be an intention to shift the bench mark values up.
The public has no problem paying "reasonable taxes" and would be concerned about getting caught like what just happened with 12.5% vat promise.
And not only that the money used to buy the property was already taxed.
What if I secured a loan to buy the said property. Property really belongs to the bank. Should the taxes be split such that I pay the percentage I already paid for and the bank pays the rest.
It is unfair that i am taxed on my luxury,
Some people work twice as hard to have what they own.
It should be fair equal amount to each home owner. no on the face value.
Habit7 wrote:So much for acheivements.'BP tax write-off will weaken T&T 2016 income'*
By Aleem Khan
RASC wrote:hong kong phooey wrote:toyolink wrote:Rory Phoulorie wrote:*KRONIK* wrote:. . . For new properties, the value needs to be assigned by a government valuator. . .
What's all this fuss about property taxes then? Government valuations are always below true market value.
Trinis always complaining about taxes in T&T, but have no issue with paying them when they go faren.
I believe the problem here is the lack of clarity coupled with what appears to be an intention to shift the bench mark values up.
The public has no problem paying "reasonable taxes" and would be concerned about getting caught like what just happened with 12.5% vat promise.
And not only that the money used to buy the property was already taxed.
What if I secured a loan to buy the said property. Property really belongs to the bank. Should the taxes be split such that I pay the percentage I already paid for and the bank pays the rest.
It is unfair that i am taxed on my luxury,
Some people work twice as hard to have what they own.
It should be fair equal amount to each home owner. no on the face value.
Yeah bai 3% of the ATV...can you imagine having to fork out another 1500TT over the course of the year... Thas a whole extra $100+ per month bai... W T F
Aaron 2NR wrote:Habit7 wrote:So much for acheivements.'BP tax write-off will weaken T&T 2016 income'*
By Aleem Khan
what utter non-sense.....these write offs are part of a contract for BP to continue their exploration and drilling programs. If Colm included these in his projection for the budget, he's a bigger fool than i thought.... up to now train 4 receiving tax write offs for its investment
De Dragon wrote:eliteauto wrote:ok lazy mind
Thanks, but I will not let you or your cohorts dictate how to exercise my mind, especially when to you, exercising it means looking at things from your biased slant. So go ahead with your insults, and ganging up.
If you read the article you would see that this is the opinion of an individual, not Colm Imbert. It was meant to show the shrinking of our economy due to the changed tax policy of 2014 when oil was high which allowed for BPTT, our biggest taxpayer, to receive bigger write-offs now. So box drain life cease now, govt achievements should be not going to IMF cap in hand.zoom rader wrote:Aaron 2NR wrote:Habit7 wrote:So much for acheivements.'BP tax write-off will weaken T&T 2016 income'*
By Aleem Khan
what utter non-sense.....these write offs are part of a contract for BP to continue their exploration and drilling programs. If Colm included these in his projection for the budget, he's a bigger fool than i thought.... up to now train 4 receiving tax write offs for its investment
Why bother explaining this to Habit7