Mountain Biking

Re: Mountain Biking

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 13th, 2019, 8:26 pm

pugboy wrote:you guys ride with helmet and other cycling approved clothing etc ?

I ride with a helmet, gloves, lights (if dark/twilight), a cycling top, but normal (f)athletic shorts.
I usually pack a nametag with emergency contacts, on the bike itself, two water bottles, my phone plus some cash and painkillers in a ziploc. Seat bag has a mini toolkit, emergency patch kit and a tyre prise tool.

Seems like overkill, but I'm on the road for 4-6 hours usually on a 100km loop and I ride alone.

I use Glympse so my wife can track me in real time, and she knows if I'm gonna stop for more than 5-10 mins, I'll check in.

Once I had to call for help when I got a flat

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 13th, 2019, 8:32 pm

bgh wrote:
eKeith wrote:
ismithx wrote:
metalgear2095 wrote:
eKeith wrote:You can also get a proper folding bike

https://www.montaguebikes.com
Folding bikes are sheit

I also concur
Reviews? Why so? Any of you have experience with them? Please elaborate...
That bike friggin ugly yo...

Bikes need to make you look good...

My bike looks better without me on it :/

eKeith

Postby eKeith » February 13th, 2019, 8:43 pm

metalgear2095 wrote:
eKeith wrote:
ismithx wrote:
metalgear2095 wrote:
eKeith wrote:You can also get a proper folding bike

https://www.montaguebikes.com
Folding bikes are sheit

I also concur
Reviews? Why so? Any of you have experience with them? Please elaborate...
Strong frame but chances are it will be heavier. sheit components. Like everything. Narrow handlebars, sheit brakes, drive train, fork etc. Guess it's decent for riding around the block.
There are always trade offs. So I guess it depends on which features are important to you...

eKeith

Postby eKeith » February 13th, 2019, 8:48 pm

https://www.montaguebikes.com/product/p ... per-elite/

The top of the line model looks good to me...

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » February 13th, 2019, 9:25 pm

You can get a great carbon hardtail or a alloy full suspension for that price. To each his own I guess.

eKeith

Postby eKeith » February 13th, 2019, 9:55 pm

Don't get me wrong; I'll never spend that kinda money on a bike. But it shows that not all folding bikes are made equal. I guess one has to check the specs on each when considering options...

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » February 14th, 2019, 6:48 am

Yes not all are equal but they also aren't equal to non folding bikes and aren't a usually consideration unless you want travel with you bike a lot. The cons outweigh the benefits

Postby Redman » February 14th, 2019, 6:54 am

you can get a b 14 with a bigger trunk for that....

Rockram

Postby Rockram » February 18th, 2019, 7:22 pm

Anyone going to Central Spokes "Gulf View to Icacos Ride" on March 31st

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 18th, 2019, 8:51 pm

Rockram wrote:Anyone going to Central Spokes "Gulf View to Icacos Ride" on March 31st

yup, registered already

Rockram

Postby Rockram » February 18th, 2019, 9:16 pm

^^ Nice, looking forward to it, started training yesterday....The Last CSCC event "Coast to Coast" was enjoyable!

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 18th, 2019, 9:38 pm

Rockram wrote:^^ Nice, looking forward to it, started training yesterday....The Last CSCC event "Coast to Coast" was enjoyable!

Yup, I went that one too :)
8-)
Hope to see some tuners falling in.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » February 24th, 2019, 12:40 pm

Ride today !
FB_IMG_1551026344368.jpeg

Rockram

Postby Rockram » February 24th, 2019, 7:31 pm

Screenshot_20190112-104352_Samsung Health.jpg

My ride today

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 24th, 2019, 8:24 pm

I down with the flu :(
Got up at 430 am to ride, then realized I might have breathing probs en route, which is bad for a solo mission.
Rested it out, but I real missed the road today

Postby MG Man » February 25th, 2019, 8:43 am

after years of teaching defensive driving, I've met enough drivers to convince me riding bicycle on the road isn't worth the risk
The attitude of so many drivers ranges from disgusting to downright terrifying
Add the gross level of driving incompetence and poor judgement, and I rather risk breaking myass in the bush or just making circles around my block

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » February 25th, 2019, 9:10 am

MG Man wrote:after years of teaching defensive driving, I've met enough drivers to convince me riding bicycle on the road isn't worth the risk
The attitude of so many drivers ranges from disgusting to downright terrifying
Add the gross level of driving incompetence and poor judgement, and I rather risk breaking myass in the bush or just making circles around my block

Same here.I rather make a block than take those chances on the highway.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » February 25th, 2019, 9:15 am

I usually go places where not much cars , have never ridden on the highway and never will

Been riding for many years

That area i ride sunday was very few cars and i even had to tell some thanks for their courtesy

I passed thru cumuto coryal tamana talparo and brazil.

Worst experience i had was close to where i live where maxi almost run me off the road

There are lots of places in trinidad where you can ride far with very little cars

After all this is the mountain bike lovers thread lol
Last edited by PariaMan on February 25th, 2019, 9:15 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby MG Man » February 25th, 2019, 9:18 am

^^^ hence I rather take the bike to the bush and ride on a trail

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » February 25th, 2019, 9:28 am

MG Man wrote:^^^ hence I rather take the bike to the bush and ride on a trail
Lol you said around the block in your post, when i was doing that is when i got in trouble

Most if deaths we see in trinidad is on the highway, there are lots of roads in Trinidad where there are not a lot of cars where you can ride comfortable in a mountain bike

Arima blanch road, caura road early in the mountain, lots of roads in central trinidad, cumaca road and so on

Just avoid the highway and other major roads

Postby MG Man » February 25th, 2019, 9:45 am

PariaMan wrote:
MG Man wrote:^^^ hence I rather take the bike to the bush and ride on a trail
Lol you said around the block in your post, when i was doing that is when i got in trouble

Most if deaths we see in trinidad is on the highway, there are lots of roads in Trinidad where there are not a lot of cars where you can ride comfortable in a mountain bike

Arima blanch road, caura road early in the mountain, lots of roads in central trinidad, cumaca road and so on

Just avoid the highway and other major roads

quote me correk nah, ah said in de bush or around de block :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Where I live, it's only dead end streets there, so on an evening, it's just locals coming home form work. If I ride for an hour from say 5 to 6, I see maybe 5 cars

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » February 25th, 2019, 9:50 am

First post said both second post said bush alone

Thus a correct quote

Yesterday my ride was burning thousands of calories and i got to see beautiful trini country side

Next week is cumaca road , 9 miles in and 9 miles out very few cars and a beautiful river

To each his own , so enjoy your ride around your block

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 25th, 2019, 9:56 am

Yea, the countryside is beautiful.
There are pockets of brilliance, in between the mountains of garbage and sheit.

Some of my fav spots:

Gran Couva
Brasso
Whiteland/Mayo
Tortuga
Tabaquite
Las Lomas
Grande/Manzan

I'd like to see more, my challenge is plotting a route there and back, since I think it's pointless to drive and park, then to ride - except for the big organized rides.

I think the Icacos ride will have incredible views/scenery.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » February 25th, 2019, 10:03 am

I have no problem with park and ride since it allows me to avoid heavy congestion and widen my reach

Last year i did from toco to grand reviere and back

Absolutely beautiful seaside views with not much traffic

Will probably do after carnival
VexXx Dogg wrote:Yea, the countryside is beautiful.
There are pockets of brilliance, in between the mountains of garbage and sheit.

Some of my fav spots:

Gran Couva
Brasso
Whiteland/Mayo
Tortuga
Tabaquite
Las Lomas
Grande/Manzan

I'd like to see more, my challenge is plotting a route there and back, since I think it's pointless to drive and park, then to ride - except for the big organized rides.

I think the Icacos ride will have incredible views/scenery.

Postby MG Man » February 25th, 2019, 2:51 pm

PariaMan wrote:First post said both second post said bush alone

Thus a correct quote

Yesterday my ride was burning thousands of calories and i got to see beautiful trini country side

Next week is cumaca road , 9 miles in and 9 miles out very few cars and a beautiful river

To each his own , so enjoy your ride around your block

there isn't much of T&T I haven't seen
and I'm now on friendly terms with all the dogs now...except the one dotish pompek

Postby ismithx » February 25th, 2019, 7:26 pm

anybody know any nice routes close to UTT valsayn or I out of luck?

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 25th, 2019, 7:58 pm

ismithx wrote:anybody know any nice routes close to UTT valsayn or I out of luck?

The caroni bank road eh too bad on a Sunday morn. You can make a spin down to the SMR roundabout, head down to chin chin junction, take the madras road and back to UTT valsayn.

If you wanna push a little harder, go las lomas instead of madras, and when you come out by St Helena, take the old airport road, and back down to the caroni road to UTT Valsayn.

I usually incorporate these roads into one of my sunday morn routes, and I leave from couva.
Most drivers are courteous, oddly enough - even maxis.

Rockram

Postby Rockram » February 26th, 2019, 2:13 pm

I'm looking for a good gravel/adventure bike...any recommendations....price range under 10,000... must have drop bars and disc brakes.

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 26th, 2019, 3:30 pm

Rockram wrote:I'm looking for a good gravel/adventure bike...any recommendations....price range under 10,000... must have drop bars and disc brakes.

You can check Motorcycle Etc for the Canondale CAADX; mike's for the Specialized Diverge.

I bought a used specialized diverge off ebay because new bike prices are :shock: .
Carbon fork, s-works carbon seatpost, Selle SMP seat, 105 groupset and hyrdro brakes.
Cost me about 5k landed, and weighs about 20lb with all gear- not bad for a alloy frame.

You have a good budget there, should be able to score a new bike or a decent used full carbon gravelbike. I was also looking at Scott CX gravel bikes, but they were about 900+ USD used.

BikeFlights is cheap to ship a bike within the continental US; and Seabox is cheapest to get the bike to Trinidad

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 26th, 2019, 3:42 pm