meccalli wrote:nareshseep wrote:Then some will say everything in that pic contains water. Which I agree but DNA is totally different. It all point to a common ancestor. You can call it "Adam" if you may but its not an human being its an organism..then the thumpers will jump in and say " yuh see the shitbook was correct ".
Hail the goddess Athena may she bless us with knowledge and insight. Hopefully you would see.
You clearly have no understanding of either the Bible nor the scientific theory you are defending. The bible in no way supports man as being related to the rest of creation as ordinary except in origin-.All creation however has a single designer. What you're referring to is Darwin's common descent and his tree of life analogy. Biologists have long been probing information that seems to show life had multiple origins according to different roots in kingdoms. If you're making a DNA argument in origins, you need to account for the evolution of DNA and its precursors that can explain the existence of rudimentary organisms like prokaryotes and archaea. What you also need to look at is how DNA operates within its mechanisms of coding and producing a given result. Sharing 99% of DNA makes nothing similar. A particular physiology is produced by the species' particular genome. Looking at the genome, reduces the gene similarity to about 60% in chimps, 80% in mice to us lol. Not to mention when you go down to the coding portions and non-coding regulatory areas, the similarity declines further. Let science figure out our 'junk' lol dna and then they can begin to map similarities.
Habit7 wrote:If you really concerned
about an answer for your earlier question, spare 5 mins to get it here:
bluesclues wrote:Slartibartfast wrote:bluesclues wrote:if i remember correctly, the chance of life beginning here entirely by chance are .0001^26 or something ridcilous like that. you can take your gamble with that. ill take my chances with the invisible guy who is ruler and creator of multiple dimensions lol
Source?
google not very far away inno. lol i researched it years ago. the numbers are worse than i said actually. regardless of the very informative debate on the page, the numbers presented are scientifically acceptable but none can agree that they have the precise answer to the beginnings of life. only that they have varying numbers for various theories proposed.
infidels.org/library/modern/richard_carrier/addendaB.html
Slartibartfast wrote:Habit7 wrote:If you really concerned
about an answer for your earlier question, spare 5 mins to get it here:
I think the presupposed hidden assumption made by atheist is that God is supposed to be all good and all knowing.
So why would he give an innocent child AIDS if it is just going to make him/her suffer. I am sure not all children born with AIDS are brought closer to God through it so why would he do that?
Note he did not state these morally sufficient reasons for causing suffering which is exactly what the boy was asking for. Brilliant sidestep.
Now what do you guys think about this video? A bit harsh but he raises some good points
Slartibartfast wrote:[youtube]wtx5GyP7i7w[youtube]
I think the presupposed hidden assumption made by atheist is that God is supposed to be all good and all knowing.
So why would he give an innocent child AIDS if it is just going to make him/her suffer. I am sure not all children born with AIDS are brought closer to God through it so why would he do that?
Note he did not state these morally sufficient reasons for causing suffering which is exactly what the boy was asking for. Brilliant sidestep.
Now what do you guys think about this video? A bit harsh but he raises some good points
[youtube]P4dSiHqpULk[youtube]
bluesclues wrote:nareshseep wrote:
Then some will say everything in that pic contains water. Which I agree but DNA is totally different. It all point to a common ancestor. You can call it "Adam" if you may but its not an human being its an organism..then the thumpers will jump in and say " yuh see the shitbook was correct ".
Hail the goddess Athena may she bless us with knowledge and insight. Hopefully you would see.
luls. i am rh negative type O negative. meaning scientists cant connect my bloodtype to any monkey. i cannot be cloned, and can only accept rh negative blood, but my blood can be used in transfusions for all known bloodtypes(universal). google it.
edit:
https://answers.yahoo.com/question/inde ... 811AAsSpCx
Habit7 wrote:nareshseep wrote:
Then some will say everything in that pic contains water. Which I agree but DNA is totally different. It all point to a common ancestor. You can call it "Adam" if you may but its not an human being its an organism..then the thumpers will jump in and say " yuh see the shitbook was correct ".
I guess you have an idea of a rebuttal of the 98% (it's really 95%) chimp DNA point because i gave u before viewtopic.php?f=4&t=267363&start=15570#p7140723
But while you want to make assumptions of a common ancestors, you still have to explain how could complex information stored in DNA can come about by a natural process. Furthermore with existing DNA, what process does it get addition information to be improved (mutation just varies preexisting information, not add).
bluesclues wrote:he said himself he basically has no obligation to be compassionate and excercises it. and also admits he is a religious intolerant. he then goes on to justify abuse of masses on the grounds solely of his personal opinionated disapproval of religious theism. sounds like hes going to world the better place respecting freedom eh??
you see how they does think they living moral lives on their own intellect and not even realize that their selfish solutions will not indeed help to make the world a better place but a more atrocious one? totally disregarding the emotional sensitivity of others beliefs to become the bully while claiming the victim. is anyone else seeing this perspective who is not religious?
Habit7 wrote:An assumption you are making is that there is an innocent child, man or woman anywhere. They might be innocent on a lateral level to us being that they did us no wrong, but on a vertical level to God, that child is a constituent of this fallen Earth. An Earth that has been fallen from the action of its federal head Adam by whose actions allowed for every facet of the world to be corrupted by sin, of which God promises to judge and recreate once again never to be corrupted. That is not to say that a child may have willingly and intentionally sinned thus committing an act worthy of being born with AIDS, but the child like all of us from the point of conception and life, entered into a corrupt world and is destined to die. So whether they die from suffering as an embryo, a child, middle aged adult or a senior we are all destined for death. AIDS might be the means for one, a quiet aneurysm for another, I really can't explain in every case the means why, but we all die because of our inherent sin. I don't see how this disproves God. The suffering part. The suffering part makes all the difference. So you believe a life that consists of nothing more than slow, painful death of a child brought on by infectious diseases due to the effects of AIDS is exactly the same as a life of a man that is allowed to grow up, take drugs, higher hundreds of prostitutes (basically Charlie Sheen) and die a quick painless death due to a drug overdose? Also, are you then saying that it is morally acceptable to punish one man for another's wrongdoing? That's like me telling your child that once he reaches 18 he has to spend five years in jail because you were caught sniffing coke 30 years ago. If God is supposed to be morally superior, shouldn't his morals be at least equal to ours?
Again you keep using terms like "morally sufficient reasons" without stating your objective standard as an atheist you are accusing God of violating. In the Christian moral standards that God proclaims He sets Himself to, this action is very consistent and whether you or I like it or not, He is sovereign and we are subjects. Life is circumstantial bro. Note that I quoted "morally sufficient reasons" from that guy's mouth. Those are his words not mine. I am saying I don't know what those reasons are, just like the kid that asked what those reasons are. But answer given was basically "Yes, there are reasons".
If you break it down and think about it, God kills every person that has ever lived... But though shalt not kill. God impregnated Mary... But though shalt not commit adultery. However, the reason for this is because of the circumstance. God can do these thing because he created everything.
There is no sidestep The boy asked what were the reasons for innocents suffering... Dude replied God has morally sufficient reasons but doesn't state what they are. (unlike the questions you refuse to answer a couple pages back viewtopic.php?f=4&t=267363&start=18330#p8199097 ). Sorry, I'll take a look back and answer. The question of suffering is solved in Jesus who suffered, died and rose again as a propitiation for those who would repent and put their trust in Him. Wait, I thought the suffering was to atone for our sins, not to justify him torturing innocent children in the future. Please elaborate. God promises eternal life for rebels like us, you reject that. So don't say there is no answer for suffering because God provides the answer and even if there weren't, that still doesn't disprove God.
And you are right that guy does sound too harsh. He might really sound convincing too aside from the fact that it was six mins of him building up straw men and knocking it over. You can attest of all the straw men he put forward I never made any of those claims against you. So it is more or less irrelevant to me.Just providing some perspective for you guys. That is what an intolerant atheist looks like and the thinking behind being one. It's the same thing as intolerant theists (like fundamentalists etc.) Don't worry, even I was kind of put off by the overly smug look on his face.
Habit7 wrote:http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=267363&hilit=Korea&start=18120#p8175986 Right this was when you wanted to argue that all atheists were the same without arguing that all theists are the same. I didn't respond to this because you lacked the understanding of what opposites are.Slartibartfast wrote:Just to clarify, what are some examples of these states of institutionalised institutions?Slartibartfast wrote: 1. There are lots of examples moral codes being developed without God (outside of Nazi Germany and North Korea) and God cannot enforce his "given" rights. So there is no point.
2. Man does take away. Men have killed their sons (Eg. Marvin Gaye was killed by his father who was a minister). Where was God for this? What did God do?
1. Lots of examples like...? How about a person that came up with the golden rule 500 years before Jesus.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Confucius#Ethics
Even though he came up with it, I will not say he invented it because it may have existed independently before him.
2. Where did God say that we don't live our lives as free moral agents who will all give account of our lives when we die and if we are perfect like Jesus we are rewarded with heaven and if we have sinned (like patricide) we are punished in hell? Any proof of heaven or hell?
meccalli wrote:nareshseep wrote:Then some will say everything in that pic contains water. Which I agree but DNA is totally different. It all point to a common ancestor. You can call it "Adam" if you may but its not an human being its an organism..then the thumpers will jump in and say " yuh see the shitbook was correct ".
You clearly have no understanding of either the Bible nor the scientific theory you are defending. The bible in no way supports man as being related to the rest of creation as ordinary except in origin-.All creation however has a single designer. What you're referring to is Darwin's common descent and his tree of life analogy. Biologists have long been probing information that seems to show life had multiple origins according to different roots in kingdoms. If you're making a DNA argument in origins, you need to account for the evolution of DNA and its precursors that can explain the existence of rudimentary organisms like prokaryotes and archaea. What you also need to look at is how DNA operates within its mechanisms of coding and producing a given result. Sharing 99% of DNA makes nothing similar. A particular physiology is produced by the species' particular genome. Looking at the genome, reduces the gene similarity to about 60% in chimps, 80% in mice to us lol. Not to mention when you go down to the coding portions and non-coding regulatory areas, the similarity declines further. Let science figure out our 'junk' lol dna and then they can begin to map similarities.
rspann wrote:meccalli wrote:nareshseep wrote:Then some will say everything in that pic contains water. Which I agree but DNA is totally different. It all point to a common ancestor. You can call it "Adam" if you may but its not an human being its an organism..then the thumpers will jump in and say " yuh see the shitbook was correct ".
Remember you are talking to a man who thinks Zeus is a "she".
rspann wrote:Zeus was the father of the gods in in Greek mythology, being a father implies that he is a "he". Or I could do what Rowley do Hema, and ask you how you know Zeus is a "she".
nareshseep wrote:rspann wrote:Zeus was the father of the gods in in Greek mythology, being a father implies that he is a "he". Or I could do what Rowley do Hema, and ask you how you know Zeus is a "she".
It was passed down through stories from generation to generation .... When it was written into books, It was changed from her to him, but the correction is actually Goddess Zeus. This information has been tried to be kept hidden by the dark forces plaguing mankind. If you perform transcendental meditation after being baptised in the holy waters of the caroni river and perform a haj on foot to el tucuche then bow to the setting sun. It will all be revealed. Upon sunrise one must throw jhal to the north to close off the SSH connection with the ether world. You are now informed and if you do not comply you will be tormented eternally in the under world.
Everything written in ancient times is true and is not a mechanism to control the populace.
Praise Zeus almighty..... Fire and brimstones for the heathens and worshippers of false dogs.
nareshseep wrote:rspann wrote:Zeus was the father of the gods in in Greek mythology, being a father implies that he is a "he". Or I could do what Rowley do Hema, and ask you how you know Zeus is a "she".
It was passed down through stories from generation to generation .... When it was written into books, It was changed from her to him, but the correction is actually Goddess Zeus. This information has been tried to be kept hidden by the dark forces plaguing mankind. If you perform transcendental meditation after being baptised in the holy waters of the caroni river and perform a haj on foot to el tucuche then bow to the setting sun. It will all be revealed. Upon sunrise one must throw jhal to the north to close off the SSH connection with the ether world. You are now informed and if you do not comply you will be tormented eternally in the under world.
Everything written in ancient times is true and is not a mechanism to control the populace.
Praise Zeus almighty..... Fire and brimstones for the heathens and worshippers of false dogs.
nareshseep wrote:You are entitled to your view as I an entitled to my view. You believe my view to be incorrect and I believe my view to be correct.
meccalli wrote:nareshseep wrote:You are entitled to your view as I an entitled to my view. You believe my view to be incorrect and I believe my view to be correct.
rspann wrote:meccalli wrote:nareshseep wrote:You are entitled to your view as I an entitled to my view. You believe my view to be incorrect and I believe my view to be correct.
The irony of all these atheists attacking God in this thread and you making that statement now of all times, might I refer you to page 1? The Op intended this to be a thread for believers to testify of their personal experiences, but of course atheists have the tremendously nagging urge to spout off their ultimate truths and fulfil their duty to mankind to belittle the' weak minded.' Why not leave us in our ignorance if you're satisfied you won't ever change your view and neither will us? What's the point of going on in useless fun poking and superfluous attitudes?[/quote
I never understood their need to even read a thread about something they don't believe in and then having read it jumped in with the opposite to what the thread is about. I see more sense in starting up an atheist thread and discussing it to their hearts desire.
rspann wrote:Anyone ever tried to understand the power of the Holy bible? It's been around so long and although it has been attacked at different times in sundry manners, it still exists and has a power of it's own. No other publication can hearten, console, advise or even change peoples' lives. It tells man about God and his duty to Him. Is there anyway that someone can read(study) the Holy Bible and come to the conclusion that it is just another book, or that God doesn't exist?
This is very true. Atheism is defined as the lack of theism so if there is no theism present then atheism cannot exist. But don't feel bad, even with all the "bashing" we still learn a lot that helps us remain tolerant.bluefete wrote:It will not be as much fun for them as bashing God.
rspann wrote:meccalli wrote:nareshseep wrote:You are entitled to your view as I an entitled to my view. You believe my view to be incorrect and I believe my view to be correct.
The irony of all these atheists attacking God in this thread and you making that statement now of all times, might I refer you to page 1? The Op intended this to be a thread for believers to testify of their personal experiences, but of course atheists have the tremendously nagging urge to spout off their ultimate truths and fulfil their duty to mankind to belittle the' weak minded.' Why not leave us in our ignorance if you're satisfied you won't ever change your view and neither will us? What's the point of going on in useless fun poking and superfluous attitudes?[/quote
I never understood their need to even read a thread about something they don't believe in and then having read it jumped in with the opposite to what the thread is about. I see more sense in starting up an atheist thread and discussing it to their hearts desire.
I don’t believe your new scenario of a child compared to a profligate man is the same. Both are fallen creatures of fallen world and will die, however the man’s willful determinate sin will cause him to be judged by a holy eternal God and he will be punished eternally. The child if she hasn’t reached to a maturity level of conscientious, willful, determinate sin, she will be afforded the mercy of Christ and receive eternal life. You wrongfully assume that her having AIDS as a punishment, even from another’s wrongdoing. But is not a punishment, it is God’s sovereign providence to bring about His will. He made you and I to be born in T&T while someone else in Venezuela or Haiti. There are obvious benefits to being born in T&T than other places, along with some drawbacks. So some children are born healthy, some have a congenital heart problem, some with AIDS, you might think the healthier child is better off but he will have a lifetime to accumulate sin, be guilty before God and hopeful find refuge in Christ before he faces the death we all must face. A terminally ill child stand the chance of being snatched from this world before his fleshly corruption is manifested in his soul’s corruption as evidenced in willful disobedience to his Creator.Slartibartfast wrote:Habit7 wrote:An assumption you are making is that there is an innocent child, man or woman anywhere. They might be innocent on a lateral level to us being that they did us no wrong, but on a vertical level to God, that child is a constituent of this fallen Earth. An Earth that has been fallen from the action of its federal head Adam by whose actions allowed for every facet of the world to be corrupted by sin, of which God promises to judge and recreate once again never to be corrupted. That is not to say that a child may have willingly and intentionally sinned thus committing an act worthy of being born with AIDS, but the child like all of us from the point of conception and life, entered into a corrupt world and is destined to die. So whether they die from suffering as an embryo, a child, middle aged adult or a senior we are all destined for death. AIDS might be the means for one, a quiet aneurysm for another, I really can't explain in every case the means why, but we all die because of our inherent sin. I don't see how this disproves God. The suffering part. The suffering part makes all the difference. So you believe a life that consists of nothing more than slow, painful death of a child brought on by infectious diseases due to the effects of AIDS is exactly the same as a life of a man that is allowed to grow up, take drugs, higher hundreds of prostitutes (basically Charlie Sheen) and die a quick painless death due to a drug overdose? Also, are you then saying that it is morally acceptable to punish one man for another's wrongdoing? That's like me telling your child that once he reaches 18 he has to spend five years in jail because you were caught sniffing coke 30 years ago. If God is supposed to be morally superior, shouldn't his morals be at least equal to ours?
Again you keep using terms like "morally sufficient reasons" without stating your objective standard as an atheist you are accusing God of violating. In the Christian moral standards that God proclaims He sets Himself to, this action is very consistent and whether you or I like it or not, He is sovereign and we are subjects. Life is circumstantial bro. Note that I quoted "morally sufficient reasons" from that guy's mouth. Those are his words not mine. I am saying I don't know what those reasons are, just like the kid that asked what those reasons are. But answer given was basically "Yes, there are reasons".
If you break it down and think about it, God kills every person that has ever lived... But though shalt not kill. God impregnated Mary... But though shalt not commit adultery. However, the reason for this is because of the circumstance. God can do these thing because he created everything.
There is no sidestep The boy asked what were the reasons for innocents suffering... Dude replied God has morally sufficient reasons but doesn't state what they are. (unlike the questions you refuse to answer a couple pages back viewtopic.php?f=4&t=267363&start=18330#p8199097 ). Sorry, I'll take a look back and answer. The question of suffering is solved in Jesus who suffered, died and rose again as a propitiation for those who would repent and put their trust in Him. Wait, I thought the suffering was to atone for our sins, not to justify him torturing innocent children in the future. Please elaborate. God promises eternal life for rebels like us, you reject that. So don't say there is no answer for suffering because God provides the answer and even if there weren't, that still doesn't disprove God.
And you are right that guy does sound too harsh. He might really sound convincing too aside from the fact that it was six mins of him building up straw men and knocking it over. You can attest of all the straw men he put forward I never made any of those claims against you. So it is more or less irrelevant to me.Just providing some perspective for you guys. That is what an intolerant atheist looks like and the thinking behind being one. It's the same thing as intolerant theists (like fundamentalists etc.) Don't worry, even I was kind of put off by the overly smug look on his face.
meccalli wrote:^No wonder they have 'churches' now where they can gather and spew hate among friends. In an effort to destroy a foundation, they themselves have become that which they fear the most-religious.
rspann wrote:nareshseep wrote:rspann wrote:Zeus was the father of the gods in in Greek mythology, being a father implies that he is a "he". Or I could do what Rowley do Hema, and ask you how you know Zeus is a "she".
I now fully understand your thinking,really.