The Religion Discussion

Re: The Religion Discussion

Postby Habit7 » September 6th, 2014, 1:05 pm

You guys understand that even if God's actions don't rise to your high standards of logic and reason, if you can't figure out why He allows for bad in world and other questions of theodicy....

...that still doesn't prove His nonexistence.

Postby ruffneck_12 » September 6th, 2014, 1:31 pm

High standards?
Is too much to ask for the almighty God to provide some food/water for the starving children in slums?

Or is that task too much to ask for? If he create the earth and its people, why can't he maintain it?

I er saying a God doesn't exist, just saying he's a giant douchebag.

Postby rspann » September 6th, 2014, 1:33 pm

God said it was good when he created the world and every thing in it, it was perfect. He gave man free choice and man sinned, which introduced sin into God's creation . The wrong things in the world is as a result of sin, and was not "created by God". If he did not give man free choice man would not have sinned, but then God could be called a tyrant ,not so?

Postby bluefete » September 6th, 2014, 3:32 pm

DJ wrote:
bluefete wrote:As I ponder on the myriad contributions to this thread, I was led into thinking about the origin of the different type of trees in the world.

People have written about life starting from outer space or the ocean and so on.

Did the seeds for all the trees in the world come from outer space? No moron it was the process of natural selection, combined with evolution Natural selection from what???Where did these seeds / trees come from? Did a tree just decide one day to rise up all by itself?Or did they come from a fishie that walked on to land and vomited a mango seed By this statement, you validated the M-word I called you just nowSee previous comment!?

Can any human being today make a tree? not from scratch Has any human ever created a tree from nothing nope, not that I know of Good. Then, why mock God??

The more I ponder, the more I am convinced of God's existenceYes this is because of your indoctrination. If you observe a young child's ponderations, you may understand what I am sayin (but I doubt it). We humans came and met everything prepared for our usethis is your belief, dont make it sound like fact mr. 'm'. Humans evolved, they did not just comeHumans were created. Just like we created computers. It is interesting how evolution follows the pattern of creation. .

Only a loving God would put us in an environment just right for our existence What makes you think that if there was a god, that he probably tried to put humans on all planets, but because the atmosphere was not right, only the ones on earth survived? Because the book said so?.Because a loving God would not place humans in an environment in which they cannot survive!

People can discourse all they want about evolution but this earth did not have the right conditions for human existence by chance. Rubbish!Again, your moronic opinion. We cannot live on any other planet in our own solar system without life support of some formAs I said before, God probably tried it and realised that on only earth we can survive. But seriously, do you think that live can be propagated on Mars without support systems? That's why evolution randomly happened on only earth, because it is one of the only planets that can accommodate this And this logical statement makes perfect sense to you?? Really, now??? Wow..

Read the words to the poem again and think.Dont need to, it is misleading
Only because you so vehemently want to deny God's existence. After all this, you still have not answered where trees came from! Natural selection does not cut it. Just say you do not know and done!!

Postby bluefete » September 6th, 2014, 3:34 pm

rspann wrote:God said it was good when he created the world and every thing in it, it was perfect. He gave man free choice and man sinned, which introduced sin into God's creation . The wrong things in the world is as a result of sin, and was not "created by God". If he did not give man free choice man would not have sinned, but then God could be called a tyrant ,not so?

I do not know why people keep blaming God for man's mistakes.

Postby ruffneck_12 » September 6th, 2014, 3:46 pm

Because god created man. He is at the beginning of the blame chain

The all powerful god couldn't foresee the future huh?

Postby bluefete » September 6th, 2014, 3:51 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:God is (at best) a wasteful idiot if he created everything just for us. Why make a solar system with 8 planets but only 1 that could support life? Because he knew people like you would one day come along and muck things up!

Why make so many stars without solar systems around them to support life? Why make so many solar systems that are unable to support life? So that one day, man could truly understand the nature and beauty of God's handiwork.

It seems more likely that it's all random and the chance of life spontaneously starting on a planet is incredibly small (like 0.00000000001%). But with so many failed chances, it happened once.

That will explain why this planet suits us and no other planet does. Because we were made from this planet... This planet was not made for us. Disagree with you there. The very fact that we could survive here in our natural state is proof that this planet was specifically designed for us. It was in no way a random occurrence of nature. I'm fact, there are places on this very planet that are unsuitable for us (like deserts and anywhere close to the poles). A regular person can't go and live there without significant preparation and/or knowledge.So the people who live in the desert and in the Arctic are not 'regular' people? I thought regular people have lived in the desert for centuries.

There are also so many things is the suitable areas that can kill us; snakes, bears, mosquitoes, lions and a whole array of poisonous plants. If this world was made for us, why is life such a struggle for survival? It was not always so and those things were not always harmful to us.

It was man that made life comfortable and easy (not always a good thing, I admit. There was a time when man had it much easier but he made his own decisions and created the life we have now. One of inequity and inequality. I don't see any hard evidence of any God. Everything seems opinionated and open to interpretation at best.

Postby bluefete » September 6th, 2014, 3:53 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:Because god created man. He is at the beginning of the blame chain

rspann wrote:God said it was good when he created the world and every thing in it, it was perfect. He gave man free choice and man sinned, which introduced sin into God's creation . The wrong things in the world is as a result of sin, and was not "created by God". If he did not give man free choice man would not have sinned, but then God could be called a tyrant ,not so?

Who said he could not foresee the future? He knew you even before you knew yourself.

Moorg Life

Postby Moorg Life » September 6th, 2014, 4:06 pm

Whole lot of imps on this page, Tainted love makes poison

Postby bluefete » September 6th, 2014, 4:18 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:High standards?
Is too much to ask for the almighty God to provide some food/water for the starving children in slums?

Or is that task too much to ask for? If he create the earth and its people, why can't he maintain it?When God created the earth, he told man to maintain it. What has man done since then to maintain it? Not destroyed it? Not created economic confusion? God provided enough for all but he left it up to us to decide how it will be distributed. How are we doing so far?

I er saying a God doesn't exist, just saying he's a giant douchebag. That's quite a statement there! But God is forgiving. Even Peter once told Jesus to go preach to the fish!

Postby bluefete » September 6th, 2014, 4:20 pm

Moorg Life wrote:Whole lot of imps on this page, Tainted love makes poison

Name calling does not answer questions. It just portrays someone's ignorance.

I thought primary school school re-opened?
Last edited by bluefete on September 6th, 2014, 4:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby ruffneck_12 » September 6th, 2014, 4:21 pm

bluefete wrote:
ruffneck_12 wrote:Because god created man. He is at the beginning of the blame chain

Who said he could not foresee the future? He knew you even before you knew yourself.

If he could predict the future, why didn't he do anything to prevent the problem of free will from happening?

Postby bluefete » September 6th, 2014, 4:25 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:
bluefete wrote:

If he could predict the future, why didn't he do anything to prevent the problem of free will from happening?

Because as rspann said, you would have called him a dictator.

Typical human, either way you go, you are not satisfied.

Postby ruffneck_12 » September 6th, 2014, 4:37 pm

If we had no free will, then we would not be free to call him a tyrant :v

Postby rspann » September 6th, 2014, 5:04 pm

All the discussion about God is purely academic. God does not need anyone to fight for him to prove he exists or to defend his actions in any way. People who believe in him talk about his existence and his love so that others can learn about him, having not come to a knowledge of him previously.

By saying wrong things about him and ridiculing him has no effect on him and has no effect on his actions. He does what is necessary and his actions cannot be fathomed by mortals. The bible says that his ways are not like ours and his thoughts are not like ours ,so trying to explain his actions can only be done by faith.
We accept that what he does is the right thing and we will see one day that it was for the best according to his plans. A good example can be found in Job 38

Postby ruffneck_12 » September 6th, 2014, 5:27 pm

DOes your almighty god know why kids love the taste of cinnamon toast crunch?
thought so

Checkmate athiests

Postby rspann » September 6th, 2014, 5:36 pm

Like I said................

Postby Slartibartfast » September 6th, 2014, 6:34 pm

bluefete wrote:Typical human, either way you go, you are not satisfied.

Because either way you look at it it does not sense without the cognitive dissonance fueled by the concept of faith and the matra "God works in mysterious ways"... like ebola.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » September 6th, 2014, 7:11 pm

if i remember correctly, the chance of life beginning here entirely by chance are .0001^26 or something ridcilous like that. you can take your gamble with that. ill take my chances with the invisible guy who is ruler and creator of multiple dimensions lol

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » September 6th, 2014, 7:12 pm

rspann wrote:All the discussion about God is purely academic. God does not need anyone to fight for him to prove he exists or to defend his actions in any way. People who believe in him talk about his existence and his love so that others can learn about him, having not come to a knowledge of him previously.

By saying wrong things about him and ridiculing him has no effect on him and has no effect on his actions. He does what is necessary and his actions cannot be fathomed by mortals. The bible says that his ways are not like ours and his thoughts are not like ours ,so trying to explain his actions can only be done by faith.
We accept that what he does is the right thing and we will see one day that it was for the best according to his plans. A good example can be found in Job 38

+1 and very well said.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » September 6th, 2014, 7:27 pm

bluesclues wrote:
rspann wrote:All the discussion about God is purely academic. God does not need anyone to fight for him to prove he exists or to defend his actions in any way. People who believe in him talk about his existence and his love so that others can learn about him, having not come to a knowledge of him previously.

+1 and very well said.

It is your right to believe what ever you want to believe as is my right to not believe.
With the uproar stirred up by a minority group of atheists, one must ask what a puny God you must have if you are afraid of a few atheists.

That being said all hail Bacchus for the weekend is on. We thank God for creating Ebola.

Postby Slartibartfast » September 6th, 2014, 9:10 pm

bluesclues wrote:if i remember correctly, the chance of life beginning here entirely by chance are .0001^26 or something ridcilous like that. you can take your gamble with that. ill take my chances with the invisible guy who is ruler and creator of multiple dimensions lol

Source?

Postby Habit7 » September 6th, 2014, 11:53 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:DOes your almighty god know why kids love the taste of cinnamon toast crunch?
thought so

Checkmate athiests

If you really concerned about an answer for your earlier question, spare 5 mins to get it here:

or you can return to spewing profundities like "hail Satan."

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » September 7th, 2014, 9:35 am

Apparently its a chicken and egg scenario...
Everything appears perfect because of natural selection or is it because it was created that way? If it was created that way, then why is evolution still going on.

Hail Zeus for creating evil, if she did not create evil, she has a twisted sense of humour. Or we are one big experiment and she is waiting to see what will happen to our civilisation.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » September 7th, 2014, 9:53 am

1410098023823.jpg

Then some will say everything in that pic contains water. Which I agree but DNA is totally different. It all point to a common ancestor. You can call it "Adam" if you may but its not an human being its an organism..then the thumpers will jump in and say " yuh see the shitbook was correct ".

Hail the goddess Athena may she bless us with knowledge and insight. Hopefully you would see.

Postby ruffneck_12 » September 7th, 2014, 10:41 am

Habit7 wrote:
ruffneck_12 wrote:DOes your almighty god know why kids love the taste of cinnamon toast crunch?
thought so

Checkmate athiests

If you really concerned about an answer for your earlier question, spare 5 mins to get it here:

or you can return to spewing profundities like "hail Satan."

:elephant: :elephant: :elephant: HAIL :elephant: SATAN :elephant: :elephant: :elephant:

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » September 7th, 2014, 4:03 pm

nareshseep wrote:
1410098023823.jpg

Then some will say everything in that pic contains water. Which I agree but DNA is totally different. It all point to a common ancestor. You can call it "Adam" if you may but its not an human being its an organism..then the thumpers will jump in and say " yuh see the shitbook was correct ".

Hail the goddess Athena may she bless us with knowledge and insight. Hopefully you would see.

luls. i am rh negative type O negative. meaning scientists cant connect my bloodtype to any monkey. i cannot be cloned, and can only accept rh negative blood, but my blood can be used in transfusions for all known bloodtypes(universal). google it.

edit:
https://answers.yahoo.com/question/inde ... 811AAsSpCx
Last edited by bluesclues on September 7th, 2014, 4:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » September 7th, 2014, 4:13 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:
bluesclues wrote:if i remember correctly, the chance of life beginning here entirely by chance are .0001^26 or something ridcilous like that. you can take your gamble with that. ill take my chances with the invisible guy who is ruler and creator of multiple dimensions lol

Source?

google not very far away inno. lol i researched it years ago. the numbers are worse than i said actually. regardless of the very informative debate on the page, the numbers presented are scientifically acceptable but none can agree that they have the precise answer to the beginnings of life. only that they have varying numbers for various theories proposed.

infidels.org/library/modern/richard_carrier/addendaB.html

Postby Habit7 » September 7th, 2014, 4:26 pm

nareshseep wrote:
1410098023823.jpg

I guess you have an idea of a rebuttal of the 98% (it's really 95%) chimp DNA point because i gave u before viewtopic.php?f=4&t=267363&start=15570#p7140723

But while you want to make assumptions of a common ancestors, you still have to explain how could complex information stored in DNA can come about by a natural process. Furthermore with existing DNA, what process does it get addition information to be improved (mutation just varies preexisting information, not add).

Postby meccalli » September 7th, 2014, 6:48 pm

nareshseep wrote:Then some will say everything in that pic contains water. Which I agree but DNA is totally different. It all point to a common ancestor. You can call it "Adam" if you may but its not an human being its an organism..then the thumpers will jump in and say " yuh see the shitbook was correct ".

You clearly have no understanding of either the Bible nor the scientific theory you are defending. The bible in no way supports man as being related to the rest of creation as ordinary except in origin-.All creation however has a single designer. What you're referring to is Darwin's common descent and his tree of life analogy. Biologists have long been probing information that seems to show life had multiple origins according to different roots in kingdoms. If you're making a DNA argument in origins, you need to account for the evolution of DNA and its precursors that can explain the existence of rudimentary organisms like prokaryotes and archaea. What you also need to look at is how DNA operates within its mechanisms of coding and producing a given result. Sharing 99% of DNA makes nothing similar. A particular physiology is produced by the species' particular genome. Looking at the genome, reduces the gene similarity to about 60% in chimps, 80% in mice to us lol. Not to mention when you go down to the coding portions and non-coding regulatory areas, the similarity declines further. Let science figure out our 'junk' lol dna and then they can begin to map similarities.