COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 20017 cases, 375 deaths, 8162 active, 11480 recovered in T&T

Postby pugboy » May 23rd, 2021, 10:22 pm

i find nobody concerned about fact that beds likely to run out this week

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 18227 cases, 341 deaths, 6998 active, 10888 recovered in T&T

Postby Habit7 » May 23rd, 2021, 10:58 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:Absolutely no one should fall for this garbage. So many third world countries have been acquiring vaccines. Incase you all didn't realize, we are still in the bottom of the world in terms of vaccinations.

If by August 1st we only vaccinate 10% of people, I'm strongly willing to be we might be in the bottom 20 in the world.

I don't know what wish upon a star world you live in but vaccines are not accessible to us or many other countries in the world if we really realy believe it. You are avoiding answering my question because you know you don't have an answer. It is expected that some countries won't come anywhere close to heard immunity until 2024-2025. And that is only if another variant does come and circumvent all that we have achieved.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 20017 cases, 375 deaths, 8162 active, 11480 recovered in T&T

Postby sMASH » May 23rd, 2021, 11:23 pm

pugboy wrote:i find nobody concerned about fact that beds likely to run out this week

do like the other 120 countries that have higher case rates than tnt and deal with it.
beds? furniture plus
tents? it have tents companies like that in all villages around the country
medicine? source it from the best healthcare in the caribbean, that no pnm does willingly use
HDU and ICU machines? america not using them, buy them half price.

u ask them for tent, but we have tent galore down here, what we need are their HDU equipment.

we have the tsunami shelter, the other stadiums, that not being used, we dont really need tents.
early covid numbers of 4% mortality showed that we needed to cater for 5k to 10k cases at a time.

nurses and doctors? we churn out classes of nurses and doctors every year. call them out, and put them under head nurses and doctors as ASSISTANTS.

the only problem is the pay. that is why u took all the loans. that u might dip into the hsf.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 23rd, 2021, 11:36 pm

Johns Hopkins University combined charts comparing global with US, UK and T&T

Postby sMASH » May 23rd, 2021, 11:48 pm

us and uk took their hits earlier, ours came later. the world stats showing the early hits and the later hits.

Postby redmanjp » May 24th, 2021, 12:34 am

is it possible to increase the efficacy of sinopharm by delaying the 2nd dose like astrazenica?

Postby teems1 » May 24th, 2021, 2:44 am

Go watch the Vox video which explains how efficacy is calculated.

At this point just take whatever WHO approved vaccine is available.
redmanjp wrote:is it possible to increase the efficacy of sinopharm by delaying the 2nd dose like astrazenica?

Postby redmanjp » May 24th, 2021, 3:48 am

teems1 wrote:Go watch the Vox video which explains how efficacy is calculated.

At this point just take whatever WHO approved vaccine is available.
redmanjp wrote:is it possible to increase the efficacy of sinopharm by delaying the 2nd dose like astrazenica?

Hoss that's exactly what they did with AstraZeneca. Yes I saw the Vox video. The UK delayed the 2nd dose and found out the efficacy was better.

Postby Chimera » May 24th, 2021, 5:58 am

Postby j.o.e » May 24th, 2021, 6:47 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Japan getting hit with a 4th wave.

https://www.reuters.com/world/asia-paci ... e=facebook

Just in time for Olympics

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 18227 cases, 341 deaths, 6998 active, 10888 recovered in T&T

Postby meccalli » May 24th, 2021, 6:51 am

Habit7 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:Absolutely no one should fall for this garbage. So many third world countries have been acquiring vaccines. Incase you all didn't realize, we are still in the bottom of the world in terms of vaccinations.

If by August 1st we only vaccinate 10% of people, I'm strongly willing to be we might be in the bottom 20 in the world.

I don't know what wish upon a star world you live in but vaccines are not accessible to us or many other countries in the world if we really realy believe it. You are avoiding answering my question because you know you don't have an answer. It is expected that some countries won't come anywhere close to heard immunity until 2024-2025. And that is only if another variant does come and circumvent all that we have achieved.

Given our rate of infection, I wouldn't doubt we might have our own Trinidad variant soon if not already. Isolation and denying it hosts and thus opportunities to replicate is the only way to beat it. The mixing you see post vaccination in other nations is potentially also a cause for concern since you can potentially still be infected and transmit it. More exposure leads to selection pressures that will drive evolution of the virus into more virulent forms.

Postby MaxPower » May 24th, 2021, 7:08 am

How exactly are Venezuelans going to bring the British variant?

Will they be going to other countries, then enter here, the breech “quarantine” to spread the virus?

Asking for a friend.

Postby pugboy » May 24th, 2021, 7:09 am

singapore has population of 5.7m
their govt pressed the panic button when their cases reach double digits

Postby pugboy » May 24th, 2021, 7:11 am

i wonder if a vaccinated person is essentially an asymptomatic person for all purposes
which means even more dangerous

meccalli wrote:Given our rate of infection, I wouldn't doubt we might have our own Trinidad variant soon if not already. Isolation and denying it hosts and thus opportunities to replicate is the only way to beat it. The mixing you see post vaccination in other nations is potentially also a cause for concern since you can potentially still be infected and transmit it. More exposure leads to selection pressures that will drive evolution of the virus into more virulent forms.

Postby alfa » May 24th, 2021, 7:22 am

MaxPower wrote:How exactly are Venezuelans going to bring the British variant?

Will they be going to other countries, then enter here, the breech “quarantine” to spread the virus?

Asking for a friend.

Breech quarantine you say? These aliens sneak in no mask no distancing no quarantine and proceed like this is their country

Postby meccalli » May 24th, 2021, 7:32 am

pugboy wrote:i wonder if a vaccinated person is essentially an asymptomatic person for all purposes
which means even more dangerous

meccalli wrote:Given our rate of infection, I wouldn't doubt we might have our own Trinidad variant soon if not already. Isolation and denying it hosts and thus opportunities to replicate is the only way to beat it. The mixing you see post vaccination in other nations is potentially also a cause for concern since you can potentially still be infected and transmit it. More exposure leads to selection pressures that will drive evolution of the virus into more virulent forms.

I don't think so for the most part, but if vaccinated persons are out and about freely exposing themselves to infection even if they don't reach viral loading to the point they are 'infected' and displaying symptoms, its a playground for mutations to find their way around their defence. Viruses are effectively human predators, they self limit when they kill enough hosts or cannot infect enough to keep on their way.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 24th, 2021, 8:15 am

IMG-20210524-WA0002.jpeg

Postby Country_Bookie » May 24th, 2021, 8:59 am

So it's been more than 3 weeks since all restaurants, bars and even street food etc were closed but were still getting 500+ infections daily. Reportedly this is due to positive patients who supposed to self quarantine at home infecting other members of their household. I guess this was inevitable, since not every home has separate bathrooms for them to use. If it's a small space and everyone else is home due to the SoE, more chances for it to spread.

How do we solve this though? One option might be to put positive patients in hotel rooms..... but who's going to pay for that?

Postby redmanjp » May 24th, 2021, 9:30 am

govt already said positive ppl can opt for state quarantine if isolation at home is difficult

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 24th, 2021, 9:31 am

Country_Bookie wrote:So it's been more than 3 weeks since all restaurants, bars and even street food etc were closed but were still getting 500+ infections daily. Reportedly this is due to positive patients who supposed to self quarantine at home infecting other members of their household. I guess this was inevitable, since not every home has separate bathrooms for them to use. If it's a small space and everyone else is home due to the SoE, more chances for it to spread.

How do we solve this though? One option might be to put positive patients in hotel rooms..... but who's going to pay for that?
There are over 8000 persons currently under home quarantine. The parallel health system don't even have 1000 beds self.

Seems as though they trying to decrease numbers but the persons at home quarantine doing the spreading.

Spinning top in mud.

Postby teems1 » May 24th, 2021, 9:44 am

Beds are for those with serious symptoms.

Home quarantine is exactly that. There's no way to have the capacity for every positive person to have a bed.
wtf wrote:
Country_Bookie wrote:So it's been more than 3 weeks since all restaurants, bars and even street food etc were closed but were still getting 500+ infections daily. Reportedly this is due to positive patients who supposed to self quarantine at home infecting other members of their household. I guess this was inevitable, since not every home has separate bathrooms for them to use. If it's a small space and everyone else is home due to the SoE, more chances for it to spread.

There are over 8000 persons currently under home quarantine. The parallel health system don't even have 1000 beds self.

Seems as though they trying to decrease numbers but the persons at home quarantine doing the spreading.

Spinning top in mud.

Postby redmanjp » May 24th, 2021, 9:49 am

teems1 wrote:Beds are for those with serious symptoms.

Home quarantine is exactly that. There's no way to have the capacity for every positive person to have a bed.
wtf wrote:

Spinning top in mud.

which is about 14%. of thousands of active cases. right now u lucky if u could get 10 bed with adequate oxygen, staff, etc.

Postby aaron17 » May 24th, 2021, 10:03 am

There is not really any guaranteed solution to bring it down. Only to keep it right where it is at the moment.

Postby aaron17 » May 24th, 2021, 10:04 am

Smartmanism variant.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 24th, 2021, 10:33 am

teems1 wrote:Beds are for those with serious symptoms.

wtf wrote:

Spinning top in mud.
I know but home quarantine is contributing to the increasing numbers.

Postby bluefete » May 24th, 2021, 10:40 am

So an acquaintance died from Covid last night. Should be in the death stats today.

Also health professionals are speaking out more:

Recently, Augustus Long Hospital had 12 hearses carry away the dead in one day.

A--holes having Covid parties. Well, the hosts should be jailed automatically.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » May 24th, 2021, 10:52 am

bluefete wrote:So an acquaintance died from Covid last night. Should be in the death stats today.

Was that today or a previous day Mr. Teacher?

Postby Redman » May 24th, 2021, 10:53 am

RE Curfew parties and people jackarsing de scene
I say we stop asking india for vaccs and get a 40 ft container of the Police bamboo lahtis and let them just beat friggin people.
Last edited by Redman on May 24th, 2021, 10:56 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby bluefete » May 24th, 2021, 10:58 am

DMan7 wrote:
bluefete wrote:So an acquaintance died from Covid last night. Should be in the death stats today.

Huh????

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » May 24th, 2021, 11:06 am

bluefete wrote:
DMan7 wrote:

Huh????

The 12 deaths you mentioned in the post?