Re: Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 3rd, 2018, 7:37 pm

What he said ^

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 3rd, 2018, 8:09 pm

But all of them people who vote PNM still supporting the PNM. It have a PNM sufferer where I work, last week I went to wash my hands and I realize the liquid soap gone along with the tide and toilet paper. So I jump up and say how a PNM sufferer thief the toilet paper and soap, you know just so a PNM sufferer jump up and say how "the man who thief it mubbe need it more than we he seeing hard times he mubbe need it to wash he clothes to come to work" mind you this same cacahole does have money to buy ganja everyday eh

This is a trend among the PNM people, they steal all the soap and toilet paper from the employer then use "child and child mother" need it to survive as justification for stealing. Allyuh feel these people paying any property tax? these people don't pay for anything which is why the vote PNM allyuh eh notice the PNM turns a blind eye to crime aswell? this is why criminals are more likely to vote for the PNM.

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » March 3rd, 2018, 8:49 pm

Ah yes we red and ready...great is the pnm...Where is zoomey btw
FB_IMG_1520111231063.jpg

viedcht

Postby viedcht » March 4th, 2018, 7:25 am

I read figi hinds say 150000 ppl file their return... That citizens WANT to pay property tax . Who WANTS to pay any tax? Except maybe the ultra-rich.

Postby hydroep » March 4th, 2018, 8:50 am

150,000...yeah right. Wouldn't trust anything the Hinds or Colon-in-Butt says nuh, it's most likely a persuasive tactic...:|

viedcht

Postby viedcht » March 4th, 2018, 9:12 am

Setta useless buttplugs in charge...

Postby Redman » March 4th, 2018, 9:26 am

viedcht wrote:I read figi hinds say 150000 ppl file their return... That citizens WANT to pay property tax . Who WANTS to pay any tax? Except maybe the ultra-rich.

I cant vouch for the number-but quite a few people are more interested in compliance with the law than the act of paying a tax.

I think many also want to advance things in TnT so the system of identifying who are beneficial owners etc is a starting mechanism towards being able to persecute corruptions.

Its a start.
Enforcement requires a system,rules and funds.

So yes there are quite a bit of people that are ok with this

not_a_monkey

Postby not_a_monkey » March 4th, 2018, 9:35 am

Redman wrote:
viedcht wrote:I read figi hinds say 150000 ppl file their return... That citizens WANT to pay property tax . Who WANTS to pay any tax? Except maybe the ultra-rich.

I cant vouch for the number-but quite a few people are more interested in compliance with the law than the act of paying a tax.

I think many also want to advance things in TnT so the system of identifying who are beneficial owners etc is a starting mechanism towards being able to persecute corruptions.

Its a start.

I agree with the compliance as you said, but I think it's more like bullying if you analyze the bigger picture. "If you don't file/comply then there are penalties". Understandably in all areas of taxation there are penalties (I work in IRD) and it's more or less 'comply or be penalised'.

not_a_monkey

Postby not_a_monkey » March 4th, 2018, 9:36 am

viedcht wrote:Setta useless buttplugs in charge...
Whoa, colourful language there sir.

Postby 88sins » March 4th, 2018, 9:37 am

The idea is to deceive & scare ppl into thinking they are one of the few property owners that haven't filed so they might have to pay a huge fine if they don't, thus motivating them to file.

& even the ultra rich don't want to pay taxes. If you hear how some ppl making millions does grumble and bawl like cow to pay a lil 30K in taxes yuh go laugh :lol:

Postby Redman » March 4th, 2018, 9:46 am

Real estate is the biggest asset class....it must be regulated...and transparent.

Bullying is the only way you get compliance in TNT.

Postby teems1 » March 4th, 2018, 10:06 am

Redman wrote:

Its a start.

I filed because of the consequences. A fine and possible seizure of your assets.

I absolutely do not want to pay more taxes. I already pay enough and it is squandered by the government without fail.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 4th, 2018, 10:31 am

Inside before the infamous lines "kamla thief the moarneyyy and we need funds so we have no prob paying the tax"

viedcht

Postby viedcht » March 4th, 2018, 11:25 am

Redman wrote:Real estate is the biggest asset class....it must be regulated...and transparent.

Well I can't disagree with you there. Only consequences encourage people to comply. It's a global trait...

Postby Gladiator » March 4th, 2018, 11:31 am

Redman wrote:

Its a start.

No you wrong again... Only seeing things through your PNM eyes. People submitted forms to comply with the law and avoid a penalty. Nobody wants more taxes.

Especially when this PNM govt obviously cannot manage it or do anything useful for the country. How many more stadiums we need?

viedcht

Postby viedcht » March 4th, 2018, 12:00 pm

As well, I read that the act/amendment midget bringing to the house includes closing the 'loophole' where persons paying the (old)land tax believe they entitled to the land... Any law-savvy tuners can explain how that entitled someone to claim the land in the first place? (Sorry in advance for being too lazy to look this up. Reading a pdf on a mobile is not a joy for me)
Last edited by viedcht on March 4th, 2018, 12:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

TriP

Postby TriP » March 4th, 2018, 12:01 pm

UNC - United National Congress - Was Live Press Briefing by the Opposition on Sunday04/03/18

Postby hydroep » March 4th, 2018, 12:23 pm

LOL...Sh!tkicker chicken-out yes...:lol:

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 4th, 2018, 1:03 pm

People bawling ohh how if yuh was in murica yuh woda pay the tax...thing is...how many roads you see in america like ours??? can you go to a hospital and wait for days for a bed??? And the list goes on...pnm logic yes

Postby sMASH » March 4th, 2018, 2:16 pm

Redman wrote:Real estate is the biggest asset class....it must be regulated...and transparent.

Coated for posterior

Postby bluefete » March 4th, 2018, 2:25 pm

Veejo - Dem does sound real good in opposition.

Postby sMASH » March 4th, 2018, 2:26 pm

I complied to avoid the penalty. Not because I want to pay for government ministers to play.

If i buy a karamath roti for 20 and feel Good. Then buy a Hosein roti for 35... Will I feel better?
No.
Effectively I am paying more for the same content. If I pay more, I expect to get more.

Therefore, if I pay more taxes, I expect to get an improved quality if life. Nothing the pnm has done since in office promises to improve the standard of living.
Infact, the property tax makes it legally binding for strangers to enter your premises, the civil asset forfeiture makes it possible to them to Seize Ur assets with no evidence of wrong doing, and the antigang makes it possible For u to Get arrested with no real evidence that u are a criminal, and no way to go in a court and prove Ur case.

The arrest for dissent in the antigang makes speaking out against Ur government a punishable crime (in the voice of wade mark).

F* pnm and F* all of Their supporters. Strims smarter than any of u that defending their crap.

Postby bluefete » March 4th, 2018, 2:26 pm

viedcht wrote:As well, I read that the act/amendment midget bringing to the house includes closing the 'loophole' where persons paying the (old)land tax believe they entitled to the land... Any law-savvy tuners can explain how that entitled someone to claim the land in the first place? (Sorry in advance for being too lazy to look this up. Reading a pdf on a mobile is not a joy for me)

Once you paid the tax for a period of about 15 years, you could claim the land as your own. That is how it was.

Postby bluefete » March 4th, 2018, 2:30 pm

I will go to jail before I let one of those strangers enter my house for valuation purposes.

Not in this T&T today.

My family safety comes first.

Not even T&TEC comes in your home anymore.

Postby 88sins » March 4th, 2018, 2:44 pm

They could walk in my house if they want.

The way at least one of them would leave would a whole other story to be told by them from their bedside.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » March 4th, 2018, 6:41 pm

bluefete wrote:
viedcht wrote:As well, I read that the act/amendment midget bringing to the house includes closing the 'loophole' where persons paying the (old)land tax believe they entitled to the land... Any law-savvy tuners can explain how that entitled someone to claim the land in the first place? (Sorry in advance for being too lazy to look this up. Reading a pdf on a mobile is not a joy for me)

Once you paid the tax for a period of about 15 years, you could claim the land as your own. That is how it was.
Hmm that's seriously flawed... but I guess if for 15 years they paying your tax...

Postby sMASH » March 4th, 2018, 7:23 pm

as long as they issue the notification latter that they will be coming to assess, they have the legal right and duty to enter your premises and not liable for any damage or molestation that occurs because of the entry...

that is what u pass in the property tax.. blasted pnm idiots.
but it have so much houses with so many people living, like a termite mound... it hard to say how own what and responsible for what.

Postby bluefete » March 4th, 2018, 7:51 pm

That is one piece of madness.

The only people who could come in your home 'jusso' are the police. And even they need to have a warrant (or bring one after dey mash-up your property :x :P

But I am waiting for when the country wakes up.

sMASH wrote:as long as they issue the notification latter that they will be coming to assess, they have the legal right and duty to enter your premises and not liable for any damage or molestation that occurs because of the entry...

that is what u pass in the property tax.. blasted pnm idiots.

Postby sMASH » March 4th, 2018, 7:55 pm

they will come with police if u dont acknowledge that u granting permission, they not going there juss so.