zoom rader wrote:De Dragon wrote:desifemlove wrote:GATE means test...achievement #1
Surely this should apply for all government services.
GATE is a form of welfare, and welfare is by definition for the lowest earners in any society.
http://www.newsday.co.tt/politics/0,173895.html
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2015-10- ... %80%94colm
More than she did in five years....lol..
i know ZR and company gonna disagree...but if a family earning net $400,000 a year combined, dey can't afford GATE?
It should never apply to education. Keep means tests for things like Gov't assistance, food cards etc.
The hidden agenda here is that Harrylal excels in his school work, so they trying to find means to keep him back.
zoom rader wrote:desifemlove wrote:GATE means test...achievement #1
GATE is a form of welfare, and welfare is by definition for the lowest earners in any society.
i know ZR and company gonna disagree...but if a family earning net $400,000 a year combined, dey can't afford GATE?
means testing there is the norm.
You as a UK citizen should know paying taxes is the UK is a serious thing. Once you are paying taxes you entitled to what is due to you and the UK government will gladly grant it to you once your taxes are in order.
Regardless if you paid £100 or £100k in taxes. All citizens share in the wealth that they contributed to.
Eg in Scotland university cost just £1000 per year as a native Scot. While in England it's £9k max regardless to what taxes is paid plus students are given grants.
All in all these are students and it has no bearing on what the parents earn. However when they are ready for the working world they pay taxes.
Meanwhile here in Trin because ppl look like kumar Sanu it's an automatic blank and the family probability paying more taxes than kwame.
Note it is not the parents that are attending school, it's students.
Another dumb ass PNM move
De Dragon wrote:zoom rader wrote:De Dragon wrote:desifemlove wrote:GATE means test...achievement #1
It should never apply to education. Keep means tests for things like Gov't assistance, food cards etc.
The hidden agenda here is that Harrylal excels in his school work, so they trying to find means to keep him back.
It's like saying rich people should pay more for gas![]()
desifemlove wrote:De Dragon wrote:zoom rader wrote:De Dragon wrote:desifemlove wrote:GATE means test...achievement #1
in principle, why not? provided the burden not too much, i'd support that as a high earner..... if so, then we should have flat taxes, ent?
DanielCW wrote:So, I sacrifice took loans and went to university, beat real books and got a nice paying job. Now my kids whom I want to do well in life as well are being put through a means test and would be denied funding because of my hard earned success in life. So now the mentality when you do well in life in this country is you pay more taxes, you pay higher property tax, you are denied gate, and just now they might deny you access to the hospitals too.
zoom rader wrote:How is excluding tax payers the right to benefits that's due to then a PNM Achievement?
1UZFE wrote:zoom rader wrote:How is excluding tax payers the right to benefits that's due to then a PNM Achievement?
Look at the tuner who made the post. Then think if that tuner is coherent in his thoughts or mental capacity.
zoom rader wrote:DanielCW wrote:So, I sacrifice took loans and went to university, beat real books and got a nice paying job. Now my kids whom I want to do well in life as well are being put through a means test and would be denied funding because of my hard earned success in life. So now the mentality when you do well in life in this country is you pay more taxes, you pay higher property tax, you are denied gate, and just now they might deny you access to the hospitals too.
This is the point I was trying to explain to these morons and a UK citizen on here.
We all pay taxes to build this country but a chosen lot must benefit from it because they broke and their parents rather fete for carnival . While you that earning and paying more taxes than the others, your kids are denied funding.
The thing is funding is your tax money.
This is racist as it is designed for one side of people.
De Dragon wrote:desifemlove wrote:De Dragon wrote:zoom rader wrote:De Dragon wrote:desifemlove wrote:GATE means test...achievement #1
in principle, why not? provided the burden not too much, i'd support that as a high earner..... if so, then we should have flat taxes, ent?
What would that solve? Our tax system is already designed to make the higher earners pay more. Should they also be denied benefits like subsidised gas prices, GATE, free medical care?
Dizzy28 wrote:De Dragon wrote:desifemlove wrote:De Dragon wrote:zoom rader wrote:De Dragon wrote:desifemlove wrote:GATE means test...achievement #1
What would that solve? Our tax system is already designed to make the higher earners pay more. Should they also be denied benefits like subsidised gas prices, GATE, free medical care?
Our flat tax system benefits the rich. Whilst it makes them pay more they pay less tax as a percentage increase than their increase in salary over lower income earners.
For example at 300,000 per annum someone would roughly pay 57,000 in PAYE (Only personal allowance used, no account for other discretionary deductions) leaving him with an effective tax rate of 19%
At 900,000 PAYE goes to 207,000 which is an effective tax rate of 23%. So a person earning 900,000 a year earns three times more than the person earning 300,000 a year however they have a tax rate that is only 4% greater.
j.o.e wrote:Kewell35 wrote:j.o.e wrote:Kewell35 wrote:desifemlove wrote:Kewell35 wrote:desifemlove wrote:five years ah UNC govt...the only ting she achieved was pedestrian walkovers, highways, and ting most country consider normal/par the course...i doh care about corruption...we all knew it was coming.
the hospital in san fdo and tobago
she claim credit for ting PNM start/conceived....cool.....
ball allyuh want, i doh care lolol.
pnm started the new san fdo hospital?
New hospital? She converted a government complex (which was much needed ) to a hospital wing. Because leaving it as a Gov't complex would make PNM look good i suppose
Have you ever been to it? Didn't know a hospital wing could be bigger than a hospital. It was also much needed too, if you look at the state of the the obstetrics and gynecological and surgery wards...that is probably why it was 'converted'. Can't believe what I does be reading here nah. Kamla thief and do sheit etc. etc. but give credit where it due nah man.
Needing one thing doesn't negate another. And yes I've been to it probably more extensively than most. However in San Fernando all the government offices are scattered all over the city in cramped, rented buildings with poor access and parking.
The design of the building also means it wasn't purpose built for wards etc. it was quite a knee jerk reaction.
When the passport office, vat office etc are protesting because of poor working conditions every couple months it's because they would have been housed in a purpose built compound allowing tax payers to do business much more efficiently.
As I said before it doesn't negate the need for hospital facilities but you don't convert one building to something else without considering a solution for mounting rental costs in unsuitable buildings in south.
De Dragon wrote:desifemlove wrote:GATE means test...achievement #1
zoom rader wrote:desifemlove wrote:GATE means test...achievement #1
You as a UK citizen should know paying taxes is the UK is a serious thing. Once you are paying taxes you entitled to what is due to you and the UK government will gladly grant it to you once your taxes are in order.
Regardless if you paid £100 or £100k in taxes. All citizens share in the wealth that they contributed to.
Eg in Scotland university cost just £1000 per year as a native Scot. While in England it's £9k max regardless to what taxes is paid plus students are given grants.
All in all these are students and it has no bearing on what the parents earn. However when they are ready for the working world they pay taxes.
Meanwhile here in Trin because ppl look like kumar Sanu it's an automatic blank and the family probability paying more taxes than kwame.
hong kong phooey wrote:I don't really believe much what any government says but congrats to Rowley for speaking the truth
taken from the Daily Express
"THERE are monsters in some of the nation's schools, Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley said yesterday, as he commented that “parents were breeding monsters and sending them to the teachers”."
he now admit there is a problem lets see what he will do.
Another question he should ask all those retards is why all the denominational school does better that the govt based school .
desifemlove wrote:zoom rader wrote:desifemlove wrote:GATE means test...achievement #1
how many 18-21 year olds earn or save that much to pay fees?
hong kong phooey wrote:I don't really believe much what any government says but congrats to Rowley for speaking the truth
taken from the Daily Express
"THERE are monsters in some of the nation's schools, Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley said yesterday, as he commented that “parents were breeding monsters and sending them to the teachers”."
he now admit there is a problem lets see what he will do.
Another question he should ask all those retards is why all the denominational school does better that the govt based school .
zoom rader wrote:desifemlove wrote:zoom rader wrote:desifemlove wrote:GATE means test...achievement #1
Numbnuts if you are referring to funding in the UK . Please read where I said they are given grants. Further to this they have additional funding via student loans if the grants fall short.
zoom rader wrote:desifemlove wrote:zoom rader wrote:desifemlove wrote:GATE means test...achievement #1
Numbnuts if you are referring to funding in the UK . Please read where I said they are given grants. Further to this they have additional funding via student loans if the grants fall short.
desifemlove wrote:zoom rader wrote:desifemlove wrote:zoom rader wrote:desifemlove wrote:GATE means test...achievement #1
so then why not here? and i never said this was a bad system.......
desifemlove wrote:and? why is the notion that those who have more means to pay is wrong?
you keep mentioning the UK, as if you have extensive experience of living there.....well if you do, you'll know that most accept the idea that higher earners pay a higher proportionate share of taxes for ting...... and if it make Kwame able to study and get a good job, or kumarsingh even if he from a poor family, why not?
eliteauto wrote:seems the PNM has gotten the closet racists out their closet, they've also gotten some idiot to form a band of merry men, achievement unlocked