Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

HondaB20B

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby HondaB20B » September 19th, 2010, 12:19 am

yuh still putting the filter media. just no bioballs. get a good skimmer and pump. remember you still could hang on your skimmer on your main tank or place in sump.
i totally eliminating all bio media. just filter media, heavy skimming which dumps into refuge and pumped back up. just d refugium section alone on mine is 22" X 18". will have about 2" of live sand and rock
Last edited by HondaB20B on September 19th, 2010, 12:30 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby sharkman121 » September 19th, 2010, 12:25 am

Ok but remember i trying to get enough space to put in a fuge.

I jus ordered a mag drive 9.5 for $99 us from Marine Depot. Called Raj today and he was charging $1150 for his own.
And im kinda torn between ordering the Coralife 160gal skimmer or the Red Sea prizm skimmer HOB.
Heard too much negative reports online about the Seaclone to buy that.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 19th, 2010, 12:47 am

sharkman121 wrote:Ok but remember i trying to get enough space to put in a fuge.

I jus ordered a mag drive 9.5 for $99 us from Marine Depot. Called Raj today and he was charging $1150 for his own.
And im kinda torn between ordering the Coralife 160gal skimmer or the Red Sea prizm skimmer HOB.

well yuh orn with the pump
knock on wood.................. aint have no probs with my seaclone yet. works real good. depending on the food i feed them real stuff enters the cup

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 19th, 2010, 3:34 pm

will pass for d angel during the wk. putting it in my outside concrete tub

Lucian-2nr

Postby Lucian-2nr » September 19th, 2010, 4:06 pm

Hey guys just a reminder if you have something for sale please post it up in the classifieds section and not in here and also "The sale of pets or animals is not allowed without Powerseller Status."

Postby sharkman121 » September 20th, 2010, 12:03 am

Dean, turns out aquatic connection only ships to the continental usa.. alaska and hawaii. do yall know any other sites that export fish? How do local fish stores and suppliers get their fish.

Ryan, i checked out ur youtube homepage and subscribed... pretty good stuff. where'd ya get the eel. Is it a chainlink moray eel?

Postby sharkman121 » September 20th, 2010, 2:40 am

2NR Smurf wrote:Something like this:

Not quite finished. still have some additions / changes to make.

hey smurf, what program is this an how can i get/use it to design a sump pattern.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » September 20th, 2010, 10:47 am

sharkman121, dat is an engineer goby, he was one of the first fishes i ever bought....got it from raj...thanks for subscribing...

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » September 20th, 2010, 12:33 pm

sharkman121 wrote:Ok but remember i trying to get enough space to put in a fuge.

sharkman121,
Doh buy the Red Sea Prism HOB. Waste ah money.
That's what I using on my 4ft. It always needs adjusting to skim good.
You better off with the Jebo from by Chai. I using the in sump Jebo on another tank and it wuking boss.

Postby sharkman121 » September 20th, 2010, 1:00 pm

ryan99tt wrote:sharkman121, dat is an engineer goby, he was one of the first fishes i ever bought....got it from raj...thanks for subscribing...

hey ryan this is the eel i was askin abt..

and how exactly do u catch the fish yrself :shock:

Postby sharkman121 » September 20th, 2010, 1:03 pm

rmtuner wrote:

sharkman121,
You better off with the Jebo from by Chai. I using the in sump Jebo on another tank and it wuking boss.

A jebo is an external filter right? wasnt sure so i googled it. I actually have a great canister filter already...the eheim 2215 (works terrific). But was looking for a protein skimmer as well for the sump.

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » September 20th, 2010, 1:11 pm

Yeh the Jebo Skimmer I got from chai is for the sump. They also sell a HOB skimmer too.
Jebo also make canister filters and thing. But you already have one ah d best brands. EHEIM

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 20th, 2010, 2:56 pm

rmtuner wrote:

sharkman121,

once you set your skimmer, you dont need to be adjusting all de time so. i used to do the same thing until i stopped. some days i get minor stuff in the cup then some days i get alot and that depends on what i feed them (plankton, krill, live brine shrimp, garlic pellets, garlic flakes or mysis shrimp. i mix the foods all de time so the dont get accustom) and how much times i feed. the JEBO skimmer is a waste of money. they dont last long at all. i know someone that has 5 of them working in multiple tanks and they always conk out so he buys another one about every 3-4 mths cause it cheap. buy a good brand an done. why try to save ah couple hundred bucks to watch a couple thousand bucks of fish, shrimp or anemones just go belly up

THEN AGAIN..................... WHY LISTEN TO ME.

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » September 20th, 2010, 5:14 pm

sharkman121 wrote:

hey smurf, what program is this an how can i get/use it to design a sump pattern.

The program is called Google SketchUp. Free for download and loads n loads of tutorials online for it. Thats how i learnt it.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » September 20th, 2010, 5:35 pm

yea daz meh engineer goby....by d way how u post up d youtube vid like dat?

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » September 20th, 2010, 5:50 pm

if u interested in ah snowflake moray, i cud organise one for u...

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 20th, 2010, 6:09 pm

ryan99tt wrote:if u interested in ah snowflake moray, i cud organise one for u...

yeah but remember if he going eels, he cant have shrimp, crabs and snails and stuff. one thing i dont like about engineer gobies and sand sifting gobies (i had a pair of the yellowcheek sleeper gobies) is that they undermine all your rocks and dig burrows all over the place. they keep your sand real clean, but when they pick up the sand in their mouth and sift it through their gills, they spew it all over your rocks, coral, anemones. had my tank in a mess............................ :evil: :evil:
I have 2-3 inches of sand in my 75gal tank and went away one weekend only to come and find about 6 inches piled u in a corner. had some rocks leaning in some places. Back then, i didnt know you must put rocks in the tank first and then put the sand in. i ait buying them thing again. real fun to watch how they sift sand

Postby sharkman121 » September 20th, 2010, 7:54 pm

ryan99tt wrote:if u interested in ah snowflake moray, i cud organise one for u...

pm me yr number.

Postby sharkman121 » September 20th, 2010, 7:57 pm

2NR Smurf wrote:
sharkman121 wrote:

The program is called Google SketchUp. Free for download and loads n loads of tutorials online for it. Thats how i learnt it.

Thanks i downloaded it an began to use it to design a sump.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 20th, 2010, 8:18 pm

eels are also not reef safe

Postby sharkman121 » September 20th, 2010, 8:21 pm

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 20th, 2010, 8:55 pm

yeah they not reef safe and are great escape artists. will go missing through the smallest openings

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 20th, 2010, 8:59 pm

http://www.marineaquariumsa.com/showthr ... ht=leslies

nice read..................... check de size of de skimmer on pg 2

Postby sharkman121 » September 21st, 2010, 12:55 pm

Hey ryan, any update? inbox me.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 24th, 2010, 11:10 pm

bump...............

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » September 24th, 2010, 11:30 pm

like ppl stop posting vids an pics here...since tuner update i never get my youtube vids to work, any help wit d links will be great so i cud at least keep d thread goin wit sum vids...

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » September 25th, 2010, 10:03 pm

yea peeps, i givin away ah rainbow wrasse for whoever interested...is about 5" in length and a marine fish...peaceful and a great addition for ur tank...i need the space so i decided to give him away...

Postby sharkman121 » September 25th, 2010, 10:28 pm

ryan check out this ched on posting vids...

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=311792

Ill take a rainbow wrasse :mrgreen:

an a snowflake eel if u still have... link meh

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 25th, 2010, 10:46 pm

ahh tell yuh already a snowflake eel is not reefsafe and will eat all your snails, shrimp, crabs, hermit crabs etc.................... go brave

Postby sharkman121 » September 25th, 2010, 11:09 pm

i have more than one aquarium...

was tryin to call u back.