COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Dohplaydat

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 17669 cases, 331 deaths, 6649 active, 10689 recovered in T&T

Postby Dohplaydat » May 20th, 2021, 7:23 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Seems to be biased reporting:

Taiwan News (formerly China News[2]) is an English-language online newspaper and former print newspaper in Taiwan. It is owned by foods company I-Mei Foods, which also publishes the Chinese-language news weekly of the same name

Under the ownership of I-Mei Foods, which is strongly associated with the Taiwanese identity, Taiwan News changed its editorial stance from being pro-KMT to being in favor of the Pan-Green coalition and Taiwan independence.[1][4]:1858 According to former editor Anthony Lawrance, Taiwan News opposes autocracies and the People's Republic of China.[4]:1858 In the late 1990s, Taiwan News rejected Chinese unification as advocated by the KMT and associations of Taiwan with the People's Republic of China under the "one country, two systems" principle

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Taiwan_News

I figured, there's no proof yet of any of things being true.

killercow

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 17669 cases, 331 deaths, 6649 active, 10689 recovered in T&T

Postby killercow » May 20th, 2021, 7:32 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:

Taiwan News (formerly China News[2]) is an English-language online newspaper and former print newspaper in Taiwan. It is owned by foods company I-Mei Foods, which also publishes the Chinese-language news weekly of the same name

Under the ownership of I-Mei Foods, which is strongly associated with the Taiwanese identity, Taiwan News changed its editorial stance from being pro-KMT to being in favor of the Pan-Green coalition and Taiwan independence.[1][4]:1858 According to former editor Anthony Lawrance, Taiwan News opposes autocracies and the People's Republic of China.[4]:1858 In the late 1990s, Taiwan News rejected Chinese unification as advocated by the KMT and associations of Taiwan with the People's Republic of China under the "one country, two systems" principle

Just wait for a couple more weeks. As the vaccine rolls out, we'll obviously get feedback via social media platforms from inoculated persons.

Postby hover11 » May 20th, 2021, 7:44 pm

It will definitely be a wait and see approach for most trinis, a vaccine made in China for a virus that allegedy originated from China....No thanks
killercow wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

Just wait for a couple more weeks. As the vaccine rolls out, we'll obviously get feedback via social media platforms from inoculated persons.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 18227 cases, 341 deaths, 6998 active, 10888 recovered in T&T

Postby pugboy » May 20th, 2021, 7:54 pm

I think a lot of people were very skeptical of the az with the blood clot talk circulating worldwide at the time
even here the first few weeks many persons were wary, myself included for my parents
but eventually a lot of the subsided.

hopefully that will be the case with these vaccines

widdyphuck

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 18227 cases, 341 deaths, 6998 active, 10888 recovered in T&T

Postby widdyphuck » May 20th, 2021, 8:01 pm

Pfizer or nothing.

Postby pugboy » May 20th, 2021, 8:04 pm

I am sure USA media surpresses a lot of negative reports on the pfizer,moderna ones as well.

The mere fact that pfizer recommends a third shot has not been questioned is a bit odd.

Postby adnj » May 20th, 2021, 8:05 pm

I plan on just using a very powerful light.

Postby alfa » May 20th, 2021, 8:20 pm

For those who have successfully avoided the virus up to now I think we can wait a bit longer and see the effects of these vaccines first. No need to make a mad rush for something potentially dangerous when you have been doing a fine job avoiding it on your own. I myself will wait and see as I'm kinda more concerned about the vaccine than the virus at the moment especially when you hear about blood clots and the like vs hearing about people overcoming the virus with home remedies and minimal treatment

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 20th, 2021, 8:31 pm

alfa wrote:For those who have successfully avoided the virus up to now I think we can wait a bit longer and see the effects of these vaccines first. No need to make a mad rush for something potentially dangerous when you have been doing a fine job avoiding it on your own. I myself will wait and see as I'm kinda more concerned about the vaccine than the virus at the moment especially when you hear about blood clots and the like vs hearing about people overcoming the virus with home remedies and minimal treatment

I understand this point of view. But here are some other things to consider:

1. 40-80% of cases are asymptomatic, meaning that you first may not have avoided the virus at all. Secondly, what if you get the virus and spread it to others who might not be fit enough to survive it. Remember you spreading it to one person creates a chain of new cases. Now a vaccine doesn't stop this, but it does reduce the probability of you spreading it significantly.

2. The blood clot situation is AZ is well documented. Incidences are 1 in 100,000 (only 25% of those are fatal) and 60% occurred in females under 60. AZ is one of the better vaccines and can safely be given to older people. If you're a middle-aged female then I understand why you'd be cautious.

3. The sooner everyone is vaccinated the sooner we'll get over this mess. Waiting it out just prolongs it for everyone.

4. Sinopharm is reportedly safe, hence the WHO approval.

The change of dying from covid is 1 in 100. The chance of dying from a vaccine is magnitudes less.

Postby pugboy » May 20th, 2021, 8:44 pm

locally it’s a little more than 1%
esp with our high incidence of comorbidities
we lead the world in stuff like obesity

you have a higher chance of getting in a car accident than vaccine side effect at least what we know of

Postby Strugglerzinc » May 20th, 2021, 8:49 pm

pugboy wrote:some simple google check

that cai niao is a china shipping tracking system
like a ups tracking logo
u can’t use that like a serial number
it’s like seeing boxes at airport with ups or fedex stickers and saying they going the same place

You trying to justify to conspiracy theorists who cant take the time to just look at a picture properly. It says Sinopharm right on the box.

Postby paid_influencer » May 20th, 2021, 9:14 pm

PEA covered this from early o clock this morning. The plane from China to Toronto carried both Sinopharm and Sinovac (the photos were taken in Toronto Airport) . However, only the Sinopharm was loaded onto a Caribbean Airlines plane for transshipment to Trini.

The OPM screwed up and used photos showing the Sinovac shipment, which was not destined for T&T.
https://www.facebook.com/PEATRINBAGO/po ... 9671347019

BTW, both Sinopharm and Sinovac use the same underlying technology. I would be surprised if there was any big performance difference between them.
Last edited by paid_influencer on May 20th, 2021, 9:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby redmanjp » May 20th, 2021, 9:15 pm

pugboy wrote:locally it’s a little more than 1%
esp with our high incidence of comorbidities
we lead the world in stuff like obesity

you have a higher chance of getting in a car accident than vaccine side effect at least what we know of

1.7% d CMO said. of course that would go up dramatically if the health system collapsed and u can't get oxygen or other treatment

Postby paid_influencer » May 20th, 2021, 9:40 pm

I going to post this here and then go back in the bunker. My bunker is a safe space, no covid news allowed there.

A couple nights ago, I dreamt that I was back in the US. I was walking down the street and nobody had to wear masks. Everybody was happy, people were back in restaurants. It was just like last time I was there, before the pandemic. That was a great time in my life.

I was the only one wearing a mask. I walked into a Walgreens and the staff there knew immediately why I was there because I had on a mask. "Here you go, come sit right here," they told me. I did, I rolled up my sleeve and they gave me the vaccine. They told me two more weeks and I wouldn't have to wear a mask anymore. I was happy beyond belief in the dream. It was like returning the normal.

Then I woke up from that dream. A few days later (today) -- and this is real life now-- I turned on the CNBC news and saw Biden in a signing ceremony for a new bill. He was in a small room with about 10 other people plus media -- all without masks, all in close proximity, hugging (!!!!). It was like the before time. I was incredulous. I knew the CDC changed guidance to say people with Pfizer can return to normal and don't need to wear masks anymore, but to see it happen in real life floored me.

And that is my dream. That is where I want to be. Fully-vaccinated, with a vaccine which will allow me to return to normal life without a mask, without social distancing, and without any fear of being hospitalized or killed in the pandemic.

I have been following this Sinopharm vaccine and, by God, I am grateful that it is here. But, everything I have read from the WHO and the Seychelles tells me this is not going to be like Pfizer. People who get Sinopharm are still at risk of hospitalization, still at risk of dying, still have to wear masks and still have to social distance. It does make the vaccinated person safer, but it is not the same as being vaccinated by AZ, Pfizer or any other major vaccines. In my head, I see it as still being partially vaccinated -- one would still need one of the other shots to go to the promised land of no mask wearing and returning to normal. And that is the part I'm not sure about - mixing vaccines - there is no safety data on taking AZ, Pfizer, etc, after first taking Sinopharm and there probably won't be for some time.

So brass tacks it always come down to risk/reward. High-risk individuals - especially people working Prisons service, Police service, Teachers, Grocery workers, allied Health care workers, frontliners -- all should take the Sinopharm. It has tangible benefit today that might save your life. But know what it is and what it is not -- it isn't going to give you near 100% protection like the AstraZenica or Pfizer vaccines. You still have to wear masks and social distance. You won't be able to do that you are seeing Americans doing on their television, even though the MoE describes you as "fully-vaccinated" -- it isn't the same as the CDC/FDA definition of "fully-vaccinated".

I personally am going to stay in the bunker some more. Take care everyone, stay safe.
hMTxQPW.jpg
Last edited by paid_influencer on May 20th, 2021, 9:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 20th, 2021, 9:40 pm

paid_influencer wrote:PEA covered this from early o clock this morning. The plane from China to Toronto carried both Sinopharm and Sinovac (the photos were taken in Toronto Airport) . However, only the Sinopharm was loaded onto a Caribbean Airlines plane for transshipment to Trini.

The OPM screwed up and used photos showing the Sinovac shipment, which was not destined for T&T.
https://www.facebook.com/PEATRINBAGO/po ... 9671347019

BTW, both Sinopharm and Sinovac use the same underlying technology. I would be surprised if there was any big performance difference between them.

Thanks for clearing this up

Postby redmanjp » May 20th, 2021, 10:26 pm

7000 active cases means 1 in every 200 is tested positive now. of course actual infections are about 5 times so that's 1 in 40 infected.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 20th, 2021, 10:41 pm

IMG-20210520-WA0096.jpeg

Postby redmanjp » May 20th, 2021, 11:02 pm

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » May 20th, 2021, 11:08 pm

Man take a serious chance doing that video, hopefully will wake up the delinquents who running around without any concern, smh.
redmanjp wrote:

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » May 21st, 2021, 5:36 am

daring dragoon wrote:
BUG wrote:
adnj wrote:
BUG wrote:
pugboy wrote:even if numbers go down
and they relax the rules to pre current lockdown

trinis will get carried away again and it will be same khaki pants cycle all over again
it’s in our dna to lime and overdo it

if disciplined countries like japan and taiwan could experience that virus revival then we just as well

We're not even in a lockdown yet. Neigbours all around having limes with friends coming over to enjoy some drinks and shoot the sh*t, eased by removing their masks, all completely legal and by the book. These restrictions are a tragic comedy.
Historically, this becomes the high-risk group. The virus spreads, and they are disproportionately affected. It's like people who smoke and people who die from lung cancer.

Right now a social person can theoretically (at a minimum) see 16 people over a weekend, indoors, no mask, alcohol to lower inhibitions, minimal social distancing, completely legally, for hours and hours on end.

Saturday lunch: 4 friends over
Saturday dinner: 4 friends over
Sunday lunch: 4 friends over
Sunday dinner: 4 friends over

All it takes is one of those 16 other people to be asymptomatic and they've now passed on whatever strain they have to x number of people (I can't remember what the statistics are for transmission off the top of my head, someone help me out).

Can someone explain the logic here? Maybe I'm missing something and I'd be glad to be educated on the matter and change my opinion.

watch you tube, the amount of people going by family an making cook an having limes. bunch of idiots.
[youtube]youtu.be/calFunBkqDE[/youtube]

https://youtu.be/calFunBkqDE

and the proud of they rum drinking and i am sure the 4 of them not living in the same house.

Postby matr1x » May 21st, 2021, 6:40 am

Sinovac vaccine has barely 50% effective rate, and given their bribery scandal, may not even be that good.

Allyuh gamble with it

Postby pugboy » May 21st, 2021, 7:40 am

what about side effects

if it is 50%
at least it reduces your chances of dying/hospitalization by half or so

matr1x wrote:Sinovac vaccine has barely 50% effective rate, and given their bribery scandal, may not even be that good.

Allyuh gamble with it

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » May 21st, 2021, 7:54 am

Dohplaydat wrote:
alfa wrote:For those who have successfully avoided the virus up to now I think we can wait a bit longer and see the effects of these vaccines first. No need to make a mad rush for something potentially dangerous when you have been doing a fine job avoiding it on your own. I myself will wait and see as I'm kinda more concerned about the vaccine than the virus at the moment especially when you hear about blood clots and the like vs hearing about people overcoming the virus with home remedies and minimal treatment

I understand this point of view. But here are some other things to consider:

1. 40-80% of cases are asymptomatic, meaning that you first may not have avoided the virus at all. Secondly, what if you get the virus and spread it to others who might not be fit enough to survive it. Remember you spreading it to one person creates a chain of new cases. Now a vaccine doesn't stop this, but it does reduce the probability of you spreading it significantly.

2. The blood clot situation is AZ is well documented. Incidences are 1 in 100,000 (only 25% of those are fatal) and 60% occurred in females under 60. AZ is one of the better vaccines and can safely be given to older people. If you're a middle-aged female then I understand why you'd be cautious.

3. The sooner everyone is vaccinated the sooner we'll get over this mess. Waiting it out just prolongs it for everyone.

4. Sinopharm is reportedly safe, hence the WHO approval.

The change of dying from covid is 1 in 100. The chance of dying from a vaccine is magnitudes less.

hasn't it been stated again and again that getting the vaccine does not prevent you from getting COVID-19 nor from spreading it. All it does is reduce the severity of the symptoms of it. As such, those who chose not to get it only putting themselves at risk.

Postby Dizzy28 » May 21st, 2021, 8:27 am

Just got news from my brother in law that a mutual acquaintance of both of us passed away last night at Couva.
Mid 30s with an infant!!

His workplace has had quite a number of positive cases though which has been kept pretty low key. Libations of the brewed kind, owned by persons of Levantine descent

Postby K74T » May 21st, 2021, 8:29 am

Carib Brewery?

Postby Dizzy28 » May 21st, 2021, 8:42 am

Si!!!

Postby sMASH » May 21st, 2021, 9:11 am

workplaces.... indoors...

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 21st, 2021, 9:12 am

Dizzy28 wrote:Si!!!
Is his infant ok?

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » May 21st, 2021, 9:14 am

Dizzy28 wrote:Just got news from my brother in law that a mutual acquaintance of both of us passed away last night at Couva.
Mid 30s with an infant!!

His workplace has had quite a number of positive cases though which has been kept pretty low key. Libations of the brewed kind, owned by persons of Levantine descent

sorry to hear that. Employers have some blood on their hands over this pandemic. Bullying staff to come out and when they get sick and unfortunately pass they say nothing. But karma is a beyotch. There will always be a day of reckoning.

Postby Dizzy28 » May 21st, 2021, 9:24 am

wtf wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:Si!!!
Is his infant ok?

Yea I think so .

As we on kids did anyone ready Dr David Bratt's column in the Guardain this week?
Worth a read.
18/05/2021
Tuesday Guardian # 1042
Frustration
“The US is turning the corner! Tulips are blooming, vaccinations are kicking in and the C.D.C. said it was OK to jog without a mask. Americans are cautiously entering a new, hopeful phase of the epidemic. Buoyed by a sense that the coronavirus is waning, more people are hugging friends, venturing into restaurants and returning to their prepandemic routines.”
So starts the daily Coronavirus Briefing of May 6 in the New York Times. All precipitated by a successful vaccination program.
We in T&T meanwhile, are in the middle of the worst surge we’ve had, probably due to the introduction of the Brazilian variant by an unfortunate Venezuelan refugee plus the Easter week in Tobago when, against medical advice, 50,000 Trinidadians travelled, plus the debacle of the failed vaccination program which so far is affording full protection to less than 2000 people in a situation where we need one million people to be vaccinated.
This Covid-19 outbreak has been bad for all of us and that includes the medical profession. It has been a miserable time. It ranges from having to contend with taking care of seriously sick and dying patients in hospital where the risk of personal injury, even death, is ever present, to dealing with the lack of basic information about what the actual situation with Covid is in the country, which makes it impossible to give advice to our patients.
My GP friends say that they have information about COVID pouring into every part of their bodies except for information relevant to the region in which they practise and that information from our Ministry of Health, is directed to the public rather than for clinicians.
So data is not shared except to pacify a public that is confused and is asking questions that doctors cannot answer because they do not have information that is relevant to their practices.
The MoH mantra that our people are dying of co-morbidities does not assist a doctor in managing a patient with suspected Covid. We know what the stats for obesity and diabetes in TT are. What might be more significant is how do our mortality rates compare with other countries with similar morbidities? Are there other factors involved? Are there blood markers in the general population that we should be looking for that might be of benefit to patients? Are local herbal treatments of any use? Do our younger patients with Covid demonstrate any particular symptoms or signs that might lead to more severe disease that we could use to their benefit?
If you ask me what Covid is doing to our children, I cannot tell you. Apart from some data from the hard-working paediatric team at the EWMSC on MIS-C, I have not been given any information by the Ministry of Health. I do not know how many children have been diagnosed with Covid in the last 12 months. I know nothing about the sex, the age, the presenting symptoms and signs, the laboratory findings, the course of the illness, the treatment or the outcome.
When I am asked by my parents about the risk of their child getting Covid, what to look out for, what to do, I cannot answer unless I talk to my colleagues in Barbados or Jamaica or the States.
When they ask me about our adult patients, I am embarrassed to say that I know nothing other than what is published in the media.
That information is the laughing stock of the Caribbean. From the beginning we have under tested and under traced. We continue to produce daily figures that turn out to be misleading like headline claims that we had 615 new cases in one day until the fine print revealed that those cases occurred over a five day period, an average of 123 cases a day.
It is one month since the discovery of the Brazil or P variant of the virus and the MoH is still unable to tell us what percentage of those cases are due to the variant.
Excuses like not enough tests or not enough technicians or not enough nurses or not enough beds are useless after one year.
From this point of view, the “parallel health system” that the MoH established here has been a failure.
Covid is said to be responsible for highlighting problems in the systems that govern us. All the inequities that we were able to tolerate and gloss over in our health system in the past have come back to haunt us with a vengeance. The lack of a functional strategic health plan; the absence of an underlying health philosophy; the inadequate buildings; the deep void in statistical health information; the lack of basic medication; the scarcity of surgical equipment that forces surgeons to bring in their own tools and make them targets for people to whisper about private doctors; the organizational incapacity that gives fifty to sixty people an appointment at the same time and keeps people lined up in the sun for hours; the gross understaffing at all levels but specifically at the nursing level.
These are things that could have been solved and can still be solved with cooperation, hard work and leadership. The SOE can hardly be said to be any of these things.