The Religion Discussion

Re: The Religion Discussion

Postby meccalli » August 5th, 2014, 8:48 pm

Many people fall into these confused belief systems because they follow some self declared leader blindly rather than seek scriptural truth for themselves.

aks

Postby aks » August 6th, 2014, 4:21 pm

Religion is a man made thing, has anyone here died met with God and came back to talk about it , If only the fools that wrote these books could have seen the hate & confusion they would create whether bible,quaran,Ramayan, forget religion embrace your brother, him and everything around u in this world is proof enough that a higher power exists u dont need a book and no book could contain the magnificence of GOD beware the fools

aks

Postby aks » August 6th, 2014, 4:30 pm

To christianity How could u say that God made Lucifer who became the devil it is unheard of that from such good evil can spwan ie u can now say according to christianity God is responsible for all the devil work remember he exists in past present tense and future its God we dealin with God must have known alot of fools tried to explain this but u see evil dwells within us not the devil as soon a christianity can accept this we would have a better world until then blame the devil.....and alot more common sense errors in the bible to many to mention

aks

Postby aks » August 6th, 2014, 4:41 pm

To Muslims your stories are the same as in the bible jus a few words and names some events and time frames differ ppl say this is the pure version of the bible i say BS jus a cpl hundred names words places and times changed and a good thing too we may have had a cpl 1000 ppl with 1 hand or no hands ,please stop treating your women so terrible,give some regard for life and limb you dont have to pray 5 times a day if u dont want to ,,,,pray when u feel u want to connect with God and he understands all languages no need for any particular one again like the bible the quaran gives God human qualities which in my view is not right saying he gets angry and even giving him a name as though God were your pet ,oh lets not even get into the talk of how many virgins God would give u for this and that like a gambler so many errors ,,which God would sanction such a terrible judgement to be meted out by his ppl?

aks

Postby aks » August 6th, 2014, 4:50 pm

do good
Last edited by aks on November 5th, 2017, 12:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 6th, 2014, 7:55 pm

meccalli wrote:
meccalli wrote:There's 1 faith, 1 church.
which one is that? The one with the most members?

Its collectively known as the body of Christ, the members of the faith who have clothed themselves in righteousness and wait upon God's plan. The concept of church in the bible is stemmed in the word ekklesia, the called out, the elect. It isn't a some branded building or special belief system.
which Christian denomination (or non-denomination) considers itself as not being this?

meccalli wrote:Its the gathered individuals who keep God's instruction and serve him in all truth.
But this is what every religion claims that it is doing.

Postby meccalli » August 7th, 2014, 5:34 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:But this is what every religion claims that it is doing.

In their case the god of this world has blinded the minds of the unbelievers, to keep them from seeing the light of the gospel of the glory of Christ, who is the image of God.
Enter by the narrow gate. For the gate is wide and the way is easy that leads to destruction, and those who enter by it are many. For the gate is narrow and the way is hard that leads to life, and those who find it are few.

Many of those live in tradition, following after ways of men that teach ultimately self gratification even through denying oneself for the sake of some power or blessing.

Ever hear about blessings in church. Its the same thing, they are just as guilty in 'serving' God for some earthly prosperity and ultimately some imaginary heaven in their minds.

But false prophets also arose among the people, just as there will be false teachers among you, who will secretly bring in destructive heresies, even denying the Master who bought them, bringing upon themselves swift destruction. And many will follow their sensuality, and because of them the way of truth will be blasphemed. And in their greed they will exploit you with false words. Their condemnation from long ago is not idle, and their destruction is not asleep.

For the time is coming when people will not endure sound teaching, but having itching ears they will accumulate for themselves teachers to suit their own passions.

Bible says a whole lot more about this topic for good reason. But, you won't hear messages like that today. Everything you see today on TBN, the 'great' christian network...tickling ears.

Postby Slartibartfast » August 7th, 2014, 8:52 am

meccalli wrote:Enter by the narrow gate. For the gate is wide and the way is easy that leads to destruction, and those who enter by it are many. For the gate is narrow and the way is hard that leads to life, and those who find it are few.

So God created a universe where most of the subjects he love will end up suffering eternal damnation. Shouldn't he/she have the power to put in a nice rat-iron (wrought iron) gave and cobble stone driveway to make the entry pleasant?

So you are basically saying that he is either stupid, incompetent or a d!ck? Although these are not mutually exclusive.

Postby Habit7 » August 7th, 2014, 9:07 am

Romans 9:14-25

What shall we say then? Is there injustice on God's part? By no means! For he says to Moses, “I will have mercy on whom I have mercy, and I will have compassion on whom I have compassion.” So then it depends not on human will or exertion,[b] but on God, who has mercy. For the Scripture says to Pharaoh, “For this very purpose I have raised you up, that I might show my power in you, and that my name might be proclaimed in all the earth.” So then he has mercy on whomever he wills, and he hardens whomever he wills.

You will say to me then, “Why does he still find fault? For who can resist his will?” But who are you, O man, to answer back to God? Will what is molded say to its molder, “Why have you made me like this?” Has the potter no right over the clay, to make out of the same lump one vessel for honorable use and another for dishonorable use? What if God, desiring to show his wrath and to make known his power, has endured with much patience vessels of wrath prepared for destruction, in order to make known the riches of his glory for vessels of mercy, which he has prepared beforehand for glory— even us whom he has called, not from the Jews only but also from the Gentiles? As indeed he says in Hosea,

Postby Chimera » August 7th, 2014, 9:14 am

sigh

allyuh still justifying/proving God by quoting a man made book?

if it was a magical book that came down from the heavens every sunday in every church all across the world and it had a voice of its own and there was no way to destroy it because it just magical

then okay..you could believe in the book

Postby Slartibartfast » August 7th, 2014, 9:19 am

Habit7 wrote:
Romans 9:

Has the potter no right over the clay, to make out of the same lump one vessel for honorable use and another for dishonorable use? What if God, desiring to show his wrath and to make known his power, has endured with much patience vessels of wrath prepared for destruction, in order to make known the riches of his glory for vessels of mercy, which he has prepared beforehand for glory—
... so he's a d!ck. He creates some people just to destroy them so that others may know his "Glory"?

Let that sink in for a bit. He creates most of us so that he can commit spiritual genocide... wow...

Postby Chimera » August 7th, 2014, 9:27 am

Humans of New York's photo.
June 29
"I've been a deep believer my whole life. 18 years as a Southern Baptist. More than 40 years as a mainline Protestant. I'm an ordained pastor. But it's just stopped making sense to me. You see people doing terrible things in the name of religion, and you think: 'Those people believe just as strongly as I do. They're just as convinced as I am.' And it just doesn't make sense anymore. It doesn't make sense to believe in a God that dabbles in people's lives. If a plane crashes, and one person survives, everyone thanks God. They say: 'God had a purpose for that person. God saved her for a reason!' Do we not realize how cruel that is? Do we not realize how cruel it is to say that if God had a purpose for that person, he also had a purpose in killing everyone else on that plane? And a purpose in starving millions of children? A purpose in slavery and genocide? For every time you say that there's a purpose behind one person's success, you invalidate billions of people. You say there is a purpose to their suffering. And that's just cruel."

Postby MG Man » August 7th, 2014, 9:47 am

aks wrote:To Hindus hinduism is one of the oldest less fought over religions but if u really want to be a hindu you must follow its caste system most of u would be cleaning toilets and drains /catching rats for a living worship of an idol is not such a correct thing really,,,, fiddling with some cow dung and a certain amount and types of leaves does not make u connect with God and again God would understand u whether u spoke in gibberish or sanskrit whether u ate today or not i think does not matter to me and i am nobody should it matter to GOD

the cast system was basically created and reinforced by vedic scholars....it is not a dictate of the religion itself.....if you look at hindu scripture, god in whichever form he took while on earthly shenanigans, was always helped by the po' people, many fo them who got promoted n'sht
that caste thing is just another sick perversion created by an elite class, to maintain their self-perceived superiority...........and like all other religions, they picked, chose and interpreted verses and passages that supported their agenda............
of the big religions, hinduism is the only one that says you do NOT have to follow me to gain salvation or whatever they want to call it.....in essence, it says choose your bath, but aspire to be the best you can be at it.....so yes, there is no issue with being an atheist in the eyes of hinduism, as long as you follow the words of the two Great Ones, and be excellent to each other

Postby Slartibartfast » August 7th, 2014, 9:57 am

MG Man wrote:if you look at hindu scripture, god in whichever form he took while on earthly shenanigans, was always helped by the po' people, many of them who got promoted n'sht
:shock: This has to be the most succinct way I have ever seen this explained.

MG Man wrote:of the big religions, hinduism is the only one that says you do NOT have to follow me to gain salvation or whatever they want to call it.....in essence, it says choose your bath, but aspire to be the best you can be at it
I worshiping God with scented candles and lots of bubbles later :lol:

Postby MG Man » August 7th, 2014, 10:08 am

yuh want company oar? I have a new rubber duckie

Postby Habit7 » August 7th, 2014, 10:11 am

Slartibartfast wrote:
Habit7 wrote:
Romans 9:

Has the potter no right over the clay, to make out of the same lump one vessel for honorable use and another for dishonorable use? What if God, desiring to show his wrath and to make known his power, has endured with much patience vessels of wrath prepared for destruction, in order to make known the riches of his glory for vessels of mercy, which he has prepared beforehand for glory—
... so he's a d!ck. He creates some people just to destroy them so that others may know his "Glory"?

Let that sink in for a bit. He creates most of us so that he can commit spiritual genocide... wow...

Please make you case as for why every person on Earth deserves eternal bliss no matter of their actions.

Postby Chimera » August 7th, 2014, 10:23 am

on that note ^^^
is your God a racist?

it seems that the africans have it pretty tough with regards to disease/starvation/war etc

Postby Habit7 » August 7th, 2014, 10:33 am

I think it is you who might be racist or have a very shallow of history to insinuate that.

Many ethnicities have experienced disease/starvation/war, some to far great degree than Africans.

Postby Slartibartfast » August 7th, 2014, 11:15 am

Habit7 wrote:
Slartibartfast wrote:
Habit7 wrote:
Romans 9:

Please make you case as for why every person on Earth deserves eternal bliss no matter of their actions.

Read that again. These people are created to be destroyed. It was God's will to send them to hell when he created them. How can they fight against that?

Postby MG Man » August 7th, 2014, 11:20 am

as long as your deity is omniscient, then the idea of free will falls to pieces
therefore, god knowing made me an atheist, Charles Manson a serial killer, etc......he knowingly set up the model for rapists, murderers and starving kids in africa......the whole bs about suffering from original sin becomes a fallacy once you recognize an all-knowing god...he KNEW when he crafted the neural pathways inAdam and Eve's brains, that Eve would be predisposed to temptation, and that Adam would think with his piggy....he set them up to fail, and everything that has happened, down to me typing this, he knowingly did...free will and choice do not exist

Postby meccalli » August 7th, 2014, 11:22 am

Slartibartfast wrote:So God created a universe where most of the subjects he love will end up suffering eternal damnation. Shouldn't he/she have the power to put in a nice rat-iron (wrought iron) gave and cobble stone driveway to make the entry pleasant?

So you are basically saying that he is either stupid, incompetent or a d!ck? Although these are not mutually exclusive.

You don't need to be too quick to develop an understanding of God's character and plan if you don't read his word.
http://www.1000yearmillennium.com/
While i don't subscribe to every point in this article, you'll see its rather drastic in comparison to the garbage that's spouted to drive people to hate God. Again Paul knew this, when he addressed us in his books. I know that after I leave, savage wolves will come in among you and will not spare the flock. A handing down of lies. O LORD, my strength, and my fortress, and my refuge in the day of affliction, the nations shall come unto you from the ends of the earth, and shall say, Surely our fathers have inherited lies, vanity, and things in which there is no profit.

And, I'll say it again, for those of you who don't want an eternal soul, it will be destroyed. The lake of fire is a supernatural place not designed to torture but rather to destroy the spirit that can't die. So those who think along those lines, after we're dead, that's it. Don't worry you'll have it if you don't choose to come to repentance wherein you will have a second chance to choose which side you're on during Satan's last deception. But, why go through all the trouble...give God a chance in your life.

MG Man wrote:of the big religions, hinduism is the only one that says you do NOT have to follow me to gain salvation or whatever they want to call it.....in essence, it says choose your path, but aspire to be the best you can be at it..

Buddhism, Hinduism, Islam(kaabah/moons/black stones/lingams) all originated in idol worship systems of babylon. And they all teach it, islam as we all know where it's one God theology came from- Down to satanism and scientology. Do as thou wilst shall be the whole of the law, secularism. I don't think i need to remind people of their based roots of fertility worshop in phallic objects and symbolisms. Btw for hindus out there, I don't take this seriously, but i always find a strange similarity and the fact that Cush's descendan't ended up in that general area, make what you will of it. Genesis 10. And the sons of Cush: Seba and Havilah and Sabtah and Raamah and Sabtecha. And the sons of Raamah: Sheba and Dedan.

ABA Trading LTD wrote:on that note ^^^
is your God a racist?

it seems that the africans have it pretty tough with regards to disease/starvation/war etc

You should start by looking at historical texts to find that answer and ask man before God why they are racist.

Postby MG Man » August 7th, 2014, 11:28 am

lol @ idol worship
if hindus et al worship idols, then by that same misguided logic, muslims worship an under aged girlfucker
and by further logic, islam originated form a poorly done rehash of the old testament, which in itself goes back to those pagan dudes of olden times

Postby Habit7 » August 7th, 2014, 11:28 am

Slartibartfast wrote:
Habit7 wrote:
Slartibartfast wrote:
Habit7 wrote:
Romans 9:

Read that again. These people are created to be destroyed. It was God's will to send them to hell when he created them. How can they fight against that?
And again I ask. You seem to hold God to some moral standard. Why is it wrong for God to send one person to hell far less every single person.

Please make your case why every person on Earth deserves eternal bliss no matter of their actions.

Postby meccalli » August 7th, 2014, 11:33 am

MG Man wrote:lol @ idol worship
if hindus et al worship idols, then by that same misguided logic, muslims worship an under aged girlfucker
and by further logic, islam originated form a poorly done rehash of the old testament, which in itself goes back to those pagan dudes of olden times

Exactly lol.

Postby Slartibartfast » August 7th, 2014, 11:35 am

Think it through.

I agree with you that not everyone on the earth deserves bliss

But why don't they deserve bliss? Because of their evil and/or dishonest actions

But why do they do these actions? Because it is who they are

But why are they this way? Because of their surroundings

But why are they in these surroundings? Because God put them there

And here is the part that I have a problem with

But why did God put them there? Because they are his "vessels of wrath prepared for destruction, in order to make known the riches of his glory for vessels of mercy, which he has prepared beforehand for glory"

TL:DR God creates people just to send them to hell so that the people he created to send to heaven will know how glorious he is... total d!ck move no matter how you look at it.

Postby MG Man » August 7th, 2014, 11:42 am

a religion based on these guys would make more sense than the rubbish spouted here

and this man made more sense than jesus

Postby meccalli » August 7th, 2014, 11:53 am

Oh yeah, this lovely bunch. Your sweet Lord?

Slartibartfast wrote:But why did God put them there? Because they are his "vessels of wrath prepared for destruction, in order to make known the riches of his glory for vessels of mercy, which he has prepared beforehand for glory"

That's what you make of that scripture?
You forgot some stuff before and after.
bore with great patience the objects of his wrath
As he says in Hosea:
I will call them ‘my people’ who are not my people;
and I will call her ‘my loved one’ who is not my loved one,”[i]
and, In the very place where it was said to them,
‘You are not my people,’
there they will be called ‘children of the living God.’

Yes, we make him angry, we are objects of his wrath, but thank God, he bears great patience and will call us his children if we get off our selfish ways and humble ourselves before the master potter.

Postby Slartibartfast » August 7th, 2014, 11:56 am

Read over my breakdown of reasoning again. What you said does not explain away the

"prepared for destruction"

Everything (according to you and your bible) comes after that fact. Because, you know, they can't really do anything bad before God created them

Postby meccalli » August 7th, 2014, 12:13 pm

patience
skeuh
skeuE
G4632
n_ Acc Pl n
INSTRUMENTS
vessels
orghs
orgEs
G3709
n_ Gen Sg f
OF-INDIGNATION
kathrtismena
katErtismena
G2675
vp Perf Pas Acc Pl n
having-been-adapted
eis
eis
G1519
Prep
INTO
apwleian
apOleian
G684
n_ Acc Sg f
destruction
Well, if you insist, that's the greek. I don't see anything that suggests what you are. Unless, you want to make a point on who is adapted into destruction. That seems like the work of the subject itself, which is man.
Although, i just looked at the context and i thought that was pretty obvious, even the context of the entire new testament and the overarching concept that we deserve death and are given a second chance though Yeshua.
Last edited by meccalli on August 7th, 2014, 12:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby MG Man » August 7th, 2014, 12:13 pm

meccali you eh find dat bunch look happy? Weed, bullin, nobody killin nobody