Petrotrin refinery shut down

Joshie23

Re: Petrotrin refinery to shut down

Postby Joshie23 » November 5th, 2018, 4:02 pm

pugboy wrote:I guess the next thing to say is if union jefes had good supply of water at home....

Sar-boh-tash. :lol:

car

Postby car » November 5th, 2018, 4:23 pm

HERITAGE PETROLEUM HIRES FOREIGN CEO

The Rowley administration continues to operate in secrecy and mystery concerning Petrotrin and it's successor companies. The new yet secret Board has appointed a person to be the CEO of the firm last week.

Interviews of the new State company Heritage Petroleum was completed on Friday night at 8 pm by HR Associates and newly hired CEO at Hilton Hotel. Renting several rooms that were converted into interview rooms the process was rushed to be done as quickly as possible. The costs of this adventure is not public as was the case of procurement of Lonsdale and HR Consulting.

As was the case with Petrotrin, extremely high salaries are being offered to managers. Some having been offered salaries of $100,000 plus perks per month.

A former employee of Exxon, Mr. Mike Wiley, has been offered the position of CEO. This former Exxon employee that was hired conducted the interviews with a team for senior positions at Heritage Petroleum. The salary of Mr. Wiley is not known as yet.

What is clear after the interviews were that former employees of Petrotrin did not find favor with the new company as potential employees instead the inclination was to hire persons from other firms such as BP etc.

Devant Maharaj

Postby hydroep » November 5th, 2018, 5:24 pm

Hmmph...an ex-Exxon man, who was involved in the hiring process. I suppose we're paying for international expertise?

All PNM Sh!tlickers, the fuel subsidy money being put to good use...ent?...:|

Postby toyolink » November 5th, 2018, 6:36 pm

This is a real 'slap-in-the face' rendered to local aspirants if true.
The question of whether it was deserved and is motivated by desire to serve the taxpayers of this country is a whole other ball game.
What is for certain is that those who whole the reins of power certainly know how to share licks.

Postby nervewrecker » November 5th, 2018, 9:31 pm

So allyuh really feel de black man was getting anything?

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » November 5th, 2018, 10:59 pm

So the one bit of the oil and gas sector we ran locally we just gave back to the colonials...well so much for helping and developing local talent.

Sad that they couldn't find a local to run it.

You would think that by putting a local they would be able to run it with greater say and influence, or is this a PR stunt to make it look as if they care.

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » November 5th, 2018, 11:03 pm

I wonder if we can get EXPATs to form the new government. Hmmm.

Postby Redman » November 6th, 2018, 2:55 am

On the assumption that that idiot Devant actually have it right,
We had locals running Petrotrins affairs....and yet here we are

If Wiley is the best man for the job from those who applied...then I'm cool.

kstt

Postby kstt » November 6th, 2018, 5:46 am

Numb3r4 wrote:So the one bit of the oil and gas sector we ran locally we just gave back to the colonials...

kstt wrote:O'halloran
Calder Hart
William Espinet
Mike Wiley

White man hide the money better!

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » November 6th, 2018, 7:33 am

Redman wrote:On the assumption that that idiot Devant actually have it right,

Why do people subscribe to this 'If it's foreign, it has to be better' trend of thought?? Here's how to shoot your point out of the sky..before Claire Fitzpatrick, bpTT was lead by whom? Not Robert Riley? Isn't he a 'local'..??

Fine, yes some Trinidadians have the inverse Midas touch; the ability to spoil things before they even touch it, but guess who those 'locals running Petrotrin's affairs' had to report to? A Board of Directors. Guess who the Board of Directors had to report to? The GoRTT. Guess who these superior foreigners are going to report to? The Board of Directors. Guess who the Board of Directors is going to continue to report to?? You guessed it, the GoRTT. You know what every member of the board, the Ministers of Finance and Energy and by extension the GoRTT have in common? THEY'RE ALL TRINIDADIANS aka LOCALS. I hope your pilot has a parachute.

Don't get me wrong. I have nothing against expats. I have family who are expats in other countries. Hell, I might even benefit from being one someday and yes, again, our fellow Trinis are sometimes sour, but it's preposterous to suggest that foreigners do it better. It's also ridiculously funny that you think your government and/or their operatives got it right with this one, after expressing your concerns with the quality of fuel that was sourced by said government and/or their operatives. Meh.

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » November 6th, 2018, 7:47 am

Nah bro.
Before Claire Fitzpatrick, there was another gentlemen. I think Norman Christie was his name.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » November 6th, 2018, 8:27 am

Pointman-IA wrote:Nah bro.
Before Claire Fitzpatrick, there was another gentlemen. I think Norman Christie was his name.

Yes, you are right. I humbly accept the correction. *e-bounce*

kstt

Postby kstt » November 6th, 2018, 8:37 am

Will the "former" Exxon executive be using their new refinery at PAP to refine their Guyanese oil?

car

Postby car » November 6th, 2018, 8:51 am

kstt wrote:Will the "former" Exxon executive be using their new refinery at PAP to refine their Guyanese oil?

I thought it was an old refinery. How it get new now?

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » November 6th, 2018, 8:54 am

car wrote:
kstt wrote:Will the "former" Exxon executive be using their new refinery at PAP to refine their Guyanese oil?

I thought it was an old refinery. How it get new now?
Cheaper to construct new storage ranks.

What is the expected API of the Guyanese crude?

Postby Redman » November 6th, 2018, 11:09 am

Joshie23 wrote:

Why do people subscribe to this 'If it's foreign, it has to be better' trend of thought?? Here's how to shoot your point out of the sky..before Claire Fitzpatrick, bpTT was lead by whom? Not Robert Riley? Isn't he a 'local'..??

Fine, yes some Trinidadians have the inverse Midas touch; the ability to spoil things before they even touch it, but guess who those 'locals running Petrotrin's affairs' had to report to? A Board of Directors. Guess who the Board of Directors had to report to? The GoRTT. Guess who these superior foreigners are going to report to? The Board of Directors. Guess who the Board of Directors is going to continue to report to?? You guessed it, the GoRTT. You know what every member of the board, the Ministers of Finance and Energy and by extension the GoRTT have in common? THEY'RE ALL TRINIDADIANS aka LOCALS. I hope your pilot has a parachute.

Don't get me wrong. I have nothing against expats. I have family who are expats in other countries. Hell, I might even benefit from being one someday and yes, again, our fellow Trinis are sometimes sour, but it's preposterous to suggest that foreigners do it better. It's also ridiculously funny that you think your government and/or their operatives got it right with this one, after expressing your concerns with the quality of fuel that was sourced by said government and/or their operatives. Meh.

I never came close to indicating foreign is better.
That would be your misinterpretation.

We need to pick the best from those who offer themselves.

X,Y,Z can only be appointed if they make themselves available.

So we all can drop names we want.....if they didn't apply they might as well be on Mars.

And all things being equal.....I don't care who runs it...I care who owns it.

Postby sMASH » November 6th, 2018, 11:25 am

It would be nice to get a spec sheet for the fuel conditions that each vehicle requires, and then an spec for the fuels that we buy, so we could sue them for failure to provide their mandated specs.

If they beating up that they trying and to give them understanding, let the distributers source their own products.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » November 6th, 2018, 11:29 am

:arrow: We had locals running Petrotrins affairs....and yet here we are

Screenshot_20181106-112653_Chrome.jpg

Screenshot_20181106-112634_Chrome.jpg

Shubh Divali, Redman.

Postby Redman » November 6th, 2018, 11:47 am

Well feel free to make your interpretation of one statement of fact while ignoring the absolute clarity of the following sentence: "Best man for the job from those that applied"

Geographic origination is irrelevant
Well at least I thought so.

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » November 6th, 2018, 1:07 pm

Redman wrote:Well feel free to make your interpretation of one statement of fact while ignoring the absolute clarity of the following sentence: "Best man for the job from those that applied"

Geographic origination is irrelevant
Well at least I thought so.
As I have been saying, if it takes an expat to change around the entity, so be it.

T&T nationals leave here to make a positive impact in the Middle East and South East Asia.

kstt

Postby kstt » November 6th, 2018, 5:04 pm

:agrue: :agrue:
Last edited by kstt on November 10th, 2018, 12:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » November 8th, 2018, 7:00 am

Postby RedVEVO » November 8th, 2018, 7:23 am

So WHO close down Petrotrin ?

WHO has gained ? Who has "profited " ?

The plan was to eliminate OWTU .

Only then can Petrotrin be sold to investors .

ISPAT ( then came ArcelorMittal ) was same strategy .

And then they "buss out. "

And leave T&T (while PNM watching) with a white elephant and workers lose all benefits .

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » November 8th, 2018, 8:41 am

RedVEVO wrote:So WHO close down Petrotrin ?

WHO has gained ? Who has "profited " ?

The plan was to eliminate OWTU .

Only then can Petrotrin be sold to investors .

ISPAT ( then came ArcelorMittal ) was same strategy .

And then they "buss out. "

And leave T&T (while PNM watching) with a white elephant and workers lose all benefits .

I always thought you were anti-Petrotrin you know :lol: my bad. Concerning the point about Mittal, there's a video with Lakshmi Mittal being interviewed and he was asked which country contributed the most to his wealth or something along those lines and his answer was..right here, sweet T&T.

TL;DR-Meh, di Gov't wicked.

The gov't, BoD and other 'concerned' parties showed their hand and desire to return to colonialism (and I use the term loosely so tread lightly) and oppressive ways with the blatant and scathing attacks on the Labour Movement and by extension, the Industrial Court. Now, do our trade unions need modernization, revamping, etc.? Yes. However, is a Labour Movement, IR lawyers and independent, investigative bodies like the IC necessary to give a voice to those that would have otherwise been subjected to substandard treatment by their employers, whenever they damn well pleased? Also, yes. Even some of the most sought after places of employment have their skeletons. Don't think because there is a yellow shell on my chest or you see me in an orange coverall with a green and yellow sunflower that I don't have my stresses. Yes, those organizations function like well-oiled machines but I still believe we need a paradigm shift in this country.

The hatred for Petrotrin employees partially stemmed from the 'protection' through the unions, that other people don't have, but I heard Roget say once and I agreed (one of the few times), that instead of being upset at the OWTU, PSA, etc., be mad at your employer for oppressing you. Demand representation. Demand better conditions. But as a people, we've been conditioned to categorize ourselves into the 'haves' and 'have nots' and behave accordingly and it shows in employment status, class, race and several other items that can fall as sub-categories of H's and H-N's all while we propagate the laziness, bureaucracy, poor work ethic and other shitty tendencies that forced us into certain corners in the first place.

In closing, I still stand by the fact that Petrotrin needed fixing, much like many other State enterprises. The modus operandi, however, of the BoD, Gov't or whosoever is pulling the strings (because according to Espinet, it wasn't his suggestion) is questionable and it leaves much to be desired. The demonization of the lower level employees, the web of lies, unmaterialized promises of attractive exit packages to swoon both employee and members of the public speaks to another agenda. The Dragon Gas Deal, Sandals Deal (a deal which a citizen had to sue the Gov't to reveal the details thereof), Guyana Energy talks amongst several other topics that affect public interest just as much as Petrotrin does/can, have all been confidential and thus not discussed with the public yet Petrotrin was a talking point at political rallies mere weeks ago. There are talks on every corner (some ill-advised and ignorant) about the ripple effect of keeping it opened..but hardly any about closing it down. I'm not sure if the Refinery made Regular fuel, but with the non-importation of said fuel now, through Paria, which was primarily used by fishermen for their boats, it's either they pay twice as much per liter of fuel now or they paddle, both of which will trickle down to the consumer, in the price of fish. Words to carry us forward...paradigm. shift.

kstt

Postby kstt » November 8th, 2018, 6:59 pm

kstt wrote:So the imported refined products failed our standard and quality tests.

http://www.cnc3.co.tt/press-release/you ... sold-pumps

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » November 8th, 2018, 9:39 pm

I realise PNM supporters a little quiet these days..this government has proven to be a pack of pathological liars.

1) Espinet says he didn't give the green light to closing Petrotrin..which means the Gov't did..but then Rowley said they gave the BoD authority to make decisions..so if Espinet, who had the authority to suggest to Gov't to close it down, didn't say to close it down, who did?

2)
kstt wrote:
kstt wrote:So the imported refined products failed our standard and quality tests.

http://www.cnc3.co.tt/press-release/you ... sold-pumps

Minister of Everything says first shipment arrived yesterday..Petrotrin's memo says first shipment arrived since the 27th of October..
20181108_211305.jpg

When did it really arrive? Again, who is lying? Petrotrin or the Gov't?

3) https://youtu.be/Rg3ENH4S2sI RFPs on an international scale? What happened to 'the OWTU will be given the first opportunity to own and operate the refinery under the most favourable terms and conditions..'?? I mean, we have a 10 day memory sometimes but oh gosh..September 2nd wasn't that far..we've still retained some items from then. So more lies?

Don't get me wrong. I'm not anti/pro-PNM or pro/anti-UNC. I'm pro-country. Pro-transparency. Pro-treat people with an ounce of decency. Anti-corruption. Anti-condescending. And if there are still people that believe this move was done solely for the benefit of the people and economy of Trinidad and Tobago, I have some red Kool-Aid in my fridge with your name on it. Yes, that contradicted my last point, but allyuh ain't riot yet, so..

Postby RedVEVO » November 9th, 2018, 12:01 am

Is the diesel at the pump now the "better" diesel ?

The one thats is "high grade" and not sulphur laden destroying a vehicle engine for years now.

Gov't so caring .

Just wanna make you offer them black cake this christmas .

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » November 9th, 2018, 12:46 am

Joshie23 and RedVevo were last seen eating Oreo cookies by the Almond tree in Marabella.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » November 9th, 2018, 1:52 am

Pointman-IA wrote:Joshie23 and RedVevo were last seen eating Oreo cookies by the Almond tree in Marabella.

:lol: I'm more of a Delta cookie kinda guy.

09_06_2017_00668.jpg

Postby Redman » November 9th, 2018, 2:04 am

Apparently the first load was diesel.
Yesterday he stated that the first load of gas came yesterday

Sadly the union is yet to make a credible offer.