Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Re: Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby zoom rader » February 8th, 2018, 7:04 am

I will not be surprised if a poll tax will be introduced to folk 18 years and over. PNM (1%) will make money this way

Postby matr1x » February 8th, 2018, 7:18 am

So if I cast a concrete square in the middle of land, they taxing dat?

Postby zoom rader » February 8th, 2018, 7:50 am

matr1x wrote:So if I cast a concrete square in the middle of land, they taxing dat?
Yup any erected building. A hut, barbecue sheld in addition to you home Will be taxed from my understanding.

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » February 8th, 2018, 8:17 am

Do if I dig a hole and build below ground they taxing that to lol

Postby zoom rader » February 8th, 2018, 8:39 am

Pablo660 wrote:Do if I dig a hole and build below ground they taxing that to lol
Well you can't cause any thing below 6ft the government owns. So you will be trespassing

Postby matr1x » February 8th, 2018, 9:40 am

When the time comes to pay this tax, remember there were idiots who actually voted for pnm

Postby 88sins » February 8th, 2018, 12:14 pm

Pablo660 wrote:Do if I dig a hole and build below ground they taxing that to lol

yup
& even if you buy a boat & living on the sea, the way it's written, you're dwelling is still liable to be taxed

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » February 8th, 2018, 1:46 pm

All this beat up for paying tax but when in merica nobody say a word and pay their taxes...juss saying

BUSHMASTER

Postby BUSHMASTER » February 8th, 2018, 2:24 pm

randolphinshan wrote:All this beat up for paying tax but when in merica nobody say a word and pay their taxes...juss saying

Tru bt Dey cud see where there taxes r goin bt TnT u know where the taxes goin #polititianspocket
Juss sayin

Postby zoom rader » February 8th, 2018, 2:32 pm

BUSHMASTER wrote:
randolphinshan wrote:All this beat up for paying tax but when in merica nobody say a word and pay their taxes...juss saying

Tru bt Dey cud see where there taxes r goin bt TnT u know where the taxes goin #polititianspocket
Juss sayin
With PNM you will not see your monies worth

Postby The_Honourable » February 8th, 2018, 3:08 pm

Men rip apart that argument many times on this ched.

Postby rspann » February 8th, 2018, 3:12 pm

Allyuh studying skunty?

Postby matr1x » February 8th, 2018, 4:54 pm

Lol. Randolph needs to stop listening to i95.5

Postby 88sins » February 8th, 2018, 5:52 pm

matr1x wrote:Lol. Randolph needs to stop listening to i95.5

it's plausible that there was extra bleach applied when he got that wonderful brainwashing

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » February 8th, 2018, 6:36 pm

Bodow.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » February 8th, 2018, 7:35 pm

Whats the current position with property ttax?...still in courts?

Postby The_Honourable » February 8th, 2018, 8:25 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:Whats the current position with property ttax?...still in courts?

Yep... 3 separate lawsuits in fact...

Legal action holds up property tax implementation

Three legal actions now before the High Court will determine when and if the government can implement its proposed property tax, according to Senator Allyson West, former partner and territory tax leader in the Tax and Corporate Services Department of PricewaterhouseCoopers, TT. She is a senior member of the Law Association, and on June 30 took up the position of Minister in the Ministry of Finance to handle the administration of the tax.

“The tax will essentially be as laid in the legislation that has already been passed in Parliament,” she said in an interview with Business Day. “There are some amendments that we need to propose to the legislation which we should be doing soon, but we are waiting on the court matter that is still being litigated. And what we need to do is proceed to do the evaluations and raise the assessments so we can communicate with the public on what their obligations will be and how soon that will start.”

Former Minister of Works and Transport in the United National Congress (UNC) administration, Devant Maharaj; UNC activist Ravi Balgobin Maharaj; and Chaguanas resident Lutchmidat Ramcalle have gone to court seeking judicial review of the government’s decision to introduce the tax. Ramcalle is also pursuing a constitutional motion claiming that in seeking to introduce the tax, the government was simply motivated by the need to raise as much money as possible by collecting property tax.

Former Attorney General Anand Ramlogan is representing Ramcalle in the constitutional motion. Ramlogan said there is the feeling that the public has been “ambushed” by the government and the haste with which the government has moved to implement the property tax is in flagrant disregard of the enshrined fundamental rights of the people. He said the Minister of Finance intends to collect the tax based on the Property Tax Act of 2009, which gave a deadline of April 1, 2010. Ramlogan said that deadline had long expired and the property valuation forms issued to the public by the government were invalid, illegal and null and void because they were based on the Valuation of Land Act.

Ramlogan said the government cannot simply bypass Parliament and impose a new deadline without amending the law. He charged that this is a serious violation of the most basic and elementary principles of constitutional law, adding that it is reflective of an arrogant dictatorship.

West told Business Day the commencement of the property tax will depend on “how soon we can get the valuations done and in practice by the matter which is before the court.” She said the government “was prepared to go ahead with the tax using the information which we would have received in May, but then the court matter came up, so that has stymied our progress somewhat, but as soon as we determine where we are vis-a-vis that matter, we will know how to proceed from that.”

Shaken by the dire warnings of Minister of Finance Colm Imbert that there would be no postponement in the implementation of the property tax and even the likelihood of jail time for those who did not comply in filling out and returning the valuation forms, many householders across the country rushed to government revenue offices to file whatever documents they had in their possession, hoping to fend off some of the more unpalatable consequences of not doing so. Waiting in the sun in the long line outside the Revenue Office in Five Rivers, Arouca, in June, one woman was overheard telling another, “Let me file this document before they auction my house!”

West said these misconceptions arose because, as is the tendency of TT citizens, many people waited until the very last minute to file their documents and “people tend to get a little extreme. Because we wouldn’t start by auctioning a house.” She said the law clearly lays out the powers and duties of the tax authority in respect of the property tax and none of them include auctioning off a house for the owner’s failure to file a return."

West told Business Day, “We had a date for the filing of the return and on the basis of that we would have done the evaluation and sent out the assessments, but as I said, that has been stymied by the court matter. So we are waiting to see what results from that, but in the meantime, we are doing what we can in terms of getting ready for the implementation of the disposition of the tax.”

Among the preparations is the digitization of the Land Registry, which West said, is coming along “slowly but surely.” She was unable to say when it would be completed.

Source: http://newsday.co.tt/2017/11/01/legal-a ... mentation/

Postby hydroep » February 28th, 2018, 7:28 am

Dangerous clauses in Property Tax
JULIEN NEAVES

OPPOSITION Leader Kamla Persad-Bissessar said there are some dangerous provisions in the property tax legislation including having the finance minister select the members of the valuation tribunal.

“You cannot have ministers in this business,” she said while delivering the feature address at the UNC’s Monday Night Forum at the Don Miguel Hindu primary school in San Juan.

She said one of the provisions is to establish a valuation tribunal to replace the Tax Appeal Board.

She pointed out while the board had security of tenure and is selected by the independent Judicial and Legal Service Commission, members for its proposed replacement hired and fired by the Finance Minister Colm Imbert. “Little imps to do his bidding (is what members of this board will be). Something is fundamentally wrong with this process. You are going before the friends of the Minister,” Persad-Bissessar said. Saying the requirements for this tribunal is an attorney of ten years experience and two people with wide experience in property, Persad-Bissessar said the latter two could be, “any fly by night” person.

She reminded party faithful of the last time this Government attempted to introduce property tax, including forcing people to submit valuation forms, it was the UNC that fought and stopped them.

Persad-Bissessar said Government has promised an education programme on property tax but she asked, “where is this?”

She said the draft property tax legislation will punish people if they are not home for the assessment and if you do not pay, “they want to seize your home.”...

http://newsday.co.tt/2018/02/28/dangero ... perty-tax/

Postby The_Honourable » March 2nd, 2018, 11:50 pm

10% fine for late Property Tax payments

Property owners will be charged 10 per cent interest on property taxes which remain unpaid by March 15 annually, Finance Minister Colm Imbert indicated yesterday.

It’s among proposals to amend the Property Tax Act announced yesterday, as Imbert piloted this and amendments to the Valuation of Land Act in Parliament.

The Property Tax Act pertains to collection of the tax while the VOL Act involves mechanisms for value of land.

Before debate began, Opposition MP Ganga Singh unsuccessfully sought to halt debate on the bills, as he said the matter was in court under action filed last year by the United National Congress’ (UNC) Devant Maharaj. But Imbert said the mater wasn’t sub judice, since the issues in the amendments aren’t the same as Maharaj’s matter.

Imbert said the property tax is necessary, as T&T was experiencing financial challenges and had lost over $1 billion in the last nine years of the property tax waiver.

Property tax amendments mandate that the tax will be due payable by September 30 annually. Notice of unpaid taxes will be issued by March 15 annually. A 10 per cent interest fee will be incurred on taxes not paid by that date, Imbert added.

The Board of Inland Revenue can examine objections and decide if to increase or lower taxes. Refunds will be given if there are overpayments and the BIR will be mandated to make a refund within 60 days of an overpayment, he noted.

Imbert added that amendments will also close a loophole whereby some people have been paying tax on land and claiming the land.

Schools - including occupied tertiary institutes - charities and similar bodies will be exempt from the tax. Also exempt are elderly people unable to pay the tax. But if they die, the position of the people who inherit their property will be reviewed every two years to see if they’re entitled to a tax waiver. As an example of the tax, Imbert said a property whose rental is $3,000 monthly (with annual rental value of $36,000) will incur a property tax of $972 annually or $81 monthly.

Imbert said the VOL act used antiquated systems, caused much confusion and was “arbitrary” and there had never been complete valuation rolls in T&T. He cited different rates used for different parts of T&T. Imbert said once 50 per cent of properties in T&T are valued, the collection of the property tax will start.

Property owners - including those outside of T&T - will be notified by post of valuations. He said the VOL act had been silent on a basis for valuation for owners of town-houses, condominiums and multi-owner structures and they could have avoided paying property tax in the past. But he said amendments will ensure they pay in future. How they will be assessed and how tax will be collected will be done through the Property Tax amendments.

A new format for Valuation Return forms - allowing for more information and better due diligence - will be introduced. He said other forms lacked categories for commercial-industrial buildings. Penalty for failing to file returns will be increased from $500 to $5,000.

Owners will be allowed to file objections based on six areas, with a Valuation Tribunal before any court action. He said while he as Minister will appoint the tribunal, he cannot give them directions.

More burden on taxpayers - Rambachan

More burden on overtaxed population.

That was the view of United National Congress MP Suruj Rambachan on the two bills, which he said were very contentious. Rambachan predicted “a lot of reaction,” since he said Government hadn’t done a good job of educating the public on this.

Rambachan noted that Imbert said Government wanted to collect $503 million in property tax in 2017 compared with $71m collected in 2009. “That’s 700 per cent more in tax revenue. Where is that 700 per cent to be spread across, who’ll bear the burden?” he asked.

“Statistics show that 76 per cent of the population earns less than $6,000 monthly and if they have to pay $972 more in taxes - even paying $81 monthly - it’ll be a strain.” He added: “The cost of living and transport have gone up, people can’t get CDAP drugs and have to buy them. That $81 monthly is very important. People are paying higher health surcharges, personal income taxes, corporation taxes, Green Fund increases, tax at the gas pump, stamp duty, online tax - a plethora of taxes in T&T!”

Rambachan questioned how the interest on arrears of property tax would be handled. He said people already have to wait long periods for tax and VAT refunds.

“Let’s look at the other side of things and see how this is affecting the people!” he urged Government.

Source: http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2018-03- ... x-payments

Postby sMASH » March 3rd, 2018, 7:18 am

PNM voters, like ur selves

Skanky

Postby Skanky » March 3rd, 2018, 8:25 am

So basically this government is telling the population that we the citizens will do better in life with less money in our pockets ?

Take money from the hard working generally law abiding citizens and give it to the lazy unproductive lawless and entitled and we as a country will progress. ?

The only people who will support this are the latter and guess which party most of them vote for and what they live in!

Sweet T&T where you are penalised for working hard and rewarded for being scum or the lowest form of life known to man. ....a politician.

Postby 88sins » March 3rd, 2018, 8:30 am

sMASH wrote:PNM voters, kick ur selves

fixed

T&T no longer stands for Trinidad & Tobago
T&T now stands for TAXES & TAXES

Postby 88sins » March 3rd, 2018, 8:39 am

Skanky wrote:So basically this government is telling the population that we the citizens will do better in life with less money in our pockets ?

Take money from the hard working generally law abiding citizens and give it to the lazy unproductive lawless and entitled and we as a country will progress. ?

The only people who will support this are the latter and guess which party most of them vote for and what they live in!

Sweet T&T where you are penalised for working hard and rewarded for being scum or the lowest form of life known to man. ....a politician.

I wan't to know why I should pay a tax based on the rental value of a property I live in, & would never rent, simply because an albino midget imp want's money. Notice said imp never saying it's to pay for services that would benefit the taxpayer & uplift communities? That's because for your tax dollar, you will get to drive on the same lumpy & holey roads, watch the same garbage mountains, observe the same bush the mosquitoes live in, face the same floods, enjoy that same blocked drains, relax in the same gridlock daily & deal with the same land slips as you've become accustomed to over the years

The sole difference would be that you'd now be obligated to pay for those privileges.

Postby teems1 » March 3rd, 2018, 9:49 am

In the US, the property tax goes to the local jurisdiction which often uses it to repay any bonds and loans to the federal government. The bonds were taken out in the first place to build and maintain the schools/roads in that area.

In Trinidad the funds will go into one account and be distributed to party financiers, cronies etc.

D Diesel Report

Postby D Diesel Report » March 3rd, 2018, 10:09 am

Sounds to me like yall need to start asking for cash payments with everything you do. Keep things nice and untraceable. And then tell the government 'me eh have no money... pass some of them tax payers own nah, I go vote red come next two years. :D '

Postby matr1x » March 3rd, 2018, 12:20 pm

Look at africa, where their people lead...only distaster, corruption, crime and poverty follow. Do we really want their kind the make policies?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 3rd, 2018, 1:46 pm

The only people affected are pnm mites...yellow ppl will pay d tax n stay humble...pnm mites would rob more etc etc...I wonder if laventille n beetham ppl paying this tax...any of them houses even t&c approved?

Postby Gladiator » March 3rd, 2018, 2:18 pm

You ever been to America???

I wont mind paying any tax if the Govt use the money to develop the place like that. but with this PNM bunch they might use it to pay Rohan for Kay Donna.

Postby sMASH » March 3rd, 2018, 4:08 pm

Like I living in America?
Well then I want meh second amendment rites.

Two issues: assessing housing based on the valuation on Ur house, when u already paid income tax and already paid vat. This would be a yearly tax for a one time purchase after Ur income tax and after Ur vat.
So I would like it based on the land use and surface area.
Imagine u working KFC, but Ur grandparents and parents pass down the house to u, and they made it comfortable, and the yelling u the rent could be high so Ur tax should be high.
They ain't know how u get Ur property but want to tax it cause it looking respectable.

Second point, is strangers coming into Ur house to scope out Ur house... The contents, the security systems, entry and exit points.
Don't mind the agents might be good bois and girls, they could pass on the info to the bad bois and girls.

I say, let them take the deeds from red house, see what the land size is, and stand up from the road, to see the usage and give u a land tax.

Postby 88sins » March 3rd, 2018, 7:03 pm

sMASH wrote:Like I living in America?
Well then I want meh second amendment rites.

Two issues: assessing housing based on the valuation on Ur house, when u already paid income tax and already paid vat. This would be a yearly tax for a one time purchase after Ur income tax and after Ur vat.
So I would like it based on the land use and surface area.
Imagine u working KFC, but Ur grandparents and parents pass down the house to u, and they made it comfortable, and the yelling u the rent could be high so Ur tax should be high.
They ain't know how u get Ur property but want to tax it cause it looking respectable.

That is one, but look dis.
I personally know ppl that bought their properties & paid 200K to 300K in stamp duty. You paying tax up to yuh eyeballs on the purchase already, now hey want to add a monthly/yearly parasite tax.
yuh want property tax? cool look it. no stamp duty or vat on building materials for yuh.