Tuner Cooking Thread.

carluva

Re: Tuner Cooking Thread.

Postby carluva » April 18th, 2020, 6:56 pm

Legs in one side smoking with apple wood for 2 hrs now.

Lamb goin direct fire in the firebox.
IMG_20200418_185454344.jpeg
IMG_20200418_185444355.jpeg

carluva

Postby carluva » April 18th, 2020, 7:15 pm

Home made burgers up next.

Minced my own meat in food processor.

2 lbs of clod chops, 4 6 Oz steaks.
IMG_20200418_191419174.jpeg

carluva

Postby carluva » April 18th, 2020, 7:18 pm

Dinner is burger and fries. The rest of stuff is for tomorrow with baked bread and potatoes
IMG_20200418_191825188.jpeg

carluva

Postby carluva » April 18th, 2020, 7:19 pm

Lamb and chicken done
IMG_20200418_191858513.jpeg

carluva

Postby carluva » April 18th, 2020, 8:13 pm

Dinner
IMG_20200418_201218203.jpeg

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » April 18th, 2020, 8:40 pm

screwbash wrote:yuh know things bad when yuh dreaming yuh doubles man stop by yuh house yes. i aint see d man i duz by doubles from since early march (last time i buy) an now i dreaming d man yes, i missing d doubles. want to see how long before i dream the chinee man from d play whe.

Lol doubles man doing delivery.. getting scenes link.. I excited..

Postby pugboy » April 18th, 2020, 8:58 pm

they should be doing bulk sales of channa by the quart

likewise somebody should be selling saheena rolls ready to cut and fry

solarkh

Postby solarkh » April 18th, 2020, 11:14 pm

Chinese duck
20200418_185736.jpeg

Postby K74T » April 18th, 2020, 11:29 pm

Nice!

Postby pugboy » April 19th, 2020, 7:21 am

Nice video, I am going to try this week.

One thing I see you put baking powder in the dough mix in addition to yeast, I have seen another recipe without
have you tried without ?
since the yeast is the leavening agent(fluff/rise)

The dough appears to be a very wet dough, you did a good job of kneading as can be seen by the nice ball with tension on the surface.
I think the reason most person have trouble getting them thin is kneading technique which builds the gluten and affects how it handles later
hence they use a lot of oil just to be able to handle it when shaping.

meccalli wrote:Since everybody making doubles, I tried my hand at it and documented the basics as I know it.

Postby meccalli » April 19th, 2020, 7:37 am

pugboy wrote:One thing I see you put baking powder in the dough mix in addition to yeast, I have seen another recipe without
have you tried without ?

It's habit tbh, makes it self rising flour. But it makes more sense, in fact yeast prefers a slightly acidic environment and baking powder would increase the pH, negating that.

Postby pugboy » April 19th, 2020, 7:40 am

I suspect wendy used too much baking powder in hers which is why it came out like accra

Postby meccalli » April 19th, 2020, 7:57 am

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 19th, 2020, 6:51 pm

Tried paratha today for the first time.

Followed the Guyanaese clap technique and it worked really good.

sheit phone pic, but it was soft.

The trick is medium-low tawah heat to cook, and an airtight container with cloth rather than napkins for storage. Let it sit for about 10-15 mins before eating and it's really super soft.
20200419_112239.jpeg

Postby pugboy » April 19th, 2020, 6:59 pm

The Malaysians use a coil technique which is pretty good
YouTube Roti canai

Postby SMc » April 20th, 2020, 5:32 am

When i was there almost all the vendors I went to did a kind of flip and stretch-then fold over to trip air in it n flour around other than in the dough, I think the best one I had was in Penang ,that along with a cup of teh tarik was a near daily second breakfast for me when I was over there.I tried making it and it came out good but had to use plenty oil (in my mind).

Now I feeling to make beef rendang :(

Postby pugboy » April 20th, 2020, 6:17 am

penang is the place self
mix of chinese and indian food

screwbash

Postby screwbash » April 20th, 2020, 8:37 am

pugboy wrote:penang is the place self

all fine and good in penang.. but where can we get same in trinidad. does it sell frozen in any supermarket/gourmet stores?

Postby pugboy » April 20th, 2020, 8:50 am

roti canai is their version of bussup shut, just different folding up method and texture
less doughy imo

screwbash wrote:
pugboy wrote:penang is the place self

all fine and good in penang.. but where can we get same in trinidad. does it sell frozen in any supermarket/gourmet stores?

screwbash

Postby screwbash » April 20th, 2020, 10:23 am

how to wash chicken before cooking? i use lime/lemon someone tell me vinegar, next man say flour. whay allyuh does use to wash chicken before seasoning.
what is allyuh method to season chicken ? amerika use salt and pepper alone. i use homemade blend of chive,bandania,garlic and salt. sometimes i buy food outside and it taste kinda fresh.

Postby meccalli » April 20th, 2020, 10:53 am

If the chicken is freshly killed, there's really no need for anything other than water. If you're trying to remove scents or get rid of a slimy exterior either flour or some sort of acid (vinegar or lime) or a mixture of both works well. If i'm roasting chicken, salt, pepper and anything that won't burn works well. I don't use eg. green seasoning, paprika, cayenne for this reason for those applications, spices or additions that will burn on the exterior of the meat is better used in braised etc.. If you need those flavours, you can incorporate it into a brine instead.
Is old chicken, spoilage by improper post kill treatment that causes chicken to taste like that. Won't call names but there's a new wings establishment. great sauces but the meat legitimately looks grey/black and smelt like fish....

carluva

Postby carluva » April 20th, 2020, 11:48 am

Generally, it is quite easy to tell if chicken is beginning to spoil. The smell is usually the first sign. Fresh chicken will always have a smell but the fresher the chicken from the kill, the milder the smell. When chicken is beginning to spoil, the small is obvious and if you are unsure, be safe an toss it.

I have also found that chicken becomes extremely slimy when beginning to spoil. Once the chicken is slimier than usual, it's tossed.

I have had these problems with chicken bought at Pricesmart on two occasions, so I just do not buy there.

For fresh chicken for stew, curry etc., I would usually clean off the excess fat, skin and the "clumps" under the ribs and the thighs (the parts that KFC leave and most enjoy). Same for quarters or legs, thighs for grilling or baking. For a whole chicken to roast, grill or bake, its the same thing as well but just a bit more effort to clean the cavity. I usually soak for a while in a vinegar and water mix or lime/lemon/water mix. Then, rinse each piece individually, place in a colander over a bowl and put in the fridge to drip dry for a few hours (or overnight).

Seasoning all depends on how its going to be cooked. Normal salt, black pepper, fresh grind seasoning or seasoning mix, garlic, etc. for curry or stew. Dry rubs, marinades for baking, rotisserie or grilling.

I hardly use flour on chicken cause the methods above usually work. They key (for me) is to let the chicken drip dry over the colander. That way, the remnants of any "fresh" water is removed. Sometimes, you'll be surprised how much you get.

Point to note - flour is reserved for "fresher" (not fresh as in freshly killed but rather fresh smelling) meats such as duck, common fowl and turkey. With those, the flour is rubbed on the meat into a paste and left to dwell for about 5 minutes. Then it is washed off and repeated, if necessary. What works for me is after the final rinse, rub the meat with a few leaves of podeenah (the big leaf thyme that grows uncontrollably in your yard), wash out gently and then leave to drain in the fridge.

Having said all of that - it is very unlikely, virtually impossible that similar efforts are placed into chicken you buy. I have stopped buying chicken thighs outside as its almost always layered with the fat that I will remove, has the small bits in the cavity and the skin is always large and intact (sure signs to me that it was not cleaned properly). What is done on the outside (especially food courts) is to drown the meat with sauce and strong flavours to mask the freshness and the fact that the meat was likely not cleaned well.

Postby De Dragon » April 20th, 2020, 1:06 pm

Lime and vinegar tend to toughen meat. Flour and water for chicken with slimy bits. If. as others have said, it still smelly funky, throw it out. I despise any form of frozen chicken. I but fresh, cook it at once, I'm not one of those 5-6 chickens cut up and placed in a deep freeze on a Saturday/Sunday kinda guy.

Postby Rovin » April 20th, 2020, 2:14 pm

imo flour &\or lime is d best for me , letting it soak a 1\2 hr or more is good

i myself trim off all d fat in meats & i throw it away cause if it eh good for ppl it eh good for dog

let them foreigners talk bout fat is flavor dise dem , i not gonna kill out myself exercising it out or wanting to get clogged arteries & dead b4 i get old ...

Postby Gladiator » April 20th, 2020, 5:16 pm

Sometimes I find lime leaves an unwanted lime taste in the chicken... I use salt and baking powder. It cuts the freshness good.

Vinegar is good too but sometimes it tenderizes the met too much and when you cook it it gets too soft in the pot...

Seasoning mix (chive 50%, Bandania 20%, Garlic 10%, Onion 10%, Thyme 5%, Pimento 5%), season the night before and let soak.

mragoobir

Postby mragoobir » April 20th, 2020, 6:15 pm

Lobster ravioli in spinach cheese saucé with pan seared honey garlic shrimps with kale/lettuce salad
For dessert some Cold Ones
20200413_180414.jpeg
20200419_155450.jpeg

Postby K74T » April 20th, 2020, 7:12 pm

Papalaps

Postby pugboy » April 20th, 2020, 7:20 pm