What the Best Split level AC Units...Carrier LG, Panasonic?

NR8

Re: What the Best Split level AC Units...Carrier LG, Panasonic?

Postby NR8 » September 18th, 2023, 11:13 am

Update on my carrier inverter. Got the condenser board repaired. AC pumping again :mrgreen:

NR8 wrote:
NR8 wrote:
whizzard wrote:Have a Katashi cassette type inverter unit. It got an electrical spike and now it displays E1 and the condenser doesn't turn on when the unit it on. AC tech said we needed to replace the 2 boards in the condenser. We did, but it didn't fix the problem. Now they're saying we may need to change the board in the cassette unit. Looking at the original board from the condenser, only one capacitor looks blown on one board but they said it's because it's an inverter unit you can't change just one, but all the boards needed to be changed. Doesn't make sense to me as the boards are being sold separately.

Can anyone advise please?

Currently experiencing similar issue with a Carrier mini-split inverter. Found breaker tripped and E1 after unit was turned for 5 minutes. Found a fried lizard inside condenser board compartment. Waiting to hear if the board can be repaired...

@whizzard did you get the problem sorted?

Finally getting around to this. The initial technician told me that an IC on the board was blown and that the replacement part could not be found. From my layman's observation it does not look like there is any visible damage. Currently looking to get a second opinion on the board. Nervewrecker I tried calling you bro. Sending you a PM now.

Postby st7 » September 18th, 2023, 2:13 pm

does peakes offer a higher quality of unit compared to the other companies selling and installing for 2800?

Postby pugboy » September 23rd, 2023, 6:44 pm

who is the supplier for Pioneer ?
that price very good and I in a room with one now and find it working real good.

maj. tom wrote:I get a Pioneer 12k BTU installed upper floor for $2700 this weekend. Ok price from a known reliable brand.
The guy emphasized to call them every 5 months for cleaning where they will do the whole pressure washer and hose service, or else the dirt and dust will eventually cause the motor to burn out.

Postby Dave » September 23rd, 2023, 7:21 pm

Koolmax iirc.

However they won't sell you one. Only an installer can buy from them.

Postby pugboy » September 23rd, 2023, 7:35 pm

you mean installer ?

Dave wrote:Koolmax iirc.

However they won't sell you one. Only a dealer can buy from them.

Postby Dave » September 23rd, 2023, 7:46 pm

Haha..yes. Authorised installer

Postby pugboy » October 8th, 2023, 11:07 pm

Have a pioneer 12k split
every so often it starts making creaking sound, as though the sweep vanes are sticking but it is not on sweep mode.
very strange, anybody knows what could cause this ?

Postby Dave » October 9th, 2023, 5:28 am

Had that on a comfee and servicing took care of that. Never got it much again. Typical of newer units.
Just make sure it isn't ice building up and breaking down.

mazdatt

Postby mazdatt » January 8th, 2024, 12:55 pm

Which is most reliable mini split 12k BTU?
- Carrier
- LG
- Samsung
- Gree
- Pioneer
- Lennox

Postby pugboy » February 19th, 2024, 9:05 pm

i see pricesmart have back the 12k lennox for $2600 or something

what’s the verdict on these units ?
i need a small unit for a little room

Postby Chimera » February 20th, 2024, 12:08 pm

just the other day i watching that same unit

need a 9 or 12k unit as well for a 14 x 14 room

Postby Dizzy28 » February 20th, 2024, 8:41 pm

pugboy wrote:i see pricesmart have back the 12k lennox for $2600 or something

I have a 12k Lennox which is just over two years old and a 12k Green Energy making 6 years this year. The Green Energy to me is the better unit..seems to cool quicker and is quieter and it's in a bigger room as well.

The Lennox has seemingly much more features though but I don't use them.

But I mean 2600 is a good price. Think I got mine a bit cheaper two years ago but only because my sister's ex husband sourced it and he got a dealer price.
PXL_20240221_003617872.MP~2.jpg

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » February 20th, 2024, 10:10 pm

pugboy wrote:i see pricesmart have back the 12k lennox for $2600 or something

I have a 12k Lennox which is just over two years old and a 12k Green Energy making 6 years this year. The Green Energy to me is the better unit..seems to cool and is quieter and it's in a bigger room as well.

The Lennox has seemingly much more features though but I don't use them.

But I mean 2600 is a good price. Think I got mine a bit cheaper two years ago but only because my sister's ex husband sourced it and he got a dealer price. PXL_20240221_003617872.MP~2.jpg

Ex husband you say b. She single now.. Asking for a Tuner member :wink:

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » February 29th, 2024, 12:20 pm

Does anyone know where exactly I will be able to get r410 refrigerant in smaller quantities than the 25lb? Heard there is a company on Monroe Road called Reficool that had some time ago but called them and they out of stock.

Postby Chimera » February 29th, 2024, 1:06 pm

try maraj air conditioning in aranguez

jehusaunders

Postby jehusaunders » February 29th, 2024, 1:28 pm

Jerry84 wrote:Does anyone know where exactly I will be able to get r410 refrigerant in smaller quantities than the 25lb? Heard there is a company on Monroe Road called Reficool that had some time ago but called them and they out of stock.

Maraj doesn’t carry this. Coleman will have it.

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » February 29th, 2024, 6:44 pm

Chimera wrote:try maraj air conditioning in aranguez
Maraj doesn't have. Checked them already.

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » February 29th, 2024, 6:44 pm

jehusaunders wrote:
Jerry84 wrote:Does anyone know where exactly I will be able to get r410 refrigerant in smaller quantities than the 25lb? Heard there is a company on Monroe Road called Reficool that had some time ago but called them and they out of stock.

Maraj doesn’t carry this. Coleman will have it.
Where is Coleman located and any contact information for them?

Postby Dave » February 29th, 2024, 8:45 pm

Coleman relocated to Alligator trace off Monroe road when last I knew.

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » March 7th, 2024, 12:52 am

What could cause ac to make ice and blow very cold regardless of the temp setting? Unit was serviced and gassed up recently and filters are clean.

jehusaunders

Postby jehusaunders » March 7th, 2024, 3:29 am

trinigamer wrote:What could cause ac to make ice and blow very cold regardless of the temp setting? Unit was serviced and gassed up recently and filters are clean.

If the evaporator fan is blowing slow due to the settings on the remote or the fan capacitor can be failing, the unit will not be moving the cool air effectively and therefore the coil will freeze up. Also if the unit has a refrigerant leak, the coil will get colder than usual at a point and freeze. Finally it could be a stuck compressor relay which will cause the condenser to keep running while the evaporator is off. Easy to diagnose this by simply turning off the unit with the remote and going outside and see if the condenser running.

Postby nervewrecker » March 7th, 2024, 6:07 am

jehusaunders wrote:
trinigamer wrote:What could cause ac to make ice and blow very cold regardless of the temp setting? Unit was serviced and gassed up recently and filters are clean.

If the evaporator fan is blowing slow due to the settings on the remote or the fan capacitor can be failing, the unit will not be moving the cool air effectively and therefore the coil will freeze up. Also if the unit has a refrigerant leak, the coil will get colder than usual at a point and freeze. Finally it could be a stuck compressor relay which will cause the condenser to keep running while the evaporator is off. Easy to diagnose this by simply turning off the unit with the remote and going outside and see if the condenser running.
I think you referring to the pressure temperature relationship of the refrigerant. Units are charged to a pressure that corresponds to 5 degrees C or 40 degrees F, below that it approaches the freezing point of water when the refrigerant charge gets cold and decreases in volume. If it is slightly undercharged the temps will be close to or at the freezing point of water.
Systems where temps are designed to be sub zero have a cooling cycle and defrost with a heating element and defrost thermostat to melt accumulated ice on the coils to maintain air flow across it.

Can be improperly placed thermostat, relay contacts welded closed, blower fan speed too low among other things.

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » March 7th, 2024, 9:11 am

jehusaunders wrote:

I think you referring to the pressure temperature relationship of the refrigerant. Units are charged to a pressure that corresponds to 5 degrees C or 40 degrees F, below that it approaches the freezing point of water when the refrigerant charge gets cold and decreases in volume. If it is slightly undercharged the temps will be close to or at the freezing point of water.
Systems where temps are designed to be sub zero have a cooling cycle and defrost with a heating element and defrost thermostat to melt accumulated ice on the coils to maintain air flow across it.

Can be improperly placed thermostat, relay contacts welded closed, blower fan speed too low among other things.

Yeah I took off the unit using the remote and the inner unit turned off but the outer one was still running.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » March 7th, 2024, 10:42 am

Fellas, I have an A/C problem for awhile now, everytime I use the remote to turn off the A/C the condenser outside still remains on. I have to climb up every time and unplug the AC plug from the wall in order for the condenser to be turned off. I was already given advice by someone of what the problem could be but I would like a second opinion here for those of you who familiar with these issues. Thanks.

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » March 7th, 2024, 11:53 am

I have an issue with my unit as well. It was short cycling and hence not reaching the temperature before cutting off. I noticed that the thicker line that leaves the unit containing the compressor that's outside was iced up.

Could this be that the r410 gas is low?

jehusaunders

Postby jehusaunders » March 7th, 2024, 12:05 pm

To answer both persons the relay is stuck on evaporator. You need a new evaporator board or get a new relay soldered onto the existing board.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » March 7th, 2024, 12:11 pm

jehusaunders wrote:To answer both persons the relay is stuck on evaporator. You need a new evaporator board or get a new relay soldered onto the existing board.

Yea this is what I was told as well especially to get someone into electronics and let them solder it onto the existing board because it will be difficult to find a board for my A/C unit.

wingnut

Postby wingnut » March 7th, 2024, 12:31 pm

DMan7 wrote:
jehusaunders wrote:To answer both persons the relay is stuck on evaporator. You need a new evaporator board or get a new relay soldered onto the existing board.

Yea this is what I was told as well especially to get someone into electronics and let them solder it onto the existing board because it will be difficult to find a board for my A/C unit.
Its not difficult to do, its 4 pins to un solder and solder back with a new relay, basic soldering iron will work

I've done it few times

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » March 7th, 2024, 1:12 pm

Is this it?, has three pins.
IMG_20240307_122254.jpg

Will call an ac tech, I doh mess with electricity too much.

jehusaunders

Postby jehusaunders » March 7th, 2024, 1:43 pm

That’s a fan capacitor. The relay is a black box with two wires connected and it’s on the board itself.