*** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Re: *** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 31st, 2011, 11:31 pm

the Harmony 900 is much better

make sure to get a remote with RF. It's going to be a real pain when you have macros setup yet you have to point the remote at each device in sequence cause your remote only supports IR - that's pretty pointless

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » May 31st, 2011, 11:53 pm

^hmmmm.

but would coupling the Harmony One with the Harmony IR Extender System solve that problem?

I still trying to justify the cost of these remotes...they should rename them 'Har-money' :|

Postby crazybalhead » June 1st, 2011, 6:09 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:the Harmony 900 is much better

make sure to get a remote with RF. It's going to be a real pain when you have macros setup yet you have to point the remote at each device in sequence cause your remote only supports IR - that's pretty pointless

You do not have to do that. You just keep it pointed, or rest it on a table or something.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 1st, 2011, 9:42 am

That's if everything is in the same area.

The Harmony can control your lights and your a/c etc which might be behind or at the side of you

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » June 1st, 2011, 5:36 pm

Everything of mine is going to be in the same area on the media stand. So im guessing the Harmony One will work just fine for me?

Postby crazybalhead » June 1st, 2011, 5:40 pm

Yeah doh study fancy boodapants and he remote control lamp and fan dem.

Humes

Postby Humes » June 1st, 2011, 7:03 pm

Soundstream_626 wrote:Guys I need a little help deciding. I`m in the market for a new Tv and I`ve narrowed it down to a Toshiba from Pricesmart or an RCA from courts

these are the models

http://www.amazon.com/Toshiba-40E210-40 ... 744&sr=1-2

http://www.electronicsgeneral.com/produ ... FHD41.html

I dont really want to go over 6k. Im gonna streamline my room n get rid of my clutter so id use it as my tv/gaming display/pc monitor

any input/reviews would be appreciated

If you intend to do serious gaming on them, note they're both 60hz eh. These fellas will explain it to you better, but that refresh rate is supposedly not optimal for gaming.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 1st, 2011, 7:17 pm

crazybalhead wrote:Yeah doh study fancy boodapants and he remote control lamp and fan dem.

imagine yuh listening to music and liming in another room - you hadda go and point the remote at the receiver to lower the volume

with RF you can be anywhere in the house

Chiney

Postby Chiney » June 1st, 2011, 7:34 pm

60hz peak for gaming is not bad at all
if u using vsync on ur games and lock at 60hz ( that wud be your obvious refresh rate) then you will still be ok

however

any chance of wanting you to do 3D, you will require the right 3D components along with a 120hz display..

but honestly 60hz is quiet fine.. i see pricesmart also has a nice plasma on sale... didnt take note of specifics, but it looked kewl! less than 6k as well..

chaguanas branch

ado15mk3

Postby ado15mk3 » June 1st, 2011, 7:51 pm

^^ i have a harmony 700 (no RF) and i dont have any of those issues. i does control real good from around the corner (15') behind all devices (never tried turning on/off from there though). this includes volume, channel, tv, receiver etc.
note: i dont have any walls between

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » June 5th, 2011, 7:49 pm

So I ended up getting this LG 42 inch 1080p lcd from pricesmart

what do you guys think?

as for the audio I already built this tapped horn subwoofer,

and gonna get started on these mains in a month

Postby crazybalhead » June 6th, 2011, 7:19 am

SWEET SUB!! Would love to hear that.

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » June 6th, 2011, 9:40 am

Didnt power it up for too long cus im still looking for a decent plate amp or any amp really to power it. I`m gonna build another though.

this is the response graph

nice response into the low 20`s

Chiney

Postby Chiney » June 6th, 2011, 2:54 pm

NEW PRODUCT!!

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vi ... 0710205372

let me know what you guys think

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » June 6th, 2011, 6:52 pm

Chiney wrote:NEW PRODUCT!!

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vi ... 0710205372

let me know what you guys think

Seems expensive with no HDD included, as it's a new model wait for the bugs to be discovered and sorted out and for price to drop.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » June 7th, 2011, 10:52 am

well that what we are waiting for really..feedback...

so far havent had any complains, but its fairly new

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » June 9th, 2011, 9:04 am

Soundstream_626 wrote:So I ended up getting this LG 42 inch 1080p lcd from pricesmart

what do you guys think?

as for the audio I already built this tapped horn subwoofer,

and gonna get started on these mains in a month

Would love to hear that sub.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » June 9th, 2011, 2:54 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Not sure what you're asking about the price
so far I've paid usvideo.org US$49.99 for one year to mask my IP
I'm still on the netflix trial but that costs US$9.99 per month for unlimited movies.
Vudu doesnt have a subscription fee but they charge ~US$3.99 per HD movie (you have 24hrs to watch it) or you can buy it for ~US$15 and watch it anytime and as often as you like (good for movies that the kids like to watch over and over again)

OK - after reading here I'm seriously considering going the route of streaming for my HDTV entertainment vs. Flow HD or Direct TV. Was wondering about paying for the necessary services with a T&T credit card. Saw it mentioned that this was no problem with usvideo.org.
copper_shot wrote:http://www.usvideo.org/
^ i'm using that
i emailed them and they said it will work fine with my trinidad credit card

Now to tackle this issue with Netflix and Vudu. Not sure if I missed it earlier in the thread, but isn't there an issue with them only accepting US issued credit cards? Or will the US skybox address added as a secondary address on my credit card be sufficient? I read on another forum this doesn't work with Netflix. Not sure about Vudu.

Also, what about PlayOn? Do they only accept US issued credit cards?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 9th, 2011, 5:54 pm

^ yes both netflix and vudu work with T&T based credit cards - just instruct your bank to add your skybox address as the second address on your credit card.

Hulu Plus does NOT accept T&T credit cards. You have to get a US credit card to do this.
If you watch sitcoms and TV shows then hulu plus is definitely worth it.

PlayOn is a complete waste IMO. I paid for it but never use it. The quality is like web (compared to netflix is like DVD quality and Vudu and Hulu Plus are in HD) and it is cumbersome to use as there is no native PS3 app - my personal experience.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » June 9th, 2011, 10:20 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:PlayOn is a complete waste IMO. I paid for it but never use it. The quality is like web (compared to netflix is like DVD quality and Vudu and Hulu Plus are in HD) and it is cumbersome to use as there is no native PS3 app - my personal experience.

Oh ho - in that case I'll try the netflix and vudu first. Will have to try to find a way to get around that hulu plus issue. Thanks!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 9th, 2011, 11:55 pm

^ try Crackle as well

http://www.crackle.com/

Chiney

Postby Chiney » June 10th, 2011, 4:58 pm

http://www.amazon.com/Harman-Kardon-HKT ... B000K818SA

just bought that, its really the sub i want..it sounds sooo damn smooth..gosh

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 10th, 2011, 6:28 pm

gosh!

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » June 10th, 2011, 7:27 pm

Xbmc+ipad commander app= full of win!

Chiney

Postby Chiney » June 10th, 2011, 7:44 pm

LOL
wam duane?

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » June 10th, 2011, 8:06 pm

I'm guessing he had a napoleon dynamite moment there

Postby X_Factor » June 13th, 2011, 8:54 pm

i didnt wanna create a FS thread since if it doesnt sell it dont matter so
anyone want this cable to buy dread....
http://www.amazon.com/Monster-Cable-V10 ... 66&sr=8-17
paid about 100TT in radio shack
want $50.00

OR
if anyone wants to try some cable testing to see if they really matter lemme know
i have that as well as the THX V400
works great for the composite out from the flow box

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 13th, 2011, 10:21 pm

^ thats a good buy

I bought the Auvio composite cables from Radio Shack and it made a HUGE difference over the cables that came with the flow digital box

Chiney

Postby Chiney » June 13th, 2011, 11:53 pm

sellin my ENTIRE setup tomorrow

gonna start freshhhhhhhh

Postby M_2NR » June 14th, 2011, 12:27 am

ru$$ell wrote:Xbmc+ipad commander app= full of win!

yuh try xbmc on the iPad yet?