Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby Razkal » September 14th, 2010, 6:47 pm

Freshwater interjection: Got two Iridescent Sharks available for sale if anyone interested, both over 1 foot long.

Postby sharkman121 » September 15th, 2010, 8:40 am

How do you provide live microalgae as a food source for fish such as tangs etc. Is that what harvesting copepods in the refugium does?

Also what alternative feeding methods do u guys use, other than pellets and flakes. Do yall use meaty foods, live foods, dried algae, brine shrimp etc. I not sure how to go about feeding brine shrimp and/or frozen foods. :|

Postby foss » September 15th, 2010, 8:54 am

sharkman121 wrote:I not sure how to go about feeding brine shrimp and/or frozen foods. :|

put it under running water to thaw out :|

link

Postby link » September 15th, 2010, 9:09 am

Razkal wrote:Freshwater interjection: Got two Iridescent Sharks available for sale if anyone interested, both over 1 foot long.

u want to trade for 1 male red tilapia 4lbs & counting ??

Postby sharkman121 » September 15th, 2010, 11:11 am

Japanese Dragon Eel
Enchelycore pardalis
Availability Note: Difficult to obtain. Right Now in stock!!!

Description:The "Holy Grail" of the morays, the spectacular Japanese form of this species is almost never seen in the trade. It is noted for its intense color, with "more orange" on the chest. Carnivorous, may require live food to initiate feeding. May accept pieces of fresh shrimp impaled on a feeding stick. Known to engage in some long periods of fasting, for months at a time, without harm.
Recommended Tank: A 55 gallon or larger fish only
Food and diet:Carnivorous, feeding on live crustaceans – live food may be required to initiate feeding, very easy to mainain once established.
Reef Compatability: Will eat crustaceans and small fishes. May topple corals that are not firmly placed.
Level of Care: Easy

$899.99Quantity :

:shock: :shock: :shock:

Postby Razkal » September 15th, 2010, 3:15 pm

that is so sick! :D

link, no thanks man, i need space in my pond, that 4lber may eat more than the sharks and kois combined too! :lol:

what else ya got? want to buy them?

Fishman

Postby Fishman » September 15th, 2010, 6:55 pm

HondaB20B wrote:ey fishman, i did the finishing up of the piping works on underside of tank. I think i'm about 85% completed on it. Need some info/advise. The chiller recommends a flow rate of 317-793 gp/h. The pump i'm running is the magdrive 24 (2400 gp/h @ 0 head). what i want to know is how do i run the line from the pump, leading to the chiller. Do i run a tee fitting (with ball valve on either side) where 1 leads to the main tank, and the other runs to the chiller (which is trottled down by use of the ballvalve) and is dumped back into the refuge or pump area? Or do i run a 2nd pump just to pump into the chiller and dumps back into the refuge. I actually have a brand new magdrive 5 (500 gp/h) which i can use for this. Now i know the drawback in this is the additional pump will add some heat. some advise will be of great help................ thanks

Sorry for taking so long. Been a long week! I would actually tee off of the pump sending one side to the chiller, the return from the chiller going to the main tank. The other side of the tee goes straight to the refuge. You dont want to put too much flow through the refuge. Put a ball valve on either side of the tee to throttle. If you can get your hands on PVC gate valves they would be even better for control off of the pump, but they are hard to get and a bit pricey.

Remember you are not actually going to get 2400 GPH from the pump because of restrictions. The mag drive pump flows are also rated using 1.5" pipe so if you are using 1" pvc there is already a restriction plus head loss. A chiller normally adds about 4-6 Feet of head loss.

Oh and dont forget to put a union straight off of the pump for easy removal when you have to service it.

Postby sharkman121 » September 15th, 2010, 7:17 pm

^^ yeh, wat he said :|

Postby sharkman121 » September 15th, 2010, 7:26 pm

fishman yuh scarce...yuh aint kno i have a meelion questions orr!! :?

link

Postby link » September 15th, 2010, 8:31 pm

Razkal wrote:that is so sick! :D

link, no thanks man, i need space in my pond, that 4lber may eat more than the sharks and kois combined too! :lol:

what else ya got? want to buy them?

not yet...am setting up a 100 x 100 x 20ft deep pond/reservoir & will stock the larger specimens (all compatible ones) for recreation (visual ONLY). Because this is a natural setting, I will look to eye-catching colours & unusual behaviours (jumping, surface rippling, schooling, etc).
rgds

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 15th, 2010, 9:46 pm

ok cool. went by raj today and saw some of the new stuff that out which he bought back from the fish show in miami. some real hot stuff. Bought a sixline wrasse and a Pseudochromis (purple duttyback) to add to my collection along with some items i cant let de boss home here find out about. sneaking that in on d new tank........................LOL

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » September 15th, 2010, 10:34 pm

HondaB20B, wat fishes raj hav?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 15th, 2010, 10:55 pm

He have 5 yellow tangs, 3 hippo tangs, 2 bellus angels, some Pseudochromis and sixline wrasses, algae blennies some green chromis and some blue devils. he ordering fish next wk. waiting to get a bullet goby from him (one ugly ass fish). it keeps your sand real clean though. Had one some wks back in my tank and lost it along with some featherdusters and a bi-color blenny when current went for 14hrs. i was away and forgot to hook up my battery airpump before i left. wife ended up calling me to tell me d sad news. d day i flew back in i hooked it up and it works real good when current goes cause it automatically comes on.

you picked up your chiller yet?

Postby sharkman121 » September 16th, 2010, 10:27 am

Dean u ever order fish online?

What u tink about this site?

http://www.aquacon.com/saltwater_fish_aquarium.html

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » September 16th, 2010, 11:47 am

yea i hav d chiller home, i jus hav to go get hose for it an hook it up...planning to start soft corals very soon...sry bout d fishes by d way, i know how it is...i lost sum nice freshwater fish like dat once...

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 16th, 2010, 12:38 pm

sharkman121 wrote:Dean u ever order fish online?

What u tink about this site?

http://www.aquacon.com/saltwater_fish_aquarium.html

aquacon is one of the sites i use to get all my info about fish and inverts.
Nah never order any fish................... aint going tru dat headache. better for someone bringing in lets say 30 or 40 fish and pay a fixed shipping rate to the airport than bringing 4-5 fish and pay de same rate.................................................. then again, i bad lucky, i've been by people who bring fish in and sometimes fish dont make it. I aint going tru dat.

Postby sharkman121 » September 16th, 2010, 1:32 pm

scene.. i might try it once or twice to see how it is an how much it cost exactly.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 16th, 2010, 1:43 pm

you going and pay to bring in 2 or 3 fish?......................and what about medication and antibiotics.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 16th, 2010, 3:39 pm

so sharkman......................... de fish you have in the tank now, what else you going to put with them in time. remember you have to look at compatability. also there are fish that should go in last cause if they go in early and they pick territory, when you put other fish in is problems cause then sometimes you might have to re-arrange rocks. plan out what fish you realy want

Postby sharkman121 » September 16th, 2010, 4:33 pm

not sure wat i gonna put in yet.... but i do follow various compatibility charts, so i dont work by guess. There's alot of hiding spaces in the tank amongst the live rock etc. I knw about the compatibility in similar fish, in different size fish.

Some stuff i guess u gonna have to burn to learn, but as in all new ventures i guess thats to be expected.

Have my quarantine tank set up which i plan to treat new fish, hyposalinity if needed for ich etc..
Taking everything with a grain of salt thus far and mistake will be made, but still doing my research and wont limit myself to buying from raj alone even though he may be my primary source.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 16th, 2010, 10:25 pm

where can i get pieces of plexy to buy. about 2ft X 2ft. 1/4 or 3/8 thick.

link

Postby link » September 17th, 2010, 5:48 am

plexiglass at Caribbean Glass, Eastern main Rd (Barataria?)

SHARIFF

Postby SHARIFF » September 17th, 2010, 2:20 pm

HondaB20B wrote:where can i get pieces of plexy to buy. about 2ft X 2ft. 1/4 or 3/8 thick.

CHECK RBMC NEXT BACHUS HARDWARE IN LAVANTILLE

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 18th, 2010, 9:35 am

SHARIFF wrote:
HondaB20B wrote:where can i get pieces of plexy to buy. about 2ft X 2ft. 1/4 or 3/8 thick.

:shock: :shock: :shock: .......................... ah go check in south

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » September 18th, 2010, 9:58 am

HondaB20B wrote:
SHARIFF wrote:

Wuss...... :lol:

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 18th, 2010, 8:57 pm

AGENT RORO wrote:
HondaB20B wrote:
SHARIFF wrote:

Wuss...... :lol:

ahm, is a piece ah plexy ah looking for.................... not guns and ammo. i'll pick you up and drop you close bye and you will run in and get it.
Need ah get-away-car now............................ well we cant use EL JEFE car cause that on blocks for nearly 2 yrs now (RB20 parts hard to get in d bamboo lately) need ah certain man wingroad :lol: :lol:

Postby sharkman121 » September 18th, 2010, 9:38 pm

is it true that bio balls or surface area material to house bacteria are not needed in the sump if the main tank has enough live rock?
So the sump area can be mainly used for protein skimmer/refugium/return pump?

hoverauto

Postby hoverauto » September 18th, 2010, 10:39 pm

I have an eight inch, one year old Oscar that needs a good home. the aquarium he is in is getting too small and I don't have any money at this minute to get him a bigger one. Larger aquarium set-ups are becoming very expensive.

If anyone has suitable accommodation and is willing to take care of him properly, you are welcome to have him. i rather give him away to someone with a nice tank than watch him suffer.

i have grown very attached to him so I'm not just going to give him to anyone. You have to know about fish and be an enthusiast like myself.

If anyone's interested pm me.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 18th, 2010, 11:31 pm

sharkman121 wrote:is it true that bio balls or surface area material to house bacteria are not needed in the sump if the main tank has enough live rock?
So the sump area can be mainly used for protein skimmer/refugium/return pump?

get a size bigger skimmer for your tank and yuh on!!!

Postby sharkman121 » September 18th, 2010, 11:47 pm

ryan99tt.. link not working.

HondaB20B, so ah cud jus remove the wet/dry portion of the sump and fix mih mix to suit?