Most Useless University Degrees in Trinidad

Re: Most Useless University Degrees in Trinidad

Postby adnj » February 18th, 2023, 5:36 am

Apparently, it's, "Examples in arguing the merits of an unsubstantiated claim with convoluted statements."

Just another troller's practice thread on tuner.

Jared Mohammed

Postby Jared Mohammed » February 18th, 2023, 8:37 am

Another great degree choice that is overtly hated on this forum is Carnival Studies. It assists in educating the citizens but our own culture, especially one that is intrinsic to our national identity.

Postby hover11 » February 18th, 2023, 9:17 am

Jared Mohammed wrote:Another great degree choice that is overtly hated on this forum is Carnival Studies. It assists in educating the citizens but our own culture, especially one that is intrinsic to our national identity.
Let's be real if GATE wasn't a thing..... nobody was willing to spend their hard earned money towards carnival studies
Last edited by hover11 on February 18th, 2023, 9:17 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby 88sins » February 18th, 2023, 10:28 am

Jared Mohammed wrote:Another great degree choice that is overtly hated on this forum is Carnival Studies. It assists in educating the citizens but our own culture, especially one that is intrinsic to our national identity.

Most useless field of study ever.
Fun fact.

The steel pan, the last percussion musical instrument to be created in the world, the same instrument that has an entire competition based around it in trinidad, is NOT legally recognized as our national instrument anywhere, not even here.

Let that sink in

Postby hover11 » February 18th, 2023, 11:21 am

Most useless field of study ever.
Fun fact.

The steel pan, the last percussion musical instrument to be created in the world, the same instrument that has an entire competition based around it in trinidad, is NOT legally recognized as our national instrument anywhere, not even here.

Let that sink in
The funny thing is that they didn't stop at the undergraduate level of a bachelor's but they also offering a masters for the study as well and presently looking into offering a doctorate for the field as well.

Postby alfa » February 18th, 2023, 11:51 am

Any 'national festival' that requires massive police and army presence to maintain law and order, business owners to board up their premises and the elderly to complain about the noise needs to have its very existence questioned much less have a degree centered around it. They should just have the all inclusives alone and higher priced ones to keep out the riff raff while still promoting the culture inside a fixed manageable venue

Postby The_Honourable » February 18th, 2023, 12:07 pm

If you get a degree in carnival studies to look for a wuk, you're dumb. If it's to develop and progress the festival, it may be worthwhile.

A few of those programs such as carnival studies can be merged into "Entertainment Management/Entertainment Industry Management" which is a somewhat new management discipline and much more marketable.

Jared Mohammed

Postby Jared Mohammed » February 20th, 2023, 12:53 am

I believe degrees should be treated like financial investments. It should be the stepping stone for the youths within the country to take, before entering the real world of work and the job market. It would assist them in making other future decisions related to said competence in finance and making decisions for themselves.

Just like apprenticeships programs or vocational education, nobody should judge those who pick degrees. We are in the grand scheme of things, a well oiled wheel and would require those whom possess skills that the country might have a shortage of.

Postby st7 » February 20th, 2023, 1:01 am

Jared Mohammed wrote:I believe degrees should be treated like financial investments. It should be the stepping stone for the youths within the country to take, before entering the real world of work and the job market. It would assist them in making other future decisions related to said competence in finance and making decisions for themselves.

Just like apprenticeships programs or vocational education, nobody should judge those who pick degrees. We are in the grand scheme of things, a well oiled wheel and would require those whom possess skills that the country might have a shortage of.

do you know how many people with certain degrees dont have jobs in their field in trinidad and tobago?

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » February 20th, 2023, 1:09 am

There are only 2 viable uses for a Carnival Studies Degree
1) You want to stay in academia and teach or research Carnival in a university setting.
2) You have spent years to decades in the Carnival industry and wish to have a degree in something you already know inside out. Basically for middle aged, mature students that want to finally obtain a BA or BSc.

There is zero viable use for Carnival Studies as a degree programme outside of these cases. It is basically an overly specialized genre of History that has no practical application.

Jared Mohammed

Postby Jared Mohammed » February 20th, 2023, 2:01 am

st7 wrote:
Jared Mohammed wrote:I believe degrees should be treated like financial investments. It should be the stepping stone for the youths within the country to take, before entering the real world of work and the job market. It would assist them in making other future decisions related to said competence in finance and making decisions for themselves.

do you know how many people with certain degrees dont have jobs in their field in trinidad and tobago?
The job market here has been oversaturated for a while now in just about every field. In order to differentiate yourself from the thousands of other applicants, people must learn to expand their skill range, learn new and valuable assets/traits/certificates/experience or try out internships and volunteering.

We live in a highly competitive time, this woild help potential employers pick who is best for the job and thus increase the quality and standard of work that our citizens produce.

Jared Mohammed

Postby Jared Mohammed » February 20th, 2023, 2:04 am

ProtonPowder wrote:

1) You want to stay in academia and teach or research Carnival in a university setting.
2) You have spent years to decades in the Carnival industry and wish to have a degree in something you already know inside out. Basically for middle aged, mature students that want to finally obtain a BA or BSc.

There is zero viable use for Carnival Studies as a degree programme outside of these cases. It is basically an overly specialized genre of History that has no practical application.
In there own page for Carnival Studies, they haved mentioned "Creative Enterprise Management and Entrepreneurship" and "Mas Design and Carnival Research". Which can, as you mentioned yourself, land them a job in academia or assist them in making a business based upon the field of interest.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 20th, 2023, 6:59 am

Bredda man, please stop! People do a degree with the hope of landing a big fancy job with a nice paycheck at the end. While what is just wrote hardly exists in Trinidad because of the "who yuh know and who know yuh culture".....a degree in carnival studies not helping one bit....no matter who yuh know. If people want to learn about our culture, there is Google not a useless degree. Please show me at least 10 people who benefitted from a carnival degree.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » February 20th, 2023, 9:42 am

Jared Mohammed wrote:
ProtonPowder wrote:

In there own page for Carnival Studies, they haved mentioned "Creative Enterprise Management and Entrepreneurship" and "Mas Design and Carnival Research". Which can, as you mentioned yourself, land them a job in academia or assist them in making a business based upon the field of interest.

Big man, you really quoting marketing material. Step outside the UWI mindset once in a while. If this were the case, every business major would be in a boardroom or starting a business outside UWI.

People who design costumes do not start with a Carnival Studies degree. Those women start on their backs or in their fathers' wallets. Take a look at mas designers, it is only designers by generation, rich women, or women who engage in the world's oldest profession to get there. Also some men, see previous.

Postby paid_influencer » February 20th, 2023, 9:57 am

every year the gov't giving out hundreds of millions in carnival funding tho.

that money hadda go somewhere

Postby st7 » February 20th, 2023, 11:30 am

Jared Mohammed wrote:
st7 wrote:

The job market here has been oversaturated for a while now in just about every field. In order to differentiate yourself from the thousands of other applicants, people must learn to expand their skill range, learn new and valuable assets/traits/certificates/experience or try out internships and volunteering.

We live in a highly competitive time, this woild help potential employers pick who is best for the job and thus increase the quality and standard of work that our citizens produce.

you're 22 years old and have never been employed right?

you're confusing oversaturated with 'there's only teaching positions for this degree i've done'.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » February 20th, 2023, 12:13 pm

That looked like an AI response. He is confusing the concept of internships in the US and Canada with everywhere else.

He used internship in a context to infer being unpaid, similar to volunteering.

Jared Mohammed

Postby Jared Mohammed » February 20th, 2023, 12:43 pm

st7 wrote:
Jared Mohammed wrote:
st7 wrote:

you're confusing oversaturated with 'there's only teaching positions for this degree i've done'.
No, it is pretty known that there is an oversaturation within the job market. It has even reached the point where the president of the Couva Point Lisas Chamber has told citizens to apply for jobs that they might be overqualified for.

It could be reflected when you try to check for job listings or when applying for a job. I have known people who have graduated in 2022, and still weren't able to any job.

Jared Mohammed

Postby Jared Mohammed » February 20th, 2023, 12:44 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:That looked like an AI response. He is confusing the concept of internships in the US and Canada with everywhere else.

There are paid and unpaid internships available in Trinidad and Tobago, mostly depending on the field that a person might wish to go into.

Postby st7 » February 20th, 2023, 1:59 pm

Jared Mohammed wrote:
st7 wrote:
Jared Mohammed wrote:
st7 wrote:

No, it is pretty known that there is an oversaturation within the job market. It has even reached the point where the president of the Couva Point Lisas Chamber has told citizens to apply for jobs that they might be overqualified for.

It could be reflected when you try to check for job listings or when applying for a job. I have known people who have graduated in 2022, and still weren't able to any job.

here you go again, responding emotionally and not thinking logically...
where am i stating that it's about ALL fields and degrees? please try to understand properly what this is about -- not ALL degrees but certain degrees aka the most useless ones.

there arent much positions to fill with those degrees. if there are only 10 positions in the entire country in a certain field of study, it only means it is not in demand. why is it not in demand? maybe because it's a niche field of study.

that's why most of those people doing those degrees end up being teachers/lecturers in the topic.

Oversaturated should be used for fields that ARE IN HIGH DEMAND but there arent enough positions to fill because thousands of people are trying to pursue the field of study.

Postby st7 » February 20th, 2023, 2:00 pm

Jared Mohammed wrote:
ProtonPowder wrote:That looked like an AI response. He is confusing the concept of internships in the US and Canada with everywhere else.

There are paid and unpaid internships available in Trinidad and Tobago, mostly depending on the field that a person might wish to go into.

can you provide evidence of jobs in T&T that offer unpaid internships? i would like to know.

Jared Mohammed

Postby Jared Mohammed » February 20th, 2023, 2:17 pm

st7 wrote:
Jared Mohammed wrote:

can you provide evidence of jobs in T&T that offer unpaid internships? i would like to know.
I heard that some laboratory based positions do offer unpaid interships. I have also seen a job offering by Eternal Light Community offer an unpaid internship for around 3-6 months, a month ago.

It is also described in this article:
https://bit.ly/3ElMwZo

Postby st7 » February 20th, 2023, 2:24 pm

Jared Mohammed wrote:
st7 wrote:
Jared Mohammed wrote:

I heard that some laboratory based positions do offer unpaid interships. I have also seen a job offering by Eternal Light Community offer an unpaid internship for around 3-6 months, a month ago.

https://www.caribbeanjobs.com/careeradv ... n-trinidad

1. you hearing about something is not evidence, cause if that's the case i've heard you come across as rapey when you talk to women (see my point?)
2. Eternal Light Community is a religious group ran by volunteers. this isn't an actual job. you real grabbing at straws there buddy
3. that article does not provide proof of unpaid job internships

Jared Mohammed

Postby Jared Mohammed » February 20th, 2023, 2:38 pm

st7 wrote:
Jared Mohammed wrote:
st7 wrote:
Jared Mohammed wrote:

1. you hearing about something is not evidence, cause if that's the case i've heard you come across as rapey when you talk to women (see my point?)
2. Eternal Light Community is a religious group ran by volunteers. this isn't an actual job. you real grabbing at straws there buddy
Okay then, tell me how to give you "evidence" for it when it is usually not posted in job offerings. For those types of jobs, you would have to ask the company if they could train you or if there is an internship available.

Even when an intership, or in general a job, is posted the wage is usually not disclosed publicly.

Postby st7 » February 20th, 2023, 3:03 pm

Jared Mohammed wrote:
st7 wrote:
Jared Mohammed wrote:
st7 wrote:
Jared Mohammed wrote:

Okay then, tell me how to give you "evidence" for it when it is usually not posted in job offerings. For those types of jobs, you would have to ask the company if they could train you or if there is an internship available.

Even when an intership, or in general a job, is posted the wage is usually not disclosed publicly.

lulz

tuners, i've heard jared comes across as rapey when he talks to high school girls. it's not posted anywhere, i just heard that so there's my evidence.

Postby st7 » February 20th, 2023, 3:37 pm

Jared Mohammed wrote:
st7 wrote:
Jared Mohammed wrote:
st7 wrote:
Jared Mohammed wrote:
st7 wrote:
Jared Mohammed wrote:

lulz

tuners, i've heard jared comes across as rapey when he talks to high school girls. it's not posted anywhere, i just heard that so there's my evidence.
I know this is meant to be an insult and all. But why do you have an obsession with that? You and alfa are kinda acting a bit suspicious at times. I would prefer to think it is just y'all insulting me and not a way for y'all to project yourselves onto others.

not an insult, but just to show how flawed your responses are.

you are presented with information but it does not suit your narrative, so you're just grabbing at straws and responding illogically.

example, you are volunteering information which no one asks for: who you are into and what you like.

Jared Mohammed

Postby Jared Mohammed » February 20th, 2023, 7:16 pm

st7 wrote:
Jared Mohammed wrote:
st7 wrote:
Jared Mohammed wrote:
st7 wrote:
Jared Mohammed wrote:
st7 wrote:
Jared Mohammed wrote:There are paid and unpaid internships available in Trinidad and Tobago, mostly depending on the field that a person might wish to go into.

lulz

I know this is meant to be an insult and all. But why do you have an obsession with that? You and alfa are kinda acting a bit suspicious at times. I would prefer to think it is just y'all insulting me and not a way for y'all to project yourselves onto others.

not an insult, but just to show how flawed your responses are.

you are presented with information but it does not suit your narrative, so you're just grabbing at straws and responding illogically.

example, you are volunteering information which no one asks for: who you are into and what you like.
Yeah pretty much, because I cannot tell if you are being serious or not. So to prevent confusion I would immediately disregard any accusations being made against and just be honest about myself. (Such as being into older women).

There is a huge difference between making assumptions to another person without evidence and stating that unpaid interships are usually not advertised on job listings.

I thought you would know this but I guess I should have said that anyways instead of continuing an off-topic discussion.

Also this has nothing to do with degrees, so I don't know why you would even make such a statement when you could have tried to bring it closer to the topic at hand.

Jared Mohammed

Postby Jared Mohammed » February 20th, 2023, 8:02 pm

Back to the topic.

Another great set of degrees that is somewhat hated here is in the Humanities section such as History, Art and Music.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » February 21st, 2023, 1:07 am

Jared Mohammed wrote:Back to the topic.

Another great set of degrees that is somewhat hated here is in the Humanities section such as History, Art and Music.

Only viable in academia or teaching at a secondary school level.

Noble, yes. Practical, no. Those who go far with these degrees either have connections or blind determination.

Postby alfa » February 21st, 2023, 8:26 am

Jared Mohammed wrote:Back to the topic.

I know a girl who did a degree in art and was selected to attend the regional design competition in Santo Domingo around 2012. She had hoped to make it big in the design sphere. Today's she's a art teacher in tableland high school. Do not listen to the advice to pursue these degrees.
And Jared you need to be specific as to why you are recommending these courses, is it for personal and national development or for gainful employment?Because if it's for supposedly for employment then you are being naive or disingenuous