Taste of Carnival 2022

Redress10

Re: Carnival 2022 - Would it stil be on?

Postby Redress10 » August 19th, 2021, 1:35 pm

Dpd trying to convince ppl that wire bending and rope holding are viable jobs in 2021 then trying to say we should diversifiy into areas such as software engineering and tech.

I wonder if he realises that software engineers are essentially wire benders and rope holders in countries such as Singapore?

You really underestimate just how competitive the real world is.

Postby Rovin » August 19th, 2021, 1:49 pm

touching on just soca part of it [can include chutney soca too] do ppl in other parts of d world besides those of Caribbean lineage actually listen to this rubbish music when there is sooo much better stuff to listen to ? .. ise not a hater i actually cud listen to d old sensible vintage stuff say from d 80s & b4 time time not d crap from d last 30yrs

we self play it for2-3mths then on carnival tues night at midnight our radio stations switch back to usual foreign music cause we own ppl doh wa hear dat anymore ...

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 19th, 2021, 2:16 pm

Rovin wrote:touching on just soca part of it [can include chutney soca too] do ppl in other parts of d world besides those of Caribbean lineage actually listen to this rubbish music when there is sooo much better stuff to listen to ? .. ise not a hater i actually cud listen to d old sensible vintage stuff say from d 80s & b4 time time not d crap from d last 30yrs

we self play it for2-3mths then on carnival tues night at midnight our radio stations switch back to usual foreign music cause we own ppl doh wa hear dat anymore ...

Soca is growing, can't say for Chutney....part of that genre is basically being shitty on purpose.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 19th, 2021, 2:23 pm

Redress10 wrote:Dpd trying to convince ppl that wire bending and rope holding are viable jobs in 2021 then trying to say we should diversifiy into areas such as software engineering and tech.

I wonder if he realises that software engineers are essentially wire benders and rope holders in countries such as Singapore?

You really underestimate just how competitive the real world is.

The world is competitive but we have people who can compete. Are you aware of how many trinis working at top FANG companies or in many other top companies in the US/UK. They are part of the brain drain, but many want to return.

And that's just one industry, there are many others where we have resources who can adapt. The problem is our work culture and ESPECIALLY UWI does not push people to develop themselves properly.

That is a far bigger problem than debating whether we should keep carnival or not. Carnival is here to stay, and it will continue to grow (regardless of you negative nancies) because many people see the benefit and fun experience it brings.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 19th, 2021, 2:27 pm

Redress10 wrote:
Are you stupid? I am talking about skillsets to solve the problems that we are facing as a county. You are the one who is talking about software engineering and tech. Those things are heavily math influenced. Do you even know what the math pass rate is in TT? Are you going to compete with the countries such as India, Singapore and China in the areas of Math? Do you even know just how far ahead their children are in those areas?

So how is it that we have so many trinis working in the US/UK in tech and engineering? You know many of them tell me Trinidad could be an excellent outsourcing center.

We need to catch up.

You bashing trinis saying they can't do math, but simultaneously want to push other STEM fields (which are all good)? You seem to be confusing yourself.......take your time and reply without emotion next time.

Postby adnj » August 19th, 2021, 2:47 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
Are you stupid? I am talking about skillsets to solve the problems that we are facing as a county. You are the one who is talking about software engineering and tech. Those things are heavily math influenced. Do you even know what the math pass rate is in TT? Are you going to compete with the countries such as India, Singapore and China in the areas of Math? Do you even know just how far ahead their children are in those areas?

So how is it that we have so many trinis working in the US/UK in tech and engineering? You know many of them tell me Trinidad could be an excellent outsourcing center.

We need to catch up.

You bashing trinis saying they can't do math, but simultaneously want to push other STEM fields (which are all good)? You seem to be confusing yourself.......take your time and reply without emotion next time.
Trinidad ranks behind Mexico in recent World Education Rankings based on comparative test scores at number 51 of 65 surveyed countries.

https://worldpopulationreview.com/count ... by-country

Postby timelapse » August 19th, 2021, 2:55 pm

Rovin wrote:touching on just soca part of it [can include chutney soca too] do ppl in other parts of d world besides those of Caribbean lineage actually listen to this rubbish music when there is sooo much better stuff to listen to ? .. ise not a hater i actually cud listen to d old sensible vintage stuff say from d 80s & b4 time time not d crap from d last 30yrs

Some people stupid like that.In my rock band era, I was constantly being told that I needed to do soca music because rock music was listened to by a minority.
Yeah we backwards like that

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » August 19th, 2021, 3:01 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
Redress10 wrote:

We need to catch up.

Try making some sense. There will always be persons in a country who excell. In my school for form 6 I went to school with an afghan refugee who found speaking english a little difficult. He went on to study engineering at Warwick etc. That doesn't mean that I'll go recruit more afghanis to become engineers. The cream simply rises to the top.

You keep harping on abt trinis all over the world. Those trinis are university educated in the countries that they are employed in. That's no big achievement. There are plenty other nationalities working for FAANGs so I'm not sure what that point is trying to achieve. So having trinis working there especially when they were not recruited from Trinidad and Tobago. You don't see FAANG representatives present in UWI now do you? You can bet ya money that they are present in universities in Singapore and India's IITs etc.

That is where we need to get in terms of levels.

Postby hover11 » August 19th, 2021, 3:03 pm

I still waiting for dpd to explain how carnival affects our GDP? I would like to see the significant impact of such

Postby adnj » August 19th, 2021, 3:14 pm

hover11 wrote:I still waiting for dad to explain how carnival affects our GDP? I would like to see the significant impact of such
There is no recent independent economic impact assessment for TTO Carnival that I am aware of.

Even if the impact were negative, cessation of the event may have further negative knock-on effects. But that may not be the case.

What you can do, is wait to estimate the economic impact for Carnival 2021 and 2022, where participation is low or nonexistent. Draw your policy from those assessments.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » August 19th, 2021, 3:17 pm

Dpd realise that Singapore and Norway etc got to where they are by constant progress day after day, year after year for over 6 decades right?

We not even on day 1 as yet. That is what the gap looks like.

Postby Dizzy28 » August 19th, 2021, 3:28 pm

Redress10 wrote:Dpd realise that Singapore and Norway etc got to where they are by constant progress day after day, year after year for over 6 decades right?

Singapore is for all intents a benevolent dictatorship.
The PAP has been the only party to rule the country and they have ruled since Independence with some of the world's strictest libel laws and also some very restrictive personal freedom laws.
Lee Kuan Yew sued any Opposition out of the will to oppose.

And the PAP has also operated almost like Monarchy where for the exception of 13 years LKY and his son have been the PMs of Singapore .

Postby hover11 » August 19th, 2021, 3:31 pm

You have to admit even though they are a dictatorship in a sense they are in a much better position than us and they don't constantly borrow to keep their economy afloat unlike us
Redress10 wrote:Dpd realise that Singapore and Norway etc got to where they are by constant progress day after day, year after year for over 6 decades right?

The PAP has been the only party to rule the country and they have ruled since Independence with some of the world's strictest libel laws and also some very restrictive personal freedom laws.

And the PAP has also operated almost like Monarchy where for the exception of 13 years LKY and his son have been the PMs of Singapore .

Postby hover11 » August 19th, 2021, 3:35 pm

I not saying to cease the event however our wanton disregard as to expenditure on this annual celebration is becoming unsustainable....look at trinidad GDP , look at our loans how on earth can we we continue like this without any cutbacks and nobody wants taxation to increase.
adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:I still waiting for dad to explain how carnival affects our GDP? I would like to see the significant impact of such
There is no recent independent economic impact assessment for TTO Carnival that I am aware of.

Even if the impact were negative, cessation of the event may have further negative knock-on effects. But that may not be the case.

What you can do, is wait to estimate the economic impact for Carnival 2021 and 2022, where participation is low or nonexistent. Draw your policy from those assessments.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » August 19th, 2021, 3:35 pm

You drinking the kool aid if you think that most countries in the west are not dictatorships.

Singapore leader did what he knew was best to develop the country/economy. Take the bulls by the horn and lead it dragging to the water. Now they are unstoppable. All based on one man's stubborn vision for betterment for his people and country.

Meanwhile your country importing lettuce.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » August 19th, 2021, 3:38 pm

hover11 wrote:I not saying to cease the event however our wanton disregard as to expenditure on this annual celebration is becoming unsustainable....look at trinidad GDP , look at our loans how on earth can we we continue like this without any cutbacks and nobody wants taxation to increase.
adnj wrote:

Yes but if we serious about diversification and forex earning wouldn't carnival be one of the last things on the last to bring in that rendering it nothing more than an afterthought at this point?

Postby hover11 » August 19th, 2021, 3:42 pm

Ppl love they carnival can't tell the ppl no or else is riots I just confused how this country supposed to make money when oil oil gas are no more, we don't want smelters, we don't want recycling centres, we don't want to be an Amazon hub in the Caribbean all these ideas was posed and rejected....just don't touch we carnival and we good i guess
Redress10 wrote:
hover11 wrote:I not saying to cease the event however our wanton disregard as to expenditure on this annual celebration is becoming unsustainable....look at trinidad GDP , look at our loans how on earth can we we continue like this without any cutbacks and nobody wants taxation to increase.
adnj wrote:

Yes but if we serious about diversification and forex earning wouldn't carnival be one of the last things on the last to bring in that rendering it nothing more than an afterthought at this point?

Postby zoom rader » August 19th, 2021, 4:00 pm

Redress10 wrote:Carnivals springing up all over the world has nothing to do with export. Most of those things are run by 1st 2nd and 3rd generation caribbean people and are patronised by such. Most people who come to TT for carnival are already familiar with the country via family or having parents etc born here. So they would have visited regardless. We still are not gaining unique visitors who see a carnival ad and decide to be a part of the festivities etc. That is what true tourism is. Carnival simply isn't as popular as you would like to think.

Being played on a radio in a foreign country isn't the same as being internationally acclaimed. Can a soca artiste go on tour and sell out arenas upwards of 50k people a night for half a year etc is what you are aiming for. Are soca artists being offered label deals and features with other international artists? Most artists who perform at the 02 sell out within 15 mins. Can a soca artist fill the O2 for a show?

Most locals hate Nottinghill Carnival. It doesn't belong to their neighbourhood and culture yet it burdens them. Each year they complain about it. Wouldn't be surprised if it is moved or abolished altogether.
Trinidad carnival is made in China

A total waste of time and false tourism.

The lead up to carnival is where most crimes are committed as Kwame wants to get money to go red government fete and de ghettos fetes like wasa and army

Postby Rovin » August 19th, 2021, 5:52 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:

Soca is growing, can't say for Chutney....part of that genre is basically being shitty on purpose.

pally if soca didnt grow to d level reggae did since d 70s decades ago is very unlikely it will in these times especially with d level of rubbish we do here

imagine if nicky minaj had chosen a path of singing local stuff she wud be dirt poor ketching she royal rass , same with Billy ocean if u know who he is

same for rihanna not that i care for her mehhh music that others love, if she had followed fellow bajan artists is no way in hell she wud now be considered 1 of d wealthiest current artist around ...

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 19th, 2021, 6:01 pm

Last few years had some amazing soca, plenty soca videos have more than 5m views on YouTube. It's definitely been more popular than dancehall over the last few years.

Postby Rovin » August 19th, 2021, 6:04 pm

^^^like i said only ppl with caribbean lineage will like what they grow up in while other ppl in other cultures wont even batt an eyelid to what "we" like here :|

timelapse wrote:

Some people stupid like that.In my rock band era, I was constantly being told that I needed to do soca music because rock music was listened to by a minority.

u must expect dat from locals, from d time they hear a heavy electric guitar is : wa kinda ting is dat boi , oh dise evil devil music :roll:

u hadda play ting with constant 1 toneness & a primitive 1 touch constant ting ting ting reggae note in it they accustomed to & u go see ppl bubbing their head ... :lol: ......... :roll:
Last edited by Rovin on August 19th, 2021, 6:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 19th, 2021, 6:06 pm

Rovin wrote:
timelapse wrote:

u must expect dat from locals, from d time they hear a heavy electric guitar is : wa kinda ting is dat boi , oh dise evil devil music :roll:

u hadda play ting with constant 1 toneness & a primitive 1 touch constant ting ting ting reggae note in it they accustomed to & u go see ppl bubbing their head ... :lol: ......... :roll:

All I listen to it's rock and soca. Modern reggae and conscious are some boring ass genres of music.

Postby Rovin » August 19th, 2021, 6:12 pm

u must broaden ur horizons man , looking at me u probably wont know i am a big fan of 70s music , i probably like 70s a little more than 80s that everybody wud call d best era , i actually like classical 100yr old music & some new age too

then i want to bass out in my car i play some kinda stuff u might not expect out of me , reggae\dub beats to me stale , same ole same ole ...

Postby redmanjp » August 19th, 2021, 6:17 pm

dpd and others who want carnival 2022 better ask the govt to implement a covid vax pass so only vaxxed ppl can be in a band or go to a fete. and it will still have to be limited capacity. that is the only way we have any chance of carnival next year.

Postby adnj » August 19th, 2021, 7:04 pm

Rovin wrote:^^^like i said only ppl with caribbean lineage will like what they grow up in while other ppl in other cultures wont even batt an eyelid to what "we" like here :|

timelapse wrote:

u hadda play ting with constant 1 toneness & a primitive 1 touch constant ting ting ting reggae note in it they accustomed to & u go see ppl bubbing their head ... ......... :roll:
A related metric:

Number of internet radio stations by genre
Soca 32
Dancehall 53
Disco 147

Postby Dizzy28 » August 20th, 2021, 10:46 am

Gues they were wrong.......Disco isn't dead!!!

Postby Rovin » August 20th, 2021, 10:51 am

where those figures obtained from ? caribbean , central america , usa alone , certain regions , worldwide? ....

Postby adnj » August 20th, 2021, 11:00 am

Rovin wrote:where those figures obtained from ? caribbean , central america , usa alone , certain regions , worldwide? ....

Worldwide english language dominant.

https://www.internet-radio.com/

BUG

Postby BUG » September 5th, 2021, 1:04 pm

So it's September now and with Carnival 22 taking place in February, is it safe to say that even if every goal (vaccination, herd immunity, no delta, unique vaccinated qr code identifiers etc) would magically be met by December and carnival is announced as going ahead, it's too late for carnival bands to start organising?

The way I could see it happening (again, if all goals were met by December) is for the bands to announce a theme and all masqueraders make their own costumes, with the bands organising the trucks/drinks/food etc.

Am I deluded in thinking there's any chance of the goals being reached by December?

Postby K74T » September 5th, 2021, 1:52 pm

2022? Nah

2023? Hopefully