Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby timelapse » October 1st, 2021, 6:45 am

pugboy wrote:When a vendor of whatever says they increasing price due to their own living expenses increasing it may start a snowball effect

That will soon be the next reason for price increases and maybe quite justified
Snowball turns to avalanche and Habit and company will deny the existence of hyper inflation

Postby MaxPower » October 1st, 2021, 6:46 am

I love Superpharm prices.

Keeps most of the sufferers out.

Postby hover11 » October 1st, 2021, 6:52 am

MaxPower wrote:I love Superpharm prices.

Can't tell if max is trolling or serious

Postby bluefete » October 1st, 2021, 7:10 am

hover11 wrote:

Yuh mean the wannabe 1%-er? LOL.

Postby hover11 » October 1st, 2021, 7:12 am

bluefete wrote:
hover11 wrote:

The pull bull entrepreneur , man only shops at massy and superpharm. We cannot speak to Max

Postby Redman » October 1st, 2021, 7:21 am

Still waiting for a solution to the real challenges that have prevented agriculture from scaling up.

http://www.news.gov.tt/content/budget-s ... VbuE7cpCDY

2013/14 budget
Agriculture was allocated 1.3B

Gopaul luck is really not Seepaul luck.
Mr. Speaker, we are moving ahead with a Food Security Facility with the Government of Guyana. We have executed a
Memorandum of Understanding with the Guyanese Government which will provide in Berbice initially 10,000 acres of land
for immediate agricultural production and subsequently a further 90,000 acres. The Government of Trinidad and Tobago
will invite private sector investment in agricultural production in Guyana, and will work with the Government of Guyana to
provide a facilitating environment and the necessary support to attract such investments. We have requested of the
Government of Guyana that investors from Trinidad and Tobago be eligible to access incentives currently available to
Guyanese farmers and be allowed to repatriate profits.

Postby hover11 » October 1st, 2021, 7:25 am

Redman wrote:Still waiting for a solution to the real challenges that have prevented agriculture from scaling up.

2013/14 budget

Mr. Speaker, we are moving ahead with a Food Security Facility with the Government of Guyana. We have executed a
Memorandum of Understanding with the Guyanese Government which will provide in Berbice initially 10,000 acres of land
for immediate agricultural production and subsequently a further 90,000 acres. The Government of Trinidad and Tobago
will invite private sector investment in agricultural production in Guyana, and will work with the Government of Guyana to
provide a facilitating environment and the necessary support to attract such investments. We have requested of the
Government of Guyana that investors from Trinidad and Tobago be eligible to access incentives currently available to
The time to spend behind agriculture is long gone, nobody wants to be a farmer , our system does not identify farmers in the ranks of prestigious jobs such as doctors, lawyers, teachers etc. Who going to school for years to be a farmer and do all that hard work with little returns should floods or adverse weather destroy your crops and then dealing with the human element of thieves

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » October 1st, 2021, 7:31 am

daring dragoon wrote:prices of vegetables should come down this weekend as govt stopped its food hamper distribution with association with them wholesale market farmers. so it should have excess vegetable in the market such as tomatoes and bhaigan, imo of demand and supply expect to see prices falling soon unless govt start back the food hamper distribution after the budget next week. i hope they do not because the people i see collecting them hampers spend their money on playwhe and rum after getting a free hamper. let them and the food card people pay for their own food. someone has to visit these people and make sure they have children and live below the poverty line for them to get freeness. once saw a woman wearing one set of gold paying with a food card and other have to work hard to buy groceries. first thing in the budget is to stop the freeness unless you actually qualify.

You may think so, but that not gonna happen. Reason?

Farmers inputs have increased significantly, and farmer have families to feed just like everyone else, they go to the supermarket, just like everyone else, they have loans and bills too.
So when they go and realize, basic staple foodstuffs are more expensive, they not trying to lower the price of squat unless tgey see goods not moving and it about to spoil and they trying to avoid a total loss.
So you will see one or two of them selling out wholesale at low prices, but the majority gonna stay put until they got no choice but to lower prices to attract customers.

Supply an demand wiĺl play a big part. Excess tomatoes means lower price cause the farmer rather break even than the tomatoes remain an rot an 100% loss. Expect to see 4 pounds for $20 by next week i sure unless the farmer rather loss than drop the price. I lnow a few retailers in aranguez who does that. Just pass an look in the dumster on the side of sokia st east.

Postby zoom rader » October 1st, 2021, 7:36 am

Redress10 wrote:Habit

Since you insist on "International prices" let us compare international prices.

An avocado in the UK costs £0.70 which is the equivalent of about $7tt. These are imported from all over the world including central america and south africa.

The same avocado costs 0.88usd which is the equivalent of about $6tt.

What is the price of an avocado that is made and produced in Trinidad? How much for the ones selling in the grocery stores that are imported?

Do you really think that people in the developed world are concerned with "international food prices"? They are concerned with their domestic food production and whether it is going to be affected by drought etc. They don't care about imports. If the price is too high they simply switch suppliers etc.

Don't you think that importing the raw materials will be much cheaper than importing the finished products? Plua didn't I mention that those companies also export to other caribbean countries thereby earning forex.

Bro aren't we feeding cows in Trinidad right now? Aren't there already farmers supplying Nestle with Milk right now? This question is arsinine. We are saying expand these types of production. You are making it sound like it is being started from scratch.

You clearly are slow. Imported food isn't "cheaper" than local agriculture. What you are describing without even realising it is developed countries dumping their products on lesser developed nations to ruin local industry. What you are doing is promoting this practice at your detriment. You are ok destroying local industry to import "cheap" unhealthy food from America etc? What a dunce statement.
Man say habit is slow.

Postby hover11 » October 1st, 2021, 8:07 am

Just asking a question, our TT dollar is overvalued we all know this, what will happen not if but when it is devalued and what would be the economic impact if we continue to keep this floating exchange rate or continue being pegged to the US dollar on a whole , as it relates to food prices

Postby MaxPower » October 1st, 2021, 8:18 am

hover11 wrote:
bluefete wrote:
hover11 wrote:

The pull bull entrepreneur , man only shops at massy and superpharm. We cannot speak to Max

Lol,

Jason you making it sound like these are upper class establishments. I’m just saying that these places have less sufferers which makes it a more comfortable and clean environment.

Their prices are set like that for a reason.

Postby hover11 » October 1st, 2021, 8:20 am

hover11 wrote:
bluefete wrote:
hover11 wrote:

Lol,

Jason you making it sound like these are upper class establishments. I’m just saying that these places have less sufferers which makes it a more comfortable and clean environment.

Max,

Your a mad man

Postby MaxPower » October 1st, 2021, 8:22 am

hover11 wrote:Max,

Your a mad man

I’m not a mad man Jason.

I was vaccinated.

Postby timelapse » October 1st, 2021, 8:24 am

hover11 wrote:
bluefete wrote:
hover11 wrote:

Lol,

Max,

Your a mad man
Its true though Price differentiation is a marketing tool to attract a certain type of customer.Would you see your average sufferer in a place like Chaud or one of those places? Ridiculously overpriced, but that's to keep the riffraff out

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » October 1st, 2021, 8:25 am

Your a mad man

I’m not a mad man Jason.

I was vaccinated.

Hello Brother Max,
This is so true. Jason like he need a dose of laxative yes.

Postby hover11 » October 1st, 2021, 8:27 am

Your a mad man

I’m not a mad man Jason.

I was vaccinated.
Exactly I think you are experiencing from the vax

Postby hover11 » October 1st, 2021, 8:28 am

timelapse wrote:
hover11 wrote:
bluefete wrote:
hover11 wrote:

Lol,

Max,

Your a mad man
Its true though Price differentiation is a marketing tool to attract a certain type of customer.Would you see your average sufferer in a place like Chaud or one of those places? Ridiculously overpriced, but that's to keep the riffraff out
So lemme get this straight you would go Massy to buy the same groceries as the sufferers for more money because you don't want to see sufferers, how often do you frequent the grocery or pharmacy sir?I could understand restaurants as you want a nice ambience and you paying for name most of the time but this groceries and pharmaceuticals it not that serious.

Them syrians probably laughing everyday saying watch how dotish them trinis are, we make allya feel like shyt and allya still supporting we

Postby MaxPower » October 1st, 2021, 8:44 am

hover11 wrote:So lemme get this straight you would go Massy to buy the same groceries as the sufferers for more money because you don't want to see sufferers, how often do you frequent the grocery or pharmacy sir?I could understand restaurants as you want a nice ambience and you paying for name most of the time but this groceries and pharmaceuticals it not that serious.

Them syrians probably laughing everyday saying watch how dotish them trinis are, we make allya feel like shyt and allya still supporting we

Jason,

That’s correct. People go to certain restaurants, groceries and pharmacies etc because they don’t want to see sufferers.

Why go to an establishment to feel uncomfortable with the presence and behavior of sufferers?

Why not if we have options?

My pocket, my choice!

But also correct Jason….the Syrians are laughing at Trinis.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » October 1st, 2021, 8:50 am

Redman wrote:Still waiting for a solution to the real challenges that have prevented agriculture from scaling up.

2013/14 budget

This sounds good and well but was there any follow through with it? You all keep bringing up these moot points. Isn't the Caribbean more or less considered a poor region. Don't people leave from the region to seek better opportunities abroad due to this poverty? The major part of poverty is the inability to secure your food. If the region is suffering high food prices due to imports then it is a problem that needs to be tackled from a caricom standpoint. Wouldn't such an initiative also help a country such as Haiti?

If Governments such as China can play crucial role in their agricultural sector then who the hell is Govtt. The govt own an airline, public transport, education, healthcare, energy etc but agriculture is where you all draw the line on gov't involvement?

This is beyond weird. Men keep referencing Caroni. You all know how much technology and research has advanced since Caroni days? We really talking about Caroni when talking about modern day agriculture?

Imagine the food import bill is almost 7 billion tt a year bit agriculture only getting 1 billion tt a year. But men in here talking about agriculture destined to fail. Must fail when you starve it of resources to ensure your food import friends and financiers have successful import businesses.

Postby Habit7 » October 1st, 2021, 10:07 am

Redress10 wrote:Habit

Since you insist on "International prices" let us compare international prices.

An avocado in the UK costs £0.70 which is the equivalent of about $7tt. These are imported from all over the world including central america and south africa.

The same avocado costs 0.88usd which is the equivalent of about $6tt.

What is the price of an avocado that is made and produced in Trinidad? How much for the ones selling in the grocery stores that are imported?

Do you really think that people in the developed world are concerned with "international food prices"? They are concerned with their domestic food production and whether it is going to be affected by drought etc. They don't care about imports. If the price is too high they simply switch suppliers etc.

Don't you think that importing the raw materials will be much cheaper than importing the finished products? Plua didn't I mention that those companies also export to other caribbean countries thereby earning forex.

Bro aren't we feeding cows in Trinidad right now? Aren't there already farmers supplying Nestle with Milk right now? This question is arsinine. We are saying expand these types of production. You are making it sound like it is being started from scratch.

You clearly are slow. Imported food isn't "cheaper" than local agriculture. What you are describing without even realising it is developed countries dumping their products on lesser developed nations to ruin local industry. What you are doing is promoting this practice at your detriment. You are ok destroying local industry to import "cheap" unhealthy food from America etc? What a dunce statement.

Forgive the pun but you are comparing apples and oranges. The UK is one of the largest economies in the world and will obviously have prices due to the larger volume of imports they can receive thus lowering the prices.

Compare Trinidad to our neighbours and similar economies:
An avocado in Barbados is TT$50 https://pricesmart.com/site/bb/en/pdp/178101 they are sourced from Guyana
An avocado in Guyana is TT$36 https://guystar.gy/index.php?main_page= ... cts_id=585
So cry me a river if we pay $20 for a zaboca and if you find it is too much, grow it yourself. Plus most avocados in UK and US are those small ones that we would charge $10 for anyway.

Importing raw materials to create a product is not agriculture, that is food processing and manufacture. We do that very well to the point Caricom is attacking us for circumventing tariffs.

We are feeding livestock with imported feed https://youtu.be/b5U_hr_GE3U And land between Manzanilla and Mayaro is called the Nariva Swamp, the largest wetland in the country. It is not suitable for dairy farming.

Sugar imported from Guyana and Brazil is cheaper than local. Ground provisions from Eastern Caribbean are cheaper. Bananas from Suriname and DR are cheaper. It is not about developed countries dumping on us. Many times the countries with low wages allow for cheaper produce.

Postby Redman » October 1st, 2021, 10:52 am

Redress10 wrote:

2013/14 budget

This sounds good and well but was there any follow through with it? You all keep bringing up these moot points. Isn't the Caribbean more or less considered a poor region. Don't people leave from the region to seek better opportunities abroad due to this poverty? The major part of poverty is the inability to secure your food. If the region is suffering high food prices due to imports then it is a problem that needs to be tackled from a caricom standpoint. Wouldn't such an initiative also help a country such as Haiti?

If Governments such as China can play crucial role in their agricultural sector then who the hell is Govtt. The govt own an airline, public transport, education, healthcare, energy etc but agriculture is where you all draw the line on gov't involvement?

This is beyond weird. Men keep referencing Caroni. You all know how much technology and research has advanced since Caroni days? We really talking about Caroni when talking about modern day agriculture?

Imagine the food import bill is almost 7 billion tt a year bit agriculture only getting 1 billion tt a year. But men in here talking about agriculture destined to fail. Must fail when you starve it of resources to ensure your food import friends and financiers have successful import businesses.

Redress
1)tell us how Govt-any govt will attract labor into the Ag Sector?
Remember your position on Hotel work and Tobagos educated population.

Postby hover11 » October 1st, 2021, 11:31 am

Redman wrote:
Redress10 wrote:

2013/14 budget

Redress
Who want to be a farmer

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » October 1st, 2021, 11:36 am

Redman wrote:
Redress10 wrote:

2013/14 budget

Redress

Gov't have a problem attracting Cepep workers? Does it have a problem with the influx of venezuelans who arrive here daily in search of work and betterment? What about the prison population who spend their days being taken care of by the taxpayers of the country? What about all the jamaicans and nigerians who somehow always here working security jobs.

Labour can always be imported from somewhere. Ent trinis like to go to Canada and Usa to pick apples? You all make this sound like it is rocket science.

dogg

Postby dogg » October 1st, 2021, 11:37 am

A an aside, Massy stores isn't more or less expensive than any other supermarket.

In fact with their Massy Card, It works out to be slightly cheaper on average than most ....

Postby hover11 » October 1st, 2021, 11:39 am

dogg wrote:A an aside, Massy stores isn't more or less expensive than any other supermarket.

In fact with their Massy Card, It works out to be slightly cheaper on average than most ....
Still don't feel good patronizing at establishment where the owners feel the customers are dirt, that doesn't sit right with me

dogg

Postby dogg » October 1st, 2021, 11:45 am

hover11 wrote:
dogg wrote:A an aside, Massy stores isn't more or less expensive than any other supermarket.

Still don't feel good patronizing at establishment where the owners feel the customers are dirt, that doesn't sit right with me
What's that about? I really don't know.

Postby Redman » October 1st, 2021, 11:48 am

Redress10 wrote:
Redman wrote:
Redress10 wrote:

2013/14 budget

Redress

Gov't have a problem attracting Cepep workers? Does it have a problem with the influx of venezuelans who arrive here daily in search of work and betterment? What about the prison population who spend their days being taken care of by the taxpayers of the country? What about all the jamaicans and nigerians who somehow always here working security jobs.

Labour can always be imported from somewhere. Ent trinis like to go to Canada and Usa to pick apples? You all make this sound like it is rocket science.

Cepep workers finish work at 10AM ish

Whats the cost of this imported labor we importing to avoid importing food?

The answer to ALL of your questions is that with the exception of the prisoners, all of your suggested groups that are here(and been here for years) have made their choice of employment.
Few if any chose Agriculture- for two simple reasons-too Hard and wages too low.

So your suggestions already have been rejected by those groups you are looking to.
Theory is one thing-real market conditions are another.

Postby MaxPower » October 1st, 2021, 12:00 pm

hover11 wrote:

Jason,

Most Trini establishments and their employees treat their customers like dirt.

Syrians, Chinese and Venezuelans are generally the leaders in the service industry.

dogg

Postby dogg » October 1st, 2021, 12:04 pm

hover11 wrote:

Jason,

Most Trini establishments and their employees treat their customers like dirt.

Syrians, Chinese and Venezuelans are generally the leaders in the service industry.

Wait, weren't you the one who said Massy stores and pricesmart, were bourgeois and you found that too many riff-raff were shopping there??

Postby zoom rader » October 1st, 2021, 12:12 pm

Redman wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
Redman wrote:
Redress10 wrote:

2013/14 budget

Redress

Cepep workers finish work at 10AM ish

Whats the cost of this imported labor we importing to avoid importing food?

The answer to ALL of your questions is that with the exception of the prisoners, all of your suggested groups that are here(and been here for years) have made their choice of employment.
Few if any chose Agriculture- for two simple reasons-too Hard and wages too low.

So your suggestions already have been rejected by those groups you are looking to.
Theory is one thing-real market conditions are another.
imported labor cost?

Venes come here for free, I told you all last year I have a vene family operating my cow farm. I have had more venes asking me for work on my land, there's only so must I can cater for.

You really full of 5hit with your Jackarse reply