SEA Exam 2021

Re: SEA Exam 2021

Postby zoom rader » April 13th, 2022, 1:02 pm

Evaluation of the role of cultural factors in explaining differences in achievement by ethnicity
Family background helps explain Indian performance in education because this makes up for the greater level of poverty experienced compared to whites.
Parental aspiration seems to be especially important
Cultural barriers to SE Asian women are greater than for boys
Cultural barriers for AC boys are greater than for AC girls.
Strand argues that it is relative poverty of Bangladeshi and Pakistanis that explains their underachievement at GCSE rather than cultural factors
Cultural barriers can’t explain everything as all groups except Bangladeshi women are more likely to go to university than whites.
Strand argues that even if we take into account material and cultural barriers institutional racism leads to lack of opportunity for young black students and holds them back.

https://revisesociology.com/2015/03/25/ ... 505e5a187a

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » April 13th, 2022, 2:28 pm

Gladiator wrote:
Sorry Reddress... you have it wrong there. It is a cultural thing... taking away SEA awards, is better the PNM abolish Divali and done.

In the 1940s-1960s in Trinidad there was no access to education for Indian people, even at an elementary level. There were some mission schools where you convert to learn. in the 1960s. The famous cow shed schools is what what was used to educate people.

I remember as early as the 1980s, a family of 9 children, cannot even afford clothes to wear, living in a mud hut in Felicity, produced a President's Medal winner. In fact my eldest uncle from a family of dirt poor 8 siblings was the top SEA student sometime in the 1960s. Most of the Doctors, Lawyers, Engineers and the professionals alike in retirement today were born out of that system of absolutely no resources available for education.

You want to compare India, but remember they have 1 billion + people. Our Govt catching tail to manage 1M imagine for 1B+.

Bro

Not sure what you mean by taking away sea award and abolishing divali etc. But it's not cultural because Indians don't naturally excel/perform. Hence India is what it is as we know it.

It is about what resources are readily available to assist the family/individual in pursuing their goals. Indians didn't just wake up and decide to be Doctor/lawyer/engineer etc. They came here as indentured labourers and pulled themselves up generation after generation. I could easily say that had they stayed in India it would have been easily more difficult for them to do so.

Alot of countries outside of TT eh have no free education, no quality education. Is natting available whatsoever. You feel that in some places in the world etc where children have the choice to either freeze to death/starve or go out in the wild to hunt and catch food that they have time to dream abt being doctor/lawyer? In what facking life?

Gate produced thousands of doctor/lawyer in the country. Dollar for dollar prob produced hundreds more. The price of a medical/law degree in the UK would prob set you back about 40-60k pounds for 3/4 years. You feel the average person in TT could afford that without gov't assistance. Madness

All those "cowshed" etc is still "access" to education. There were school teachers, neighbours and community. All those mission schools were atleast still available. Have plenty places in the world where those things eh even available. Ppl born, live, work and die right in their village.
You still talking as if dirt poor ppl educated themselves via home schooling. They may have been dirt poor but the govt still provided school feeding, free bus tickets etc and whatever social assistance prob was available. Those things don't exists in many parts of the world. The choice is usually school or income/food in the table.

How many ppl in TT cud talk about helping their family in the garden/farm before school, then having to return and go in the garden/market after school and then having to study long hours into the night before repeating the cycle the next morning? That's the reality for plenty mexicans etc.

As hard as TT is, you doh see trinis loading dinghy etc with their children to reach foreign lands in hope of better life. For plenty ppl in the world the basic need just to survive is overwhelming enough farless any opportunity for further study. In the developed world, education remains a priviledge not everyone is afforded.

Postby Gladiator » April 13th, 2022, 2:55 pm

Redress10 wrote:
Gladiator wrote:
Sorry Reddress... you have it wrong there. It is a cultural thing... taking away SEA awards, is better the PNM abolish Divali and done.

In the 1940s-1960s in Trinidad there was no access to education for Indian people, even at an elementary level. There were some mission schools where you convert to learn. in the 1960s. The famous cow shed schools is what what was used to educate people.

I remember as early as the 1980s, a family of 9 children, cannot even afford clothes to wear, living in a mud hut in Felicity, produced a President's Medal winner. In fact my eldest uncle from a family of dirt poor 8 siblings was the top SEA student sometime in the 1960s. Most of the Doctors, Lawyers, Engineers and the professionals alike in retirement today were born out of that system of absolutely no resources available for education.

You want to compare India, but remember they have 1 billion + people. Our Govt catching tail to manage 1M imagine for 1B+.

Bro

Not sure what you mean by taking away sea award and abolishing divali etc. But it's not cultural because Indians don't naturally excel/perform. Hence India is what it is as we know it.

It is about what resources are readily available to assist the family/individual in pursuing their goals. Indians didn't just wake up and decide to be Doctor/lawyer/engineer etc. They came here as indentured labourers and pulled themselves up generation after generation. I could easily say that had they stayed in India it would have been easily more difficult for them to do so.

Alot of countries outside of TT eh have no free education, no quality education. Is natting available whatsoever. You feel that in some places in the world etc where children have the choice to either freeze to death/starve or go out in the wild to hunt and catch food that they have time to dream abt being doctor/lawyer? In what facking life?

Gate produced thousands of doctor/lawyer in the country. Dollar for dollar prob produced hundreds more. The price of a medical/law degree in the UK would prob set you back about 40-60k pounds for 3/4 years. You feel the average person in TT could afford that without gov't assistance. Madness

All those "cowshed" etc is still "access" to education. There were school teachers, neighbours and community. All those mission schools were atleast still available. Have plenty places in the world where those things eh even available. Ppl born, live, work and die right in their village.
You still talking as if dirt poor ppl educated themselves via home schooling. They may have been dirt poor but the govt still provided school feeding, free bus tickets etc and whatever social assistance prob was available. Those things don't exists in many parts of the world. The choice is usually school or income/food in the table.

How many ppl in TT cud talk about helping their family in the garden/farm before school, then having to return and go in the garden/market after school and then having to study long hours into the night before repeating the cycle the next morning? That's the reality for plenty mexicans etc.

As hard as TT is, you doh see trinis loading dinghy etc with their children to reach foreign lands in hope of better life. For plenty ppl in the world the basic need just to survive is overwhelming enough farless any opportunity for further study. In the developed world, education remains a priviledge not everyone is afforded.

I think your perspective is not the same as mine. What you typed above is exactly what Indian children went through in the 1950s and 1960s. I have heard stories from persons now in their 60s talking about going under the streetlight to read because there were no other forms of light after 6pm, working in garden after school and toting water and wood from 5am before going to school. Extreme poverty is what made them strive for excellence and they got through hence the "big houses" in penal and central.

Today's children are in a different situation completely, but the same regimented emphasis on education is applied to those that value education. As early as the 1980's there were extremely poor Indian families that prioritized education before bare necessities such as even food, poverty was never an excuse.

Even in India which you despise to much, education is also treated with very high priority. Look at some documentaries and read some articles, hell even watch al jazeera and BBC and you would see the sacrifices those people make to earn an education. The problem with their country might be that people educate themselves and leave for better opportunities since they have to literally fight with millions for jobs etc. also coupled with the resources needed to educate a massive population of 1B+

At UWI for example, a very high percentage of the academics come from India. Currently there are Indian firms providing highly technical projects in Trinidad and we taxpayers pay for. So I don't think that your disgust for that group would be of any significance especially to them.

The focus however should not be on why one group excels, but why the other group falls behind and from a very early level. If someone would really bite the bullet and conduct this research and apply solutions to improve the country, only then Trinidad can excel.

And yes, Indian parents have treated education as part of their culture, that's why removing the SEA awards is like removing a prime religious holiday. If you ever open your mind and read the Ramayana, Geeta or Vedas you would learn that education wrt Indian people was something enshrined in the very basics of life.

Postby adnj » April 13th, 2022, 3:06 pm

What you posted before:
zoom rader wrote:People need to understand that academics is for those best suited and have a culture to pursue this excellence.

Others are best suited for digging drains and mixing concrete.

What you just posted:

zoom rader wrote:Family background helps explain Indian performance in education because this makes up for the greater level of poverty experienced compared to whites.

Are you now arguing that being Indian or having Indian culture makes you more academically successful? India has more illiterate people than the next 170 countries combined.

The fifty most educated countries in the world share one thing - they aren't India.

Whatever "Indian culture" in Trinidad you are referencing doesn't seem to be sufficient for India itself. But maybe it is - especially when your family is NOT broke as fuckk.

I believe that:

1. Expectations of one's family and community certainly influence academic goals - along with morals, values, prejudices, perspective, religion, etc.

2. Poverty is the prime correlative to academic success.

3. You consistently talk about a lot of different shitt that you apparently know very fukkinlittle about.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » April 13th, 2022, 3:45 pm

Gladiator wrote:
I think your perspective is not the same as mine. What you typed above is exactly what Indian children went through in the 1950s and 1960s. I have heard stories from persons now in their 60s talking about going under the streetlight to read because there were no other forms of light after 6pm, working in garden after school and toting water and wood from 5am before going to school. Extreme poverty is what made them strive for excellence and they got through hence the "big houses" in penal and central.

Today's children are in a different situation completely, but the same regimented emphasis on education is applied to those that value education. As early as the 1980's there were extremely poor Indian families that prioritized education before bare necessities such as even food, poverty was never an excuse.

Even in India which you despise to much, education is also treated with very high priority. Look at some documentaries and read some articles, hell even watch al jazeera and BBC and you would see the sacrifices those people make to earn an education. The problem with their country might be that people educate themselves and leave for better opportunities since they have to literally fight with millions for jobs etc. also coupled with the resources needed to educate a massive population of 1B+

At UWI for example, a very high percentage of the academics come from India. Currently there are Indian firms providing highly technical projects in Trinidad and we taxpayers pay for. So I don't think that your disgust for that group would be of any significance especially to them.

The focus however should not be on why one group excels, but why the other group falls behind and from a very early level. If someone would really bite the bullet and conduct this research and apply solutions to improve the country, only then Trinidad can excel.

And yes, Indian parents have treated education as part of their culture, that's why removing the SEA awards is like removing a prime religious holiday. If you ever open your mind and read the Ramayana, Geeta or Vedas you would learn that education wrt Indian people was something enshrined in the very basics of life.

I think you are all over the place and making little sense. You keep talking about poverty back in the 50s and 60s as though it was something unique to Indian ppl alone. Back then I expect that the poverty level was very high with only the local/foreign whites probably having access to the finer things the country had to offer. So poverty wasn't unique to just indian people. It would have been widespread enough. And again, "school" and access to school was still available. They had options and the ability to dream of a better life.

For all the hope and dreams a person can have if it eh have a school in sight to foster that potential all that hope is for nothing. That is not TT story. As sh*tty as our education system could be at times every child in TT has access to a desk, teacher, blackboard and a meal to get some sort of education and sustainance. That simply isn't the case in some parts of the world.

My aim is to compare the indians that I know in India with the ones I know in UK/USA/Canada and the descendants of indian indenture labourers living in TT. These are three distinct groups that need to be separated and identified to find a common culture. As someone who has actually spent time in India, I could tell you that the belief that Indians place strong emphasis on education is simply not true. What we see are the best and brightest that India exports to the world or who migrate for better opportunities. The ones I know in the UK, their grandparents/parents migrated there as merchants/professionals etc. They migrated to the UK and opened up pharmacies, doctor offices etc. They were already doing well in life and their children were able to benefit from a comfortable upbringing to continue the legacy. There was no rags to riches story. The UK never imported any poverty stricken Indian citizen. It was always the well to do or the exceptionally brilliant. Don't be confused.

India has the same problems like the rest of the developing world in terms of racism, classism, sectarianism, teenage pregnancy, gang violence, rapes, high hiv/aids etc. What you tend to see if the ones who ARE afforded the opportunity to better themselves, they grab onto that opportunity with both hands. Because they don't have any other choice. There are ppl with degrees in engineering and computer science in India making 40tt a day in payment. They can't complain because they are easily replaced etc. India aint a bed of roses.

You keep talking about India as though out of a billion people, a billion are highly educated. India has a 1.3 billion ppl. Just to put things into perspective there are only 16000 places available at the undergrad level for their prestigious indian institute of technology. So all the best and brightest indian exports tend to come from the instiutions. Such as google ceo etc. They being at UWI means nothing. They will go worldwide for better opportunities. They are in global demand. There are indians selling at the indian expo yearly I don't see your boasting about them though!

SEA is a standardised test for entry into secondary school it didn't originate with Indians. Not sure what point you trying to make there. Treating SEA as part of your culture can still occur but does it need to have national significance. Celebration can occur within the household and community. Why should an individual be awarded for academics? You study to have a better life, job etc. This is your personal choice. I think all academic awards should be done away and scholarships awarded via needs and if the country requires the expertise. It is insane that a test for 11 year olds is given this amout of national significance when it is suppose to be nothing more than a transition period into secondary school.

Why not start at kindergarden with national recognition?

Postby zoom rader » April 13th, 2022, 4:51 pm

adnj wrote:What you posted before:
zoom rader wrote:People need to understand that academics is for those best suited and have a culture to pursue this excellence.

What you just posted:

zoom rader wrote:Family background helps explain Indian performance in education because this makes up for the greater level of poverty experienced compared to whites.

Are you now arguing that being Indian or having Indian culture makes you more academically successful? India has more illiterate people than the next 170 countries combined.

The fifty most educated countries in the world share one thing - they aren't India.

Whatever "Indian culture" in Trinidad you are referencing doesn't seem to be sufficient for India itself. But maybe it is - especially when your family is NOT broke as fuckk.

I believe that:

1. Expectations of one's family and community certainly influence academic goals - along with morals, values, prejudices, perspective, religion, etc.

3. You consistently talk about a lot of different shitt that you apparently know very fukkinlittle about.

Jack arse

I don't give a flying fvck about about India , Pakistan or so called top educated countries.

I am referring to Indian migrants that came here and sent their kids to better there lifes. I am also referring to Indian Asians , that have also migrated to other parts of the world.

Indians that left India know what hardships are and that's why they push their offsprings to better themselves

You articles about poor ppl not achieving education does not hold water especially in Trinidad and other Indians that have migrated from India.

You turning out to be a real Tun Tun by posting articles that does not reflect on trini Indians culture.

Trini Indians culture is not the same as Indian culture.

Postby alfa » April 13th, 2022, 7:34 pm

What you just posted:

I believe that:

Jack arse

I don't give a flying fvck about about India , Pakistan or so called top educated countries.

I am referring to Indian migrants that came here and sent their kids to better there lifes. I am also referring to Indian Asians , that have also migrated to other parts of the world.

Indians that left India know what hardships are and that's why they push their offsprings to better themselves

You articles about poor ppl not achieving education does not hold water especially in Trinidad and other Indians that have migrated from India.

You turning out to be a real Tun Tun by posting articles that does not reflect on trini Indians culture.

How much time people go tell him the same thing. The boy chupid bad but some how intelligent enough to post on almost every topic :| . Let him be

Postby bluefete » April 13th, 2022, 8:02 pm

So dey fire de woman and put a Dr. Somebody or the other.

Postby Gladiator » April 14th, 2022, 9:24 am

Redress10 wrote:
Gladiator wrote:

I think you are all over the place and making little sense. You keep talking about poverty back in the 50s and 60s as though it was something unique to Indian ppl alone. Back then I expect that the poverty level was very high with only the local/foreign whites probably having access to the finer things the country had to offer. So poverty wasn't unique to just indian people. It would have been widespread enough. And again, "school" and access to school was still available. They had options and the ability to dream of a better life.

For all the hope and dreams a person can have if it eh have a school in sight to foster that potential all that hope is for nothing. That is not TT story. As sh*tty as our education system could be at times every child in TT has access to a desk, teacher, blackboard and a meal to get some sort of education and sustainance. That simply isn't the case in some parts of the world.

My aim is to compare the indians that I know in India with the ones I know in UK/USA/Canada and the descendants of indian indenture labourers living in TT. These are three distinct groups that need to be separated and identified to find a common culture. As someone who has actually spent time in India, I could tell you that the belief that Indians place strong emphasis on education is simply not true. What we see are the best and brightest that India exports to the world or who migrate for better opportunities. The ones I know in the UK, their grandparents/parents migrated there as merchants/professionals etc. They migrated to the UK and opened up pharmacies, doctor offices etc. They were already doing well in life and their children were able to benefit from a comfortable upbringing to continue the legacy. There was no rags to riches story. The UK never imported any poverty stricken Indian citizen. It was always the well to do or the exceptionally brilliant. Don't be confused.

India has the same problems like the rest of the developing world in terms of racism, classism, sectarianism, teenage pregnancy, gang violence, rapes, high hiv/aids etc. What you tend to see if the ones who ARE afforded the opportunity to better themselves, they grab onto that opportunity with both hands. Because they don't have any other choice. There are ppl with degrees in engineering and computer science in India making 40tt a day in payment. They can't complain because they are easily replaced etc. India aint a bed of roses.

You keep talking about India as though out of a billion people, a billion are highly educated. India has a 1.3 billion ppl. Just to put things into perspective there are only 16000 places available at the undergrad level for their prestigious indian institute of technology. So all the best and brightest indian exports tend to come from the instiutions. Such as google ceo etc. They being at UWI means nothing. They will go worldwide for better opportunities. They are in global demand. There are indians selling at the indian expo yearly I don't see your boasting about them though!

SEA is a standardised test for entry into secondary school it didn't originate with Indians. Not sure what point you trying to make there. Treating SEA as part of your culture can still occur but does it need to have national significance. Celebration can occur within the household and community. Why should an individual be awarded for academics? You study to have a better life, job etc. This is your personal choice. I think all academic awards should be done away and scholarships awarded via needs and if the country requires the expertise. It is insane that a test for 11 year olds is given this amout of national significance when it is suppose to be nothing more than a transition period into secondary school.

Why not start at kindergarden with national recognition?

And there you go making my point for me.... everyone had it hard back then, yet one group excelled even though the other had the advantages of running the government, belonging to the churches and having access to employment in the oil industry. In fact lavantille and morvant were the communities that were admired in the 50s and 60s for their creativity and resilience while Felicity and Barrakpore had gun toting gangs and cutlass fights every day.

Also you speak about Indians in the expo selling as it is something to scorn, bravo genius this is what we need, hard working entrepreneurs that push the bar to trade at all corners of the world to provide products and services. The US recently had a documentary on indian immigrants and this was the most desirable trait, their acumen for business and entrepreneurship.

I myself have worked with Indians from India, engineers, labours, ship captains and crew, oil and gas specialist etc they have an active space program, one of the largest economies in the world, celebrated scholars, nuclear program etc. They don't care what you in your pebble sized island 3rd world mismanaged country thinks of them...lol

In fact the reference to 1 Billion+ people to feed, educate, employ etc. has to be taken into consideration. If you don't see the correlation to resource management on that scale to education and progress of society then your education has failed you drastically. UWI actively hires Indian academics because of the supply and availability, yes Google and CISCO yadda yadda take the best of the best but the fact is that Indian, doctors, lecturers and researchers are globally spread out... this speaks something to their education system, culture and international position.

So in our little 3rd world caca hole, removing awards for SEA top performers would not serve any purpose other than removing the optics of one group excelling while the others don't. But then again that is what some people prefer, to be fools that only believe what they see.

Postby adnj » April 14th, 2022, 1:05 pm

alfa wrote:

What you just posted:

I believe that:

Jack arse

How much time people go tell him the same thing. The boy chupid bad but some how intelligent enough to post on almost every topic :| . Let him be
What neither of you actually realize is that you are referring to the increased achievement of immigrant populations.

Every population that has willingly immigrated has historically exhibited increased achievement when compared to the similar population that was left behind. It has been studied for more than 100 years for various populations worldwide.

New, longer term studies indicate that as the children of that immigrant population achieve socioeconomic parity with the rest of the population, they start to act like that population. The differences erode after the third generation, in general. In other words, the additional gains that helped to equalize the immigrant population's poverty deficit were lost.

Trinidad is very likely to see new business districts, new communities, and new top SEA/CXC students as a consequence of the Venezuelan migration.

If you need more information so that you can know that you are gleeful victims of a popular misconception, it's out there. Though I doubt either of you will actually do the work to understand what you're trying to talk about.

Postby zoom rader » April 14th, 2022, 2:51 pm

adnj wrote:
alfa wrote:

What you just posted:

I believe that:

Jack arse

What neither of you actually realize is that you are referring to the increased achievement of immigrant populations.

Every population that has willingly immigrated has historically exhibited increased achievement when compared to the similar population that was left behind. It has been studied for more than 100 years for various populations worldwide.

New, longer term studies indicate that as the children of that immigrant population achieve socioeconomic parity with the rest of the population, they start to act like that population. The differences erode after the third generation, in general. In other words, the additional gains that helped to equalize the immigrant population's poverty deficit were lost.

Trinidad is very likely to see new business districts, new communities, and new top SEA/CXC students as a consequence of the Venezuelan migration.

If you need more information so that you can know that you are gleeful victims of a popular misconception, it's out there. Though I doubt either of you will actually do the work to understand what you're trying to talk about.

You so full of shitt.

All ur articles proves jack shitt about poor people not achieving education.

As u said Venes coming here and new top SEA/CXC students as a consequence of the Venezuelan migration.

I guess all these Venes have money

Postby alfa » April 14th, 2022, 3:39 pm

adnj wrote:
alfa wrote:

What you just posted:

I believe that:

Jack arse

You so full of shitt.

All ur articles proves jack shitt about poor people not achieving education.

As u said Venes coming here and new top SEA/CXC students as a consequence of the Venezuelan migration.

I guess all these Venes have money

I was going to point out the exact same contradiction in his argument but I say is time I just let him be lol

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » April 14th, 2022, 8:41 pm

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/new-chief-education-officer-appointed-days-after-presidents-medal-controversy-6.2.1479722.28238fcfe5
The Ministry of Education has appointed a new Chief Education Officer (CEO). Dr Peter Smith has now taken over the position.

However, the ministry has assured the change in the position was not due to the recent controversy surrounding the President’s Medal (Gold) award.

A senior official was blamed for the confusion that led to the ministry having to give a joint award to Ameerah Beekhoo and Aaron Subero.

Teaching Service Commission (TSC) chairman Elizabeth Crouch announced the appointment of Smith minutes before the close of yesterday’s Joint Select Committee (JSC) on Local Authorities, Service Commissions and Statutory Authorities.

In informing JSC Chairman Dr Varma Deyalsingh of this latest decision by the TSC, Crouch assured, “It was accomplished through a very robust assessment centre exercise.”

In extending a congratulatory message to Smith while recuperating at home from the COVID-19 virus, Education Minister Dr Nyan Gadsby-Dolly said the TSC had been working on filling this vacancy for some time.

Smith had been acting as director of the Education Planning Division, a post previously held by his predecessor Lisa Henry-David, who was appointed to act as CEO following the retirement of Harrilal Seecharan almost two years ago.

Henry-David will now return to her substantive post as director of the Education Planning Division.

At the start of yesterday’s JSC, Deputy Permanent Secretary Sharon Ashman-Jack apologised for Henry-David’s “unavoidable absence” from the session but provided no further explanation.

In a press release issued by the MoE last Friday, officials claimed a mix-up had occurred after the senior official overstepped their remit. The ministry is currently exploring disciplinary action procedures available to them in the matter.

But you know after all this I might still vote PNM because I don't have any children writing SEA

Postby Gladiator » April 15th, 2022, 9:40 am

Blaze d Chalice wrote:https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/new-chief-education-officer-appointed-days-after-presidents-medal-controversy-6.2.1479722.28238fcfe5
The Ministry of Education has appointed a new Chief Education Officer (CEO). Dr Peter Smith has now taken over the position.

However, the ministry has assured the change in the position was not due to the recent controversy surrounding the President’s Medal (Gold) award.

A senior official was blamed for the confusion that led to the ministry having to give a joint award to Ameerah Beekhoo and Aaron Subero.

Teaching Service Commission (TSC) chairman Elizabeth Crouch announced the appointment of Smith minutes before the close of yesterday’s Joint Select Committee (JSC) on Local Authorities, Service Commissions and Statutory Authorities.

In informing JSC Chairman Dr Varma Deyalsingh of this latest decision by the TSC, Crouch assured, “It was accomplished through a very robust assessment centre exercise.”

In extending a congratulatory message to Smith while recuperating at home from the COVID-19 virus, Education Minister Dr Nyan Gadsby-Dolly said the TSC had been working on filling this vacancy for some time.

Smith had been acting as director of the Education Planning Division, a post previously held by his predecessor Lisa Henry-David, who was appointed to act as CEO following the retirement of Harrilal Seecharan almost two years ago.

Henry-David will now return to her substantive post as director of the Education Planning Division.

At the start of yesterday’s JSC, Deputy Permanent Secretary Sharon Ashman-Jack apologised for Henry-David’s “unavoidable absence” from the session but provided no further explanation.

In a press release issued by the MoE last Friday, officials claimed a mix-up had occurred after the senior official overstepped their remit. The ministry is currently exploring disciplinary action procedures available to them in the matter.

But you know after all this I might still vote PNM because I don't have any children writing SEA

Really bro... you really that stupid...LOL

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » April 19th, 2022, 12:14 am

Gladiator wrote:And there you go making my point for me.... everyone had it hard back then, yet one group excelled even though the other had the advantages of running the government, belonging to the churches and having access to employment in the oil industry. In fact lavantille and morvant were the communities that were admired in the 50s and 60s for their creativity and resilience while Felicity and Barrakpore had gun toting gangs and cutlass fights every day.

Also you speak about Indians in the expo selling as it is something to scorn, bravo genius this is what we need, hard working entrepreneurs that push the bar to trade at all corners of the world to provide products and services. The US recently had a documentary on indian immigrants and this was the most desirable trait, their acumen for business and entrepreneurship.

I myself have worked with Indians from India, engineers, labours, ship captains and crew, oil and gas specialist etc they have an active space program, one of the largest economies in the world, celebrated scholars, nuclear program etc. They don't care what you in your pebble sized island 3rd world mismanaged country thinks of them...lol

In fact the reference to 1 Billion+ people to feed, educate, employ etc. has to be taken into consideration. If you don't see the correlation to resource management on that scale to education and progress of society then your education has failed you drastically. UWI actively hires Indian academics because of the supply and availability, yes Google and CISCO yadda yadda take the best of the best but the fact is that Indian, doctors, lecturers and researchers are globally spread out... this speaks something to their education system, culture and international position.

So in our little 3rd world caca hole, removing awards for SEA top performers would not serve any purpose other than removing the optics of one group excelling while the others don't. But then again that is what some people prefer, to be fools that only believe what they see.

You stay trying to make the point that Indians are inherently intelligent and ambitious. No matter how much times some of us here on this forum who have been to ths country tell you that you will find all kinda ppl in India. India is not a fairytale. Stop believing in myths. You will find drunks, paedophiles, kidnappers, rapists, fraudsters all sorts of ppl in India. I don't know why you think so highly of India simply because of what you see here on tv in the west. What we see is the cream of the crop. Don't be fooled.

But doesn't the fact that Felicity and Barackpore and these places were worst than Laventille and Morvant highlight the fact that culture plays in a big part in success and that culture can also change. When back in the day Indian men used to spend their money drinking all day then going home to beat their wives and children, they weren't doctors and lawyers back then. What abt when those young indian girls would get married early on in life before they could go to school and wear lots of gold and have tattoo on the breasts etc. They were not little Indian girls who were topping common entrance back then. So I don't know where your sense of superiority stems from. History has shown that Indians didn't come to Trinidad from any superior position.

I speak about Indians in the expo because you seem to hold the view that Indians are all academics. But right here in TT you have indos who work at the expo year in and year out. You call it "entrepreneurial" but don't you also believe that it's possible that they work under alot of slave conditions etc. Exploitation is real. Especially in places such as India.

All of that you claim about India being a nuclear state etc yet none of you all are flocking back to the "motherland". Most Indo trinis prefer to flock to North America or Europe. Never mind that your culture/religion isnherently asian in origin so you should always feel close to India or the indian subcontinent. Yet here you are in Trinidad and Tobago with yearly vacations in north america etc. If India so nice then go. This pebble size third world country gice you and your ilk more opportunities than your cousins from India could ever dream about. Never forget that.

China also have a billion people but guess what they also have. Toilets. India's problem isn't size or lack of resources but corruption and mismanagment. Like you said Indians are inherently ambitious and intelligent so having a billion people should be an advantage. After all look at China's progress and compare it to India. Yet indos in Trinidad look down upon the chinese. Explain that one to me?

You keep harping out about SEA awards. You do realise that is not a real award. That's just another political gimmick made up by the government to distract from the failing education system. The distraction is the top 100. If the news starts posting the ones who couldn't pass the exam then that would shine a light on government's failures. So instead they distract the media with the top 3 etc each year. SEA is nothing more than a transition period into secondary school. It really isn't a big deal.

Postby Gladiator » April 19th, 2022, 9:42 am

Redress10 wrote:
Gladiator wrote:And there you go making my point for me.... everyone had it hard back then, yet one group excelled even though the other had the advantages of running the government, belonging to the churches and having access to employment in the oil industry. In fact lavantille and morvant were the communities that were admired in the 50s and 60s for their creativity and resilience while Felicity and Barrakpore had gun toting gangs and cutlass fights every day.

You stay trying to make the point that Indians are inherently intelligent and ambitious. No matter how much times some of us here on this forum who have been to ths country tell you that you will find all kinda ppl in India. India is not a fairytale. Stop believing in myths. You will find drunks, paedophiles, kidnappers, rapists, fraudsters all sorts of ppl in India. I don't know why you think so highly of India simply because of what you see here on tv in the west. What we see is the cream of the crop. Don't be fooled.

But doesn't the fact that Felicity and Barackpore and these places were worst than Laventille and Morvant highlight the fact that culture plays in a big part in success and that culture can also change. When back in the day Indian men used to spend their money drinking all day then going home to beat their wives and children, they weren't doctors and lawyers back then. What abt when those young indian girls would get married early on in life before they could go to school and wear lots of gold and have tattoo on the breasts etc. They were not little Indian girls who were topping common entrance back then. So I don't know where your sense of superiority stems from. History has shown that Indians didn't come to Trinidad from any superior position.

I speak about Indians in the expo because you seem to hold the view that Indians are all academics. But right here in TT you have indos who work at the expo year in and year out. You call it "entrepreneurial" but don't you also believe that it's possible that they work under alot of slave conditions etc. Exploitation is real. Especially in places such as India.

All of that you claim about India being a nuclear state etc yet none of you all are flocking back to the "motherland". Most Indo trinis prefer to flock to North America or Europe. Never mind that your culture/religion isnherently asian in origin so you should always feel close to India or the indian subcontinent. Yet here you are in Trinidad and Tobago with yearly vacations in north america etc. If India so nice then go. This pebble size third world country gice you and your ilk more opportunities than your cousins from India could ever dream about. Never forget that.

China also have a billion people but guess what they also have. Toilets. India's problem isn't size or lack of resources but corruption and mismanagment. Like you said Indians are inherently ambitious and intelligent so having a billion people should be an advantage. After all look at China's progress and compare it to India. Yet indos in Trinidad look down upon the chinese. Explain that one to me?

You keep harping out about SEA awards. You do realise that is not a real award. That's just another political gimmick made up by the government to distract from the failing education system. The distraction is the top 100. If the news starts posting the ones who couldn't pass the exam then that would shine a light on government's failures. So instead they distract the media with the top 3 etc each year. SEA is nothing more than a transition period into secondary school. It really isn't a big deal.

The more you respond the clearer I see your real passion which is an inherent hatred for persons of Indian origin. Of course Indians all over the world would have all the social issues and problems that the environment forces, not every indian is a scholar, businessman or a genius, but unless you really walk in the shoes of a child growing up in an indian household in Trinidad you have no argument other than your hatred and subjective views. When other parents would put emphasis on carnival and party, indian parents (the majority) would put emphasis on homework, religion and chores. Its the upbringing that molds the child and produces the results. The differences in culture is what makes one section of the population productive and the other dependent.

With regards to the motherland, yes they are eons behind some other countries, however they have to be doing something right to be able to hold the largest democracy together and to sustain that huge population. Your problem is the small island perspective. You cant see further than Toco or think bigger than the Queens park savannah. of course a country with a billion people would have fight for resources, jobs, education and everything else, hence the massive migration to more advanced countries. But wherever they go , they succeed. Rather than learn why this is so and try to emulate for the success of others, you find fault and criticize.... LOL

take a read...

https://www.deseret.com/opinion/2021/12 ... riage-tech

Carry on living in your hatred my friend. Trinidad is on the brink of total collapse, its only when we all rise that the country would come out of this rut... but as you said, those in charge love failure, and people like you love to keep them in charge.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » April 19th, 2022, 9:58 am

Gladiator wrote:The more you respond the clearer I see your real passion which is an inherent hatred for persons of Indian origin.

Funny enough, I am of east indian descent and I don't get that perspective from Redress10's posts. I actually agree with what he/she said.
Gladiator wrote:But wherever they go , they succeed. . .

No. That is not correct. That is not what I saw in the extended time that I spent in Birmingham, UK.

Postby timelapse » April 19th, 2022, 10:10 am

Remove sports awards also, then you will see real froth up

Postby Rory Phoulorie » April 19th, 2022, 10:22 am

timelapse wrote:Remove sports awards also, then you will see real froth up

Serious question here, they have national sports awards for 11 years old children?

Postby Dave » April 19th, 2022, 10:27 am

There is absolutely nothing wrong in rewarding excellence be it academic or sport or other at any age.
It should be a totally uncompromised, unbiased, uninfluenced and deserving award.

Postby timelapse » April 19th, 2022, 10:44 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:

Serious question here, they have national sports awards for 11 years old children?
It doh have to be national.Once it makes the evening news it in the public view.Indos excelling in academics, is a frothup to those who not so inclined.Meanwhile sports is dominated by afros.If the desired effect is equality in recognition, equalize right rong else hush yuh kant.

Postby De Dragon » April 19th, 2022, 12:56 pm

timelapse wrote:
Rory Phoulorie wrote:

It doh have to be national.Once it makes the evening news it in the public view.Indos excelling in academics, is a frothup to those who not so inclined.Meanwhile sports is dominated by afros.If the desired effect is equality in recognition, equalize right rong else hush yuh kant.

The sense I get is the continuing narrative of the system being "rigged" against Afros, and somehow lenient against Indos, who by any metric, are dominating the scholarly awards and performances for decades. If anything, the LFD RFD PNM favored their sycophants and unqualified party hacks' children with undeserved scholarships from a secret fund which continues to this day. Rather than attempt to at least bring up the standard, the excuse machine kicks in. Like Theodore have real disciples here :roll:

Postby timelapse » April 19th, 2022, 3:22 pm

timelapse wrote:
Rory Phoulorie wrote:

The sense I get is the continuing narrative of the system being "rigged" against Afros, and somehow lenient against Indos, who by any metric, are dominating the scholarly awards and performances for decades. If anything, the LFD RFD PNM favored their sycophants and unqualified party hacks' children with undeserved scholarships from a secret fund which continues to this day. Rather than attempt to at least bring up the standard, the excuse machine kicks in. Like Theodore have real disciples here :roll:
Everywhere in the world the 'system' rigged against afros.The difference in T&T, we don't have many whites in positions to 'oppress' so the indos are the next best target.

Postby De Dragon » April 19th, 2022, 3:35 pm

timelapse wrote:
Rory Phoulorie wrote:

Everywhere in the world the 'system' rigged against afros.The difference in T&T, we don't have many whites in positions to 'oppress' so the indos are the next best target.

Yet divisive kants like Theodore get space to spew that sheit, and under a LFD RFD PNM, too black for PM led GORTT, without nary a check :roll:

Postby Gladiator » April 19th, 2022, 10:11 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
Gladiator wrote:The more you respond the clearer I see your real passion which is an inherent hatred for persons of Indian origin.

Funny enough, I am of east indian descent and I don't get that perspective from Redress10's posts. I actually agree with what he/she said.

No. That is not correct. That is not what I saw in the extended time that I spent in Birmingham, UK.

Hey bro... not sure what your relationship to Reddress is, but from my perspective if you push the "indian talk" it riles him up tremendously... :D

There is an entire study online by Grant Thornton on the Indian diaspora in the UK. The contribution of the Indian diaspora to the UK's economy is about 36 Billion pounds. If there are a couple stragglers that ketching azz, that is normal, but the largest migrant population is from the sub continent and they seem to be doing well according to the reports published.

If I were you I won't study what they are doing in the UK, but look closely at what is happening here in Trinidad and hope that we can divert this ship from the rough waters ahead.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » April 19th, 2022, 11:28 pm

Gladiator wrote:
Rory Phoulorie wrote:

Hey bro... not sure what your relationship to Reddress is, but from my perspective if you push the "indian talk" it riles him up tremendously... :D

There is an entire study online by Grant Thornton on the Indian diaspora in the UK. The contribution of the Indian diaspora to the UK's economy is about 36 Billion pounds. If there are a couple stragglers that ketching azz, that is normal, but the largest migrant population is from the sub continent and they seem to be doing well according to the reports published.

If I were you I won't study what they are doing in the UK, but look closely at what is happening here in Trinidad and hope that we can divert this ship from the rough waters ahead.

You continue to make a fool of yourself and prove yourself to be an arse on this platform. You do realise that India has almost 20% of the world's population right? The indian diaspora in the UK numbers only 1 million people. Do you think the UK took the downtrodden from India or essentially the ones with the economic wealth to go to Europe? Do you think that the average Indian who has never even seen a toilet will ever have the chance to go to England to start a life? The answer is no. Those Indians in the UK were already wealthy and well off before they got to the UK. Chances are their wealth simply grew.

I went to school with Indos born in the Uk to Indian parents. Their grandparents went to boarding schools in the UK meaning that their great grandparents were already wealthy enough to send their children to boarding school in the UK back in the 1920s and 1930s. They were members of the merchant class conducting trades across the world. That legacy continues today with places such as Leicester now being fashion hubs for global brands.

You keep going on about India as though Indians are this monolithic group. India has MANY ethnic groups. Punjabis, bengalis, gujaratis, tamils and goans etc all have their distinct cultures and practices and they see themselves as different to each other. India is not a singular identity so I don't know why you keep making it seem that way.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » April 19th, 2022, 11:39 pm

Do you even know how long people from India have been settling in the UK? They've been there since the 17th Century.

Although post-war immigration was continuous, several distinct phases can be identified:

Workers were recruited to fulfill the labour shortage that resulted from World War II. These included Anglo-Indians who were recruited to work on the railways as they had done in India.
Don't you think that being both british/white and Indian would provide a distinct privilege that would be both economically and socially rewarding resulting in less barriers for upward mobility?
Workers mainly from the Bengal, Punjab and Gujarat regions arrived from India in the late 1950s and 1960s. Many worked in the foundries of the English Midlands. Large numbers of Gujaratis worked in the textile manufacturing sector in the northwest industrial towns of Blackburn, Dewsbury, Bolton, Lancaster, Manchester and Preston. Sikhs coming to London either migrated to the East to set up businesses where the wholesale, retail and manufacturing elements of the textile industry were located. Many Sikhs also moved to West London and took up employment at Heathrow airport and the associated industries and in the plants and factories of major brands such as Nestle around it.

Don't you think that people who migrated and ended up owning businesses etc would be better off in the long run. Doesn't it show that the Shikhs etc were already highly skilled by the time they got to the UK?

During the same period, medical staff from India were recruited for the newly formed National Health Service. These people were targeted as the British had established medical schools in the Indian subcontinent which conformed to the British standards of medical training.
Do you think that doctors/medical staff would come to the UK and be paid a low wage? Or would they be the better paid of british society?

During the 1960s and 1970s, large numbers of East African Indians, predominantly Gujaratis but also sizeable numbers of Punjabis who already held British passports, entered the UK after they were expelled from Kenya, Uganda and Zanzibar. Many of these people had been store-keepers and wholesale retailers in Africa and opened shops when they arrived in the UK. In 2001 East African Indians made up 16% of the total British Indian population.[22]
These people don't seem poor or down and out upon entering the UK?

None of those Indian groups came to the UK with their hands swinging. You realise the Gujaratis are essentially "white" Indians? Gujaratis don't represent the average Indian. They are mainly members of the merchant class with these mercantile practices going back all the way 15th and 16th Century and their first involvement with Britain. These are the people you are using as a statistical reference. That's like taking the syrian/lebanese and saying that "trinidadians" are successful because they have this amount of wealth/education. That is simply not true.

Postby Gladiator » April 20th, 2022, 2:55 pm

Reddress do some reading nah... since these Indians in the UK bothering you so much. These are just a few but there are many other stories to entertain your hateful mind.

Laxmishanker Pathak
Rami Ranger
Akshay Ruparelia

As much as you want to argue about other people's accomplishments and criticize their culture, the fact remains that Indians have always been a progressive people that excel in business, education, service industries etc. Weather it be because of their determination to succeed or their culture of discipline and hard work, the fact is that this is recognized in the bigger nations, acknowledged and rewarded, regardless of your personal experience. Maybe those Indians you speak of were losers because they kept company with you... and yes, there are dirt poor destitute Indians in India, but give them an opportunity and who knows what will happen.

I mean articles such as these can just be all lies:

https://www8.gsb.Colombia.edu/articles/ ... ts-america

https://economictimes.indiatimes.com/nr ... s?from=mdr

https://www.grin.com/document/110369

https://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldn ... ccess.html

Postby maj. tom » April 20th, 2022, 5:18 pm

Some of you guys are mixing up anecdotal evidence of a few cases vs. actual statistical evidence of the majority, and then tying it to race, as if only one set of poor people overcame and had scholars and success as the normal rather than the exception due to poverty. There are entire swaths of the country and many other countries where poverty plays the major factor in academic and non-skilled underachievement which has nothing to do with racial composition (every state in USA has much more poor "trailer trash" whites than "ghetto hood" blacks), but you are only focusing on the few success stories that got to be written and then read by you and interpreted through a racial lens, rather than seeing the majority of the others left behind and have been for generations due to extreme poverty.

You're only viewing anecdotal evidence of few people who were able to get out of extreme poverty through educational means, and it's likely the same percentage of either race who were able to succeed in this endeavor. You are looking at the top academic performers like majority of scholarships/top SEA placements by race, but again it's very unlikely that that's anything but anecdotal evidence of a few who came from extreme poverty, rather than actually seeing the statistics that they were from the middle class and had access to the resources (like lessons, yes every scholarship winner undeniably has taken lessons and some are even personally focused on by some tutors for that top Gold medal) through financial sacrifice of the parents because they want their children to be and have better than them. That's also not tied into race, but rather an income bracket. Some of these students have high income parents too and you would see every year a paid newspaper article applauding their children's great achievement and success at college or university degree level as if their kids were mining coal by the day and studying by a Davy lamp by night and nothing else but their own bootstraps so that everyone should know (again a bias success story because it was written and then read by some who interpreted it as a racial perception of success).

It's actually alarming how you all can view the statistics from all over the world but then conclude that Trinidad is unique and does not adhere to these observed behaviours and patterns because you want it to be about race and somehow want to believe that Trinidad is the exception because we have a certain racial culture regarding education. That is how you are not even seeing your bias. Add to this, you're also saying that the middle and upper class incomes of a different race simply do not want what's best for their children, they don't care about their academic success, and all they are studying is "Carnival culture" (we know what you mean by this). We have many members of our Trinituner forum of different races here who are great parents and provide and push their kids every way they can with as much comfort as they can for their success in life, the same as any other good nurturing parent would. Are you saying that they don't do this? That only one race does this? Like birds vs. snakes or something? By the way, being on a top academic achievement and scholarship list (maybe top 5%?) is not entirely a good metric at ultimately being successful and properly functioning in life. What about the rest of the performers on the normal distribution curve who you never heard of and were never acknowledged by a government grant announced in the newspapers?

But it's easy to perceive that the reason for this is race. That's how politicians stay in power. It has always been a dividing line in the sand as a part of our culture since forever, nay as a natural part of human tribalism in all countries in the world through all historical times. From medieval Jews in England, to the Moors in Spain to the early 1800s in Brasil, Mexico and Venezuela to post-colonial Zimbabwe, South Africa, Jamaica, Guyana, Suriname, etc.

Postby paid_influencer » April 20th, 2022, 6:24 pm

wait, did anyone find out how not one, but two students could be re-scored high enough that they went from not-on-the-top3 to medal winners?

surely that means there are underlying flaws with the initial scoring system. Shouldn't all parents be asking for the same re-grading, so their child could get into a better school etc?

no CoE, no investigation, nothing? silence from the major stakeholders in education (and salt for all the rest of us that need to trust the SEA grading)?