Express article: The education of children of African origin

Re: Express article: The education of children of African origin

Postby teems1 » June 4th, 2021, 12:19 pm

One is a professor whose opinion ended up in the Express.

The other is posting on an online forum filled with idiots.
Habit7 wrote:Lewis Theodore makes a racist, unsubstantiated claim about Afro students being prejudiced by Indos in the secondary school education system. I don't think I saw anybody defending him. All called it out as nonsense, as it rightfully is, and said that he has no proof for his statement.

Yet we have equally racist, divisive and baseless statements like
Wraith King wrote:It seems the majority of the African community can't even use their advantage to be on par so they resort to claiming to be victims of racism.

African academic, what an oxymoron.
zoom rader wrote:Explain why Tobago kids are not on the same level as Trinidad kids.

What is the difference?

Is there a racist agenda in Tobago?

And when evidence is produced to contradict these errant statements, the response is 'my opinion, without a scintilla of evidence, is true!'

Lewis Theodore and you two and just both sides and the rim of the same coin.

Postby Habit7 » June 4th, 2021, 12:26 pm

Exactly and when idiots, points out an idiot in the papers saying idiotic things, it is highly hypocritical to post the same idiotic things in a forum just in an inverse claim.

Opinion on the papers + opinion on the forum < the facts

Postby The_Honourable » June 4th, 2021, 12:27 pm

Dear Redman and Habit7,

Do you both agree, partially agree or disagree with the article written by Theredore Lewis? An explanation of your choice would be appreciated.

Article: https://newsday.co.tt/2021/05/31/consti ... -children/
Last edited by The_Honourable on June 4th, 2021, 12:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Habit7 » June 4th, 2021, 12:28 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Dear Redman and Habit7,

Do you both agree, partially agree or disagree with the article written by Theredore Lewis? Please explain your choice.

I guess you cant read.

Postby sMASH » June 4th, 2021, 12:28 pm

Habit7 wrote:
zoom rader wrote:Son this is the year 2021 and not 2011

Your infor is out of date and very mis leading .

Your post cannot be taken serious

A census is done every 10years because the info is good for at least 10 years.

Wraith King wrote:Two things.

Firstly, Tobago doesn't fall under that definition.

Lastly, if a non PNM had described Tobago that way, there would be cries of racism.

This is nothing other than your opinion

sMASH wrote:sooo, the vene shanty town down on the south coast is an urban area, and PoS during the lock down became rural?
u not wrong, but is not that alone. and the density is characteristic, not a defining property.

u can have densely populated rural areas and sparsely populated urban areas.

urban and rural has to do with the amount/kinds of infrastructure and the main kinds of activity, basic agriculture to specialized administration.

Please retrieve a geography textbook.

The Vene shanty town is not administered as a municipality or constituency. PoS under lockdown doesn't change its population density. Lockdown or not it is still dense.

"u can have densely populated rural areas and sparsely populated urban areas"
This right here will make a geography teacher cry. The density defines urban and rural and then you have services that go along with the population density. You can have an urban area with poor infrastructure and a rural area with good infrastructure.

Allyuh want to comment on education when it is clearly evident that allyuh lacking it.

take a rest.

infrastructure type is different from infrastructure quality.
if u want geo lessons is 150/ 2hrs at o levels, and 250/2hrs at GCE level.

Postby Redman » June 4th, 2021, 12:33 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Dear Redman and Habit7,

Do you both agree, partially agree or disagree with the article written by Theredore Lewis? An explanation of your choice would be appreciated.

Well the article quotes the 2011 census.
So he obviously unreliable.
Ask ZR.

Postby teems1 » June 4th, 2021, 12:34 pm

Trinituner does not hold the same weight as a daily paper.

Any uneducated person can click submit and post their opinion on here.

A daily paper has levels of bureaucracy before an opinion piece is green lighted.

They are nowhere near the same.
Habit7 wrote:Exactly and when idiots, points out an idiot in the papers saying idiotic things, it is highly hypocritical to post the same idiotic things in a forum just in an inverse claim.

Postby The_Honourable » June 4th, 2021, 12:37 pm

Habit7 wrote:I guess you cant read.

Redman wrote:Well the article quotes the 2011 census.
Ask ZR.

What kinda ass and 1/2 answers is this? and i asked decently too.

Look lemmeh go :lol:
Last edited by The_Honourable on June 4th, 2021, 12:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby De Dragon » June 4th, 2021, 12:37 pm

teems1 wrote:Trinituner does not hold the same weight as a daily paper.

Any uneducated person can click submit and post their opinion on here.

A daily paper has levels of bureaucracy before an opinion piece is green lighted.

They are nowhere near the same.
Habit7 wrote:Exactly and when idiots, points out an idiot in the papers saying idiotic things, it is highly hypocritical to post the same idiotic things in a forum just in an inverse claim.

Tuntsy and Colos => 2NR> Newsday :roll:

Postby De Dragon » June 4th, 2021, 12:39 pm

Habit7 wrote:Lewis Theodore makes a racist, unsubstantiated claim about Afro students being prejudiced by Indos in the secondary school education system. I don't think I saw anybody defending him. All called it out as nonsense, as it rightfully is, and said that he has no proof for his statement.

Yet we have equally racist, divisive and baseless statements like
Wraith King wrote:It seems the majority of the African community can't even use their advantage to be on par so they resort to claiming to be victims of racism.

African academic, what an oxymoron.
zoom rader wrote:Explain why Tobago kids are not on the same level as Trinidad kids.

What is the difference?

Is there a racist agenda in Tobago?

And when evidence is produced to contradict these errant statements, the response is 'my opinion, without a scintilla of evidence, is true!'

Lewis Theodore and you two and just both sides and the rim of the same coin.

It's Theodore Lewis, and why is zr's statement racist? The fact that he didn't frame it specifically about education? I would think that was understood in a discussion about education systems.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » June 4th, 2021, 12:41 pm

sMASH wrote:
Redress10 wrote:Taxpayers money being spent educating thousands of trinis who turn around and don't actually contribute anything meaningful to the country.

same thing coudl be said about hand outs and hampers for those lining up all the time. they dont contribute much, and mostly a drain on the treasury due to cepep, hdc, food card, etc.

u remove the concordat, u will get ur prestige needing to remain prestige, and u will get them scalping good performers to keep the ranks of the schools up.

right now, the highest performers of sea, get to go to their first choice, no matter how rich, for the most part. and thats how the top performers end up together.
as time goes on, u get transfers out and in to a certain extent, especially from o level to a level.

remove the govt funding, or zone, u will get ur privatization, and ur still gonna get the top schools taking transfers to keep the performances up.

not all indos gonna get the opportunity as it is now, but it not gonna be the great equalizer as its touted to be.

go right ahead. play mad.

Bro are you slow? You're not going to be able to scalp any students. There will not be a first choice etc. Schools will become carbon copies of each other. The will be quality across the board. The only difference is the child will go to the elite school closest to them. This elite school near a rural district will not be better or worst than the elite school in POS for instance. The teachers will also be elite and sorted according to their ability as well. You are trying to create an elite environment for our prodigies to be discovered and challenge. CxC simply can't do this.

Schools will not be picking students. The algorithim and only the algorithim will ASSIGN places for spaces. Right now, just because you are the highest performer in SEA doesn't mean that you will go to a good school. That school may not be good 5 years down the line. Passing for ya first choice doesn't mean that it's a good school. Being a "prestigious" school doesn't mean that it is in fact a good school. Hillview, Naps, Convent, St Mary's, Fatima, Bishops etc are not equal to each other and will keep giving varying results based on the different factors occuring at the school at any point in time. This could be a simple thing as having a more successful fete than the other school resulting in better funds to improve a lab. How long now QRC trying to fix their roof? "Prestigious" school ent?

How are indos not gonna get the same opportunities theu get now? The system now doesn't favour indos as it is so ya really not making any sense. Unless you think that it does?

Unless you reengineer this process to assure that the school operates at the elite level that is required to push the child forward we will keep spinning top in mud.

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » June 4th, 2021, 12:42 pm

Redman wrote:
Wraith King wrote:
Redman wrote:Well some one post some credible data that shows the census to be wrong.

Should be pretty easy given the above posts.

Don't make a fool of yourself following Habit7 unless you're benefiting from it as he benefits from making a fool out of himself.

What I said was how can the information remain credible for TEN years but you're asking me to perform an impossible task of conducting a census. Do you even have the slightest idea of the resources I would require to do that? If I had the CSO resources at my disposal I would have been able to do so but surely you can't expect me by my lonesome to conduct a census.

So you dont have any frigging clue whether the data is in fact WRONG?

this is a yes or no question.

Im not the fool who complaining about credibility, then admitting I have no resources to determine accuracy.

Let me keep it simple, the information is wrong because of societal changes data from more then TEN years ago will not accurately reflect the current situation. No I cannot provide the accurate data because I cannot do a census. I actually don't think you want to understand but it is really simple.

Postby Habit7 » June 4th, 2021, 12:44 pm

sMASH wrote:u can have densely populated rural areas and sparsely populated urban areas.

If after all those hours of geography you can say this nonsense then you need more hours.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/guides/z ... revision/1

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » June 4th, 2021, 12:44 pm

so watch na tobago full ah dumb backward country bookies or not?
Who fault is it all ah dem dunce, giving is they own kind ruling and educating dem?
Look at the last 20 years of top 5-10 students how well are students in schools of PNM areas represented?

Didn't your infallible shittong of ah leader blindy eric william say we future in school chirren back, surely not dem bags of students in PNM strongholds, da is for holding two three extended belly and block ah weed or stolen loot.
Who ruling for the majority of our independence boy?

Who holding back all these african children from succeeding in education and life instead of turning to crime and gimme-gimme work like cepep/urp?
Who forcing dem to say all ah dem fully dunce up and dress up like criminals and study rob/kill/tief to get big chain and Js.

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » June 4th, 2021, 12:47 pm

The_Honourable wrote:

Ask ZR.

I don't know if they think they are fooling others, each other or themselves. Theodore was probably on to something with the level of stupidity but what he should have said is that it is self inflicted.

Postby Habit7 » June 4th, 2021, 12:47 pm

Wraith King wrote:Let me keep it simple, the information is wrong because of societal changes data from more then TEN years ago will not accurately reflect the current situation. No I cannot provide the accurate data because I cannot do a census. I actually don't think you want to understand but it is really simple.

If you cannot provide accurate data then on what basis did you say, "It seems the majority of the African community can't even use their advantage to be on par..."

https://ocsi.uk/2020/11/23/does-census- ... ars-later/

Postby De Dragon » June 4th, 2021, 12:48 pm

Habit7 wrote:
sMASH wrote:u can have densely populated rural areas and sparsely populated urban areas.

If after all those hours of geography you can say this nonsense then you need more hours.

Moron, the very first paragraph from your supporting link is:

The nature of the term 'rural' varies from place to place. It often refers to areas in the country concerned which are less densely populated. There are different types of rural areas, depending on how accessible they are from urban areas. These range from the rural urban fringe, to the extreme (remote) rural areas.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » June 4th, 2021, 12:48 pm

alfa wrote:
Soul Collector wrote:They still take students from lower ranked schools and place them into prestige school to play football?

I remember our school importing quite a few of them from Five Rivers and wherever else. Talk about a whole "us and them" kinda scene. Racial tensions were extremely high and it led to many violent conflicts, all of which I recall, were racially fueled.

I had a similar experience. Back in the junior sec days when writing 14 plus exams they took the best scoring kids and put them in a prestige school in the area. A whole class of them. There were never any fights but they never fit into the culture of the school and we avoided them like the plague. They weren't violent but the ghetto culture didn't sit well neither could they keep up academically. None went into A levels after cxc either. There were quite a few Indos in that class as well who all had the same attitude as their afro counterparts. It goes to show school placement isn't about race but about grades and parents wanting their kids to be in the company of like minded individuals

I agree with that 100%. That’s really what a parent looks for IMO. The quality of the educators and school’s track record plays a role in the decision but all it boils down to is having your kids around similarly minded individuals when it comes to the approach towards their education.

What I never understood was the reason for importing a bunch of students from a totally foreign school, not even a “sister school” or something. Students were seriously injured in some instances and it came this close to someone actually losing their life. It was just the usual awkward cultural difference at first, but once race got involved it was only then things escalated to that level of physical violence. Lou Screuz mentioned the 20% thing and that it gives students from less fortunate backgrounds a chance which is very true. In small amounts I can understand, but what was with those mass transfers? Do schools still do this?

What teems1 said above with regard to having a poor home & community life, no or poor guidance from the adults around you, plays the biggest role in what the student actually does at the school. If the student wasn’t a sponge just soaking up all the racist talk either from their parents or our esteemed elected govt officials who still to this day pushing racially divisive topics, things would be a bit different in terms of all this racial tension everywhere, especially among the youth.

Since my school days, I’ve seen many times where sex videos or crazy violent fights were posted up. With all the sheit the leaders of the country and the so called educators pushing, I would assume that things have only gotten worse overall from the example set. If I were a parent in these times, the thought of the govt having 100% control over where my kids goes to school would be very concerning.

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » June 4th, 2021, 12:48 pm

Habit7 wrote:

Don't speak about geography. Theodore said you all don't go to school.

Postby De Dragon » June 4th, 2021, 12:50 pm

The_Honourable wrote:

Ask ZR.

The two LFD RFD PNM Lead Lackeys aren't particularly noted for their insightful replies. What is powerful though is the absolute loyalty to the cult.

Postby Habit7 » June 4th, 2021, 12:55 pm

Habit7 wrote:

The nature of the term 'rural' varies from place to place. It often refers to areas in the country concerned which are less densely populated. There are different types of rural areas, depending on how accessible they are from urban areas. These range from the rural urban fringe, to the extreme (remote) rural areas.

Good, so you too believe "u can have densely populated rural areas"?

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » June 4th, 2021, 12:57 pm

The_Honourable wrote:

Ask ZR.

The two LFD RFD PNM Lead Lackeys aren't particularly noted for their insightful replies. What is powerful though is the absolute loyalty to the cult.

I feel compelled to say that these pro PNM "no matter what" supporters unbelievably stupid. Is like WTF!!!!!

This has to be a joke. Later on I'll get a message from an admin saying it's a joke you all play for a period of time to new users. No way multiple persons could be so stupid even with personal bias. It's too many ridiculous things they come up with for this to be true.

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » June 4th, 2021, 12:57 pm

Somebody let me in on the joke nah.

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » June 4th, 2021, 12:58 pm

Habit7 wrote:

Your brain is densely populated with rubbish.

Postby Habit7 » June 4th, 2021, 1:00 pm

It that why you can't answer this?
Habit7 wrote:
Wraith King wrote:Let me keep it simple, the information is wrong because of societal changes data from more then TEN years ago will not accurately reflect the current situation. No I cannot provide the accurate data because I cannot do a census. I actually don't think you want to understand but it is really simple.

If you cannot provide accurate data then on what basis did you say, "It seems the majority of the African community can't even use their advantage to be on par..."

Postby zoom rader » June 4th, 2021, 1:02 pm

The_Honourable wrote:

Ask ZR.

Look lemmeh go
Habit7 never answers a question when he is in the wrong

Postby De Dragon » June 4th, 2021, 1:03 pm

Habit7 wrote:

Breds I say my piece about it already, which if you cared to be even minutely objective, you'd see lines up with your link's definition. You however, want to be all hard and fast, and unmoving, so TB!

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » June 4th, 2021, 1:06 pm

Habit7 wrote:It that why you can't answer this?
Habit7 wrote:

If you had any semblance of intelligence you would understand. Other members of this forum can tell you're stupid but you wouldn't see it.

Theodore say allyuh chupid and can't make it into a prestige school. Keith say allyuh like hyenas in the African jungle. You and some other fool prove that Theodore and Keith right in this instance.

Postby zoom rader » June 4th, 2021, 1:07 pm

Life on tuner is very easy for me these days.

Lots of tuners exposing Habit7 & Redfag.

Eliteauto you need to get better red government reinforcements.

They not looking good right now

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » June 4th, 2021, 1:08 pm

The_Honourable wrote:

Ask ZR.

Look lemmeh go
Habit7 never answers a question when he is in the wrong

I doubt otherwise he would have never have anything to say. He probably doesn't answer when he knows he's wrong but most of the time he doesn't realise he's wrong.