looking to get back in CIF
price dropped a bit

Re: OFFICIAL STOCK MARKET (TTSE) THREAD

Postby Country_Bookie » March 20th, 2020, 10:57 pm

pugboy wrote:looking to get back in CIF
price dropped a bit
U think it might go down to $20 with all the panic selling?

Rockram

Postby Rockram » March 21st, 2020, 12:08 am

Country_Bookie wrote:
price dropped a bit

Doubt it... May bottom out between 22.00 to 22.50 that represents a discount to its current nav of 31.65....

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » March 21st, 2020, 7:30 am

Rockram wrote:
Country_Bookie wrote:
price dropped a bit

Doubt it... May bottom out between 22.00 to 22.50 that represents a discount to its current nav of 31.65....
Most of commercial banks earnings will be suppressed for the next 2 quarters so I expect RFHL to probably go back to 120 and CIF to 20. NGL look like it heading to 10 since dividend most likely to be cut from $1.50 to $.50 .

Postby Redman » March 22nd, 2020, 8:00 am

For those in the US market....you should start looking at using options to get the leverage on the negative sentiment.

For discussion....look at MSFT...at 137 down from 190
Strong balance sheet.
Also is a component of many indices,therefore index funds and etfs buy it.

When sentiment turns the stock will do well.

At the money Sept 2022 calls are about 35.

So one can pick up great exposure in an aggressive position on blue chip stocks.

Postby pugboy » March 23rd, 2020, 1:10 pm

Local Stocks get lash today
My broker tell me they require prepayment now

Rockram

Postby Rockram » March 23rd, 2020, 1:21 pm

pugboy wrote:Local Stocks get lash today

What's the reason for this? Afraid people won't honor their orders?

Postby pugboy » March 23rd, 2020, 1:27 pm

Can only assume so
I would guess the rationale is that a person may place an order then see an even bigger drop in a couple days and want to change their mind.

Rockram wrote:

Rockram

Postby Rockram » March 23rd, 2020, 2:35 pm

Never heard about that before... Put in an order for cif 22.50 on Thursday.. Saw some trades for 21 today.... Also put in a order for NGL at 14.50 see it actually appreciated today...not sure if my orders went through didn't get the contract notes

pugboy wrote:Can only assume so
I would guess the rationale is that a person may place an order then see an even bigger drop in a couple days and want to change their mind.

Rockram wrote:

Postby pugboy » March 23rd, 2020, 2:45 pm

I must be a small fry in the eyes of my broker(wise)

Rockram wrote:Never heard about that before... Put in an order for cif 22.50 on Thursday.. Saw some trades for 21 today.... Also put in a order for NGL at 14.50 see it actually appreciated today...not sure if my orders went through didn't get the contract notes

pugboy wrote:Can only assume so

Rockram wrote:

snatman

Postby snatman » March 26th, 2020, 11:46 am

Speculators buying up NGL for imminent dividends :| :| So after dividends... what?

#ThisIsn'tGoingToEndWell

Are folks unable to comprehend that the stock market hasn't begun to fall yet??
Or is it that I'm just reading this wrong?

Postby Redman » March 26th, 2020, 12:58 pm

Well it would be subject to the sentiment that is in control of the market.

So it is possible for the sentiment to go negative and back to positive....and the cycle not show up in prices.

snatman

Postby snatman » March 27th, 2020, 2:11 pm

Its begun. Ansa Finance just had their most successful year ever.

No final dividend! Because Covid!

Postby bluefete » March 27th, 2020, 3:45 pm

If true, that is absolute BS. Seems like a typical Sabga move to me. Huff de morney and say they are "reinvesting it in the business".

Dividends can only be declared AFTER an AGM is held, although Directors can approve interim dividends. Once approved by the shareholders, dividend cheques are mailed or directly deposited to shareholder accounts.

It could be that Covid-19 is preventing them from holding an AGM at this time.

Saw this online:

ANSA Merchant makes record profit but COVID-19 hangs over results
By Curtis Williams -March 27, 2020

ANSA Merchant Bank and its insurance companies Tatil and Tatil Life generated record revenue and net income last year, chairman A. Norman Sabga has stated.

However, unprecedented uncertainty surrounding the COVID-19 pandemic means that shareholders will not be getting an additional dividend payment at this time.

“We increased Profit Before Tax by 37 per cent year on year to $357 million on Total Operating Income of $1.1 billion, reflecting robust underlying performances across all our businesses,” Sabga stated.

“Total Equity increased by $169 million or seven per cent year over year to $2.54 billion, while our Total Assets grew by three per cent to surpass $8 billion 2019,” he stated.

“Our Earnings per share in 2019 increased by 34 per cent to $3.24 compared to 2018 of $2.41,” he stated.

Sabga said during the year a new core banking platform was successfully installed at Ansa Merchant Bank and a new Accident and Health system was installed at Tatil.

“We expect to see tangible improvements in efficiency and customer service in the coming years as a result of the implementation of these new automated systems,” Sabga stated.

Last year, Ansa Merchant Bank entered into an agreement to acquire 100 per cent of the Bank of Baroda (Trinidad and Tobago).

“The acquisition is scheduled to be completed and funded in 2020, subject to all the terms and conditions of the relevant agreements including, without limitation, matters that may arise from COVID-19 and to all approvals being received,” he stated.

“In view of unprecedented uncertainty in global financial markets and economies due to the widespread impact of the pandemic, Ansa Merchant Bank has decided it would not be prudent to pay a further dividend at this time,” Sabga stated.

“We are confident that shareholders will enjoy an increased return on their reinvested capital in the future given our investments in technology and acquisitions, which are expected to enhance our suite of products and services regionally,’ he stated.

The directors approved the total dividend at $0.20 per share for the year ended 31 December 2019 which was already paid as the interim dividend.

https://www.cnc3.co.tt/ansa-merchant-ma ... r-results/

snatman wrote:Its begun. Ansa Finance just had their most successful year ever.

No final dividend! Because Covid!

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » March 27th, 2020, 5:24 pm

However, unprecedented uncertainty surrounding the COVID-19 pandemic means that shareholders will not be getting an additional dividend payment at this time.
I am interpreting this as no increase in dividend which makes sense given the uncertainty going forward.

Why do you all think about S&P lowering our rating to 'BBB-' From 'BBB' On Lower Hydrocarbon Price Assumptions?

They are also forecasting by the end of 2022 our foreign reserves will be less than US$3billion.

snatman

Postby snatman » March 27th, 2020, 5:58 pm

No. they already paid an interim 1/2 yr dividend of 20c.
There will be no other dividend for the financial year.

neilsingh100 wrote:
I am interpreting this as no increase in dividend which makes sense given the uncertainty going forward.

Why do you all think about S&P lowering our rating to 'BBB-' From 'BBB' On Lower Hydrocarbon Price Assumptions?

They are also forecasting by the end of 2022 our foreign reserves will be less than US$3billion.

snatman

Postby snatman » March 31st, 2020, 8:55 am

And now Ansa McAl is not paying a final dividend!

Postby Redman » March 31st, 2020, 8:59 am

neilsingh100 wrote:

It’s unavoidable

And it probably will get worse.

snatman

Postby snatman » April 15th, 2020, 8:51 am

Jamaican stocks are holding up better than expected. Surprising considering the bulk of national revenue comes from tourism, which will be dead for some time to come and remittances which is probably quickly drying up. Coffee still to be smelled there, and it might just be putrid.

Locally, companies are withholding dividends and retaining cash. Prestige even cancelled a previously announced dividend.

NGL is still trading at a much higher price than it should be with the collapsed energy market. Methinks NGL $10 isn't far fetched after dividend announcement.

The market still has another 12-20% to drop this year methinks. Good luck t all who are weathering the storm. I sold out in early March.

Any thoughts on anything?

Postby pugboy » April 15th, 2020, 2:10 pm

I see the panic drop last couple weeks has been erased
values are back up a little

Postby Country_Bookie » April 15th, 2020, 6:11 pm

If yuh is the type to panic sell, then u probably shouldn't be invested in stocks in the first place. You'll probably sell at the lowest price and then complain how is only the 1% does make money on the stock market. It's actually ppl who have the biggest risk tolerance who make the most profits. Them and institutional investors who have very long holding periods.

snatman

Postby snatman » April 30th, 2020, 9:40 pm

and so it goes.

NCBFG says no interim dividend.

And to not expect any this year....

Postby supercharged turbo » May 2nd, 2020, 10:59 pm

Fellas I'm new to this and I have some questions and I would really appreciate your input.I've checked through the various websites for each broker and the information there is the bare minimum with WISE being the only one showing the transactions fees.

1)Do all brokers have a minimum fee and then a percentage of the trade value once the minimum fee is surpassed?

2)If I'm looking to purchase 1000 Massy shares and there is only 550 available,what would be the outcome?

3)How often do you usually buy and/or sell your shares?
A)Everyday(Buying and Selling)
B)Only when the price is more than I paid for it(Selling)
C)If the price is crashing(Buying and Selling)
D)When I have extra funds(Buying)
E)Other(Please Specifiy)

4)After you put in an order to buy or sell your shares and the order is fulfilled,do you get a certificate showing the amount or the updated amount in each company or is there an online portal from each broker where you can log in to see your portfolio?

5)When you choose to buy or sell shares,how is the amount you pay or receive determined?

7)How long after are the funds withdrawn or deposited into your account?

8)How do you put in an order?Can you just call in and tell them or must it be sent by an email with authorisation?

9)Anybody here trading on the US/European stock market and what are the additional requirements,fees,risks,rewards etc?Which brokers can you go to for that?

10)What has been your experience with your broker thus far?

11)Anybody switched brokers and what was your reason for doing so?

12)Can you add a beneficiary to your account or must they be a joint holder?

13)Can you change your beneficiary afterwards?From what I gathered,the person's name who you intend to put if any must be there from the initial opening of the account.

Any comments,advice,suggestions,recommendations,experiences,warnings etc would be be greatly appreciated and if there is anything that I missed and you think would be useful please post or feel free to PM me.Thanks in advance

Rockram

Postby Rockram » May 19th, 2020, 10:04 am

Anyone hear anything about TTSE online trading platform...buddy told me his broker reached out to him to be part of a betta test group.

Rockram

Postby Rockram » June 3rd, 2020, 8:07 pm

Rockram wrote:Anyone hear anything about TTSE online trading platform...buddy told me his broker reached out to him to be part of a betta test group.

Checked out the TOP platform... Very user friendly...you can view the real time data including the orders queue linked to avvento... The public roll out is in a couple of weeks.. If you already have a ttcd e statement account your existing log on credentials will work.

Postby sMASH » June 4th, 2020, 8:20 am

Rockram wrote:
Rockram wrote:Anyone hear anything about TTSE online trading platform...buddy told me his broker reached out to him to be part of a betta test group.

Checked out the TOP platform... Very user friendly...you can view the real time data including the orders queue linked to avvento... The public roll out is in a couple of weeks.. If you already have a ttcd e statement account your existing log on credentials will work.

will it offer u the ability to be on ur fone, log into an app, and purchase/sell stocks?

Rockram

Postby Rockram » June 4th, 2020, 10:03 pm

sMASH wrote:
Rockram wrote:

will it offer u the ability to be on ur fone, log into an app, and purchase/sell stocks?

It's web based so yes...the way it works is you request a "fund in" amount.. Your broker approves it...you trade.. When ready you request a "fund out" amount.

mitsutt

Postby mitsutt » June 5th, 2020, 7:54 pm

Redman wrote:For those in the US market....you should start looking at using options to get the leverage on the negative sentiment.

For discussion....look at MSFT...at 137 down from 190
Strong balance sheet.
Also is a component of many indices,therefore index funds and etfs buy it.

When sentiment turns the stock will do well.

At the money Sept 2022 calls are about 35.

So one can pick up great exposure in an aggressive position on blue chip stocks.

Microsoft is an excellent stock but there are better options available. The US market performed like a serious bull today it’s unbelievable.