Appeal Court reduces penalties for buggery, maintaining their criminal status - to be appealed

Miktay

Re: LGBT celebrate High Court ruling on Buggery Law

Postby Miktay » April 14th, 2018, 2:01 pm

abducted wrote:
buscax wrote:How can someone of a sound mind seek to put his penis in a man's anus, where he excretes bodily waste and then applaud himself for achieving intellectual status by doing something that even dumb animals will not do. Have any of you ever see a male horse try to mount another male horse?

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Homosexua ... in_animals

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_a ... l_behavior

As part of evolution there are many quirks and differences in individuals, left handed people are not in the majority and considered not "normal", but they are there, part of nature.

Reading and comprehension are different things. Inference iz subject to observer bias.

From cit 1

Animal preference and motivation is always inferred from behavior. In wild animals, researchers will as a rule not be able to map the entire life of an individual, and must infer from frequency of single observations of behavior. The correct usage of the term homosexual is that an animal exhibits homosexual behavior or even same-sex sexual behavior; however, this article conforms to the usage by modern research,[14][16][17][18][page needed][19] applying the term homosexuality to all sexual behavior (copulation, genital stimulation, mating games and sexual display behavior) between animals of the same sex. In most instances, it is presumed that the homosexual behavior is but part of the animal's overall sexual behavioral repertoire, making the animal "bisexual" rather than "homosexual" as the terms are commonly understood in humans.[18][page needed], but cases of homosexual preference and exclusive homosexual pairs are known.[20]

From cit 2

Animal preference and motivation is always inferred from behavior. Thus homosexual behavior has been given a number of terms over the years. The correct usage of the term homosexual is that an [ba]animal exhibits homosexual behavior, [/]however this article conforms to the usage by modern research,[8][9][10][11] applying the term homosexuality to all sexual behavior (copulation, genital stimulation, mating games and sexual display behavior) between animals of the same sex.

Postby redmanjp » April 14th, 2018, 2:33 pm

Hmm if only threads on tuner were monetized for the OP by no of views and replies :)

Postby The_Honourable » April 14th, 2018, 5:00 pm

ah man say the alphabet group petition the mayor to remove the no entry sign :lol:
30171617_10156267216478158_6781360388702358258_o.jpg

Postby rspann » April 14th, 2018, 5:06 pm

So you can enter Bul ler st now? That street is messy though.

Postby pugboy » April 14th, 2018, 6:57 pm

A mud track they say

fatboy slim

Postby fatboy slim » April 14th, 2018, 9:20 pm

:drinking: :drinking: Trinidad will have kids like this in the near future. :drinking: :drinking:

Last edited by fatboy slim on April 14th, 2018, 10:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby redmanjp » April 14th, 2018, 10:10 pm

The_Honourable wrote:ah man say the alphabet group petition the mayor to remove the no entry sign :lol:

That No Entry sign is discriminatory & unconstitutional- no such sign exists on Hornerman Lane.

Postby redmanjp » April 15th, 2018, 2:25 am

I've been looking all over for this:

JONES VS. AG FULL JUDGEMENT HERE:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/z84wkg35zz4zj1e/JASON-JONES-AND-AG-AND-EOC.pdf?dl=0

Postby redmanjp » April 15th, 2018, 4:19 am

So the Court decided that religious views cannot be used, right? But in the judgment the preamble of our constitution states:

Whereas the People of Trinidad and Tobago—
(a) have affirmed that the Nation of Trinidad and Tobago is founded upon principles that acknowledge the supremacy of God, faith in fundamental human rights and freedoms, the
position of the family
in a society of free men and free institutions, the dignity of the human
person and the equal and inalienable rights with which all members of the human family are
endowed by their Creator
;
(b) respect the principles of social justice and therefore believe that the operation of the economic system should result in the material resources of the community being so distributed as to subserve the common good, that there should be adequate means of livelihood for all,
that labour should not be exploited or forced by economic necessity to operate in inhumane conditions but that there should be opportunity for advancement on the basis of recognition of merit, ability and integrity;
(c) have asserted their belief in a democratic society in which all persons may, to the extent of their capacity, play some part in the institutions of the national life and thus develop and maintain due respect for lawfully constituted authority;
(d) recognise that men and institutions remain free only when freedom is founded upon respect for moral and spiritual values and the rule of law;
(e) desire that their Constitution should enshrine the above-mentioned principles and beliefs and make provision for ensuring the protection in Trinidad and Tobago of fundamental human rights and freedoms.

I would strongly beg to differ- hope the Govt reading this- they could use it in the appeal.

brainchild

Postby brainchild » April 15th, 2018, 6:42 am

Which god is that exactly? Could be the FSM...Zeus...Mexican Jesus...it's intentionally vague, hence laws must be secular to avoid bias.

buscax

Postby buscax » April 15th, 2018, 7:02 am

But the law of the land with its many acts came from five of the ten commandments.
Thou shalt not kill
Thou shalt not commit adultery
Thou shalt not steal
Thou shalt not bare false witness "fraud"
Thou shalt not covet
How do you propose to separate it without referencing or acknowledging a foundational source?

brainchild

Postby brainchild » April 15th, 2018, 7:17 am

Common sense laws...no bible necessary. Since when trinis so religious tho? What happen to all the prostitution, fornication and adultery taking place? Sins have a ranking system now?

eitech

Postby eitech » April 15th, 2018, 7:43 am

As a member here for a few years i feel is my duty to step in and say we are veering off topic. Lol. There is another thread dealing with ppl who believe their common sense and emotions are their own moral compass.

Mods allyuh sleepin owah

Postby Dizzy28 » April 15th, 2018, 8:03 am

Bible thumpers butt hurt by other people getting their butt hurt!!! Couldn't make this stuff up. So all who breaking another Leviticus law by eating some swine today??

Postby maj. tom » April 15th, 2018, 8:03 am

I hope some of allyuh here can face your homophobia openly one day and admit to yourself whatever problems you have is due to fear, etc., and be able to put some rationality behind your fears and face them. Gay people don't do you anything, they never have. Your attitudes here are like Southern USA when the Civil Rights Movement was taking place. If you want to see how people thought back then you can watch PBS "Eyes on the Prize" and see how they used to treat other people back then. About Emmett Till. How they treated the white people who knew it was wrong and stood up with the black man to say it was wrong. Many were murdered. Some of you are having the same attitudes. And it's a better world when those attitudes die out instead of passing on your hate to another generation.

Please try to figure it out before you pass on your blind hatred to your children if you have any. Put less energy of your life into such ideas that have no effect on your life; you don't even know these people. Put more energy into loving the people around you a little more and caring for others who cross your path. Sometimes it's difficult to face such unfounded fears that society will break down because you will have to say to yourself that you were wrong. But try to be honest to yourself. Anyone who fights freedom has always been wrong in the past.

You want your legacy will be one of bigotry and hate for your kids to remember? They're going to be smarter than you and end up being ashamed of how their parents used to think in 2018.

eitech

Postby eitech » April 15th, 2018, 8:15 am

Dizzy28 wrote:Bible thumpers butt hurt by other people getting their butt hurt!!! Couldn't make this stuff up. So all who breaking another Leviticus law by eating some swine today??

What??? Leviticus says that? Where???

buscax

Postby buscax » April 15th, 2018, 8:36 am

Why do you keep comparing sexual perversions to the treatment of black people?
We have already established that the color of someone skin is biological and the desire to have sex with any of the variations listed is psychological.
Cause if it were biological and passed down by genetics it would never happen. Because a penis in an anus do not reproduce so does two vaginas.
And if this is your chain of thought. The nation should not be against pedophiles simply because they don't get consent from the object of their desire. Nor should men who like goats. Cause a goat definitely can't give consent. Because that is selective morality.
No one is passing on hate. No one in the group is saying to "bun batty man" or "them lesbians have to dead". I actually feel pity for those. I shall be passing on truth and wisdom in the spirit of love to my offspring I hope you do too.

brainchild

Postby brainchild » April 15th, 2018, 8:49 am

This really shifting to religion thread territory...buscax u confusing the two.
Maj tom talking about the response to gays being the same as the response to blacks at that time. Silly arguments to discriminate when at the end of the day they are just humans like the rest of us.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » April 15th, 2018, 9:27 am

Waste of time thread...since all adults here, most of whom will not waver in their beliefs.

Humans are never satisfied with where they stand for too long. They always want more, if not now, eventually. Part of the psychology of man.

This thread is basically a battle between atheists and theists. All I would say about this is respect to my fellow theists for what u believe.

The battle for "safe space" I would call it.

Postby maj. tom » April 15th, 2018, 10:19 am

So being homosexual is a sexual perversion? That's what the belief really is? That people choose to be in love with someone of the same sex because they're perverts and cannot be satisfied enough with the opposite sex? And because they have such thoughts, they are very lowly in life?

And what if you're wrong? What if it is as perverted as being left handed, or having heterochromia, or... get this, being overweight!
Isn't being fat a perversion of food? That one cannot control oneself and does not follow the gluttony rule in the Bible? So how come no prosecution of all the overweight people in Trinidad? Why no rallies? How come your belief only applies to this one set of people and you chose to illogically think that it's a sexual perversion?

Oh but you KNOW that being fat is way more than food perversion. Because diet and genetics are so complicated right? Of course you KNOW this... but then the logic fails you when you think about two gay people loving each other.

And your homophobia actually resides in fear that you, or your loved ones, your family, your son or daughter can fall into being gay by not keeping your sexual perversions in check. By you not teaching them the right thing because religion has always worked for you. That you would have failed them if they turn out gay. It's quite a fear eh? The fear then leads to hate that you cannot explain. And hate like that only hurts others and yourself.

Like I said, try to put less energy into hating or excluding others, but put more energy into taking care of the people in your life and the random people you will meet. I think you would enjoy your life more, and worry less about other people who you think have lost their moral way.

Postby Redman » April 15th, 2018, 10:21 am

Dizzy28 wrote:Bible thumpers butt hurt by other people getting their butt hurt!!! Couldn't make this stuff up. So all who breaking another Leviticus law by eating some swine today??

Lol....at the first
Stew pork and pig tail pelau for lunch on the second.

Seems the bible thumpers are being left behind by the RC archbishop.
He understands the difference between Canon or church law and state law.
And the evolution of society.

Postby redmanjp » April 15th, 2018, 10:54 am

brainchild wrote:Common sense laws...no bible necessary. Since when trinis so religious tho? What happen to all the prostitution, fornication and adultery taking place? Sins have a ranking system now?

Prostitution still illegal

Adultery destroys marriages and by extension breaks up families ( which by the way is mentioned in the preamble I.e. 'the position of the family'). If you go and do a survey of how many inmates in jail actually have a father you would be hard pressed to find any, thus our very crime situation can be linked to that. So maybe there is a case to be made to add adultery to the law books, especially since you're essentially going against the legal contract of marriage

brainchild

Postby brainchild » April 15th, 2018, 11:01 am

Yea, my bad with the prostitution.

Postby redmanjp » April 15th, 2018, 11:07 am

And since both the Constitution's preample mention of God and moral values as well as the Judgement in this court case which I linked to goes into religious principles at length as being the origin of the Buggery law I don't think it's off topic to discuss it.

Daran

Postby Daran » April 15th, 2018, 11:17 am

redmanjp wrote:And since both the Constitution's preample mention of God and moral values as well as the Judgement in this court case which I linked to goes into religious principles at length as being the origin of the Buggery law I don't think it's off topic to discuss it.

Absolutely makes no sense to discuss it because we are a secular country. Bible is also ok with slavery, stoning, no divorce etc. Get those things are illegal.

If a law or the Bible is the only thing prevent unf you from being gay then hoss, you probably gay and it's ok to be gay. You didn't choose to like man just like I didn't choose to like woman.

Postby redmanjp » April 15th, 2018, 11:57 am

^ a secular country with the supreme law of the land, the Constitution, nevertheless actually recognising the supremacy of God and saying that our rights and freedoms should be founded on moral & spiritual values.

I get your point with slavery. As for divorce, it was allowed by God even though he didn't exactly like it, but then who would? Certainly not the children of parents getting divorced, or even often times the couple themselves.
Last edited by redmanjp on April 15th, 2018, 12:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Daran

Postby Daran » April 15th, 2018, 12:00 pm

redmanjp wrote:^ a secular country with the supreme law of the land, the Constitution, nevertheless actually recognising the supremacy of God and saying that our rights and freedoms should be founded on moral & spiritual values.

Which God? And what is immoral about being Gay?

Postby paid_influencer » April 15th, 2018, 12:05 pm

Daran wrote:
redmanjp wrote:^ a secular country with the supreme law of the land, the Constitution, nevertheless actually recognising the supremacy of God and saying that our rights and freedoms should be founded on moral & spiritual values.

My religion teaches that it is immoral to eat meat, therefore the government must impose a 25 year imprisonment for anyone eating meat.

Postby redmanjp » April 15th, 2018, 12:12 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
Daran wrote:

My religion teaches that it is immoral to eat meat, therefore the government must impose a 25 year imprisonment for anyone eating meat.

Most people tend to cite Leviticus but that specifies ceremonial and civil laws such what you can or cannot eat which only applied to certain people and at a certain time, in other words they were not moral laws which on the other hand were applied to all nations and are timeless which includes sexual behaviors.

Postby The_Honourable » April 15th, 2018, 12:24 pm

GAYS KICKED OUT
3 men put out homes in buggery ruling backlash

Members of the gay community are calling for calm and tolerance as three young men who were at the forefront of a human rights rally celebrating the historic court ruling on the unconstitutionality of the buggery and serious indecency laws, last Thursday, have been kicked out of their homes.

The three men, social worker Luke Sinette confirmed yesterday, were evicted for being gay. Among them, one young man who was asked to leave his family home because he embarrassed them because he was seen at the rally. Another man was accosted and taunted as he arrived at his rented apartment and a third was told by his landlord that after his display at the rally he had to leave.

Sinette’s organisation, Friends for Life, has put out an appeal for people to open their homes for temporary accommodation for the displaced men who no longer have a home. Friends for Life is also asking for resources including couches and mattresses for them. He said the response has been good.

More: http://newsday.co.tt/2018/04/15/gays-kicked-out/