Re: Foreign Currency Usage Limits on Credit Cards

Postby Chimera » July 16th, 2024, 11:11 am

i was $10 off

Postby Dizzy28 » July 16th, 2024, 11:19 am

pugboy wrote:what are usd limits on fcb cards?

mero wrote:That's too much. Think you should double check that

Fcb platinum card is 450 annually
Signature(black card) is 600
Infinite is $1000 annually

$300 a month for personal card is nasty work
Visa classic is USD5000 per cycle

Used to be 20k per cycle as recent as 2018

Postby MaxPower » July 16th, 2024, 11:30 am

Infinite FCB (black card) is 8k

Republic black is 5k

Postby Chimera » July 16th, 2024, 11:31 am

the gold is 7500 usd, platinum 7500 usd, infinite 8000 usd,
signature 7000 usd for FCB

Postby mero » July 16th, 2024, 11:39 am

pugboy wrote:what are usd limits on fcb cards?

mero wrote:That's too much. Think you should double check that

Fcb platinum card is 450 annually
Signature(black card) is 600
Infinite is $1000 annually

$300 a month for personal card is nasty work
So is really that a month? Daz a whole POS machine rent and almost $3500 a year just to use a credit card. Real ballers yes

Postby mero » July 16th, 2024, 11:42 am

@ Chimera, quote wrong person dey

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 16th, 2024, 11:59 am

RBL platinum is 25USD / annually - USD limit 5000 per cycle
FCB platinum is 450TTD / annually - USD limit 7500 per cycle

Postby MaxPower » July 16th, 2024, 12:02 pm

Yeh boi Merz

Rel ballers jumping when money start to talk.

Postby Chimera » July 16th, 2024, 12:30 pm

if i not mistaken the scotia black card was only released in the last 3-4 years when getting USD monthly was already hard

all them other cards around for a real long time and piece by piece they cutting the USD limit down

i use to be able to use 80k usd a month across 4 fcb cards, now its $22,500

Postby Chimera » July 16th, 2024, 12:32 pm

the scotia black card is a premium banking card, it has different perks
a big one is you get quicker service at the bank when you go to a teller plus it have a whole section separate for premium banking

Postby pugboy » July 16th, 2024, 12:36 pm

scotia black card around a while

i had one for the premium banking skip line scenes at least 7years ago

but it was only $500 or $600 a year and you get access to many airline lounges around the world which was worth it
when scotia started clamping usd access i dropped it and just keep a gold card with cash back

was real shocked to hear the fees now

computercentral

Postby computercentral » July 16th, 2024, 1:52 pm

I hit a lounge in gatwick 6am - 8am hehe was only thinking about the card fees while sipping the wine and champagne

Postby Chimera » July 16th, 2024, 5:28 pm

10k usd a month is well worth the $290 a month in fees in this timing.

Postby paid_influencer » July 16th, 2024, 7:52 pm

ppl paying 8:1 normal normal and allyuh studying $290 tt/month ?

Postby pugboy » July 16th, 2024, 8:07 pm

ent
$68000 vs $68290 is a .4% vs 17% at 8
lollll

paid_influencer wrote:ppl paying 8:1 normal normal and allyuh studying $290 tt/month ?

Postby bluefete » July 19th, 2024, 7:21 pm

And it continues:

Important Credit Card Notice:
Reduction in Foreign Currency spending limit effective September 1, 2024.

RBC is committed to being the bank for all of you and to providing optimal choices for our clients. Given current foreign currency supply constraints, we are striving to balance the requirements of our credit card clients with the availability of foreign exchange (FX) supplies. To address this, we are revising FX limits on our credit cards.

Effective September 1, 2024, FX limits on RBC credit cards will be adjusted as follows:

Personal Banking and Business Banking Clients (excluding Private Banking): Credit cardholders monthly limits will be reduced from TTD51,000 to TTD41,000 in FX equivalent to a maximum of the account’s credit limit, whichever is less.

Please note: Local TTD transactions remain unaffected.

We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause. If you have any questions, please contact our Client Advice Centre at +1(868) 800-1722, or reach out to your relationship manager.

Thank you for being a valued client of RBC.

Postby zoom rader » July 19th, 2024, 8:08 pm

^^^ What do u expect when u sell Caroni & Petrotrin.

PNM turn an islands in to waiters & maids to feed 1% .

Carry on

Postby hover11 » September 20th, 2024, 6:53 pm

Thank you PNM for yet another forex blow
FB_IMG_1726869960613.jpg

Postby The_Honourable » September 20th, 2024, 8:39 pm

Further clamping down on forex while forcing you to use credit cards.

I suspect when trinis went to the US for vacation over the holidays, there was an increase in debit card usage at POS while many was withdrawing cash from the ATM.

I don't know what it is with scotia... if canada got more involved or if they are getting ready to bail out but their services have deteriorated over the last few years.

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » September 20th, 2024, 9:29 pm

Anyone on this CHEd have a cash secured credit card?

Postby pugboy » September 20th, 2024, 9:29 pm

i know a few ppl who have their cards in foreign pretty much permanently with somebody pulling cash every day or another day
another person migrated and this is how they convert

what is the limit for the other banks using debit cards to do this?

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » September 20th, 2024, 9:39 pm

pugboy wrote:i know a few ppl who have their cards in foreign pretty much permanently with somebody pulling cash every day or another day

Who settles the balance monthly?
How do they renew the card when it expires?

Postby zoom rader » September 20th, 2024, 11:48 pm

All yuh want PNM

Take bull, jack arse country

Postby The_Honourable » September 20th, 2024, 11:53 pm

zoom rader wrote:All yuh want PNM

Take bull, jack arse country

ALL YUH!?

zoom not me sir :lol:

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » September 21st, 2024, 5:13 am

AlphaMan wrote:
pugboy wrote:i know a few ppl who have their cards in foreign pretty much permanently with somebody pulling cash every day or another day

Who settles the balance monthly?
How do they renew the card when it expires?

Just pay it off by transferring money from your TTD savings account. Just have someone DHL the new card or you could visit TT if you absolutely have to. It's especially useful if you've sold off some major asset and the money is just sitting there and you can't get forex for transfers.

Postby pugboy » September 21st, 2024, 8:23 am

it’s the regular debit card
ie you doing a atm withdrawal in canada or usa and getting usd from your tt account
no need to do anything once your acct has the funds
Last edited by pugboy on September 21st, 2024, 8:47 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby hover11 » September 21st, 2024, 8:39 am

All these hoops men have to go through to access USD than just demand the government to do better when it comes to the forex situation

Postby Dizzy28 » September 21st, 2024, 9:14 am

hover11 wrote:All these hoops men have to go through to access USD than just demand the government to do better when it comes to the forex situation
The only alternative is devaluation
Unpopular opinion but IMO the situation has been managed to alleviate inflation for the average man.

A 30% official devaluation will affect you more than some businesses buying at black market rates.