The Law and Tinted Vehicles

Re: The Law and Tinted Vehicles

Postby sMASH » June 2nd, 2018, 3:15 pm

Developed countries that actually think about safety and changing stuff for the better have daylight running lights, we have lighting up hours scheduled out according to the ttps.

They allow for tint and bullet proofing, we neeeeeeeed outsiders to see what is inside the car

Postby De Dragon » June 2nd, 2018, 3:39 pm

j.o.e wrote:Trinis just spoil. If Police had a meter to read it they will argue that it not calibrated or some crap. I’m sure 99% of people who get ticketed/ting removes overdid it with the darkness. Men out here crying like they 35% always getting them in problems

Then by your logic, why use a breathalyser then? The officer could just smell your breath, and if he determines it "high scented" enough, then you're getting a DUI?

Postby j.o.e » June 2nd, 2018, 3:47 pm

j.o.e wrote:Trinis just spoil. If Police had a meter to read it they will argue that it not calibrated or some crap. I’m sure 99% of people who get ticketed/ting removes overdid it with the darkness. Men out here crying like they 35% always getting them in problems

Then by your logic, why use a breathalyser then? The officer could just smell your breath, and if he determines it "high scented" enough, then you're getting a DUI?

I think that a piece of equipment just for checking tint is overkill. That’s my opinion. It might not be popular but it is.
If someone feels that strongly about their tint contest the ticket.
I still think that the 35% tint while not officially the standard is a good guide. I am certain 95% of the people ticketed went beyond that. So if 5% of the let’s assume 1000 people a year get wrongfully ticketed we need specialized to machines to pacify them ? Over tint ?!!!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 2nd, 2018, 3:56 pm

Tint is even more subjective. And and officer may even choose to charge you for 35% because it’s dark outside and the interior of the car is black or his vision or light perception if different from yours.

A specific visible light transmission (VLT) level should be cited as the legal limit and then a meter should be introduced to enforce it properly.

Postby rollingstock » June 2nd, 2018, 4:09 pm

arakaras wrote:
rollingstock wrote:According to the Transport Commissioner.
I don't agree with it, but they are the authority on the subject.

Maybe someone will contest it, and let the judiciary have their input via case law, as is it stands.
So the Transport Commissioner decide to take it upon himself to interpret the law as he sees fit. Of course "any" means each. Last I checked the new fine structure doesn't say each either. This reminds me of when the PoS mayor took it upon himself to charge a higher wrecking fee that what the law stated.

You are correct the law is flawed as it's subjective and people sometimes over do the tint thing.

I believe that interpretation was after consultation.

Postby sMASH » June 2nd, 2018, 7:29 pm

j.o.e wrote:

I think that a piece of equipment just for checking tint is overkill. That’s my opinion. It might not be popular but it is.
If someone feels that strongly about their tint contest the ticket.
I still think that the 35% tint while not officially the standard is a good guide. I am certain 95% of the people ticketed went beyond that. So if 5% of the let’s assume 1000 people a year get wrongfully ticketed we need specialized to machines to pacify them ? Over tint ?!!!

when is 2000 for the ticket, and some men giving that per window, bring de light meter!!!!

and, what would be a case that a person can posit for a judge as to why they should not have been charged?

Postby pugboy » June 3rd, 2018, 6:30 am

one day a lawyer will get an injunction to stop them using "discretion" method and they will have to use a light meter.

I think just like someone said the majority of offenders use tint that is obviously way too dark and
they are not using tint for heat reduction

Postby redmanjp » June 3rd, 2018, 11:58 am

maj. tom wrote:You should invest in a pair of polarized sunglasses however, and wear them whenever you're outside. For your own eye health. There are good quality fitovers available everywhere and Rx isn't required.

How would those polarized glasses affect viewing a 3D movie though

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 3rd, 2018, 12:09 pm

redmanjp wrote:
maj. tom wrote:You should invest in a pair of polarized sunglasses however, and wear them whenever you're outside. For your own eye health. There are good quality fitovers available everywhere and Rx isn't required.

Who wears sunglasses or fit-overs in cinema tho?

Postby redmanjp » June 3rd, 2018, 12:26 pm

redmanjp wrote:

My bad I was thinking of regular polarized glasses like for short sighted ppl, not sunglasses. If they are polarized and not in phase with the movie it won't work, whether you wear the 3d glasses over it or not

shem1996_

Postby shem1996_ » June 3rd, 2018, 8:13 pm

Mercenary wrote:you want dark tint, pay a yearly tax...cause if u hav money to drink n spend on crap...pay a lil tax an keep yuh dark tint?
How so?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » June 3rd, 2018, 8:36 pm

Whoever using tint for heat reduction needs to either fix their car ac or lose some fcuking weight.

Kronik

Postby Kronik » June 3rd, 2018, 9:22 pm

I guess your AC does keep out UV rays and does run when the car park up. My NZE with
20% sides and a 70% whole front does make a big difference compared to my CS with just the 20% sides but no whole front, I have to use a polarised shades with the CS, not necessary in the NZE.
Next tint job will be the nano ceramic I think it is, not for darkness but for anti-heat

Postby eliteauto » June 3rd, 2018, 10:14 pm

^^def not for darkness as the 35% ceramic is pretty transparent vs 35% llumar and it was recommended that the ceramic not be used on the windshield and it's reflective at certain angles and attracts the attention of licensing officers when on the windshield

Kronik

Postby Kronik » June 5th, 2018, 7:24 am

For the one I checked out, the one for the sides is 18%, the one for the front is almost transparent

Postby pugboy » June 5th, 2018, 7:57 am

Installed the llumar air 80 blue on front glass yesterday
It’s almost clear, slight blue tint
Drove last night and did not notice any issues.
Will know today if it is an improvement on heat

Postby Ben_spanna » June 5th, 2018, 8:00 am

sadly none of these rules apply to the vehicles that are owned by Law Enforcers.
Take a drive by a few of our police stations and see how many of the vehicles parked there daily conform to the tint laws.
Some of them you wonder if they even have seats in them as you cant see inside at all!

Postby eliteauto » June 5th, 2018, 10:06 am

pugboy wrote:Installed the llumar air 80 blue on front glass yesterday
What's the cost? Looking forward to a review, I've been considering this option for my windshield as well

Postby Chimera » June 5th, 2018, 10:49 am

eliteauto wrote:
What's the cost? Looking forward to a review, I've been considering this option for my windshield as well

i did the "uv 80% blocker" by signboss

not sure if its llumar

cost $500 including putting back a dark top strip

the car at 5 - 7 seconds is the one i had tinted

majorrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr difference in glare and heat

Postby Chimera » June 5th, 2018, 10:51 am

i swear yuh cud leave your car in the hot sun all day with windows up...and sit down in your car immediately as soon as you ready, and that have legal 35% all around, not like the rest of the car have dark tint

the windscreen is a big big difference

Postby SR » June 5th, 2018, 11:08 am

Who did it for you motorcity does not have the air blue 80 but an infrared 70

Postby pugboy » June 5th, 2018, 12:38 pm

A guy near pbr by dinsley
Hmm dunno what he used, $600
He had to go get it as he doesn’t stock it.
But he seems to be a llumar shop as that is all he seemed to use in regular tint.

It is a big difference in heat reduction.
Parked in bhagwansingh sealots outside and when I went back it was not boiling hot
Did t have to run ac on full and withstand a blast of hot air for the first minute or so, cooling started almost instantly and running ac on 2 instead of 3.

Postby eliteauto » June 5th, 2018, 2:27 pm

Shop on the left if heading south on Dinsley? ACTS Automotive Commercial Tinting Service. Mukesh is a good guy did about 7 of my cars in the past his jobs last years

Postby pugboy » June 5th, 2018, 2:36 pm

Yes Mukesh

eliteauto wrote:Shop on the left if heading south on Dinsley? ACTS Automotive Commercial Tinting Service. Mukesh is a good guy did about 7 of my cars in the past his jobs last years

Postby skylinechild » June 5th, 2018, 3:21 pm

redmanjp wrote:

prob the same guy who wears his sun glasses at night....

Postby skylinechild » June 5th, 2018, 3:23 pm

can you say where u got the llumar and what was the cost for it ?

looking to grt my car done... all 4 doors the entire front windscreen in the uv blocking tint and the rear windscreen done in the same as the doors.

Postby RedVEVO » June 5th, 2018, 3:41 pm

skylinechild wrote:

looking to grt my car done... all 4 doors the entire front windscreen in the uv blocking tint and the rear windscreen done in the same as the doors.

So you going Vampire Mode ..?

You can get removable car shades that work fairly good.

Set (4) cost about $15

Postby De Dragon » June 5th, 2018, 10:41 pm

skylinechild wrote:

Yes, please post/PM this info.

Postby RedVEVO » June 6th, 2018, 12:26 am

skylinechild wrote:

Yes, please post/PM this info.

All the heavy dark tinted car glass are " gangsters in training "

When Police stop these "citizens" look @ them closely .

These are the peeps who headline the newspapers .

MarlonSam

Postby MarlonSam » June 6th, 2018, 2:05 am

thinking about putting in on my whole front glass