Bank Worker Found Dead in warehouse on Charlotte Street.

uncle sam

Re: Bank Worker Found Dead in warehouse on Charlotte Street.

Postby uncle sam » December 12th, 2016, 11:08 am

Redman wrote:You all need to think prevention and deterrents.

I dont want any one to experience the crime.....regardless of the post crime results the damage is done....Shannon and her family would all prefer her to be here and alive.

Stop the crime BEFORE it happens.

Personal Risk must be a factor for the criminal element s decision tree.

Right now it is not.

Enabling citizens to protect themselves will have an immediate impact on the crime.

Nothing else will have that immediate and permanent impact

yes be vigilant but you don't bring a knife to a gunfight. Enabling citizens to protect themselves can lead to more vicious crimes.. especially in domestic violence and sexual assault cases.

to me enabling citizens to protect themselves hints on victim blaming... that is not how u eliminate criminals

WarrLordd

Postby WarrLordd » December 12th, 2016, 11:11 am

First to begin with no system which this dam government trying to put in place would work it's another gimmick to try and shut the mouth of innocent hard working people to say oh they doing something. We need better systems, death sentences and harsh punishment. You feel is everyday a new criminal is breed and have the guts to take someone's life? No it's the elements that's already been there done that and as soon as they're caught released with no major evidence so it's back to square one. However if a certain government was in power and someone gets this law passed first thing people would say it's racial profiling

Postby Redman » December 12th, 2016, 11:28 am

uncle sam wrote:

I dont want any one to experience the crime.....regardless of the post crime results the damage is done....Shannon and her family would all prefer her to be here and alive.

Right now it is not.

Enabling citizens to protect themselves will have an immediate impact on the crime.

yes be vigilant but you don't bring a knife to a gunfight. Enabling citizens to protect themselves can lead to more vicious crimes.. especially in domestic violence and sexual assault cases.

to me enabling citizens to protect themselves hints on victim blaming... that is not how u eliminate criminals

Yes cuz the crimes now aren't vicious enough.

At this point limiting a citizens ability is a guaranty for things to remain the same.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » December 12th, 2016, 11:34 am

Those who have a vested interest in fixing the problem will fix it.

IOW not Big Gubbament.

Any positive changes will need to come from the people.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 12th, 2016, 11:36 am

Right now it is not.

How would Shannon have protected herself other than avoid the situation entirely?

I think non-lethal weapons like mace / pepper spray etc can help.

But with that low detection rate, criminals and would-be criminals are empowered

VII

Postby VII » December 12th, 2016, 11:40 am

WarrLordd wrote:Bandits need this

IMG_0872.JPG

Murderers need this

IMG_0873.JPG

Dais wah we talking bout! Bandits or anyone caught with an illegal firearm...lol they can't make a wrong move with that else is instant lockup,unless is a padna monitoring them of course,lol j/k.. 8-)

Postby Redman » December 12th, 2016, 11:52 am

Right now it is not.

How would Shannon have protected herself other than avoid the situation entirely?

I think non-lethal weapons like mace / pepper spray etc can help.

But with that low detection rate, criminals and would-be criminals are empowered

Well recent history clearly indicates the SYSTEMIC change needed to get the detection and conviction rate up.

In the mean time criminals HAVE guns.

The system as is is guaranteeing results favoring the criminals...not law abiding citizens.

Sure less than lethal is fine ....but I should be able to have a legal fire arm if I want.

Postby Slartibartfast » December 12th, 2016, 11:56 am

uncle sam wrote:to me enabling citizens to protect themselves hints on victim blaming... that is not how u eliminate criminals
Enabling the citizens to protecting themselves is akin to treating the symptoms of a disease instead of finding a cure.

Anyone asked themselves "what creates criminals?" First you need to figure that out and address it accordingly. I doubt a lack of firepower among citizens is what creates criminals. Therefore increasing access to guns would only act as a temporary deterrent until criminals figure out how to move accordingly. Who knows, they may just start shooting first when they come to rob you. Then, guess what, they have another firearm to add to their arsenal.

What is clear is that this problem is not going away unless some serious thought and strategic planning takes place (beyond the police commissioner just stating that some serious thought and strategic planning going to take place :roll:) Right now all we have is a bunch of unqualified individuals (especially tuners) just saying to bring back the death penalty and give everybody guns like that going to make anything better and not showing any reasoning beyond "yeah dat go stop dem".

*sigh* whatever yes.
Last edited by Slartibartfast on December 12th, 2016, 1:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Country_Bookie » December 12th, 2016, 11:59 am

So I work in town and might sometimes give co-workers a lift if I’m leaving late rather than have them walk downtown in the night. Depends on where they live, I might try to drop them home or close to where they get a taxi.
This story made me think tho, what if something happen to one of them? First thing ppl go say I was last seen leaving with them and TTPS go put up my picture all over saying I wanted in connection with something? I’ll have to think about whether I really want to put myself in that situation before offering ppl a lift in the future.

racedriverpro

Re: RE: Re: Bank Worker Found Dead in warehouse on Charlotte Street.

Postby racedriverpro » December 12th, 2016, 12:03 pm

Country_Bookie wrote:So I work in town and might sometimes give co-workers a lift if I’m leaving late rather than have them walk downtown in the night. Depends on where they live, I might try to drop them home or close to where they get a taxi.
This story made me think tho, what if something happen to one of them? First thing ppl go say I was last seen leaving with them and TTPS go put up my picture all over saying I wanted in connection with something? I’ll have to think about whether I really want to put myself in that situation before offering ppl a lift in the future.

Sadly u have a point.

Postby Redman » December 12th, 2016, 12:04 pm

We need to do many things differently if we want to reduce crime.

I'm suggesting one thing, (not the only thing) that in my view will enable those so inclined and qualified immediate protection.

how does allowing law abiding citizens..who are qualified to have fire arms impact or affect those who don't want fire arms?

It doesn't.

it's 15 years of this zero tolerance on crime....

Postby desifemlove » December 12th, 2016, 12:12 pm

death penalty won't deter nobody.

most murders are gang related. they KNOW they gonna get shot. or drug man know people will get him.

what difference is dead from gang men or dead in gallows? capital punishment is unethical though.

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » December 12th, 2016, 12:15 pm

Redman wrote:We need to do many things differently if we want to reduce crime.

I'm suggesting one thing, (not the only thing) that in my view will enable those so inclined and qualified immediate protection.

how does allowing law abiding citizens..who are qualified to have fire arms impact or affect those who don't want fire arms?

It doesn't.

it's 15 years of this zero tolerance on crime....

I hear what you're saying but I think you're being a bit naive to this culture of lawlessness.
1. remember the security officer who got shot in the palour? Right now another gun in on the street.. Ironically, they will come for you to rob you of your gun.

2. "who qualified"? you mean like how building contracts and HDC houses are given out? All the wrong people who knows someone will have a fire arm in this country... sad to say...

Your suggestions could only work in ideal situations

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » December 12th, 2016, 12:17 pm

desifemlove wrote:death penalty won't deter nobody.

most murders are gang related. they KNOW they gonna get shot. or drug man know people will get him.

what difference is dead from gang men or dead in gallows? capital punishment is unethical though.

agreed... and well they probably need to catch the criminals first to hang them

Sundar

Postby Sundar » December 12th, 2016, 12:17 pm

Better to be a warrior in a garden than a Gardner in a war?

Daran

Postby Daran » December 12th, 2016, 12:17 pm

desifemlove wrote:death penalty won't deter nobody.

I agree, the death penalty has almost zero effect as a deterant.

Our culture is one that not only turns a blind eye to crime, but many many people actively encourage crime so that they get a cut.

Unless there are zero tolerance laws, quick prosecution and a real geniuine effort to help broken homes and mental health issues then we'll continue to live with this cycle of crime.

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » December 12th, 2016, 12:18 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:
Redman wrote:to me enabling citizens to protect themselves hints on victim blaming... that is not how u eliminate criminals
Enabling the citizens to protecting themselves is akin to treating the symptoms of a disease instead of finding a cure.

Anyone asked themselves "what creates criminals?" First you need to figure that out and address it accordingly. I doubt a lack of firepower among citizens is what creates criminals. Therefore increasing access to guns would only act as a temporary deterrent until criminals figure out how to move accordingly. Who knows, they may just start shooting first when they come to rob you. Then, guess what, they have another firearm to add to their arsenal.

What is clear is that this problem is not going away unless some serious thought and strategic planning takes place (beyond the police commissioner just stating that some serious thought and strategic planning going to take place :roll:) Right now all we have is a bunch of unqualified individuals (especially tuners) just saying to bring back the death penalty and give everybody guns like that going to make anything better and not showing any reasoning beyond "yeah dat go stop dem".

*sigh* whatever yes.

That's me you are quoting, Redman won't be pleased about that...

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » December 12th, 2016, 12:24 pm

We are in so deep that we don't know what would work. All we need is a decent start in the right direction with the right attitude.

Postby Redman » December 12th, 2016, 12:32 pm

What creates a criminal is irrelevant...when that criminal is in your personal space with intent.

For all the high faulting concepts about the social causes and the legal solutions .....ALL of us will prefer to have the means to defend themselves and their families against the same criminal.

This type of discussion is necessary to get to what we need to do.

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » December 12th, 2016, 12:33 pm

We have too many intelligent people in Trinidad for us to be living in such a banana patch still. Our laid back culture, which I enjoy as well, I'm no hypocrite, is both a blessing and a curse, it has us relaxing on the wrong end of the barstool..

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » December 12th, 2016, 12:38 pm

Redman wrote:What creates a criminal is irrelevant...when that criminal is in your personal space with intent.

For all the high faulting concepts about the social causes and the legal solutions .....ALL of us will prefer to have the means to defend themselves and their families against the same criminal.

partner... that is way too late

Postby Redman » December 12th, 2016, 12:43 pm

It's too early to throw up our hands and give up.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » December 12th, 2016, 12:45 pm

Fixing the moral and ethical decline iz too big an issue for any one organization.

Thiz iza societal problem.

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » December 12th, 2016, 1:10 pm

uncle sam wrote:
Redman wrote:What creates a criminal is irrelevant...when that criminal is in your personal space with intent.

partner... that is way too late

I meant way too late, you are practically dead already. It has to stop before that.. most people can't think straight in those situations. Your solution/ suggestion is impractical

Postby Slartibartfast » December 12th, 2016, 1:26 pm

uncle sam wrote:That's me you are quoting, Redman won't be pleased about that...
Oops! My bad. Fixed. Thanks.

Postby Redman » December 12th, 2016, 1:33 pm

How is it impractical?
What's impractical about having a policy that allows some one to demonstrate their ability and desire to responsibly own a gun....and efficiently responding to that?

You have rendered a conclusion based on what data?
Again in that situation which would you prefer to have in your hand...a gun or a phone?
I'm pretty sure any level headed person will want a gun.

Use the stats on legal fire arms...we have a good history with very little issues...

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » December 12th, 2016, 1:50 pm

It's impractical as a first measure of curbing crime in Trinidad...

A new study, however, throws cold water on the idea that a well-armed populace deters criminals or prevents murders. Instead, higher ownership of guns in a state is linked to more firearm robberies, more firearm assaults and more homicide in general. [5 Milestones in Gun Control History]

"We found no support for the hypothesis that owning more guns leads to a drop or a reduction in violent crime," said study researcher Michael Monuteaux, an epidemiologist and professor of pediatrics at Harvard Medical School. "Instead, we found the opposite."

source

I read this article sometime last year... in this country where anything goes I am telling you, it's only going to be worst

Postby S_2NR » December 12th, 2016, 2:09 pm

Trinidad gone through. If you're fed up, my advice to you is to migrate. Life is generally much better in a first world country, even though there are problems there too. To hell with patriotism when the people you elected cannot promise you basic safety.

Postby Redman » December 12th, 2016, 2:20 pm

Depending on the politics of the website you're on that study is either inconclusive ...(finding no support for X does not support the opposite of X.)
Or crap and manipulated stats.

And why include suicide?

But my posts here were about ones ability to defend oneself and the family against a crime.

I'm advocating allowing those that want a gun and are qualified(no crime history,stable mentally and willing to submit to drug test etc)...to be able to get one.
I've never said anything about vigilante justice, or arming everyone willi nilli.

We have a system where a blank FUL application can be signed off by the CoP if he likes...or full proper apps remain ignored....that's sheit

CDC numbers show gun related homicides decreased while gun ownership increased.
I will find the link and post when I get back.

I would also say that we should use LOCAL data to inform our decisions...the US experience is way different to ours.

Postby MaxPower » December 12th, 2016, 2:27 pm

Redman wrote:How is it impractical?
What's impractical about having a policy that allows some one to demonstrate their ability and desire to responsibly own a gun....and efficiently responding to that?

You have rendered a conclusion based on what data?
Again in that situation which would you prefer to have in your hand...a gun or a phone?
I'm pretty sure any level headed person will want a gun.

Use the stats on legal fire arms...we have a good history with very little issues...

Redman i am sorry, but you will never be issued a licensed firearm in T&T unless you join the big league...i wish you all the best old sport