Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

BlueIce

Re: Wait..WHAT!!! Property Tax is back?

Postby BlueIce » February 24th, 2011, 8:23 am

lol guys i worked on the PTAX project and i am still employed under the ministry who is responsible for the project and all this sheit is just pure BS!!! i personally oversaw the scraping of multi-million dollar infrastructure put into place to support the PTAX system

so unless they gonna do it on paper ...lol this is jus normel bobol

PS : we are returning to the old land and builing tax

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 24th, 2011, 8:31 am

BlueIce wrote:lol guys i worked on the PTAX project and i am still employed under the ministry who is responsible for the project and all this sheit is just pure BS!!! i personally oversaw the scraping of multi-million dollar infrastructure put into place to support the PTAX system

There yuh have it.
Werd from the inside

thanks ice.

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » February 24th, 2011, 8:44 am

np
rowley really is an ass though, after reading all what he said and actually knowing the real truth i cant help but wonder why would he just get up one morning and say " ah gonna fcuk up kamla today , mek d pnmites rile up...nobuddy go know d truth neways"

Postby crazybalhead » February 24th, 2011, 8:46 am

Blueice, hook meh up with a gubment wuk nah dan???

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » February 24th, 2011, 8:50 am

All GOVERNMENT is the same....ah set ah failed promises!!!......Only studing money...

Postby sMASH » February 24th, 2011, 9:06 am

if the property tax was modified to just be based on the square area of the land that u own and the purpose it was bought, it would be fair. like 5000 sq ft of residential land in freeport would be the same as the same in valsayn.

they should not tax u for any items on ur land like ur house or fencing because they did not help u buy it, u bought it with ur funds and paid the vat on it.

the old land and building taxes still isn't as fair, but at least it is not more than what we were doing.

i dont see why they have building taxes, u already paid income tax on the income u earn, and vat when u bought the materials and paid for labor so u hadda be taxed a third time for ur house???

Postby tr1ad » February 24th, 2011, 9:43 am

AX THE TAX

whe d sheep?
2baa

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » February 24th, 2011, 9:46 am

Allyuh doh watch news orr, kamla say no property tax, rowley only misleading the public...

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » February 24th, 2011, 9:49 am

crazybalhead wrote:Northern South America is going to be the new land of milk and honey. mark my words, GUYANA/SURINAME/FRENCH GUYANA TIME NOW

doh hadda mark no words...
it happening all now!
I making a trip to d guyana soon to see if I could set up shop there.

Postby tr1ad » February 24th, 2011, 9:51 am

guyana FTW

Bezman

Postby Bezman » February 24th, 2011, 10:40 am

BlueIce wrote:lol guys i worked on the PTAX project and i am still employed under the ministry who is responsible for the project and all this sheit is just pure BS!!! i personally oversaw the scraping of multi-million dollar infrastructure put into place to support the PTAX system

tr1ad wrote:AX THE TAX

whe d sheep?
2baa

how about one donkey?

Postby tr1ad » February 24th, 2011, 10:48 am

take yuh time bez.....
yuh eh understand d inference

Bezman

Postby Bezman » February 24th, 2011, 10:50 am

:elephant: :elephant: :pokes:

geez man, couldn't help it, that was too easy :lol:

brainchild

Postby brainchild » February 24th, 2011, 10:55 am

Smelter making a comeback next!

Postby AllTrac » February 24th, 2011, 11:10 am

im very sure the PP wont make that mistake.......YET

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » February 24th, 2011, 11:24 am

if they are indeed returning to what was already there then why the the need to pass legislation?

why not just enforce the law and start collecting?

PS. the Protax system is NOT dismantled.......everything is on paused just waiting to be resumed if need be.

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » February 24th, 2011, 11:46 am

5onDfloor wrote:if they are indeed returning to what was already there then why the the need to pass legislation?

PS. the Protax system is NOT dismantled.......everything is on paused just waiting to be resumed if need be.

wow , it is a pity that you are mis informing the general public like this.

AGAIN : I worked on the PTAX project. I know every single thing on the project. When PP came into power the very next day they sent a letter to my office stating to DISMANTLE everything, and DISSOLVE THE ENTIRE UNIT( i laugh because i essentially voted myself out of a nice work lol). The office is closed , my position there has since been changed and myself as well as the entire team has since been split up into different ministries , all officers gave up every single thread of documents and its stored away for refernece on future projects, the entire multimillion dollar IT infrstruture that took two years to fully deploy has since been re-purposed for another project and the PTAX system cannot and fucntion without the core IT backbone at all.

if you know something i do not , please state your FACTS
Last edited by BlueIce on February 24th, 2011, 11:47 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby bushwakka » February 24th, 2011, 11:47 am

it stinks, but it doesn't surprise me

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » February 24th, 2011, 12:07 pm

BlueIce wrote:
5onDfloor wrote:if they are indeed returning to what was already there then why the the need to pass legislation?

AGAIN : I worked on the PTAX project. I know every single thing on the project. When PP came into power the very next day they sent a letter to my office stating to DISMANTLE everything, and DISSOLVE THE ENTIRE UNIT( i laugh because i essentially voted myself out of a nice work lol). The office is closed , my position there has since been changed and myself as well as the entire team has since been split up into different ministries , all officers gave up every single thread of documents and its stored away for refernece on future projects, the entire multimillion dollar IT infrstruture that took two years to fully deploy has since been re-purposed for another project and the PTAX system cannot and fucntion without the core IT backbone at all.

lets just say am perview to details am not allowed to divulge in any public forum :wink:

Are u still in finance? or moved to another Ministry?

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » February 24th, 2011, 12:13 pm

FACTS, where alpha_2nr...

Postby eliteauto » February 24th, 2011, 12:14 pm

BlueIce wrote:

between that and re-tasking the IT how hard is it to be rehashed?

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » February 24th, 2011, 12:27 pm

^^^ it isn't.....the "AXE the TAX" was all politics. Show me a Develop/ing nation that dont have a Property Tax Scheme? as for restarting/Resuming its not difficult to be done.

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » February 24th, 2011, 12:50 pm

sigh...

hey what do i know , i just worked at PTAX . i'm sure hearsay is more trust worthy than actually being involved in the project from beginning to end

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » February 24th, 2011, 1:11 pm

amazing what stray dogs look to bite at when they are hungry and desperate

SiR8081

Postby SiR8081 » February 24th, 2011, 4:03 pm

i lol'ed. the previous tax regime was repealed to make way for the new taxation system hence the reason no taxes were collected last year. there was no property tax and no land and building tax laws. one having been repealed to make way for the new but then elections were called etc etc etc

the tax being brought before us is the old taxation system. the gov't can't just say we collecting more taxes and tell BIR to collect more. it has to be law first!

what we have to look at is the rate of taxes, rowley says it has been doubled and can be tripled but how credible is he? he lied so much in one statement alone wrt this tax.

oh and rowley is right, the tax is "higher"

the old system uses the old values so you pay 7% or up to 10% as per the directions of the minister of finance on let's say $10 which can be up to a max of $1 taxes

under the pnm's system, you would have paid only 3% but your new property value could have been 5 to 10 times the old value

so you would pay 3% on $100 which would amount to $3 taxes as opposed to $1 which is being brought back.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 24th, 2011, 4:20 pm

Soundwave wrote:FACTS, where alpha_2nr...

FICTION.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » February 24th, 2011, 5:23 pm

well done Blue Ice.....and PM vehemently stated that there will be no property tax on the news last night self......

Bezman

Postby Bezman » February 24th, 2011, 6:33 pm

BlueIce wrote:sigh...

hey what do i know , i just worked at PTAX . i'm sure hearsay is more trust worthy than actually being involved in the project from beginning to end

breds dont study them, it's called a conspiracy theory for a reason..

on another note, saw you in the silvia the other day, looking sweeeeet!, made me miss mine :(

Postby sMASH » February 24th, 2011, 7:11 pm

u know what go go on, just like a fortune teller, they go keep sayin all kinda ting an as one right, they go latch on.

somebody should take count of all the wild allegations they make and how many come to fruition.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » February 24th, 2011, 8:54 pm

red sheep will be pleased with all of this hullabaloo though....