Race car runs into spectators at Wallerfield

Re: Race car runs into spectators at Wallerfield

Postby bluefete » July 27th, 2016, 8:52 pm

K74T wrote:
ADONI wrote:Guardian does real make mistakes these days!!!

GML needs an overhaul

What do you expect when they have a Brazilian in charge?? Portuguese fuh so.

Postby SR » July 27th, 2016, 8:57 pm

So where all the racers coming forward to donate blood.....only 2 stepped up so far

Re: RE: Re: Race car runs into spectators at Wallerfield

Postby Team Loco » July 27th, 2016, 8:57 pm

boosted_wrx wrote:He had the same drive line as the rx7, right where the rx7 began spinning out and lost control, the swift took the same line and you see he was slowing down but right at the same point where the rx7 lost control, Lyons couldn't slow down anymore, he began skidding, and his velocity remained constant approaching the stand, he had slicks on and it look like it had oil on the track, a sudden change in surface, and his abs look like it began to fail or he had complete brake failure, but you do see he was trying to slow down but he couldn't

Car doesnt have abs

boosted_wrx

Postby boosted_wrx » July 27th, 2016, 9:00 pm

Well then if there is no abs and he floored it, the brakes would have locked up

Zorak

Postby Zorak » July 27th, 2016, 9:09 pm

Poor barriers indeed. Also, it looks like there's a bank on the corner that basically became a launch ramp sending the vehicle airborne. If the rx7 didn't hit it sideways, it too would have caught some air.

Postby pugboy » July 27th, 2016, 9:11 pm

Wasn't there a tuner group who came together to donate a few years ago

SR wrote:So where all the racers coming forward to donate blood.....only 2 stepped up so far

Postby sMASH » July 27th, 2016, 9:17 pm

Is it hard to believe that a break line might fail as well as a part of the steering mechanism? The specifics may be different, put safety measures to protect against or reduce the effects of a mishap, regardless of how it was caused.

Could have oil on the road, gravel, tire puncture... What u need to implement is arresting measures for the vehicle that is moving with high energy, and not being controlled... what ever the cause.

After the vehicle is stopped, and the race is over, then u can have ur postmortem as to which oil line break or how much pump actuation the abs did.

Put up some linked tires to absorb energy and some tall beams to catch an airborne vehicle.
Just in case those measures don't work, don't place stands in line with high speed trajectories. Put them to the side... use hawk eye if u need to see the projected lines.

Postby MG Man » July 28th, 2016, 6:58 am

any update on the blood situation? Only now seeing that. I can try and donate today or tomorrow if it's still needed

Postby Kenjo » July 28th, 2016, 7:31 am

In general you guys should just donate blood. The same situation where there was a shortage due to ' reAgents ' to test the blood for diseases arose again last week but it MAY be resolved now so see how much you can help

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » July 28th, 2016, 10:57 am

Ignored Warnings on Motor Racing
Story Created: Jul 28, 2016 at 12:26 AM ECT
Story Updated: Jul 28, 2016 at 12:26 AM ECT

Was the horrible accident at the Wallerfield race track last Sunday bound to happen, or was it avoidable? Here's what we found out. Months before it happened, the Trinidad and Tobago Automobile Sport Association had been warned by the Ministry of Sport about conducting racing events under questionable safety practices. TV6 news got hold of a document in which the ministry outlined major concerns and we also learnt that an FIA official visited the track the day before the event.

http://www.tv6tnt.com/home/featured-links/Ignored-Warnings-on-Motor-Racing-388502922.html

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » July 28th, 2016, 11:40 am

^That's very damning. Outlook doesn't look good for Wallers

Postby Team Loco » July 28th, 2016, 12:38 pm

Hope everyone can come together and make sure it is kept but at the same time make sure safety is up to par. Yes yes , this should have been done before

Postby Morpheus » July 28th, 2016, 1:02 pm

And here I thought that all that was needed to move forward was to greatly improve the safety systems.

An FIA track safety specialist and a safety assessment team to come up with critical/immediate and long term action points for the ENTIRE facility. The track cannot be reopened until all the critical points are satisfied. Voila!

Things bad when there has to be so much anxiety over a total longterm track shutdown.......knowing that it is a real possibility

Postby MG Man » July 28th, 2016, 2:12 pm

Kenjo wrote:In general you guys should just donate blood. The same situation where there was a shortage due to ' reAgents ' to test the blood for diseases arose again last week but it MAY be resolved now so see how much you can help

I've been donating blood voluntarily since 1995. All I had to do this morning was fill out the form in the victim's name and I was done. I've given away a good 15 units to strangers over the years

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » July 28th, 2016, 2:50 pm

Kenjo wrote:In general you guys should just donate blood. The same situation where there was a shortage due to ' reAgents ' to test the blood for diseases arose again last week but it MAY be resolved now so see how much you can help

I've been donating blood voluntarily since 1995. All I had to do this morning was fill out the form in the victim's name and I was done. I've given away a good 15 units to strangers over the years

Cheers to you.
It's a noble cause and blood is always in demand.

Postby sMASH » July 28th, 2016, 5:32 pm

Most people get into the habit of donating blood after They are involved in a situation where they need it for someone and see how hard it is to get.

Postby pugboy » July 28th, 2016, 5:46 pm

Out of curiosity how do bandit and daily gunshot patients get blood ?

Postby 3stagevtec » July 28th, 2016, 6:19 pm

How the driver of the Swift doing?

Race car runs into spectators at Wallerfield

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 2nd, 2016, 8:14 pm

Just heard that Amrika Armstrong is doing much better and has been discharged. Her wrist is still in a cast and she may have to wear a back brace for months for her fractured vertebrae.
Tricia is also improving and has surgery scheduled for later this week.

Re: RE: Re: Race car runs into spectators at Wallerfield

Postby rspann » August 2nd, 2016, 8:20 pm

Team Loco wrote:
boosted_wrx wrote:He had the same drive line as the rx7, right where the rx7 began spinning out and lost control, the swift took the same line and you see he was slowing down but right at the same point where the rx7 lost control, Lyons couldn't slow down anymore, he began skidding, and his velocity remained constant approaching the stand, he had slicks on and it look like it had oil on the track, a sudden change in surface, and his abs look like it began to fail or he had complete brake failure, but you do see he was trying to slow down but he couldn't

Car doesnt have abs

Of course not, unless they do sit ups.

Postby K74T » August 2nd, 2016, 8:30 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Just heard that Amrika Armstrong is doing much better and has been discharged. Her wrist is still in a cast and she may have to wear a back brace for her fractured vertebrae.
Tricia is also improving and has surgery scheduled for later this week.

Good to hear!

Postby Morpheus » August 4th, 2016, 12:56 am

^^Good to hear. I was just about to ask...

Postby MG Man » August 5th, 2016, 4:50 am

sMASH wrote:Most people get into the habit of donating blood after They are involved in a situation where they need it for someone and see how hard it is to get.

not really nuh
over the years, whenever I've given blood to strangers, I've always asked them one thing in exchange: become a voluntary donor....in nearly every case, it has never happened....once they get your chit, you become an annoyance a few months down the road when you inquire about becoming a donor, which is partly why I stopped giving to strangers from my stash....still did it for the wallers victims tho....nice to see everyone pulling thru

Postby K74T » August 9th, 2016, 9:27 pm

Crash victims: Evidence unprotected

Lawyers representing those who sustained injuries when a vehicle flew off a race track in Wallerfield last month are accusing the police of dereliction of duty.

In a two-page letter, Attorney Kelvin Ramkissoon alleges that evidence relating to the controversial matter has not been protected.

As we learn in this report, the victims say the matter is not being treated seriously, and they are fearful crucial evidence may be lost.

http://www.cnc3.co.tt/news/crash-victims-evidence-unprotected

Postby Team Loco » August 9th, 2016, 10:03 pm

Always thought the car was impounded

Postby SR » August 10th, 2016, 5:10 pm

By whom?? And why?

Postby SR » August 10th, 2016, 5:12 pm

If anything investigation should be conducted by cmrc and fia with regards to the vehicle. Ita not like the vehicle is licensed for the road but a race car for a track

Lance

Postby Lance » August 10th, 2016, 5:31 pm

The point is not about who should be doing the assessment, it's about impounding the car to prevent tampering with evidence- and that's the job of the police.

Obviously the inspection and report will have to be prepared by an independent agency since the police would not have the expertise to speak on such matters.

Postby SR » August 10th, 2016, 7:49 pm

Who has jurasdiction to impound a race car that had an accident on a race track?? This is not an accident on public roads

Postby skylinechild » August 10th, 2016, 8:12 pm

SR wrote:Who has jurasdiction to impound a race car that had an accident on a race track?? This is not an accident on public roads

SR....i would think the police still has the jurisdiction to impound the car....after all it was an accident and there were casualties ...as to investigate....perhaps someone with more knowledge can give input.

think about it like this.... me and you driving on a PRIVATE road (owned and maintained by someone)
i drivin a 10 ton truck....u drivin a car like mr bean...i hit your car and tear it to shreads...u escape unhurt...

wont the police still want to impound the vehicles???? cause by law...an accident did happen.