Petition to Increase Highway Speed Limit to 100-120km/h

Re: Petition to Increase Highway Speed Limit to 100-120km/h

Postby pete » May 9th, 2016, 1:43 pm

BRZ wrote:hearing that they are in fact reviewing the speed limit for PRIVATE vehicles BUT that Pickups will still have to maintain the maximum of 65kms. Good luck to all you who driving fancy Pickups........

It would make an even more dangerous situation to have private vehicles at 100kph and pickups at 65 so I hope this isn't true. If they increase the private then they should increase the other vehicles as well by the same amount (if not make them equal).

Postby sMASH » May 9th, 2016, 1:50 pm

It is a law I don't agree with, and when everybody from captain to crook ent studying it, I must be the only jackass to follow it.

Hoss, I was going 100 a time and overtaking, when a popo xtrail run up on my bumper. I speed up a bit and pulled back to the left. When the xtrail, pulled alongside me, the hard look I get, papa. Then they speed off.
No sirens no lights, and enough time to keep along side me to burn me.

Many times, justice on time blow me when I doing 100 cause I holding them back... justice, JUSTICE!

all them black suv with blue lights, they drive on the autobhan.

U doin like if man can't make erroneous laws, and so no laws can't be changed.
Remember, it was the law to have negros as slaves. Or should they have enforced it without any consideration.
Remember also, the reason they said that they could be slaves is because they were engineered to be that.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » May 9th, 2016, 4:28 pm

sMASH wrote:It is a law I don't agree with, and when everybody from captain to crook ent studying it, I must be the only jackass to follow it. . .

This is a good example of why we are a third world country with a third world mentality.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » May 9th, 2016, 4:45 pm

sMASH wrote:It is a law I don't agree with, and when everybody from captain to crook ent studying it, I must be the only jackass to follow it.

Hoss, I was going 100 a time and overtaking, when a popo xtrail run up on my bumper. I speed up a bit and pulled back to the left. When the xtrail, pulled alongside me, the hard look I get, papa. Then they speed off.
No sirens no lights, and enough time to keep along side me to burn me.

Many times, justice on time blow me when I doing 100 cause I holding them back... justice, JUSTICE!

all them black suv with blue lights, they drive on the autobhan.

U doin like if man can't make erroneous laws, and so no laws can't be changed.
Remember, it was the law to have negros as slaves. Or should they have enforced it without any consideration.
Remember also, the reason they said that they could be slaves is because they were engineered to be that.

You know I could swear the vast majority of people actually obeyng the law so I dnt know where you getting the idea you is the only one followng it.

So what bout the popo ? In a red light I get a black tinted vehicle with blue lights blaring behind me to move aside in POS. I stop my car block them and demand they identify theyself. They watch me hard , then force a nex car to to move and drive off.

Partner a mine get pull aside, they say they have info he transporting ganja. He announce he pulling out he phone , pull out he phone, start recording and put it in he front pocket. My friend identify himself by name and address . Tell them to identify themselves by name and number . Start quoting police regulations .Police shrink down , just went through the motions and leave fast

If alyuh not willing to defend the law. Who will ?

Postby sMASH » May 9th, 2016, 5:22 pm

I obeying the speed limit too, as they have now decided to enforce it. 60 in meh waist, cause I ent want to cross d boarder!

Postby sMASH » May 9th, 2016, 5:29 pm

U could probably get away with Playing man for police. Me, I would get put in that trunk so fast. Usual supeck, dan.

But u don't get the point. the point I tried to make is that before, hardly any body used to adhere to 80k. Even the same people who supposed to enforce it, and the same people who could change it. Now it enforced, I will go along. It is not a human rights issue to hold road block and upset the goings on of the country.

I will do my 60km/h, bredz.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » May 9th, 2016, 6:00 pm

ingalook wrote:
Numb3r4 wrote:I think the speed limit should remain at 80km/hr. if only out of personal experience, anyone here every navigate the San Fernando Interchange. That is a prime example of several things:
1 Trinidadians drive too fast
2 They are very inconsiderate, little to no driving etiquette
3 Our roads are not properly engineered, clearly too much was trying to be accomplished in too small and area
4 Not to mention the frequency and the ease with which potholes and roadway imperfections appear, case the down ramp of the interchange as it merges with the South Trunk Road going toward Gulf City

Ammm... Sorry but... What this have to do with anything?

I guess you are talking about "cross crossing"..

The POSTED speed limit on that interchange is 40km (maybe 30 thinking about it), in my experience for a large portion of the day people drive way less than than - you'd be lucky to cross it over 20km most times.

It was designed after the fact, the designers had very little room to work with an thus gave us what South people affectionaly call the " Confusion Bridge"

Any South person worth his salt will tell you that it was a boon to South, the traffic at that roundabout was no joke, and this is back when we had half the cars we have today

To date I think there has only ever been 2 fatalities on this interchange (twin girls) and they were actually going straight but had a Kant driver

Glad you mentioned the speed limit on the interchange because at night when I used to use it don't think anyone knew that. Those low speeds only exist during rush hours....not an issue then anyway anywhere for that matter.

The other point is that we don't have properly engineered roads that was what I was getting at and I used that as en example, true as a "South Person" I admit it was a great help but more should have been done to really help the problem (looking at bus and maybe policy measures).

Given how critical and confusing the interchange already is why is there a massive imperfection in the road on the down ramp going toward Gulf City? That was my point we have roads that are not properly maintained and yet we expect to increase the sped limit? Not to mention the attitude of the drivers, when some would and continue to make the illegal "U"-turn opposite the entrance to what is it "Union Steel" can't remember.....or when you trying to merge they deliberately rev to close the gap instead of trying to help....or worst yet when they try to merge while on the phone.....

Another example, several parts of the highway are not level and are undulating, could you imagine going over those areas while driving fast.....yes we all can....but it is dangerous and I have been behind cars going over such spots and as a result of seeing those cars I now make an effort to not drive as fast in those areas and slower overall....but as I said we don't engineer our roads worse yet when it comes to maintenance. To have an increased speed limit means we need to REALLY improve our infrastructure and our attitude toward it.

The other two points had to do with driving behaviour at the correct legal speed we have now no one obey or even make an attempt to drive it we want to increase the speed limit, that can send the impression that folks have the "right" to go even faster. They already think it is their "right" to go fast, because they are well whatever they think they are.

Re: RE: Re: Petition to Increase Highway Speed Limit to 100-120km/h

Postby sMASH » May 9th, 2016, 6:02 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
sMASH wrote:It is a law I don't agree with, and when everybody from captain to crook ent studying it, I must be the only jackass to follow it. . .

This is a good example of why we are a third world country with a third world mentality.

First world doesn't mean drone like adherence to rules for the mere fact they are rules. It means establishing order, and implementing systems for the safety and advancement of the society, that the society is comfortable with.

If u were to estimate the number of vehicles that use the highways each day, then calculate how much time they have additional they need to add to their trip to accommodate adhering to the speed limit now, u would come up wit white a hefty additional time being don't on the roads, and not being productive or at leisure. That is just wasted time.

I not saying let people drive any speed they want, I just saying. Because of improvements to vehicle handling and safety, 80 is too slow and we can allow speeds up to 120. Because a highway is meant for more rapid progression of vehicles, have those speed limits increased. If the speed is too much for some to handle, they can take the more scenic routes.

The balance between human comfort, safety, and productivity is not at 80, but 120.

Postby redmanjp » May 9th, 2016, 6:15 pm

Supposed the speed gun has an error or is off by 5kph then that driver who was fined for 85kph could challenge it because he could have been going 80?

Postby De Dragon » May 9th, 2016, 6:26 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:

Then by your logic, the autobahns in Germany should not exist.

Re: RE: Re: Petition to Increase Highway Speed Limit to 100-120km/h

Postby sMASH » May 9th, 2016, 6:29 pm

redmanjp wrote:Supposed the speed gun has an error or is off by 5kph then that driver who was fined for 85kph could challenge it because he could have been going 80?

I wanted to jam Alexander on tv with that, ask him what is the error/tolerance of the device, and let him know cars would have a marginally greater error. So the cumulative error and any little variables like heading down an incline, u loose a bit of concentration for moment, might just result in an 85.
So u need a grace speed.

axe

Postby axe » May 9th, 2016, 7:18 pm

In any defensive driving class people huff and puff about laws not being enforced....but when the EXISTING LAW: Speed Limit, is being enforced you have a thread on trinituner full of whiners.

People who drink and drive complain about the Breathalyzer...
Now those who speed (illegally over the speed limit) complaining about the Speed Limit...
and incredulously talking about impact on productivity!

Force= Mass X Acceleration ....But then again people like me don't know anything according to those who like lawlessness

All of this explains the new generation of drivers and future drivers....complain about road laws not being enforced because they are lawless......

ARE YOU PEOPLE SERIOUS????

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 9th, 2016, 9:06 pm

axe wrote:In any defensive driving class people huff and puff about laws not being enforced....but when the EXISTING LAW: Speed Limit, is being enforced you have a thread on trinituner full of whiners.

Now those who speed (illegally over the speed limit) complaining about the Speed Limit...

Force= Mass X Acceleration ....But then again people like me don't know anything according to those who like lawlessness

All of this explains the new generation of drivers and future drivers....complain about road laws not being enforced because they are lawless......

This!

Postby Kenjo » May 9th, 2016, 9:13 pm

I don't think people ever complained about the breathalyzer being enforced. People complained when they were caught ! The speed limits need to be reviewed and everyone is pretty sure they would be upgraded . If you are going to do something you complete the whole task, not piece by piece . People will gladly adhere to an increased speed limit and who gets caught can't complain after .we need to be scientific and evidence based And transparent , not be reminiscing on some relative killed by some drunk driver and all the other emotional components .

Postby Rory Phoulorie » May 10th, 2016, 6:15 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:

The logic behind your statement clearly shows why Habit7 always bobolising you.

Real automotive and highway engineers in this thread here.

We need to put superelevations on our roads like the NASCAR Talladega Speedway with the speed limits you all proposing with the existing curve radii and coefficients of friction we have on our highways.

Postby sMASH » May 10th, 2016, 6:49 am

With my frontier, with increased weight handling springs and overall stiffened suspension, was able to do 140 on the highways with 110 round some of the corners. With the factory tuned suspension, it was 160 by 120.

The road surface did not disintegrate at that speed when I did it, when the police does it, when justice on time does it, when flashing lights suv's do it.

The highways were resurfaced a couple of times that I can remember and possibly a few more times since the introduction of the 80k laws.

And apparently 80k wasn't chosen because of safety, but because it was economical. And we just copied and kept it. And like the mommies and the banana, we have people fighting to explain the validity of 80.

People can handle 120 safely, the road could tolerate even more that 120 safely, a highway is intended for a faster profession of vehicular traffic, to facilitate progress, allow for 120.

And when u making a law, if it is unreasonable,u would find it being disregarded. I don't want ur laws to be routinely broken, u want them followed, so adjust for a compromise between safety, engineering, productivity, and human comfort.

Dinosaurs.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » May 10th, 2016, 6:52 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
axe wrote:In any defensive driving class people huff and puff about laws not being enforced....but when the EXISTING LAW: Speed Limit, is being enforced you have a thread on trinituner full of whiners.

This!

And how many times you guys broke the law between now and last week?

I bet you:

cross 40km on the Bye-pass
Cross 50km on Rivulet
Reversed onto a major road after stopping to buy something
Failed to come to a complete stop at a few stop lights
Drove barefoot (cause yuh eh want yuh slippers hooking up on de pedals)
Stopped on a roundabout to give a man a chance to merge

He who is without sin...

Just because something is the law does not make it right.

No one here is saying we should not have laws or enforcement, we are just calling for an updated level headed approach to our laws that considers all stakeholders

Postby Rory Phoulorie » May 10th, 2016, 7:05 am

sMASH wrote:With my frontier, with increased weight handling springs and overall stiffened suspension, was able to do 140 on the highways with 110 round some of the corners. With the factory tuned suspension, it was 160 by 120.

The road surface did not disintegrate at that speed when I did it, when the police does it, when justice on time does it, when flashing lights suv's do it.

The highways were resurfaced a couple of times that I can remember and possibly a few more times since the introduction of the 80k laws.

And apparently 80k wasn't chosen because of safety, but because it was economical. And we just copied and kept it. And like the mommies and the banana, we have people fighting to explain the validity of 80.

People can handle 120 safely, the road could tolerate even more that 120 safely, a highway is intended for a faster profession of vehicular traffic, to facilitate progress, allow for 120.

And when u making a law, if it is unreasonable,u would find it being disregarded. I don't want ur laws to be routinely broken, u want them followed, so adjust for a compromise between safety, engineering, productivity, and human comfort.

Dinosaurs.

:| And you are representative of all the drivers in T&T?

The most that the Government could legally increase the speed limit to is the design speed for the road. Anything above that and they open themselves up to lawsuits from the idiots who get into accidents on the highway and then go and say the Government put a speed limit of 120km/h on a road that was designed according to international standards for a design speed of 100km/h.

So for all of you calling for an increase in the speed limit and suggesting speed limits that obviously came out of your ass, go contact the Chief Highways Engineer (I believe his name is Colin Nakhid) and find out the design speed set by the MOWT for our highways. Then come here and make an informed statement.

Postby sMASH » May 10th, 2016, 7:17 am

^^, nice, so when something is designed for a specific limit, it cannot be exceeded without consequence. No matter who, no matter what. So police can't cross 80 because it is a matter of exceeding the engineered maximum safety limit, ministers can't go above 80 because it is above the maximum engineered safety limit.

It can't be engineered one way for me, then engineered another way for another person.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » May 10th, 2016, 7:37 am

Well then sMASH what you should be doing is petitioning your MP to have the TTPS obey the speed limits for their own personal safety. No sense in exposing the TTPS officers to even more risk on our nation's roads than the already high inherent risk in their job.

You are approaching this all wrong. Perhaps you should start a new thread with your actual concern.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 10th, 2016, 7:57 am

By the way why 120 km/h? I find 140 km/h should be the new limit. How yall arrive at 120? That too slow for me.

Postby j.o.e » May 10th, 2016, 10:28 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:By the way why 120 km/h? I find 140 km/h should be the new limit. How yall arrive at 120? That too slow for me.

155km//h is the sweet spot for me so say 160 and done

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » May 10th, 2016, 10:58 am

why not shoot for 200 and call it a day?

Postby aaron17 » May 10th, 2016, 11:07 am

sMASH wrote:^^, nice, so when something is designed for a specific limit, it cannot be exceeded without consequence. No matter who, no matter what. So police can't cross 80 because it is a matter of exceeding the engineered maximum safety limit, ministers can't go above 80 because it is above the maximum engineered safety limit.

It can't be engineered one way for me, then engineered another way for another person.

Take WIN!

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » May 10th, 2016, 11:09 am

with all this 120\130\140\150\160 talk is best we doh even bother with this whole thing ....

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » May 10th, 2016, 11:13 am

doh forget I suggested 200.. please amend your post

Postby DVSTT » May 10th, 2016, 11:16 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:Well then sMASH what you should be doing is petitioning your MP to have the TTPS obey the speed limits for their own personal safety. No sense in exposing the TTPS officers to even more risk on our nation's roads than the already high inherent risk in their job.

You are approaching this all wrong. Perhaps you should start a new thread with your actual concern.

Do as I say not as I do.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 10th, 2016, 11:16 am

MadCrix wrote:why not shoot for 200 and call it a day?

I like your thinking. The modern car is very much capable of handling this type of speed safely. Lol@120.

Postby De Dragon » May 10th, 2016, 11:34 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:

The logic behind your statement clearly shows why Habit7 always bobolising you.

Real automotive and highway engineers in this thread here.

We need to put superelevations on our roads like the NASCAR Talladega Speedway with the speed limits you all proposing with the existing curve radii and coefficients of friction we have on our highways.

So do you really think those extensive highways with sections of no enforced speed limits came "jes so'? There were extensive studies done before hand, and where a limit was needed like through urban areas, construction zones etc, one was enforced. The rates of vehicular related deaths on the autobahns of Germany were halved in the last few decades, but I guess you like your seeming new idol Habit7, conveniently chose to focus on the few who break the law and leave out where people don't mind the limit as long as suitable data was being gathered to support an increase in the limit legally. Also show me where I supported having no speed limits as the first course of action. I proposed a 120km/hr, and until then I will be doing my 80km/hr so take your time with the assumptions.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » May 10th, 2016, 11:38 am

i just LOVE how allyuh ppl does compared Trinidad to first world countries lol

when you start with that point, you have already lost the battle