UML wrote:Reshmi 2?
cnewsliveSEPTEMBER 14th, 2015: Cricket icon Brian Lara met with Dominica’s Prime Minister, Roosevelt Skerrit today. Lara, who serving as Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley's Special Envoy, is in Dominica to hold discussions with PM Skerrit to determine how T&T can assist the country in the aftermath of Tropical Storm Erika, which devastated the island on August 27, killing over 20 persons. PM Skerrit posted the photos with that caption: "@BrianLara your presence here so soon after an Election gives us hope that we are not in this alone."
Habit7 wrote:Flood protest
Published on Sep 14, 2015, 10:20 am AST
By Innis Francis
SOME residents living along the San Francique Road at La Fortune have blockaded the road, demanding that the newly installed government improve drainage in the area immediately.
The area was hard hit by floods on Saturday when a rainstorm developed in the Gulf of Paria and moved inland, causing flash floods in many communities located in and around the South Oropouche lagoon.
Residents said they had appealed to former Member of Parliament for the area Stacy Roopnarine to improve the drainage work, but she failed to act.
Residents said that the concrete cylinders placed at several locations could not handle the volume of water that came with Saturday’s torrential rains.
The road was blockaded with dirt and debris at around 3.30a.m and at 10a.m. the protest was still underway.
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20150914 ... od-protest
Minister sworn in on Friday, flood on Saturday. Within 24hrs the minister should have solved their flooding problem. Fitzy already start to stick.
A PNM campaign promise already broken
Published:
Monday, September 14, 2015
With the swearing in of our new Cabinet, Dr Rowley has already broken one of his promises which he has been making since earlier this year, by appointing 18 of his 23 Members of Parliament (including himself) into government ministries. In a T&T Guardian article of April 27, Dr Rowley gave a commitment that “fewer MPs will be in the Cabinet to form the executive, so there are fewer MPs and that makes for a more efficient Cabinet dealing with policy and other serious matters.”
Now while this Cabinet is indeed smaller than the previous, the majority of people who form the Cabinet (78 per cent) were taken from the Lower House, whereas the People’s Partnership Cabinet only had between 40 per cent to 50 per cent of their Cabinet members chosen from the Lower House at any given time.
In addition to that, Dr Rowley spoke of the merits of having less Members of Parliament in Cabinet, citing more “accountability” and oversight from the House in government matters, as its increased availability by MPs to attend Parliamentary Committee meetings to deliver on that pledge.
But as it stands now, there are only five PNM MPs without a government portfolio (four if you deduct the one person who would fill the position of Deputy Speaker) and you begin to realise that even from the beginning of his party’s term in office, whatever was promised on the campaign trail heading into the elections are now dust in the wind.
Ravi Maharaj
http://m.guardian.co.tt/letters/2015-09 ... ady-broken
UML wrote:Kidnapping: #1
And 7 killings:shock:
UML wrote:Habit7 wrote:UML wrote:Always a great role modelHello !
Night night...
Good evening all.
It's been brought to my attention yet again, a false profile bearing a picture of me with some damning words attached.
My inbox is full to capacity with some asking if it is indeed I, with some accusing me of racisim and some startlingly enough threatening not only me but my child as well.
The picture/profile is not me.
I repeat:~ the profile is NOT mine nor have I ever posted such words and sentiment anywhere on Facebook.
While the picture is mine (from a past show) that picture has never been used as my profile picture, on my Rachel Price fan page and my Rachel Price private page.
Indeed the said fake/false profile was first generated on a politically inspired account three (3) years ago.
Amazing.
Simply amazing to me the level of hate fuelled desperation one group of individuals can stoop to when faced with utter disappointment.
I've seen the comments, and at this moment I weep for my land.
I cried.
I've cried, dried my eyes and steadiied my feet.
I cried not because the hateful comments are directed at me and those I represent corporately. I've heard much worst, it comes with being Rachel Price. I focus on the good, the "bad" I glean whatever lesson given.
I cried in disbelief that someone, anyone, people can be so gullible and so motivated to believe the worst when Truth can be so easily accessed.
I have nothing to defend.
I have in my possession a complete report from the Trinidad & Tobago Cyber Police Div, ready at hand. I've had it since January 2015.
If I Rachel Price indeed said anything as such and posted it anywhere, to all those who've so hastily swallowed such, please show EXACTLY where it was posted. Where. WHEN. HOW?
The profile is a Facebook profile, search and publish any evidence pillaring that contrived post.
Prove WHEN that picture was ever used as my FB profile pic.
When have I ever posted anything without the word "bless" at the end?
Nothing, no one, no bitterness based on a fabrication will ever have me run from the land of my birth. In the face of all ugly being pushed & pumped in my direction I choose to not only live but thrive as is my right in my homeland.
For this day I've held my only babe in my arms, consoling her. Stroking her hair, kissing away her anger.
Acknowleging her pain and absorbing her hurt.
Nurturing, constantly reiterating the old adage "To whom much is given much is required".
What's required now is the strength of Truth.
Truth:~
I am Rachel Price a classless loudmouth, a cussbud, a fighter, a warrior, a comedian, an entertainer, radio personality, a businessman, a challenge to the status quo, a lover and a mother, a Queen.
I make no apologies for my onstage persona. I cuss.
Niether do I make apologies for cussin, offstage. Language in all its forms I consider nothing but expression.
Obscenity is relative to form.
Obscene to me, is the abject use of a lie to further fuel divisiveness in a land that welcomes peace between all races.
I refuse to be worn by the machinations and imaginations of rage.
I am Rachel Price first child of Jean.
I am Rachel Price a citizen of Trinidad & Tobago.
I am Rachel Price and in no way have I ever been politically alligned to any politician nor political party.
I am Rachel Price and no one with the hope of winning can ever accuse me of racism against the Indo-Trinidadian.
I have no "Indo-Trini" friends, I have FRIENDS. I know not the race of my friends. Those that are in my circle are in my circle, Love has no race.
I have no "Indo-Trini" fans, I have FANS. I know not the race of those before me, I care not at all who is in my audience. They've come to be entertained.
I have no "Indo-Trini" haters, I have fans in denial who have no clue how much the vibrancy of their energy propels me forward.
bless.
https://www.facebook.com/permalink.php? ... 4339191149
UML please stop taking every rumour, lie and concoction meant to sow racial disharmony posted on your UNC Facebook groups and bring them in tuner and pedaling them as the truth. The efforts of some of your fellow supporters are nothing less than seditious and I hope that they either act like patriotic citizens of T&T or move to some deserted island and make KPB their queen.
Seems like she afraid of the makeout or losing that nice Standards Distributors ad.
#boycottstandards
nismoid wrote:UML wrote:Kidnapping: #1
And 7 killings:shock:
Every time PNM in power there's elevated kidnappings, isn't it reasonable to assume then that the opposition who ever it might be are the ones responsible for the kidnappings in order to make the ruling party look bad? just sayin.
rfari wrote:
This began a couple months ago.
Uml, take my dotish advice. If u continue crying wolf then ppl wouldn't take u srsly when it really matters
UML wrote:rfari wrote:
This began a couple months ago.
Uml, take my dotish advice. If u continue crying wolf then ppl wouldn't take u srsly when it really matters
Yea 5 yrs from today you will be saying the same thing![]()
Kamla fault!
October eh!!!!
UML wrote:Well dey did say they will SOLVE crime, SOLVE corruption, make US$ AVAILABLE AS SOON AS they get into office, etc.
UML wrote:A PNM campaign promise already broken
UML wrote:
UML wrote:2 bodies found in our beautiful Tobago
1 body found in cargo container in Santa Cruz
K74T wrote:This elections kicked UML's chupidasfcuk levels into overdrive yes.
UML wrote:Lara in Dominica doing the work of the incompetent Minister of Foreign Affairs
One sweet thing about this election (and there are many) which ushered in Dr Keith Rowley, the leader of the Peoples National Movement (PNM) as the seventh Prime Minister of T&T on September 7, 2015, is that now people will have to learn to pronounce the name of his attorney general, Faris ‘Al-Ra-wi,’ instead of Al Wari. I saw a presenter do it on the news, very carefully as if she was walking on eggshells.
Frivolity over, I must congratulate the new Prime Minister, the Hon Dr Keith Rowley, on leading his party to victory in the September 7 general election.
I feel prevailed to do so as probably does every civic citizen to make up for the fact that outgoing PM, Mrs Kamla Persad-Bissessar has been unable to bring herself to utter the Prime Minister’s name, far less call him to congratulate him as convention requires.
A creative writing tutor and author once told me that if you want to find out the true mettle of any character in fiction, put a gun to their head. In other words, put them under pressure. I saw this in real life and like the rest of the nation, was astonished to see that there was no ‘concession’ in the former PM’s concession speech. We gathered that she would not have done anything different in the past five years, or during the campaign, that she has no regrets, that her party got the largest number of overall votes (Persad-Bissessar is feeling the pinch of dragging her feet on constitutional reform—specifically in proportional representation).
She delivered the formulaic words of a defeated leader in a democratic country, woodenly, simultaneously telling people to accept the results while saying her partnership got more overall votes.
At best, it was an example of bad manners to her supporters who, as she knows, make up more than half of the electorate. She demonstrated a pugnacious pride. Perhaps she felt that grace in defeat in public office would be equated with weakness? When she touched the feet of the President of India, I lauded her for her humility. After all, she pledged to serve the people of this country. All the people. Supporters and non supporters.
What happened on the night of September 7? At worst, it did nothing to stem the online racist rants by her following.
The next day, again, the former PM put herself and her party above the best interests of the people. Uncaring of further destabilising and igniting a racially fired up country, she challenged the Elections and Boundaries Commission to declare the September 7 general election results null and void.
We are not surprised because the campaign, the party, the Government was all blurred into the face of the leader, stamped on cups, T-shirts, walls, billboards, placards, and so on.
It’s dribbling out now. The ‘ideology’ and ‘policy’ of the People’s Partnership campaign, according to the former national security minister Gary Griffith was run like coke ad—‘coke is it, so let’s go, Kamla is it’. This was the basis of ‘Kamlamania’ where ministers were instructed to praise Persad-Bissessar in every public appearance. The entire campaign was based not on issues affecting people, not on the merit of various candidates, but on brainwashing, propaganda, treating the people like sheep.
Remember Kamla donning a hard hat to inspect flooded areas as her first act as PM five years back? She was going to be the people’s prime minister, we all thought with joy. How did it end? She didn’t think her supporters worthy of her presence at Rienzi Complex after her election defeat.
Some years back, at the Bocus Literary Festival, a visiting scientist gave us a fascinating lecture about power. It appears that before people get into power their intentions are pure. They want to serve the country. They want to improve the lives of the vulnerable, the ill, elderly and jobless. They want to provide education and health. They want to create strong institutions. They want citizens to feel secure. They want to clamp down on crime. What happens when they taste power? They are flooded with chemicals of well-being, which fills them with a heady hubris similar to people on cocaine. That explains the proud pumped out chests a few months into power. It explains the mistakes. It explains the inability to see their own flaws. It explains their intolerance of people who try to correct them.
All eyes are on the new PM, Dr Rowley. He has been hailed by President Carmona as a true statesman for his victory address, and further complemented by the president for “an address whose motif was one of genuine inclusivity to all, highlighting service to the country and that we the people of T&T are one.”
On the whole, we have to be proud of ourselves as a small island nation. All seven elections have been free of violence. Words are thrown and we are riddled with inefficiencies (such as the swearing-in fiasco,) but we remain a tolerant people. We are also getting less stupid, less sheeplike with every election. No one can pull the wool over our eyes with public relations. People now demand substance.
Perhaps the Prime Minister can take the example of Obama, who despite being one of the most powerful men in the world, remains statesmanlike. He resisted the cocaine-like rush of power and we hope Dr Rowley will too, and remain statesman like for the next five years.
There were some enjoyable electoral cut tails on Monday last. Send me your favourite. Mine is Garvin Nicholas. Tell me too who or what is the new Government’s biggest problem after Jwala Rambarran, sitting like a Reshmi in the Central Bank.
Following the 23-18 outcome of the general election in favour of the PNM against the UNC, thinly disguised as a partnership, I declare some other winners and losers.
First and foremost our country was a winner. Trinidad and Tobago has again risen to the big occasion of conducting general elections efficiently and changing a government peacefully.
Sadly, a bunch of sore losers began to attach the label “minority Government” to the new Government which has a clear Parliamentary majority and is not dependent on the support of any other party either to form a Government or to pass simple majority legislation.
These persons are purveying the phrase in order to suggest that a Government that does have a clear majority of its own in the House of Representatives may lack some degree of legitimacy because it may not have won a majority of the total nationwide votes. It has since turned out that the PNM has the majority of the total votes.
A genuine example of a minority government can be found in our recent history. Such a Government arose out of the 17-17-2 situation, which was the result of the 1995 election. On that occasion the UNC 17 was dependent on the 2 NAR Tobago seats to form the Government. The current result of 23-18 is quite different.
I make this point because labelling the newly elected Government as a “minority Government” was a backhanded way of suggesting that the result of Monday’s General Election should not be accepted. Such a backhanded suggestion is sour grapes and not consistent with our enviable track record of graceful transitions from one elected Government to another.
Shamfa Cudjoe, now MP for Tobago West, is a huge winner. Having been an effective Opposition member in the last Senate, she matured into a formidable public speaker during the course of the just completed camp. Her distinctive style may not be to the taste of some purists but she delivered unforgettable lines with searing self-confidence and had crowds cheering on her side without needing to deploy mauvais langue. She is a rising star.
The top loser was Vernella Alleyne Toppin, who flung the first dung of the campaign, even before the so-called silly season officially opened. I have already condemned her attack on Dr Rowley and the abject weakness of the then Speaker, Mr Wade Mark, who permitted it to run uninterrupted. A collateral benefit of Shamfa Cudjoe’s sterling performance is that it diluted the shame that Vernella Alleyne Toppin left on Tobago’s face.
Another loser was the COP. I have dealt with those castrati, but at least Prakash Ramadhar had the guts to keep on his white jersey and offer himself as a COP candidate unlike Bhoe Tewarie, whose apparent insecurity caused him to take off his white jersey and put on the yellow jersey of the UNC.
Of course it is possible that Tewarie’s change of colour was more than insecurity. Perhaps he is positioning himself in case the UNC has a “night of the long knives”, an expression made famous when a British Conservative Prime Minister carried out a brutal cabinet reshuffle involving seven ministers. Now that Kamla has lost her aura of invincibility, several fallen Partnership ministers may have their eyes on her throne and the machinations to overthrow her may be equally brutal.
NOTA, that is, the wish to put None Of The Above as an option on the ballot paper, was also a loser because it was impossible to separate the messenger from the message. Credibility was severely stretched when former Senate President Timothy Hamel Smith, who had enjoyed the highest benefits of the existing system, then attacked it.
Hamel-Smith had tried to be a third force after the former Prime Minister fired him. The Third Force immediately melted like shave ice in the sun and the NOTA media frolic followed the immediate melting of the Third Force. I suspect that all of this was an attempt to put off the betrayed COP adherents from taking their votes to the PNM.
Let’s not forget the collapsed Debates Commission and the pollsters (Bertrand excepted) among the losers. Some pollsters may receive attention soon regarding the interests they may need to declare.
Last but by no means least, in the immediate aftermath of the election, the office of the President let the country down by botching the swearing in of the new Attorney General and the new Minister of National Security by the President, when the President administered their oaths before that of the new Prime Minister.
“Sequential error” would better describe the months for which the controversial housing allowance was paid. Is it still being paid?
UML wrote:
shogun wrote:Both those articles were great reads.
Morpheus wrote:shogun wrote:Both those articles were great reads.
Indeed they were!