Diversification! Oil prices falling!

Skanky

Re: oil prices falling

Postby Skanky » December 16th, 2014, 6:29 am

RASC wrote:The mere fact that this individual constantly types "i" instead of "I" is enough not to take him seriously.

Agreed.
I stopped taking him seriously since his post about WTI dropping $20 on low liquidity....absolute nonsense.
Furthermore,all he seems to know about is going long,reinforcing the fact that he has no clue about markets or how money is made therein .

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » December 16th, 2014, 11:43 am

sMASH wrote:Raising the minimum wage, who pays the new amount? Normally the employer?
They would not absorb that additional cost. They would try to reaquire their previous margin of comfort. They would want to raise back the cash inflow to an an ammount where it was proportional to what it was before.

I.e. If they could have afforded three benz before the raise in minimum wage salaries, they want to afford he same after.

What they would do is raise prices of all goods and services.

So when u used to pay four dollars for a maxi and twelve dollars for a bread, now u gonna have to pay seven for a maxi and eighteen dollars for a bread.

Inflation.

People don't work to get more money. They just work to get money. If they did work to get more money, the statistics on absenteesim would be less.
When u study the hierarchy of needs, u ralize that only some of the people at only some points time are motivated to give more output with greater pay.

If people wanted to be good contributers to society, there would not be cepep.

Your ideas rely too heavily on humans making good economic decissions, the mere fact we have carnival I Trinidad and rednecks in America shows we do not spend money for the betterment of the economy.

The fact that China and Malaysia and other third world countries are go-to places for manufacturing; Switzerland, Bahamas, and the newer competing tax havens are go-to places for storing money or siting financial heads, show that companies are MOSTLY interested in cost reduction as opposed to high salary payouts.

There is a reason why is a trend to contract your work load rather than hire people directly to the company.
...Fleck, the information hack on Sony recently leaked their plan to cut costs to making their profit margin by reducing their expenditure...

this perspective is flat out deception and the pot calling the kettle black. i can provide you many examples of companies that have taken their own inititative during this worldwide economic downturn and are doing much better than their competitors for the simple reason i explained. faster circulation equals larger growth in a shorter space of time. the benefits outweigh the costs. because their employees are no longer disgruntled they provide better customer service, higher productivity and so these companies make faster turnaround leading to INCREASED profit margins. if you want me to spoonfeed you examples i can do that but there is a host of examples to be found on google in news reports.

so while you are decieved by the notion that higher wages = more layoffs it just means by what ur saying that the words 'tighten your belt' always must apply to the working class, while corporations take a piece of the working class belt to add to their own so they could hold up bigger pants. everything you say here about inflation is what is currently occuring due to these megaprojects and lagging wage increases that going on since under the pnm. using deficit spending to fund the corporations instead of the people, the trickle down effect fails to keep salaries up to date and so doubles went from $1 to $4. maxi fare went from 3 to 6. price of cigarettes and snacks all raised from $1 to $3 and $4.

so when you selling a perception, remember that it cant contain the same flaws that you claim to be guiding us away from. its obvious if you look at the current situation as its been developing over the years that the practice you advice, has led to higher unemployment rate and very low productivity from the workforce. no work ethic, no morale. you also saying you only hire desperate people. so ull never be able to retain people with true talent and brain. all your workers will be gofers. all is connected, including the brain drain. all caused by this notion that corporations deserve to suckle directly from the government treasury to support society through the creation of jobs. intercepting and wedging themselves in between the tax payers.

so now.. tell me how your advised route has PREVENTED inflation, prevented an increase in unemployment, reduced the occurence of criminal activity, and provided increased productivity. not on the books.. when you walk in the door of the establishment and make a request for service.

it is my view that companies can cut a slightly smaller profit margin in the short term to provide higher wages to staff and spur on faster turnaround, thus driving the economy through increased motivation and by extention productivity.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » December 16th, 2014, 11:46 am

i can explain it in laymans terms so anyone can understand and be the judge of what im saying. if each time 50bn circulates once u get 1bn profit. then obviously, if u make it circulate 3 times in the same alotted timespace ull have 3bn profit margin. that is efficient circulation. money is supposed to be a vehicle for HUMAN BEINGS to acquire their needs. nott to hoarde and cause tightening of the economy. if the money was circulating wed be doing better and the bottleneck is occuring before salaries division.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » December 16th, 2014, 11:49 am

Skanky wrote:
RASC wrote:The mere fact that this individual constantly types "i" instead of "I" is enough not to take him seriously.

Agreed.
I stopped taking him seriously since his post about WTI dropping $20 on low liquidity....absolute nonsense.
Furthermore,all he seems to know about is going long,reinforcing the fact that he has no clue about markets or how money is made therein .

says the guy who reads volume to determine whether an investment is worthy or growing investment. you all are the wallstreet trader types who down trade and devalue markets causing all this mess in the world. so u were rightly touted 'noobs' in my first response. put your hand in the fire, get burn and keep putting it back and then telling ppl hey try it it will stop burning eventually, this time half yuh hand done melt off. i turned 25 cents into $6000 usd. so tell me more about how i dont know how to choose investments or have no knowledge of markets. 25cents into $1000 in 1 month.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » December 16th, 2014, 12:23 pm

let me educate the educated. now tell me more about how paying your employees a living wage while TEMPORARILY cutting a smaller profit margin leads to inflation and higher unemployment. if you cut a smaller margin for wages and your turnaround increases 3fold u lose nothing. u may actually do better as this example shows. and there are many more i can supply.

http://www.theatlantic.com/business/arc ... il/274322/

if i dig back right here on this forum u will see where i said these same things a year or more ago. ive been saying it before that, just not on this forum.
Last edited by bluesclues on December 16th, 2014, 12:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

BRZ

Postby BRZ » December 16th, 2014, 12:33 pm

if this continues- the future for next year is not looking good!

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » December 16th, 2014, 12:39 pm

all that youve been led to believe is a lie. your reality is a delusion lmao!!

Postby sMASH » December 16th, 2014, 3:07 pm

I agree that what u say can happen.
My own former supervisor practices that concept: pay better, treat workers better, he also charges less for his goods. And his business thrives.

But he can only employ a finite number of people. The other businesses in his trade do not practise that and are of the mindset that I had talked about.

Frankly, there are not enough civic minded employers and not enough civic minded employees to make your strategy work.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » December 16th, 2014, 5:18 pm

sMASH wrote:I agree that what u say can happen.
My own former supervisor practices that concept: pay better, treat workers better, he also charges less for his goods. And his business thrives.

But he can only employ a finite number of people. The other businesses in his trade do not practise that and are of the mindset that I had talked about.

Frankly, there are not enough civic minded employers and not enough civic minded employees to make your strategy work.

let's keep it simple. instead of reaching to civic minded employees in a structure of business which entertains no compassion. let us just give jack his jacket by stating the fault is at the management level both for private corporations and government corporations. the vision employed, the decisions made, and the view of motivating staff is utterly corrupted by a slavery-like view of 'managing employees'.

quite understandable that that company will at the beginning be unable to afford as much staff as one who is squeezing the lifeblood out of his workers. but theyll be much happier workers. and so their productivity would and could meet the same level of output with less staff. just give it time and building of reputation and he will see the benefits over everyone else. if all companies took this view then employment wouldnt be an issue, which is why i suggest making the legal minimum wage decently above living wage. but dont worry, im not a total stonewall authoritarian. i can entertain other ideas that will allow them to operate paying staff below living wage and let them compete for employees against the companies that do.

the brains will go to the better paying companies and with their higher intellect for problem solving create a much more efficient and profitable business. and the cheapskates will be stuck with gofers and deplorable customer service until they go out of business at the hands of their competitors. that is also business and capitalism in line with their own philosophy of money changing in a heartless manner. so they shouldnt have a problem with it. if they dont want to play ball we can leave them to become like indigenous tribes. dying of the common cold and things the civilized world has long conquered.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » December 16th, 2014, 5:47 pm

example. ive worked places where i could handle the workload of 3-10 people and get it done all before the end of the day as they would. but what motivating me to put out more energy? more energy mean a bigger lunch, more juice to drink lol. and the reason is because their productivity is so low, and purposely so, they slow down everything they do. if a job usually takes 30mins they will get u all the justifiable excuses why it took 5hrs and make u get used to the idea that thats how long it takes too. and no matter what u do through reprimand u cant get them to increase productivity. that is where human psychology takes preference. humans have a line, if yuh reach the line there comes a point where no method of coercion will gain benefit except backing away from that line and not be trying to cross it. the line of 'nothing to lose'.

we have an employment problem in trinidad. and the government.. again is doing nonesense by importing immigrant workers.

they saying 'ok you all dont want to work for we chicken scratchings we will find ppl who do'

but guess what gone happen. them gone come here and work hard until they become naturalized, then they will jump on welfare too and quit working complaining about chicken scratchings. then what we'll do? import more labour and try to support a welfare system?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 16th, 2014, 5:54 pm

thread turn into a cripple fight between people comparing their mental p3n!s size oui.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » December 16th, 2014, 6:07 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:thread turn into a cripple fight between people comparing their mental p3n!s size oui.

another word for cripple fight must be 'civilized discussion' lol. for me this is classic keynes vs austrian economics. austrian having the better insight into economic recovery plans, while keynes seems only able to create businesses without managing the amount of power that business can grow to overpower even the government legislation thereby circumventing democracy and destroying the fabric of society.

Postby pugboy » December 17th, 2014, 7:27 am

thread way off topic now

2015 gonna be a global hell of a year

Postby sMASH » December 17th, 2014, 10:31 am

U have the reasons why your plan will not work in Trinidad... We simply do t have enough workers who want to be productive and enough management that want to be humane.

THat is all that I am saying.

Postby zoom rader » December 17th, 2014, 10:34 am

sMASH wrote:U have the reasons why your plan will not work in Trinidad... We simply do t have enough workers who want to be productive and enough management that want to be humane.

This boils down to Trini work culture.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » December 17th, 2014, 11:12 am

sMASH wrote:U have the reasons why your plan will not work in Trinidad... We simply do t have enough workers who want to be productive and enough management that want to be humane.

and all this falls in line with the job of the politician, to motivate and inspire the people of a country to work towards a goal as one people. and where necessary to be very persuasive. but if you focus on tribal politicking you lose that option as a politrickian.

Postby sMASH » December 17th, 2014, 11:47 am

^^ who lines u up with tt food card , cepep wuk, and hdc house.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » December 17th, 2014, 3:18 pm

sMASH wrote:^^ who lines u up with tt food card , cepep wuk, and hdc house.

Welfare state products that gained their necessity through government mandate. If people feeling exploited by the system and the government giving free food you dont think they will move to exploit that and drop out the job market to live on welfare? The immigrants might come and work hard at first, but if the same trend continues they too going and jump on fthe welfare wagon. If ppl was getting rewarding pay they will want to work and the need for welfare programs would be diminished to the point of being unnecessary. Remember wey
Beetham ppl come from? Grenada on the import of Dr. Eric Williams. He bring them in for the same reason. To give them opportunity.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » December 17th, 2014, 3:20 pm

And dont mind the capital letters eh. I on tablet with the default setting capitalizing for me. This touchscreen typing is a pain in the ass tho lol

Postby sMASH » December 17th, 2014, 3:51 pm

Opportunity ?.... Opportunity to vote!

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » December 17th, 2014, 4:35 pm

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » December 17th, 2014, 4:46 pm

sMASH wrote:Opportunity ?.... Opportunity to vote!

Lol agreed, but they also came in from a worse existence and trinidad was like the land of opportunity to them. They just didnt do enough with it. We justifying bringing immigrants to fill positions locals dont want now and who u think they will vote for? Not who bring them and give them jobs and better living? Until they try to get healthcare. Then they will join the voices in the street.

orangefox

Postby orangefox » December 18th, 2014, 6:00 am

bluesclues wrote:
sMASH wrote:Opportunity ?.... Opportunity to vote!

Lol agreed, but they also came in from a worse existence and trinidad was like the land of opportunity to them. They just didnt do enough with it. We justifying bringing immigrants to fill positions locals dont want now and who u think they will vote for? Not who bring them and give them jobs and better living? Until they try to get healthcare. Then they will join the voices in the street.

Not really "worse existence" but rather an opportunity to work for better wages.
The Canadian Temp workers ( agriculture )program is an example.

Postby toyolink » December 18th, 2014, 9:12 am

Oil Futures trading band for the next few months look like $60-$80.
This is quite instructive for our 2014/2015 national budget provisions.

Postby zoom rader » December 18th, 2014, 9:19 am

toyolink wrote:Oil Futures trading band for the next few months look like $60-$80.

If so PNM Ppl will not be pleased

Postby Redman » December 18th, 2014, 9:42 am

toyolink wrote:Oil Futures trading band for the next few months look like $60-$80.

Well these prices can catalyze so many different geo political scenarios that can affect peace, and oil supply that we could see spikes or...nothing...

I also note that most of the lower predictions on WTI price, came after the decline...

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » December 18th, 2014, 11:05 am

Redman wrote:

Well these prices can catalyze so many different geo political scenarios that can affect peace, and oil supply that we could see spikes or...nothing...

I also note that most of the lower predictions on WTI price, came after the decline...

i call ploy to attract suckers to absorb some exit cash and keep price afloat for ealier investors to make their escape. remember that question.. "how do 100million in stocks make their exit on a market with only 1mn in buy orders"? u use the media to give amateurs the idea that they can make a quick buck.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » December 18th, 2014, 1:27 pm

The casualties of cheap oil might include not just drilling rigs and megaprojects for crude, but also tens of billions of dollars in natural gas export facilities planned in the North America and Australia.

Some Gulf Coast export terminals have a head start that gives them an edge, but their would-be rivals might find it difficult to move forward as crude prices keep moving down.

The price of oil, now roughly half what it was in June, has a two-pronged effect on liquefied natural gas exports.

First, it lowers the cost of natural gas in Asia, where contracts for gas sales often are linked to oil prices. Already, the price of liquefied natural gas delivered to Japan has been dropping, right alongside crude.

At the same time, falling crude prices can suppress Asian demand for gas by providing a relatively cheap alternative.

"It starts to kill LNG," said Robert McNally, founder and president of The Rapidan Group, an independent consulting firm based in Washington.

"

http://www.houstonchronicle.com/busines ... 964433.php

Postby Dizzy28 » December 18th, 2014, 2:01 pm

This contradicts Zoom Rader's earlier posts about the North Sea oil industry

North Sea oil industry 'close to collapse'
By Ben King Economics reporter, BBC News
Dec 18 2014

The UK's oil industry is in "crisis" as prices drop, a senior industry leader has told the BBC. Oil companies and service providers are cutting staff and investment to save money. Robin Allan, chairman of the independent explorers' association Brindex, told the BBC that the industry was "close to collapse".

Almost no new projects in the North Sea are profitable with oil below $60 a barrel, he claims...........
http://www.bbc.com/news/business-30525539

Postby zoom rader » December 18th, 2014, 2:02 pm

^^^ First post, PNM tuner identified