Duane was dead wrong!Hybrid Cars cheaper to maintain!

Re: Duane was dead wrong!Hybrid Cars cheaper to maintain!

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 27th, 2014, 9:40 am

ismithx wrote:
~Vēġó~ wrote:auto prune resistance!

what does this mean

what does anything even mean, man?
What is the meaning of life, love, peace and this stale corn curls that I just found under my bed.
IS THE CORN EVEN CURLY?

Postby DFC » November 27th, 2014, 10:00 am

hybrid cars-no

high bread cars-yes

Postby K74T » November 27th, 2014, 11:05 am

Coehlo camshaft IYMC.

Postby Dizzy28 » November 27th, 2014, 11:07 am

DFC wrote:hybrid cars-no

high bread cars-yes

Looks delish!!!

Postby nervewrecker » November 27th, 2014, 11:31 am

sMASH wrote:Look wah I see in the miscellaneous bargain thread.

duane wrote:2005 trinituner rights

Well maintained, did body works 3 times. Has pc based and mobile app.
Monitored by ministers for better ideas.
Had one competitor, but trolls saw him off.
Included:
A lot of forums, advertising like dat, a band of moderators .

Issues: there are some trolls, tried banning but they keep coming back.

Reason for sale: got owned by pariaman, decide to give up.

No reasonable offers refused.

Phone not so Gud, got one screen shot. Watsapp for more pics.

1417042806683.jpg

No need for negative comments.

wah de ass :lol: :lol: :lol:

The Paleontologist

Postby The Paleontologist » November 27th, 2014, 5:42 pm

chulo45 wrote:I feel we mite hadda put Duane on suicide watch inno

The certificate come in the mail yet?

Nah boy, not yet. But I go give duane a bligh seeing how pairaman call him out so. But I want one for when I reach 500:-)

Arrow

Postby Arrow » November 27th, 2014, 6:01 pm

#comenahman !!

Postby 88sins » November 27th, 2014, 6:36 pm

i eh kno if ah wah a hybreed cyar nuh.

if ah was tuh mash dong on d hiway which one it does gee

fyaz or sparkz?

Postby nervewrecker » November 27th, 2014, 6:45 pm

Imagine a hybrid b14

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » November 28th, 2014, 8:37 am

b14 cannot be improved. never go there again or face the wrath of all b14 owners

Postby Mark! » November 28th, 2014, 9:38 am

nervewrecker wrote:Imagine a hybrid b14

HOW

DARE

YOU!!!!!!!

The Paleontologist

Postby The Paleontologist » November 28th, 2014, 10:02 am

You cannot improve perfection.

Postby Slartibartfast » December 1st, 2014, 8:01 am

D onniest whey to impoove a b14 is iffu giv it too me. Cuz errybody no dat d bes b14 iz my 1

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » December 7th, 2014, 4:51 pm

So I recently saw a Honda civic with Hybrid written on the back and this sparked some interest in hybrid cars.
Battery reliability was argued earlier using the Prius and the Insight with both reported to have good battery life...but the civic on the other hand wasn't so fortunate. Wiki, of all places, speaks about poor battery life for the 2nd gen hybrid (2006-2011) which are most likely among the used models to be brought into the country by used car dealers.
I am unaware as to if we have any recycling facilities for these batteries and also should it fail, how one sources a replacement. Buying these things used means that there really isn't a warranty to cover battery replacement.
What will be left is a small car with a small engine carrying extra weight in the form of dead batteries and an unused electric motor.
Now I still believe in the approach VW is taking which is to reduce displacement and use forced induction. Hybrids have their place...i just don't believe that it is worth the added expense currently.

food for thought
According to the Prices on the "New car prices Thread"
a Prius C is $239000
a Yaris is $176000 (fully loaded...whatever that means :) )
The difference in cost is $63K....if you put that into fuel at current prices it is over 23000 litres of super/over 10000 litres of premium.
Thats a lot of distance to cover to burn off that fuel and that is before the prius even moves an inch.

Now the prices for the camry are $1000 cheaper in favor of the hybrid...but i can't say when those figures were last updated

Postby Slartibartfast » December 8th, 2014, 1:29 pm

Good info... now for the maths behind it

Normal cars get about 30 MPG nowadays so
30 Mile per Gallon = 7.84 litres per 100 km

Let's say you going with premium so using the 10,000 litres of premium fuel.
10,000 x 100/ 7.84 = 127,551 km

So at current prices you most likely going to sell that car before it being a hybrid pays for itself.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 8th, 2014, 1:37 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:Good info... now for the maths behind it

Normal cars get about 30 MPG nowadays so
30 Mile per Gallon = 7.84 litres per 100 km

Let's say you going with premium so using the 10,000 litres of premium fuel.
10,000 x 100/ 7.84 = 127,551 km

So at current prices you most likely going to sell that car before it being a hybrid pays for itself.

By normal you mean new cars available on the market or the everyday cars people already own?

Postby Slartibartfast » December 8th, 2014, 1:44 pm

I mean normal for anyone who may be thinking of purchasing a hybrid (i.e. cheap new car or semi-expensive foreign used car). If you can't afford a new hybrid then chances are that this comparison doesn't matter to you.

EDIT: BTW I am not against hybrids at all. I think they should just price them more reasonably and start off selling only new hybrids. So minimum year for Hybrids is 2014 from now to 2020 and then you can import a 6 year old hybrid just like any other car. It will be a smoother phase in as opposed to just allowing anything goes IMO.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 8th, 2014, 1:58 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:I mean normal for anyone who may be thinking of purchasing a hybrid (i.e. cheap new car or semi-expensive foreign used car). If you can't afford a new hybrid then chances are that this comparison doesn't matter to you.

EDIT: BTW I am not against hybrids at all. I think they should just price them more reasonably and start off selling only new hybrids. So minimum year for Hybrids is 2014 from now to 2020 and then you can import a 6 year old hybrid just like any other car. It will be a smoother phase in as opposed to just allowing anything goes IMO.

Ok understood. It's complex though. Alot depends on the price bracket one is looking at. Camry Hybrid versus Camry normal is straightforward up to a point from the initial purchase with the hybrid being cheaper and saving fuel over the years. In the case of a prius though it's not really making sense even from the start because a comparable new car is almost $80,000 cheaper even with the removal of MVT and VAT on the prius.

Pricing more reasonably locally would mean the government subsidizing the purchase price of hybrids to bring them inline with costs of regular vehicles.

Postby Slartibartfast » December 8th, 2014, 2:32 pm

Cool. Is the price differences between normal and hybrid cars the same away as well?

Also, I think the reason why this works away is because fuel isn't subsidised so you break even a lot quicker.

But with little cost savings as is, I don't see trinis putting out extra money for a car that not giving extra fyaz. It makes a lot of sense in terms of the camry but cheaper cars sell more in Trinidad.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 8th, 2014, 2:44 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:Cool. Is the price differences between normal and hybrid cars the same away as well?

Also, I think the reason why this works away is because fuel isn't subsidised so you break even a lot quicker.

But with little cost savings as is, I don't see trinis putting out extra money for a car that not giving extra fyaz. It makes a lot of sense in terms of the camry but cheaper cars sell more in Trinidad.

In the case of the Camry the hybrid is actually faster than the regular Camry.

Price difference between Hybrids and normal cars away is the same if not then it is similar with hybrids costing more initially and many countries have incentives for hybrid and electric vehicle purchasers ranging from no VAT, no import charges to downright 25% off the purchase price of the car via a government subsidy. Car manufacturers receive the full price of the car in that last scenario by claiming back from the government.

Fuel prices here no doubt play a part. There is little incentive to go with a hybrid if it is using premium when you can purchase even a super guzzling vehicle and still potentially come out better depending on how much you drive.

Postby Slartibartfast » December 8th, 2014, 3:37 pm

Aite that make sense. Hybrid camry win. But otherwise if there were incentives just to make the price of hybrids the same as their regular counterpart (asssuming long as performance, features and trim remain the same) I would definitely go with hybrid. The technology seems to be pretty solid and well established now.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » December 8th, 2014, 5:30 pm

Keep in mind that I'm unsure as to when those prices were last updated. ..:smile:

PapaC

Postby PapaC » December 8th, 2014, 7:02 pm

So we getting to a good way to promote hybrids.We already have the subsidized prices, now is to cut the fuel subsidy so they make economic sense compared to regular fuel cars then.

Postby cinco » December 8th, 2014, 7:20 pm

Are they charging mvt on the hybrids at all? Most hybrids have a gas and electric engine. Wonder how I cud get an e4wd tiida as a hybrid

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 8th, 2014, 7:45 pm

kamakazi wrote:Keep in mind that I'm unsure as to when those prices were last updated. ..:smile:

Prius and camry hybrid prices up to date.

The Paleontologist

Postby The Paleontologist » December 9th, 2014, 6:35 pm

Come Nah Man

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » December 10th, 2014, 7:50 am

I think the thread title shud be changed or thread deleted.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 10th, 2014, 11:32 am

racedriverpro wrote:I think the thread title shud be changed or thread deleted.
what should we change it to?

Postby cinco » December 10th, 2014, 11:51 am

racedriverpro wrote:I think the thread title shud be changed or thread deleted.
what should we change it to?

#comenahman

The Paleontologist

Postby The Paleontologist » December 10th, 2014, 2:08 pm

I second that