Re: Men's clothes: how to wear it

Postby nervewrecker » May 9th, 2014, 2:50 pm

scotty_buttons wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:Still nothing for the maga man crew :(

Are you the maga when they wear a shirt and tie there is still a big gap in the neck??/quote]

Space is joke.

Maga as in I look like a clothes rack in the small shirts at Bradfords.

The smallest shirt there way too big for me. Children's size clothes actually fit nicely but nothing for work.

Do you even lift ??

Body small, upper arms not so small. Children's clothes fit but at the sleeves there ain't much space for movement.

Edit: shirt width just under the arms is like 16"

Looking to hit the gym after I finish off school though :mrgreen:

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » May 12th, 2014, 10:13 am

^Funny enough I don't recall you being that small...

Love this thread.
In the process of upgrading my wardrobe.

My biggest difficulty is usually shoes.
I have no arch in my feet so I usually end up buying bigger sizes to compensate for my flat long feet.

I'm 5' 9" and wear size 12 & 13 :|
Took advice from pg. 1 and tried on an 11 in Payless this weekend... Looks good, but I'm not sure how long it will last.

dineshb316

27 Unspoken Suit Rules Every Man Should Know

Postby dineshb316 » May 26th, 2014, 10:46 am

http://www.buzzfeed.com/peggy/unspoken- ... hould-know

Learnt a few things from this article.

Re: 27 Unspoken Suit Rules Every Man Should Know

Postby dougla_boy » May 26th, 2014, 10:56 am

there is a thread dedicated to a man's threads.....

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » May 26th, 2014, 11:12 am

no sufferers in here thats for sure

snatman

Postby snatman » May 26th, 2014, 11:13 am

opie should learn to not wear a suit in the tropics. Unless it is for opie's funeral.

dineshb316

Postby dineshb316 » May 26th, 2014, 11:54 am

snatman wrote:opie should learn to not wear a suit in the tropics. Unless it is for opie's funeral.

Thanks. That says alot. Lol

eel7

Postby eel7 » May 26th, 2014, 12:50 pm

Good points!

Postby Gladiator » May 26th, 2014, 8:56 pm

dineshb316 wrote:http://www.buzzfeed.com/peggy/unspoken-suit-rules-every-man-should-know

Very good post man... thanks

link

Postby link » May 27th, 2014, 6:47 am

Gladiator wrote:
dineshb316 wrote:http://www.buzzfeed.com/peggy/unspoken-suit-rules-every-man-should-know

Very good post man... thanks

ditto
social progress has many facets........
:wink:

cornfused

Postby cornfused » May 27th, 2014, 10:14 am

Mostly good points , only thing I don't agree with is the pocket square and tie combo as bland. I buy ties from many designers and they often come with matching pocket squares and cuff links . However pocket squares has become big business so one is not stuck to that combo any more .

On wearing the pocket square hold this

http://www.gq.com/style/wear-it-now/201305/the-gq-guide-to-pocket-squares#slide=8

I bought an imported Italian linen suit recently . Unless one is going to an event in a freezer ,those local polyester suits are too dam hot and heavy .

Postby dougla_boy » June 18th, 2015, 2:49 pm

this is one of the better thread's on 2nr....and yet, not one peep since 2014....

anyways, bumping this old thread in hopes it is visited regularly

saw this article....

http://effortlessgent.com/six-pairs-of-shoes/

i know that 1 or 2 of the shoes cant be seen as appealing to our local culture...but i guess thats where allyuh input is appreciated....

Postby crazybalhead » June 18th, 2015, 2:55 pm

YUCKK at those cap toe oxfords. And boat shoes. ewwww.

Postby dougla_boy » June 18th, 2015, 2:59 pm

well stop being so stingy and offer an opinion nah...

not all oxfords are terrible looking

http://www.amazon.com/Clarks-Farli-Walk ... 9%3AClarks

Postby crazybalhead » June 18th, 2015, 3:33 pm

^^ Those not bad. But the cap toe...nah.

Postby j.o.e » June 18th, 2015, 3:36 pm

D captoe nice, but as they say it's a more formal/dressy option. I wear one regularly to work..but I'm dressed very formally many time

daas

Postby daas » June 18th, 2015, 3:43 pm

Finally a thread that has real world applications :o

Personal peeve #1 for me - shirts that sag at the back. I wear slim fit shirts but i still get that god forsaken sag at the back. At first i thought that it came with the classic fit shirts due to the excess cloth but i get the same problem with my slim fit shirts :x

I want my shirts to naturally hug the shape of my back. You know if you look at a side profile of how you back gets smaller at the waist? :(

Postby j.o.e » June 18th, 2015, 3:46 pm

Try a military shirt tuck...it a hassle but it helps.

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » June 18th, 2015, 7:06 pm

Where does sell the best quality shirts for men in Trinidad (No matter the price)?

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » June 18th, 2015, 7:17 pm

Stefano's & Stephensons has decent quality in my opinion

PapaC

Postby PapaC » June 18th, 2015, 7:59 pm

Good bump. Because I need a good shoemaker. Have an Oxford I need the heel replaced.
Only shoemaker I am accustomed to is the people by the food court in Long Circular Mall.

Postby dougla_boy » June 19th, 2015, 5:23 pm

Btw...a good boos a man should have is only a Timbrrlands.....

daas

Postby daas » February 24th, 2016, 8:54 am

Anyone ever tried this?

Want to know if it will be an obstruction when sitting.

BoostJunkieXL

Postby BoostJunkieXL » February 24th, 2016, 9:13 am

great post !!!! i wish my social circle appreciated this....they just make fun of me...damn 3rd world mentality i tell ya...

BoostJunkieXL

Postby BoostJunkieXL » February 24th, 2016, 9:16 am

daas wrote:Anyone ever tried this?

its weird for me cuz wen i sit it kinda just hangs in what little space between my pants and skin :/ if u have a small built it should be fine...

Postby DVSTT » February 24th, 2016, 9:50 am

BoostJunkieXL wrote:
daas wrote:Anyone ever tried this?

its weird for me cuz wen i sit it kinda just hangs in what little space between my pants and skin :/ if u have a small built it should be fine...

I use the Y shaped ones. No issues really with them and they work pretty well, but I still think they feel a bit awkward. Price of fashion I guess.

daas

Postby daas » February 24th, 2016, 10:14 am

Does the clip damage the shirt or socks?

PapaC

Postby PapaC » February 24th, 2016, 12:47 pm

That looks a lil extreme to be honest. It's to keep the shirt tucked in properly?

Postby DVSTT » February 24th, 2016, 12:50 pm

Yea shirt is kept tucked in perfectly and I've never had them damage any of my shirts or socks. The clips on mine are a nylon material so it's cloth safe.

Postby ismithx » February 24th, 2016, 1:29 pm

BoostJunkieXL wrote:great post !!!! i wish my social circle appreciated this....they just make fun of me...damn 3rd world mentality i tell ya...

anyway, how does one wear clothes when their waist is relatively small... this is a question that I need answered