Sharma serves notice on "souped-up" cars

SweeP

Re: 'Souped up cars'

Postby SweeP » March 14th, 2013, 9:01 pm

Rx wrote:
Trini Hookah wrote:Seize all imprezas on nexens.

ALL.

wtf :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

FTL

Re: Sharma serves notice on "souped-up" cars

Postby FTL » March 14th, 2013, 9:27 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:diversionary tactics from the failed war on crime and an attempt to address general populace dissatisfaction with the present administration.
Correct. After all, it's not like accidents are caused by drunk police driving normal cars too fast! :!:

Mr.Bollywood

Postby Mr.Bollywood » March 14th, 2013, 9:32 pm

^^^^thank you sir the truth floweth forth!

Shio

Postby Shio » March 14th, 2013, 9:51 pm

so all box lancer have to come off the road then

Mr. Fixables

Postby Mr. Fixables » March 14th, 2013, 10:22 pm

I would like to see this law about modifications done to cars and the exact wording. I am sure this will not stand in court.

Anyways, modifications done outside the manufacturer's specs would include Rim upgrades, tire upgrades, stereo upgrades as these are all outside the manufacturer's specs .... LOL.

What they gonna do? Take apart my valvetrain to check for cams?

I guess this gives the green light to import more factory fast cars then .... control the drivers, not the cars.

Kirk

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » March 14th, 2013, 10:31 pm

What flavor do iz use to get my engine souped up to its utmost potential?

Postby shogun » March 14th, 2013, 10:38 pm

Mr. Fixables wrote: control the drivers, not the cars.

Kirk

:!:

Mr. Fixables

Postby Mr. Fixables » March 14th, 2013, 10:41 pm

Habit7 wrote:^^^what so wrong, fog lights are lower mounted lights to prevent the light bouncing back into eyes as does headlights in thick fog conditions.

nothing wrong with properly adjusted fogs, imo
but when you have kangkalangs who drive with headlights off and factory fogs on, and then tell you they get good visibility, you have to wonder
All this talk of modified cars would be irrelevant if they would just properly enforce the speed limit

By definition, a fog light is yellow in colour, a driving light is clear. I know someone who got ticketed for it, and it was thrown out of court after the definition was brought forward to these idiotic, uneducated, ignorant people we call law enforcement officers.

Kirk

Re: Finally, for the drop low men to take note :D

Postby Morpheus » March 14th, 2013, 11:54 pm

SR wrote:vehicles using hid lights in headlamps and fog lights not designed for it need to be taken off the rd at night.......

And during the day. Cause these kants still fascinated by them and driving with them on during the day :roll:

Postby nervewrecker » March 15th, 2013, 12:06 am

The Q7 that killed the people

The leggy that buss the woman in half

The junior sammy truck that open up the small maxi on the creek

The car that run into the police man and kill him

The countless police vehicles in accidents

The por-cha that run over the woman foot

How much of them sooped up?

All the pieces of junk that frequent our nations roadways that not road worthy, why they eh enforce law there?

What happen to the inspection garages that pass these sooped up veeklez? They see an rb25 tobo in ah 120y with stock braking system and it eh occur to them that it may be a hazard on the road? They passing it fo shore.

What happen to tint? How much crime that stop?

Again I saying it...sharma ah dunce kant.

Postby nervewrecker » March 15th, 2013, 12:09 am

And while I at it, the countless illegal drag vids all over the forum.....it ever occur to you gaiz that you mekking yo-selves an easy target?

Postby pete » March 15th, 2013, 5:28 am

nervewrecker wrote:The leggy that buss the woman in half

Wasn't it found that the woman was hit by another vehicle and then landed on the legacy?

Michael Knight...

Postby Michael Knight... » March 15th, 2013, 5:40 am

Wasn't this the same man who was involved in an accident when his own driver was overtaking a line of vehicles in an unsafe manner? How come he didn't say anything about road safety then? The jeep wasn't souped up, but it flipped over and caused injury to a number of people.

Sharma said cars unsuitable for the road were contributing to the high accident rate, which at the end of 2012 saw 35,000 collisions, with close to 200 people being killed. He said reckless driving and lack of respect for the law were alarming for such a small country as T&T.

Local Government Minister Chandresh Sharma was injured yesterday when his Toyota Prado SUV collided with another vehicle and flipped over on the Lady Young Road, Morvant, near the flyover.

Health Minister Dr Fuad Khan said Sharma was okay though he had some "soft tissue injury" and was in a lot of pain. He said he had left him with the neurosurgeons at the Port of Spain General Hospital, who would determine whether he would be kept for observation or discharged.

The incident took place in the constituency of Laventille East/ Morvant, and one of the first persons on the scene was MP for the area Donna Cox.

Cox said she was in her constituency office when she received a text from one of her executive members, saying Sharma was involved in an accident near the walkover.

Cox said she immediately went to the site and found the paramedics attending to Sharma while he was in his car. Cox said it appeared that Sharma was "coming and going" and was not all clear.

"I held his hand. He recognised me and I was speaking to him. I asked him for Fuad Khan's number, and he did remember Fuad's number off the top of his head to be able to give it to me," she said.

She said she stayed with Sharma until he was taken to the hospital and then she stayed with his driver, Anton Mitchell, awaiting the police and until someone came to empty the vehicle (which had all Sharma's documents and valuables).

The vehicle, which sustained damage, was to be taken by wrecker to the Morvant Police Station. She said although the driver had hit his head, too, he seemed to be able to move around. "I wasn't sure Mr Chandresh could have moved around," she said.

One of his doctors, Rai Ragbir, said it was a miracle that Sharma sustained only a sprained ankle and a bruise on his left cheek.

Ragbir was speaking to members of the media just outside the entrance of the Accident and Emergency department at the Port of Spain General Hospital, in the presence of the Prime Minister and other officials.

"He is fine and in good spirits. He has a lot of love around... for a vehicle to have flipped and not maintain any serious injuries is a miracle.

Ragbir said: "We have to be thankful that the minister and his driver are well; the vehicle got a bad lash

According to police reports, Mitchell was heading south along the Lady Young Road, in the vicinity of the walkover, when he attempted to overtake a line of vehicles. The driver swerved to avoid hitting a car and flipped several times, the report stated.

Sharma will be discharged today following standard observation overnight, Ragbir said.

She added Sharma is a wonderful person who "seems to need to rest right now", adding: "I told him he is in his third life. He had his original life and his second life when he was in an accident a few years ago".

Postby pioneer » March 15th, 2013, 6:01 am

I agree with law, take all dem ricers off de street.

Trinidad roads too small/short/narrow/digup to warrant need for ah tobo cyar

Postby Hook » March 15th, 2013, 6:27 am

While I'd like to see the statistics that Sharma used to make this claim, I remembered that Kamla pulled "6%" out of thin air some months ago. It would seem this government likes to imagine things.

xtech

Postby xtech » March 15th, 2013, 6:32 am

Sharma must be thinking this is how everybody does soup up

Zero fcuks given

Postby turbosingh » March 15th, 2013, 6:48 am

This will not come into effect Sharma is the MP for my area for over 10yrs now an the only time yuh does see him is 1 week before election an the usual lies we will fix the road,provide jobs blah blah!Plus he two Ms. man sons like so called fast cars like honda civics :lol: :lol:

bigchief3679

Postby bigchief3679 » March 15th, 2013, 6:59 am

The car that run into the police man and kill him

The Miata with the 13B?

Postby nemisis » March 15th, 2013, 7:34 am

turbosingh wrote:This will not come into effect Sharma is the MP for my area for over 10yrs now an the only time yuh does see him is 1 week before election an the usual lies we will fix the road,provide jobs blah blah!Plus he two Ms. man sons like so called fast cars like honda civics :lol: :lol:

he till your MP though so Alluh clearly like him...

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » March 15th, 2013, 7:37 am

while they at fixing drivers- how about FIxing Customs too,

xtech

Postby xtech » March 15th, 2013, 8:33 am

Was going to fix customs but PNM call elections early and UNC was for keeping them as is

Postby black start » March 15th, 2013, 8:55 am

braking the law beeches.....just installed a k&n drop in...

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » March 15th, 2013, 9:21 am

shogun wrote:Tote has to be emanating from somewhere near the minister.

I'm sure if the data is checked, they'd find most of the accidents are due to asswhole driving, rather than modification. ANY vehicle could be a weapon on our roads. They just looking for scapegoats.

This......

As mentioned before one of the biggest hazards on the road today is van drivers (Vigo, Navara etc) and this is what the Minister should be looking at.

Also what should be of concern is that making this illegal will most likely a person's constitutional right to enjoyment of property. This is a very, very bad idea. Probably engineered by the 'important people' speedmelter mentioned before.

:evilbat:

Crackpot

Postby Crackpot » March 15th, 2013, 9:39 am

toyota2nr wrote:
shogun wrote:Tote has to be emanating from somewhere near the minister.

I'm sure if the data is checked, they'd find most of the accidents are due to asswhole driving, rather than modification. ANY vehicle could be a weapon on our roads. They just looking for scapegoats.

This......

As mentioned before one of the biggest hazards on the road today is van drivers (Vigo, Navara etc) and this is what the Minister should be looking at.

Also what should be of concern is that making this illegal will most likely a person's constitutional right to enjoyment of property. This is a very, very bad idea. Probably engineered by the 'important people' speedmelter mentioned before.

:evilbat:

My good man, this government with the most incarnation of lawyers ever has been prostituting the constitution as they see fit. Only when it touches home do people make a issue out of anything.
The amount of other injustices done to the citizens with arbitrary definitions and interpretations, this my friend is just the latest to roll out.

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » March 15th, 2013, 10:10 am

Here a f{}cking brilliant idea!
How about actually ENFORCING the road laws DAILY?

why is the speed radar/gun legislation not in place already?
Why do people still daily drive on the shoulder, SPEED, do illegal turns? BECAUSE there is NO law enforcement.

IF they were to actually take a proper ZERO tolerance approach and start ticketing people daily things will change on the nations roadways, im not asking you im TELLING you.

More laws, zero enforcement- Same stupid drivers with no regard for any of the laws. no one cares, no one gives a fcuk.

Postby TRAE » March 15th, 2013, 10:15 am

i have a hangover-- RBFs post just made my head hurt more thinking bout some ah dem police actually working

Postby nemisis » March 15th, 2013, 11:44 am

What they should do is in addition too the stipulated fine add a two week unpaid suspension too all protective service employees caught breaking the laws of the road. Also once a month compile and publish on a Sunday papers the names of any ministers caught as well.

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » March 15th, 2013, 1:50 pm

Mr. Fixables wrote:
Habit7 wrote:^^^what so wrong, fog lights are lower mounted lights to prevent the light bouncing back into eyes as does headlights in thick fog conditions.

but when you have kangkalangs who drive with headlights off and factory fogs on, and then tell you they get good visibility, you have to wonder
All this talk of modified cars would be irrelevant if they would just properly enforce the speed limit

By definition, a fog light is yellow in colour, a driving light is clear. I know someone who got ticketed for it, and it was thrown out of court after the definition was brought forward to these idiotic, uneducated, ignorant people we call law enforcement officers.

Kirk

I had the opposite, my vehicle is equipped with the fog lamps(yellow) in headlight assembly, I was ticketed for having yellow headlights, went to court and it was kicked out when I proved that it was factory and licensed as is. Proper legislation is needed and training is needed before enforcement,In this day and age every road block I am pulled for my Daytime Running Lights.

Postby Morpheus » March 15th, 2013, 2:04 pm

kg494EJ-1 wrote:
Mr. Fixables wrote:

Kirk

I had the opposite, my vehicle is equipped with the fog lamps(yellow) in headlight assembly, I was ticketed for having yellow headlights, went to court and it was kicked out when I proved that it was factory and licensed as is. Proper legislation is needed and training is needed before enforcement,In this day and age every road block I am pulled for my Daytime Running Lights.

DRLs are already mandatory by law in Europe from 2012. Maybe it will be standard in other regions soon. So that even yuh lil Corolla, March, Swift may come with factory DRLs very soon. I'm sure the "authority" locally haven't a clue on that. Tickets for ah side! :lol: :lol: :roll:

http://ec.europa.eu/transport/road_safe ... dex_en.htm

aidan

Postby aidan » March 15th, 2013, 2:27 pm

Wasn't there some international studies as well that showed that DRL's reduce the probability of accidents? I think in Denmark it was found to be 37% and USA 9%. Why we so backward?