***The Official 2021 Formula 1 season thread***

Re: ***The Official 2014 Formula 1 season thread***

Postby noshownogo » April 8th, 2014, 1:44 pm

Where did Redbull find all that speed after the safety car?

Almost seemed like two different cars.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » April 8th, 2014, 4:02 pm

MG Man wrote:Thanks for missing my point completely, Uncle Sanct
^ ^ ^ We all have our "favourites" MG. I have absolutely no problem with that.
All I'm suggesting is a little more impartial balance in the debate... Just a thought.

Some find Hamilton sometimes acts like a spoilt brat... and I agree that sometimes he does.
IMHO the same can be said of ALL the current generation of F1 drivers...
It's been awhile for me :lol: but if I remember correctly... "It goes with the territory when you're that age"...
and so do the "screw ups" that often accompany aggression at any age.

I pay more attention to the level of driving skill shown... and less to the "prima donna" attitudes of most of the competitors.
At least, as long as it doesn't include bad sportsmanship (à la Ayrton Senna and Michael Schumacher of old... and these days Sebastien Vettel too)... That "pisses me off!"

For me, consistent "ballz out" aggression, kept under 100% control under adverse conditions, with ABSOLUTE focus... is the mark of a truly brilliant driver and IMHO like Clark, Stewart and Schumacher of old... Hamilton (like Vettel) has that talent.
(Yup, I know... I don't like Schumacher much as a person... but as a driver he was brilliant)
Nope, Hamilton's not always right... and not always bright... but Jeezuz H. Chrix what a brilliant driver!

If "specs" were also an factor, this would add to the debate...

Link--> Top 15 All-Time Drivers.

My $0.02¢

Postby MG Man » April 8th, 2014, 6:20 pm

Lol crix you doin like if you does have to ask...wait...mine or Uncle Sanctifier ones?
OoO

Postby MG Man » April 8th, 2014, 6:21 pm

And Uncle Sanct miss the point again
:-/

Postby Monk BANzai » April 8th, 2014, 6:59 pm

^^ which is?

Postby MG Man » April 8th, 2014, 7:19 pm

some wins are attributed to driver skill, some to machine....just an obser.....buh wait.....is you BAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA
how yuh doin, buddie :)

NR8

Postby NR8 » April 8th, 2014, 10:25 pm

Hoping for more races like last Sunday's!

Postby Monk BANzai » April 8th, 2014, 10:34 pm

MG Man wrote:some wins are attributed to driver skill, some to machine....just an obser.....buh wait.....is you BAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA
how yuh doin, buddie :)

lol i gud inno!! inno me...al lthis simmi dimmi analysis.... once Hamilzai (and now NicoRicoTico) hit podium i gud...meem care less bout this that and the other..

Race was good though....(finally saw it via torrent...) Hamilzai skillfully defended his position from NicoRicoTico.....

NR8

Postby NR8 » April 9th, 2014, 1:31 am

Haven't seen anyone mention the collision with Maldonado and Gutierrez. What y'all think about that? 5 place grid penalty seems like he's getting off very easy.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » April 9th, 2014, 3:59 am

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:Race was good though....(finally saw it via torrent...)

torrent... Hi BANzai. FYI you can see F1 "live" on cable on NBCSN (local Channel 161.)
Flow pkg = $29.00/mth (1 x KFC?) for Channels 161-166.
All the Car Shows that they used to have on Speed are on 161 & 164 (Chop Cut Rebuild, Gearz, etc.)

BTW WRC coverage is on #164(?) too. :wink:

ocularis

Postby ocularis » April 14th, 2014, 11:03 am

NR8 wrote:Haven't seen anyone mention the collision with Maldonado and Gutierrez. What y'all think about that? 5 place grid penalty seems like he's getting off very easy.

Firstly maldonado should not be behind a f1 car, then again the money he brings say another (I think it's more than what Ham, Vet or Alo is getting payed...lol).

About the penalty for not knowing how to use the break pedal *ugh, well with the rules being issued at the beginning of 2014 means every drive has a "clean slate", so while f1 fans are aware of his driving style and past collisions this penalty will just have to do, at least it ALOT better than past years where he got away....I still remember when he T-boned Hamilton (while in P2) on the 2nd last lap while all 4 tires were off track... @ss#ole.

http://www.formula1.com/news/headlines/2014/4/15691.html

Lotus's Pastor Maldonado has been handed a five-place grid penalty for the next round in China and given three penalty points on his Super Licence for causing the crash which sent Esteban Gutierrez rolling out of Sunday's 2014 Formula 1 Gulf Air Bahrain Grand Prix.

Maldonado ran into the side of the Sauber at Turn 1 on lap 41 of the 57-lap race, moments after rejoining the track from the pit lane. The contact resulted in the Mexican’s car being tipped into a spectacular roll.

Gutierrez was able to climb from his cockpit, while Maldonado continued with damage, but a lengthy safety car was needed to recover the stricken Sauber and clear the debris.

Stewards quickly decided Maldonado had been responsible for the collision, handing the Venezuelan an immediate 10-second stop-go penalty, as well as the aforementioned grid drop and penalty points.

Marussia’s Jules Bianchi was also deemed to have caused a collision during the race following an early clash with Gutierrez’s Sauber team mate Adrian Sutil, which led to the German retiring with damage.

Bianchi was given two penalty points, in addition to the drive-through penalty he served during the race. The Frenchman now has four penalty points on his Super Licence - 12 points lead to an automatic one-race ban.

ocularis

Postby ocularis » April 14th, 2014, 11:18 am

Sanctifier wrote:
BANzai Rastafarai wrote:Race was good though....(finally saw it via torrent...)

torrent... Hi BANzai. FYI you can see F1 "live" on cable on NBCSN (local Channel 161.)
Flow pkg = $29.00/mth (1 x KFC?) for Channels 161-166.
All the Car Shows that they used to have on Speed are on 161 & 164 (Chop Cut Rebuild, Gearz, etc.)

BTW WRC coverage is on #164(?) too. :wink:

tnx, u can also dload from http://forum.wiziwig.eu/threads/21744-Full-Race-Downloads/page239?s=48e440822c6f7363a25465ff51ee97b4

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » April 20th, 2014, 10:57 am

(China GP spoilers)

http://www.bbc.com/sport/0/formula1/26946444

Interesting read

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » April 22nd, 2014, 12:46 pm

So even with redbull within a second of the Mercedes, redbull in the opening laps were within DRS range, and even with redbulls wing fully open hto ont he heels of Mercedes, the Mercedes still pulled away!

Larrrd, well I guess if your cars are Really more powerful that every one elses you SHOULD win.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » April 23rd, 2014, 10:18 am

Speaks to a great engineering feat that the other teams did not think off. Same think like the blown rear diffuser of the red bulls last yr.

Props to merc for innovative thinking

Postby MG Man » April 23rd, 2014, 10:25 am

funny how it seems so obvious after you've seen it

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » April 23rd, 2014, 11:10 am

Yea.. Dem engineers thinking whey dah make sense lol

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » June 6th, 2014, 5:55 am

Link--> Wolff warns Mercedes drivers against on-track collision.

Link--> Merc will put 'sensitive' Hamilton 'back in shape' - Wolff.

Link--> Hamilton more naturally talented than Rosberg - Lauda.

Link--> Rosberg spat 'done and dusted' - Hamilton.

After all that, who's the "odds on favourite" for the Canadian GP on Sunday?... My money's still on Hamilton FTW.
Last edited by Sanctifier on June 6th, 2014, 6:07 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » June 6th, 2014, 6:04 am

Who will clout the wall of champions?

I hope Marussia gets in the points again.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » June 6th, 2014, 6:10 am

^ ^ ^ Marussia might find it difficult as both Red Bull and Ferrari come back 'on song.'

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » June 9th, 2014, 7:06 am

Great Race this weekend, I hope the Mercedes team continue to battle and push each other to the point of failure each and every race, then the rightful people can take the podium once again.

LOL- congrats REDBULL

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » June 9th, 2014, 8:20 am

What are the chances that your two cars, suffer the same part failure, on the same lap, at the same race. .. wow
Anyhow. ..I'm happy that Ricciardo won.
Hope Massa recovers quickly to the pace he has shown in recent time:grin:

Postby janfar » September 5th, 2014, 9:31 am

Monza this weekend. Spa was awesome. Great fighting all around.

BRZ

Postby BRZ » September 5th, 2014, 10:14 am

So FLOW Trinidad has removed NBCS from their lineup- just frisking great!

Postby janfar » September 5th, 2014, 12:45 pm

Serious... That sucks.... Live stream right thru then.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » September 5th, 2014, 1:02 pm

janfar wrote:Monza this weekend. Spa was awesome. Great fighting all around.

Was honestly backing Rosberg for the season until he took out Lewis like that.
Now I'm backing Mr. Smile

Postby noshownogo » September 5th, 2014, 2:12 pm

I'm not a Lewis fan but I want him to go on to win the title this season.

Should be an interesting race this weekend.

NR8

Postby NR8 » September 5th, 2014, 3:10 pm

Interesting to see if Mercedes will issue team orders. Toto did not look happy at all last race. lol

Postby janfar » September 6th, 2014, 10:00 am

Mercedes again... Looks like the McLaren drivers fighting for their jobs now. Hope to see a good fight tomorrow from Bottas and Massa

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » September 6th, 2014, 4:55 pm

noshownogo wrote:I'm not a Lewis fan but I want him to go on to win the title this season...
^ ^ ^ THIS!!

Much has been said for & against Hamilton in the past but nothing comes close to Rosberg's deliberate, calculated "spoilt brat" attitude.

IMHO his so-called "mistake" at Monaco and his deliberate "accident" at Spa puts him in a class by himself.
I hope Hamilton's reliability issues turn around and he can "res cut azz" on Rosberg to win the Championship.
I really want to see this happen to Rosberg before/by the last race of the season... Image Who knows, maybe Massa will give him the boot tomorrow.

My Image