Tuner Cooking Thread.

Re: Tuner Cooking Thread.

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 14th, 2013, 8:56 pm

Yep, that bloodline is awful, especially with with oily fishes like bonito.

Tried something this week but I didnt blog it. An interesting experiment with Balsamic vinegar and BBQ Sauce. Mind blowing results.

Postby Trini Hookah » February 14th, 2013, 11:05 pm

Pandy so when I could check yuh girl?

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » February 15th, 2013, 8:57 am

Trini Hookah wrote:Pandy so when I could check yuh girl?

M_2NR wrote:Pandora, I checking you during d week for food! :lol:

Me eh mind.. jess bring the ingredients and I will spend ALL night in kitchen for allyuh!! :lol:

Rooki3 wrote:pandora realllll showing off

Wait till I get my Degree.. and you have to call me Chef Pandora!! :mrgreen:

meccalli wrote: All fish have the bloodline running along the lateral line. It doesn't have to be removed, it depends on your tolerance to the taste. Its milder or stronger depending on the species, particularly endurance built fish like tuna that require high blood flow as well as fatty/oil rich fish.

Exactly.. I couldn't stand fish skin when I was younger and mommy cooked them as steaks.. now for some odd reason I don't mind skin..

Postby dougla_boy » February 15th, 2013, 9:31 am

question, since ur in training to be a chef, does that mean u have to eat every meat and veges and whatnot out there?

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » February 15th, 2013, 9:38 am

dougla_boy wrote:question, since ur in training to be a chef, does that mean u have to eat every meat and veges and whatnot out there?

No I don't have to eat everything.. But I have to be able to cook everything.
I'm being taught the science behind cooking.. the science behind every ingredient and it's reaction to heat(direct and indirect), cold, etc...

So lets say I am taught what happens during the cooking process to pork, then the science behind that process is what should lead me to be able to season the meat properly and cook it to perfect doneness. Never having to need to taste it.

Alton Brown used to annoy me in the beginning, but his teaching method using the science behind cooking is spot on!

Postby dougla_boy » February 15th, 2013, 9:46 am

hmmmmmm.......thanks for that info! i wanted to be a chef also, but that little part of not knowing if i hadda eat everything, turned me off. but, i may consider it again some day. thanks for the info!

Postby Trini Hookah » February 15th, 2013, 9:49 am

~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:
dougla_boy wrote:question, since ur in training to be a chef, does that mean u have to eat every meat and veges and whatnot out there?

I'm being taught the science behind cooking.. the science behind every ingredient and it's reaction to heat(direct and indirect), cold, etc...

So lets say I am taught what happens during the cooking process to pork, then the science behind that process is what should lead me to be able to season the meat properly and cook it to perfect doneness. Never having to need to taste it.

Alton Brown used to annoy me in the beginning, but his teaching method using the science behind cooking is spot on!

Excuse you, Alton is my hero! The Chopped host annoys me to no end though.

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » February 15th, 2013, 9:56 am

dougla_boy wrote:hmmmmmm.......thanks for that info! i wanted to be a chef also, but that little part of not knowing if i hadda eat everything, turned me off. but, i may consider it again some day. thanks for the info!

Look into the Associate's Degree in Culinary Management that T.T.H.T.I. is offering.
Now the school itself has some issues, and accreditation could be a bit honky depending on how you look at it, but the school opens doors for a lot of other avenues. For example, internships at hotels and restaurants locally, regionally and worldwide.

Postby dougla_boy » February 15th, 2013, 10:01 am

ramps, i eh go lie to u nah, but i read what u said there with an image of u snapping ur fingers and wringing up yuh neck

pandy, wat ur days like? i guessing the course is about 2 yrs long or so? is it a difficult course?

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » February 15th, 2013, 10:38 am

dougla_boy wrote:ramps, i eh go lie to u nah, but i read what u said there with an image of u snapping ur fingers and wringing up yuh neck

pandy, wat ur days like? i guessing the course is about 2 yrs long or so? is it a difficult course?

2 1/2 years part time..
Each Semester my schedule is Mon - Thurs 5pm - 8pm (general education courses) and Sat OR Sun from 7am - 4pm for labs (kitchen time).. This all takes place in Chaguaramas..

It is very tough, for many reasons.. it's not a go stand up in a kitchen and learn to cook kind of course.. They are preparing you to be able to run a kitchen according to the French Brigade system and also preparing you to run the Front of a Restaurant.

It's time consuming, you have no family life if you work during the day and do it part time like I do.
Your weekends are basically one WHOLE day in a kitchen, sometimes we don't get to leave at 4pm, depends on your topic for the day and your fellow students.

But.. if you're driven and goal oriented.. then maintaining a high GPA and having great ethics in the lab will be your reward.

http://www.hospitalitytnt.com/

http://www.hospitalitytnt.com/course.asp?course_id=1

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 15th, 2013, 10:40 am

~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:

That's uber cool. I wish I had some formal training, most of my cooking is self taught and done by instinct, smells and taste, so it's very limited in this regard, and I'll get some hits and misses on my meals.

I get a lot of inspiration on technique from watching Chopped and Iron Chef, so I get to push my boundaries there.

Sanch, are _you_ ready for a throwdown?

...j/k, I eh ready for pros like you yet.

Postby dougla_boy » February 15th, 2013, 10:45 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:most of my cooking is self taught and done by instinct, smells and taste

this is my gyal rite there! i see her cook curry already and stew, and she just smells and know wtf it missing.....or she will take a lil small taste an be like it need exactly this!

i tell her i gonna buy a 3pck of fish scalers to scrap her tongue with...lol

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » February 15th, 2013, 10:51 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:
~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:

That's uber cool. I wish I had some formal training, most of my cooking is self taught and done by instinct, smells and taste, so it's very limited in this regard, and I'll get some hits and misses on my meals.

I get a lot of inspiration on technique from watching Chopped and Iron Chef, so I get to push my boundaries there.

Sanch, are _you_ ready for a throwdown?

...j/k, I eh ready for pros like you yet.

ROFL.. I ain't pro yet hun..
But (don't let pios know this) I LOVE being in the kitchen!
I love cooking, my ingredients never fail me, like people do!! (That's actually my own personal quote!!) :mrgreen:

Being able to take my passion and marry it with formal training is just heaven to me.

Postby M_2NR » February 15th, 2013, 11:21 am

THROWDOWN!!!!!!!!!! Ohhhgudddd. I'm really enjoying this thread. And thanks for d offer Pandy. Good luck with the studies! I still Hadda get meh cook book

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » February 15th, 2013, 11:40 am

hear nah..

just as u training to be a chef... do we have - lets call it short courses - where u can go learn the basics...

for us folks who like to cook and wanna just get a bit more hands on experience from the pros

*and yes good eats and alton brown are the only good thing about food network*

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » February 15th, 2013, 12:00 pm

original_lollybob wrote:hear nah..

just as u training to be a chef... do we have - lets call it short courses - where u can go learn the basics...

for us folks who like to cook and wanna just get a bit more hands on experience from the pros

*and yes good eats and alton brown are the only good thing about food network*

Actually that is something I would like to do..
Offer a Series of Short Basic Courses to the average cook who just wants to have some more confidence in the kitchen.

But for right now, there is :-
Fanatic Kitchen Studios http://fanatickitchenstudio.com/
Chef Jason Peru, a Chef Lecturer at my school, is the Chef at that 'studio'

As well as my school T.T.H.T.I
http://www.hospitalitytnt.com/tthti/ima ... 202013.pdf

searchingone

Postby searchingone » February 15th, 2013, 2:43 pm

I think YTEPP sometimes offer short courses at various venues.

Postby gastly369 » February 15th, 2013, 2:51 pm

stuppesss i nowwwww done eat as i open this ched ah feeling hungry again :|

Postby meccalli » February 15th, 2013, 6:26 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:

Same.

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » February 15th, 2013, 6:31 pm

meh belly boiling....

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 17th, 2013, 10:44 am

Postby pugboy » February 17th, 2013, 3:34 pm

the real forums for cooking enthusiasts is egullet.org

Postby shogun » February 17th, 2013, 4:50 pm

Those roasted potatoes are a favorite here also, VexXx Dogg. She didn't make them today though. :/

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » February 21st, 2013, 9:35 pm

Curry corn recipe ?

NR8

Postby NR8 » February 21st, 2013, 10:15 pm

^^ Think that was posted earlier by Oleander, I remember someone asking.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 21st, 2013, 10:58 pm

When last allyuh suck a mango seed from a chow?

and who have a recipe for good garlic sauce (directed to chefs and cooks not allyuh 'allrounder' fans who want to post the obvious)

streetKING

Postby streetKING » February 21st, 2013, 11:06 pm

tonight's special......
IMG_0586.jpg
fries
IMG_0593.jpg
shrimp wantons
IMG_0583.jpg
shrimp seasoned with cayenne pepper/salt/b.pepper/garlic powder/sesame oil
IMG_0587.jpg
coated in flour&cornmeal mixture
IMG_0589.jpg
deep frying
IMG_0590.jpg
out of the fryer
IMG_0594.jpg
enjoy...

Postby Trini Hookah » February 21st, 2013, 11:23 pm

Lovely plating and everything man! Kudos

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » February 22nd, 2013, 10:45 am

Looks yummy..

Garlic Sauce
1 cup Mayo
2 tbsp Lime Juice
3 cloves Garlic
5 leaves Shadon Beni
2 lengths Chive
3 tsp Sugar

Put all ingredients in a blender and blend till sugar dissolves. For more watery sauce you can add milk or water.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 22nd, 2013, 11:32 am

~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:Looks yummy..

Garlic Sauce
1 cup Mayo
2 tbsp Lime Juice
3 cloves Garlic
5 leaves Shadon Beni
2 lengths Chive
3 tsp Sugar

Put all ingredients in a blender and blend till sugar dissolves. For more watery sauce you can add milk or water.

Thank you 8-)
Will try this next time I make a BBQ