Apple wins Billion dollar lawsuit vs Samsung

casper

Re: Apple wins Billion dollar lawsuit vs Samsung

Postby casper » September 7th, 2012, 8:51 am

so let me get this straight....when apple uses another company designs its a tribute and called "inspiration" even though u can clearly see that designs were copied for not only one product from d same company but many....but when samsung copies apple's designs its a billion dollar sue in dey MC??? rrrrrrrrrrrrrrrright....

just last week apple fanboys were saying "apple spent millions or dollars on product designs and R&D and samsung just come and copy it" ....millions of dollars in product design my a$$ :lol:

Strauss

Postby Strauss » September 7th, 2012, 8:56 am

casper wrote:so let me get this straight....when apple uses another company designs its a tribute and called "inspiration" even though u can clearly see that designs were copied for not only one product from d same company but many....but when samsung copies apple's designs its a billion dollar sue in dey MC??? rrrrrrrrrrrrrrrright....

Sounds legit :)

Maybe that's the standing Apple has (practically owning Hollywood and all).

When Apple copies you, you jump for joy. When people copy Apple, Apple brings down the ban-hammer. Sounds like big time Pirates of Silicon Valley to me :)

Strauss

Postby Strauss » September 7th, 2012, 9:14 am

Managing People
http://youtu.be/f60dheI4ARg

7 Secrets to Steve Job's Success
http://youtu.be/sQUnXDebn9s

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » September 7th, 2012, 1:47 pm

Difference is Apple paid to copy (licensed).......but still copied none the less.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » September 7th, 2012, 2:05 pm

ZeroOne wrote:Difference is Apple paid to copy (licensed).......but still copied none the less.

But that's a key to Apple success that Jobs said time and time again.

i.e. He said: Apple makes great stuff. But there are more people making great stuff who don't work for Apple. Instead of trying to invent everything (like in the 1970s—mid 90's), just adopt standards so Apple would spend less total R&D, yet more R&D would go into key technologies that they actually make better.

And Apple pays BIG money. Apple actually pays Samsung ALL money UP FRONT for components to produce the iPhone. And they do that with almost every supplier in order to get first preference with technology and supplies.

A big challenge Apple face right now is suppliers cannot manufacture the components Apple needs in the QUANTITY that they need them (screens, battery, memory chips).

casper

Postby casper » September 7th, 2012, 2:36 pm

i heard Sharp is also making screens for the new iphone....if i were to ever get one of those new iphones i hope i ent get from the batch that has Sharp screens na :lol:

Postby Sky » September 7th, 2012, 2:38 pm

^fraid you get cut when you try to use it? :P
They should all follow the same QAQC so I don't think there'll be a difference in quality between manufacturers.

casper

Postby casper » September 7th, 2012, 2:58 pm

^^^^yea i know eh but right now sharp is tootoo so me eh wah hear notting bout no QAQC nah boi lol

Strauss

Postby Strauss » September 7th, 2012, 3:41 pm

casper wrote:i heard Sharp is also making screens for the new iphone....if i were to ever get one of those new iphones i hope i ent get from the batch that has Sharp screens na :lol:

Sharp supplies Sony with mobile and TV screens that you pay so much for :P

Postby ronsin1 » September 7th, 2012, 8:20 pm

so will apple now turn it's guns on Setra mattresses for their iseries line:- I hear they have issues with people using the letteri "i" :|

I doh know eh I just asking

http://www.serta.com/Serta-iSeries-Matt ... rough.html

Postby Stephon. » September 7th, 2012, 8:23 pm

For sale. One apple iphone5 screen.
Edit: I need to clean meh TV boy :?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 7th, 2012, 8:58 pm

Strauss wrote:
casper wrote:i heard Sharp is also making screens for the new iphone....if i were to ever get one of those new iphones i hope i ent get from the batch that has Sharp screens na :lol:

Sharp supplies Sony with mobile and TV screens that you pay so much for :P
Sharp also now makes the ELITE brand of HDTV's heralded by Pioneer.

The ELITE line is the KING of picture quality in HDTV plasma and LED - at US$7000 for a new Sharp ELITE 3D LED, it is above top shelf.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 7th, 2012, 9:02 pm

ahem.....

<talk nah>
http://news.cnet.com/8301-13579_3-57508 ... on-survey/

iPhone again tops J.D. Power satisfaction survey
Apple surpassed HTC, Samsung, and other smartphone makers by scoring a grade of 849 out of 1,000 in J.D. Power's latest report.
September 7, 2012

iPhone owners continue to be the most satisfied smartphone customers of all, at least according to new survey results from J.D. Power and Associates.

For the eighth time in a row, Apple's flagship phone took home top honors for customer satisfaction. Ranking 849 out of 1,000, the iPhone shined in all of the categories tallied by J.D. Power but scored especially well in physical design and overall ease of use.

Based on two separate studies, the results revealed consumer satisfaction with both feature phones and smartphones in performance, ease of operation, physical design, and features. Only the order of importance for each aspect differed slightly between feature phones and smartphones.

Among smartphone makers, HTC took second place with a score of 790, followed closely by Samsung with 782 and Motorola with 777. Among feature phone makers, LG took the top spot with a score of 726, performing well in all four of the factors measured by J.D. Power. Samsung followed by scoring 713.

The study also found that easy access to social media and games helped determine customer satisfaction.

Smartphone owners who regularly use social networks and games were more satisifed with their devices than were those who do not.

A full 67 percent of those polled said they've download social media apps and spend more than 100 minutes per week using them. And 69 percent of smartphone owners said they've have downloaded games and spend 81 minutes per week on average playing them.

The surveys targeted feature phone and smartphone users who had owned their devices less than a year. Both studies were conducted between January and June of this year and reached 8,736 smartphone owners and 6,272 feature phone owners.

</talk nah>

Postby maj. tom » September 11th, 2012, 10:32 am

at first I thought this was a joke, like Onion news, but...

http://www.reuters.com/article/2012/09/11/us-apple-trademark-idUSBRE88A0IW20120911

Apple users, I really hope you are proud of what the company stands for and represents.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » September 11th, 2012, 10:40 am

maj. tom wrote:

at first I thought this was a joke, like Onion news, but...

http://www.reuters.com/article/2012/09/11/us-apple-trademark-idUSBRE88A0IW20120911

Apple users, I really hope you are proud of what the company stands for and represents.

And that would be?

Postby Stephon. » September 11th, 2012, 10:52 am

Apple continues to embarrass themselves!

Strauss

Postby Strauss » September 11th, 2012, 11:00 am

Stephon. wrote:Apple continues to embarrass themselves!

Why doesn't anyone here and in the press talk about who Google is suing and how many are suing Google? Why Apple? Just because they are the largest company right now?

Postby Stephon. » September 11th, 2012, 11:10 am

Lets not change the subject. Apple is embarrassing themselves.

casper

Postby casper » September 11th, 2012, 11:10 am

well daz it dey...i dont think i'd be buying anymore apple products...lolz...samsung ftw

casper

Postby casper » September 11th, 2012, 11:16 am

stephon u wont win an apple debate with strauss cuz d man does get on like he family own d company or somn...only seeing the good and could never see the bad....clear indication of pure brand biasness

Postby maj. tom » September 11th, 2012, 11:21 am

apple farmers should now sue Apple for using the word apple and the apple logo on their products since apple farms existed long before the computer company was formed.

casper

Postby casper » September 11th, 2012, 11:23 am

http://www.google.tt/search?hl=en&q=bit ... 2QWvtoDgBQ

all these websites that are hosting these pics need to be sued :lol:

Postby Sky » September 11th, 2012, 11:28 am

Hey let's post anti Apple articles from reliable sources. That should mean apple products suck right?
Duane, yuh bein a fanboy and you know it :lol:
All this patience you display in the religion thread towards radical people, yet when people speak against apple, "they beatin up, they hatin" etc?
Yuh older than that, stap it, stap it!!
I've made peace with my grudge yes. For over a decade and a half, microsoft was slappin apple upside the head. And over a decade ago they started wrapping their stuff in premium cases to appear premium. It's finally paying off and power to them yes. HTC one x for me though. Not because I won't buy an apple, but because the one x is simply better than the 4S. It's not even comparing with the 4S, but the S3. Apple better step their game up soon, because that's 2 phones and counting better than theirs. (to me atleast)

Postby maj. tom » September 11th, 2012, 11:29 am

I share similar opinions. Of course this does not apply to all Apples users, but I think they know who they are. We met some right on this thread.

"Apple fanaticism is similar to religious devotion: no other corporation has such a strong community of evangelists who are ready to queue for hours in terrible conditions to get a new gadget a few hours before the general public, tattoo their arms with bitten apples or pray in front of Apple headquarters.

Apple users are often portrayed as arrogant snobs considering themselves a more select group of people and accusing the rest of the world of bad taste. In reality, that’s only the way people express their individuality. They think that the purchase of costly Apple devices makes them elitist and gives them right to look down on those who don’t have it. Unfortunately, such elitist attitude often has little technical merit behind. Trendy for trendy’s sake only.

Apple is also often incriminated of unfair business practices and misleading advertising. Thus, in 2010 the case was in iPhone 4 antenna flaw that resulted in dropped calls, then public’s attention was grabbed by suicides in Chinese Apple plants. In 2011 there were complaints that iPhones and iPads collect information about users’ locations, iBook trademark breaches and other scandals around Apple corporation.

Compared to their counterparts, Apple computers and gadgets are 2-3 times more expensive. “I never see Macs for $300, which is my IT budget for the year, so I hate them”, – a user complains. Indeed, a new Macbook might run you $1200, at the same time you can get a similarly equipped Windows-based PC for like half the price. And because Apple gadgets are so expensive, people want them even more. When technology is overpriced, this inevitably leads to the growing tension between people who can afford it and those who can’t."

http://www.buzzom.com/2011/12/top-10-re ... ate-apple/

Strauss

Postby Strauss » September 11th, 2012, 11:42 am

casper wrote:stephon u wont win an apple debate with strauss cuz d man does get on like he family own d company or somn...only seeing the good and could never see the bad....clear indication of pure brand biasness

I admit I will be a little biased.
See my signature !! :)

You also forgetting these lawsuits are nothing new to the Apple folks. Apple didn't just start doing it. They have always been aggressive since the early days.

So it might shock you guys enough to post/rant about it. But just about every company is doing it, yet Apple is the one being singled out. Just like the whole Foxconn affair.

EDIT: I *HAVE* to be biased. That's like someone working Toyota badtalking the Corolla in public. Sure they won't have a job the next day.

casper

Postby casper » September 11th, 2012, 11:52 am

^^^well if u admitting that u HAVE to be biased then i just gonna ignore ever post u make then ....what ur basically doing via ur biasness is misleading the general public...if your proud of that then kool for u

Strauss

Postby Strauss » September 11th, 2012, 11:57 am

casper wrote:^^^well if u admitting that u HAVE to be biased then i just gonna ignore ever post u make then ....what ur basically doing via ur biasness is misleading the general public...if your proud of that then kool for u

No man not biased like that.

But I've been an Apple owner/user for the past 25 years. So I have a better than average understanding of the tech, how it was use and when it was introduced. And I saw everyone else bring out their own products over the years — many partners with Apple e.g. Microsoft, Google, IBM, Motorola.

I am mis-leading? I would like to think I'm offering a perspective and information that not many have access to, remember or are too young to know the history about.

It doesn't help any that the main press have been largely anti-Apple. The amount of lies and misinformation I seen is astounding. I NEED to correct it.

Postby Stephon. » September 11th, 2012, 12:26 pm

I don't have a problem with apple. Actually my MacBook pro is amazing and I don't think I would ever go back to a windows laptop after having that apple laptop experience. Thing is when it comes to phone, Samsung has the throne.

casper

Postby casper » September 11th, 2012, 12:37 pm

Stephon. wrote:I don't have a problem with apple. Actually my MacBook pro is amazing and I don't think I would ever go back to a windows laptop after having that apple laptop experience. Thing is when it comes to phone, Samsung has the throne.

same thoughts from me too

Postby Stephon. » September 11th, 2012, 12:44 pm

Well that is something that apple fanboys need to realize. Apple did great when they came out with the iPhone 1 and 2 because back then it was the best thing out, but competition got stiffer and they stayed relying on fan boys and fabricated commercials for sales, which worked, but still doesn't change the fact that the iPhone has little progress with every model they release and have fallen behind.