Gaming Headsets & Audiophile Headphones Thread

casper

Re: Gaming Headsets & Audiophile Headphones Thread

Postby casper » September 27th, 2012, 9:50 am

^^^sweet....lookin forward to the review man :)

Postby Ronaldo95163 » September 27th, 2012, 1:05 pm

Postby kurpal_v2 » September 28th, 2012, 10:45 pm

Postby Trini Hookah » September 28th, 2012, 10:50 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:http://stores.ebay.com/Skullcandy-Store/Coupon-Event-/_i.html?_fsub=6013862018&_sid=909519848&_trksid=p4634.m322

skullcandy @ 25% off

Inkd backpacks were as low as 11us in target stores this week.

Picked up a set of Altec Lansing buds this week, waiting for them to reach.

casper

Postby casper » October 2nd, 2012, 10:53 am

if anyone interested in purchasing a good headphones then look into the Audio Technica ATH- M50...they were previously $146 US with amazon prime...today it has dropped to $119 US with prime... :shock:

Postby DVSTT » October 2nd, 2012, 4:46 pm

casper wrote:if anyone interested in purchasing a good headphones then look into the Audio Technica ATH- M50...they were previously $146 US with amazon prime...today it has dropped to $119 US with prime... :shock:

But shipping was $60.00 USD with skybox :/

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » October 2nd, 2012, 11:30 pm

Yea so I've just received my invoice to clear the Pro 550s ....$466TT :shock: ...ah feelin sic

Any1 here ever brought in a high end headphone bf thru skybox (websource to be exact) ? Fine thas epic customs rape, was gonna keep my g930 but like I hada pipe it :?

Antonm

Postby Antonm » October 3rd, 2012, 3:40 am

iM@st@1 wrote:Yea so I've just received my invoice to clear the Pro 550s ....$466TT :shock: ...ah feelin sic

Any1 here ever brought in a high end headphone bf thru skybox (websource to be exact) ? Fine thas epic customs rape, was gonna keep my g930 but like I hada pipe it :?

I Find Websource to Be Very Unreliable and Very Expensive compared to many other Skyboxes
I no longer with them (from Earlier this year) since I have Had Similar Problems and also they dont give you a a Copy of the Customs Document so you have No either of what Customs really charged them. You are obligated to Pay whatever they Write on there own Invoice.
You should go in and Demand a Refund (make sure ad have you Invoice of the Cost you Paid for it)
Electronic (In you case speakers) is 20% DUTY + 15 VAT.

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » October 3rd, 2012, 9:19 am

Antonm wrote:
iM@st@1 wrote:Yea so I've just received my invoice to clear the Pro 550s ....$466TT :shock: ...ah feelin sic

I Find Websource to Be Very Unreliable and Very Expensive compared to many other Skyboxes
I no longer with them (from Earlier this year) since I have Had Similar Problems and also they dont give you a a Copy of the Customs Document so you have No either of what Customs really charged them. You are obligated to Pay whatever they Write on there own Invoice.
You should go in and Demand a Refund (make sure ad have you Invoice of the Cost you Paid for it)
Electronic (In you case speakers) is 20% DUTY + 15 VAT.

This is what I know for duties on electronics, I calculated it & it really shouldn't be that much. I mean I've had no complaints about their reliability as I've always gotten my stuff on time & in good order. But I really find something wrong with that invoice. Say wha u live & u learn

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » October 3rd, 2012, 1:02 pm

So despite the customs rape got my pros & i must say it's a very well constructed headphones. The feel is solid & it looks even better than the pics.

Comes in a nice carrying case with one straight cable 3.5mm (length ca. 0.8 m) & one coiled (length > 3 m) 6.3mm with gold-plated connectors. Also a spare set of earpads. Played a couple songs on my iphone with it so far & it sounds really crisp & clean. Nice amt of bass as well, not overwhelming with the volume all the way up but jus right. It's comfortable as well, very snugg fit, not tight. But the real testing will be when i get home & plug in to my computer which is what these are for. Heard they need to be 'broken' in a lil tho so maybe after a week i'll let u guys know the scene. I'm no audiophile so if i sounding a lil noobish is because i am. Bless

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1349283638.838558.jpg

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1349283671.009268.jpg
Last edited by iM@st@1 on October 4th, 2012, 1:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

casper

Postby casper » October 3rd, 2012, 2:38 pm

oh my gawd those look sexayyyy :shock:

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » October 11th, 2012, 1:21 am

Really impressed with this set of cans, i'm hearing things i didn't even know were there compared with my previous usb headset. Needless to say i'm done with usb sets.

The bass is really crisp & punchy without being to overwhelming. At full volume no distortions or crackling,just loud crystal clear sound. Movies/games really come to life with these cans, u feel fully immersed in surround sound. The soundstage is very strong, these do come with huge 50mm drivers. Music sounds alot nicer as well although i mainly listen thru my pc speakers. I'm guessing an amp should be used to supplement these although its impedance isn't that high (64 Ohms). My soundcard has a built in amp so it sounds really excellent.

They're pretty comfortable but not for very long periods, sum ear strain will take place. The g930 is def more forgiving after a long session. May opt to replace the earpads in the future for something softer. Build quality is superb, it feels very well constructed. Looks wise it's nothing really flashy, the g930 looks better imo. But i can forgo looks for a superior device anyday. I could see myself holding on to this headphones for a long time.

My overall conclusion is i'm very pleased with my purchase, these cans are a sweet upgrade from my usb set. All my media sounds 10 times better & i don't have to worry about charging it.

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1349930272.207801.jpg

casper

Postby casper » October 11th, 2012, 9:00 am

did it come with that headset stand or did you buy that???

headset looks nicer than the logitech IMO though...simpler and just nice...color tones making it look rich too...excellent review bro!!!

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » October 11th, 2012, 9:05 am

^that looks like a cd spindle case he used there chief :|

casper

Postby casper » October 11th, 2012, 9:12 am

^^^OH $hiT....ur right!!!! AAAAAAhahahahahahahhahah :lol:

pwnt by myself :(

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » October 11th, 2012, 9:48 am

Correct, cd spindle w/ sum double sided tape. Cheep & effective

Postby Ronaldo95163 » October 11th, 2012, 7:45 pm

Is that a NZXT Phantom case?
Nice Review btw :)

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » October 21st, 2012, 1:26 pm

Yeh Ronaldo sorry...Phantom one & only. Thanks

Postby DVSTT » October 21st, 2012, 8:36 pm

iM@st@1 wrote:Really impressed with this set of cans, i'm hearing things i didn't even know were there compared with my previous usb headset. Needless to say i'm done with usb sets.

The bass is really crisp & punchy without being to overwhelming. At full volume no distortions or crackling,just loud crystal clear sound. Movies/games really come to life with these cans, u feel fully immersed in surround sound. The soundstage is very strong, these do come with huge 50mm drivers. Music sounds alot nicer as well although i mainly listen thru my pc speakers. I'm guessing an amp should be used to supplement these although its impedance isn't that high (64 Ohms). My soundcard has a built in amp so it sounds really excellent.

They're pretty comfortable but not for very long periods, sum ear strain will take place. The g930 is def more forgiving after a long session. May opt to replace the earpads in the future for something softer. Build quality is superb, it feels very well constructed. Looks wise it's nothing really flashy, the g930 looks better imo. But i can forgo looks for a superior device anyday. I could see myself holding on to this headphones for a long time.

My overall conclusion is i'm very pleased with my purchase, these cans are a sweet upgrade from my usb set. All my media sounds 10 times better & i don't have to worry about charging it.

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1349930272.207801.jpg

Nice cans! What's that you hang it on?

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » October 21st, 2012, 10:37 pm

^
iM@st@1 wrote:cd spindle w/ sum double sided tape

I know this is probably not the right thread but anyway, my earbuds decided to stop working and I definitely won't carry the Tactic3dSigma to work. So now I looking for a decent-ish pair of earbuds. Saw some skullcandy ink'd selling in the misc. section a while back. Are those any good? And if not, what is?

casper

Postby casper » October 22nd, 2012, 7:52 am

shure makes some of the best earbuds around but they're rel expensive though...whats ur budget?

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » October 22nd, 2012, 12:55 pm

fouljuice wrote:^

I know this is probably not the right thread but anyway, my earbuds decided to stop working and I definitely won't carry the Tactic3dSigma to work. So now I looking for a decent-ish pair of earbuds. Saw some skullcandy ink'd selling in the misc. section a while back. Are those any good? And if not, what is?

Have a look @ this thread. Very informative, I actually made my decision to purchase my current cans using the info I found in here. There is a section concerning ear buds

Postby DVSTT » November 6th, 2012, 10:59 pm

Guys, how long you think the ATH-M50's lifespan would be?

squazzo

Postby squazzo » November 7th, 2012, 12:46 am

I have one about 3 years now, still going ... but I don't think you want to see it. Stopped caring for it after friend broke the cable but it still works/sounds good.

Postby DVSTT » November 7th, 2012, 8:50 am

WOW, how it still playing if the cable broke though? I was reading online and people were saying 10 years and i wasn't sure if to believe it or not.

casper

Postby casper » November 7th, 2012, 11:14 pm

Yea I have a friend with one of those same audio techicas and he has it like 5 years now.still looks new and sounds like day 1

Postby kurpal_v2 » November 7th, 2012, 11:22 pm

Casper, how much you think those ATH-M50 would cost landed?

squazzo

Postby squazzo » November 8th, 2012, 12:49 am

Replaced cable and have been abused badly since then. Will be replacing with denon 2000 soonImage

Postby DVSTT » November 8th, 2012, 9:47 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:Casper, how much you think those ATH-M50 would cost landed?

was $60.00 usd shipping alone

Postby ismithx » November 8th, 2012, 10:12 am

fouljuice wrote:^

http://www.amazon.com/Creative-EP-630-I ... r-mr-title

buy these. they lasted me 4.5 years, excellent bass