Re: Low Carb\Low Cal\Healthier Food\Healthier Lifestyle Thre

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » May 4th, 2012, 11:10 am

Elementary .....

Postby r3iXmann » May 4th, 2012, 11:12 am

Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:Elementary .....

yea but wrt weight loss, most people use/think of a diet as some sort of magic fat burning methodology

for maximum effectiveness, the two must go hand in hand

Mr. Cheese

Postby Mr. Cheese » May 4th, 2012, 11:12 am

Good post Trac

Postby dougla_boy » May 4th, 2012, 11:27 am

i am in this thread.....looking to lose the beer guts.....

Postby Dizzy28 » May 4th, 2012, 11:33 am

Trac....you should switch from scotch to Vodka.....all alcohol calorie rich with no nutritional value but a general rule of thumb is that clear better than coloured. Vodka and reduced sugar cranberry juice is my diet alcoholic drink (Coors Light or Carib Pilsner when drinking beer)

adriano7910

Postby adriano7910 » May 4th, 2012, 11:46 am

want to lose weight and not build much muscle mass. then low weights with many repetitions (normally 15 reps 4 sets with weights that are heavy enough to push through the pain by the tenth rep). the key to this is muscle fatigue. muscle fatigue with light weights causes less muscle mass but also burn a lot more carbs than traditional heavy weighted sets.

as for food. whole grain crix and a tin of tuna in water with fresh seasoning and tomato worked for me during dinner no later than 6.30 and meal consisted on cereal on mornings, and two small sized meals with no more than one carb based portion, greens/vege and protein(meats) [half the sized of my normal lunch]

This combined with 40 minutes high intensity cardio and workout 4-5 days a week allowed me to lose 30 pounds in 6 weeks

also nothing but water.

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » May 4th, 2012, 12:02 pm

ImageImageImageImage

Postby AllTrac » May 4th, 2012, 12:06 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Trac....you should switch from scotch to Vodka.....all alcohol calorie rich with no nutritional value but a general rule of thumb is that clear better than coloured. Vodka and reduced sugar cranberry juice is my diet alcoholic drink (Coors Light or Carib Pilsner when drinking beer)

Dizzy i agree with the vodka there but there are very few vices i allow myself and im usually very strict with my diet, so let me have my scotch lol i havent seen an increase in weight so imsticking with the scotch as long as it falls within my caloric daily allowance. But i agree with u and the vodka having less calories

Postby AllTrac » May 4th, 2012, 12:07 pm

RapToR, can you get Carbquick?

Postby Dizzy28 » May 4th, 2012, 12:09 pm

AllTrac wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:Trac....you should switch from scotch to Vodka.....all alcohol calorie rich with no nutritional value but a general rule of thumb is that clear better than coloured. Vodka and reduced sugar cranberry juice is my diet alcoholic drink (Coors Light or Carib Pilsner when drinking beer)

Dizzy i agree with the vodka there but there are very few vices i allow myself and im usually very strict with my diet, so let me have my scotch lol i havent seen an increase in weight so imsticking with the scotch as long as it falls within my caloric daily allowance. But i agree with u and the vodka having less calories

Scene!!

Postby sharkman121 » May 4th, 2012, 12:11 pm

great thread, looking forward to more meal plans. Just signed up on livestrong. 8-)

Postby AllTrac » May 4th, 2012, 12:19 pm

made this monday tasted awesome. Had one daily.

you can get the almond meal powder at Xtrafood GB - $40
and the hersheys dark chocolate chips for $35 a bag at xtra foods also

Postby sharkman121 » May 4th, 2012, 12:20 pm

this livestrong site is great...

Postby AllTrac » May 4th, 2012, 12:21 pm

sharkman121 wrote:great thread, looking forward to more meal plans. Just signed up on livestrong. 8-)

good stuff, i have livestrong tabbed on both my work and home pc as i log everything, I also have it on my phone so i can enter my kfc when im out to see my remaining calorie left for the day lol which is not often. You would be surprised as to how much u can customize your calorie intake and choose how much weight you wish to lose on a specific week and how much carbs you want to add for heavy work out day. Wish i had this tool back in the day.

RapToR

Postby RapToR » May 4th, 2012, 12:26 pm

AllTrac wrote:RapToR, can you get Carbquick?

send me a link for it

will check it out

Postby black start » May 4th, 2012, 12:32 pm

livestrong 8-)

Postby AllTrac » May 4th, 2012, 12:33 pm

Postby dougla_boy » May 4th, 2012, 12:35 pm

question guys......whats ur thoughts on appetite suppressors? since i gained weight, my appetite has increased alot.....saw a few products that include hoodia....a natural herb found in the desert.....thoughts??

Postby AllTrac » May 4th, 2012, 12:42 pm

dougla_boy forget them thing, eat complex carbs over simple carbs, they take a longer time to break down so you have the feeling of being full longer plus it doesnt run a mock with your glycemic index, glycemic index is the name of the game from when ive learnt. If you need to snack, Guru Snacks offer some good alternatives. I bought a couple packs in the supermarket and the honey coated macadamia nuts handle my snacking cravings, but i havent had them in a while as my cravings are decreasing. It worth a check out. Bear in mind anything i posted here is what works for me, everyone is different and there is no one size fits all diet plan. You have to find one that works for you.

http://www.livestrong.com/article/29127 ... ple-carbs/

http://guruhealthsnacks.com/

RapToR

Postby RapToR » May 4th, 2012, 1:09 pm

AllTrac wrote:http://www.amazon.com/Carbquik-Baking-Mix/dp/B000G0EP78/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1336149171&sr=8-1

$250.00

Postby AllTrac » May 4th, 2012, 1:24 pm

great price! will be contacting you very soon on this

Postby A172 » May 4th, 2012, 1:26 pm

Eating "clean" is good for long term benefits wrt to things like cholesterol, diabetes, etc etc

In terms of actual body composition (which seems to be what most seem to be talking about in this thread), you can literally eat whatever you want, doesn't matter if you're fat or skinny, and still lose weight or build lean muscle mass depending on your goals. Caloric intake, macro nutrient rationing and training is what changes the physical shape of your body, not what you actually eat. This is not an opinion. These are the Laws of Thermodynamics.

Obviously you don't want to be the aesthetic lean dude with high cholesterol and diabetes so if you're eating "clean" or actually enjoy eating micronutrient dense foods then that's commendable.

If you're simply looking to just get ripped or look better in the mirror, you're severely misguided with "eating clean" to see gains.

In any case, this is good thread among the usual doubles and fried chicken ones so gj.

Postby AllTrac » May 4th, 2012, 1:27 pm

check pm raptor.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » May 4th, 2012, 5:28 pm

AllTrac wrote:Vega can confirm this.

Confirmed.....quite good progress was made!

r3iXmann wrote:not applicable to me but GF is on a diet plan and i have her eating a lot of steamed stuff

steamed chicken breast, steamed veg and steamed fish steaks (the latter doesnt taste too bad if you make a little dipping sauce)..no seasoning otherwise

WDMC :shock: put the seasoning.....not only will it make the food taste so much better but it'll give a metabolic boost.....chive, celery, parsley, basil, onion, garlic, rosemary....oh gorm, make the damn thing taste good nah...add some blackpepper and a lil geera or curry powder too....you not killing the meat with it eh...just a lil rub or dash or whatever......I use a varying combination of these in my steamed meats and it's awesome!

sensiman

Postby sensiman » May 4th, 2012, 7:16 pm

I will be posting tidbits of information in this thread concerning Diets and natural remedies for weight loss and general fitness.

The information is not just stuff found off the internet but from a professional subscription to North American medical and natural medicines database. The diets and remedies have been scientifically evaluated for efficacy and safety. I will also post references when possible, most of which should be accessible online.

I know everbody and their grandfather know about the Atkin's diet, but I will start with that.

The Atkins diet (http://www.atkins.com) is a high-fat, low-carbohydrate diet. The premise is that carbohydrates increase insulin levels and induce metabolic changes that cause weight gain. The diet consists of virtually unlimited amounts of meat, fish, eggs, and some cheeses. Sweets and starchy snacks are forbidden. The diet prohibits many fruits, some starchy vegetables, and grains (including some whole grains). High-protein, fatty foods cause a feeling of satiety with less food, so fewer calories are consumed. Also, there are fewer food choices, which may affect appetite. During the first 10 days of this diet, ketosis is induced. This in turn increases water loss, which can cause rapid weight loss. After this phase, weight loss occurs more slowly.
(ref:Avenell A, Sattar N, Lean M. ABC of Obesity Management: Part I-Behaviour change, diet, and activity. BMJ 2006;333:740-3.
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/quer ... t=Abstract
Atkins RC, Ornish D, Wadden T. Low-carb, low-fat diet gurus face off. Interview by Joan Stephenson. JAMA 2003;289:1767-8, 1773.)

The Atkins diet seems to cause more short-term weight loss than the traditionally-recommended low-fat diet. But at the end of a year, weight loss is similar to conventional low-fat diets.Some experts suggest that Atkins and similar diets could have a beneficial role to jumpstart weight loss, before switching to a long-term, more sustainable weight control diet.

The Atkins diet can cause headache, bad breath, and constipation.The long-term safety of this high-protein, high-fat diet is still in question.There have been concerns that these diets might increase lipid levels, but long-term 1-2 year trials show that they don't increase lipid levels. In fact, they seem to lower triglycerides and increase the good HDL-cholesterol compared to low-fat diets. (ref:Last AR, Wilson SA. Low-carbohydrate diets. Am Fam Physician 2006;73:1942-8.http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/quer ... t=Abstract)
Nonetheless, more evidence is needed to determine how these diets affect long-term outcomes such as heart disease, colorectal conditions, and cancer

Postby AllTrac » May 4th, 2012, 9:51 pm

sensiman wah kindda spambotments scene is dah? :S

sensiman

Postby sensiman » May 5th, 2012, 6:51 am

AllTrac wrote:sensiman wah kindda spambotments scene is dah? :S

What spambot?

Just trying to post some relevant scientifically sound information.

The links are to journal abstracts if that's what you mean.

Postby AllTrac » May 5th, 2012, 7:58 am

sensiman doh take it on, but iw ould rather people post their actual results and reviews of somethey they have tried and lived. Im tired of supporting someone elses recommendation only until ive tried it myself then i can fully support something once successful. In my time of body building and weight training ive come to learn no 2 bodies are the same so ill continue to say that there is no one size fits all diet. You have to try different diets and exercise regimes to see which one suits your body as everyones metabolic rate is different. Thanks for the research link anyway, so anything you want to share with us that you have experienced or recipes?
The reason im asking for recipes is because most outlined is american based so some of the products is hard to get we would have to substitute, ive done some substituting hopefully i can get some more local low cal/low carb dishes and snacks.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » May 5th, 2012, 8:58 am

what about yam, dasheen and eddoes?

Postby kurpal_v2 » May 5th, 2012, 9:23 am

~Vēġó~ wrote:what about yam, dasheen and eddoes?

In my attempts to cut down on rice/ roti culture I was brought up on I replaced those with smaller portions of ground provisions.

Wil admitt it's a bit difficult to make yam not taste bland but after a few tries with a nice grilled fish and carrots, fresh mint and traditional seasoning it's not bad.