THE OFFICIAL QUIT SMOKING THREAD

Re: This is what smoking does to your Heart.

Postby S_2NR » November 14th, 2011, 4:07 pm

i only smoking two years now u kno.
and for the first year i used to stop and start back all the time (social smoker)
but now i getting withdrawal like mad

Postby AllTrac » November 14th, 2011, 5:45 pm

S_2NR wrote:arghhh..just bought a pack and smoked..
couldnt take the withdrawal symptoms anymore..i was goin mad.

was getting level insomnia, cold sweats, anxiety, irritability and so much other sheit, it not even funny.

vega i dont know how u do it na :|

smoke weed when u get the nicotine craving, im not a smoker but i heard that works, using one drug to kill another lol :lol:

Postby Bizzare » November 14th, 2011, 6:43 pm

That's just replacing. Replacement works for anything you wish to get rid off. Weed is like replacing bad with worse though.

Postby rfari » November 14th, 2011, 7:05 pm

AllTrac wrote:

was getting level insomnia, cold sweats, anxiety, irritability and so much other sheit, it not even funny.

smoke weed when u get the nicotine craving, im not a smoker but i heard that works, using one drug to kill another lol :lol:

s_2nr doh tek on alltrac. he's ah informer :evil:

Postby Trini Hookah » November 14th, 2011, 7:58 pm

rfari I just saw your post about the ecig.

Used to puff about 5-6 drips per day, regular juice, didn't get to try Johnson Creek yet.

Don't have it anymore though, nicotine overdose wasn't nice at all :( I settle for a Cigar on special occasions, and maybe a Kretek once in a while.

Invisible

Postby Invisible » November 14th, 2011, 8:54 pm

S_2NR wrote:i only smoking two years now u kno.
and for the first year i used to stop and start back all the time (social smoker)
but now i getting withdrawal like mad

2 years??....try 15 and stopped cold.

If you wanna stop you have to wanna really want to!!

Bro, when you get the urge drink water do something that takes ur mind off it. The craving only lasts for a short period.

Motivate yourself!!!

Try and try again, don't give up!

Postby rfari » November 15th, 2011, 6:42 am

vrampersad14 wrote:rfari I just saw your post about the ecig.

Used to puff about 5-6 drips per day, regular juice, didn't get to try Johnson Creek yet.

Don't have it anymore though, nicotine overdose wasn't nice at all :( I settle for a Cigar on special occasions, and maybe a Kretek once in a while.

I never really checked how much e-liquid I use daily. About 3 cartridges a day. Once I forgot my charger home but had nicotine gum to rally me. Don't think I would issues locking off the e-cig. I hope :| whts the johnson creek?
edit: notice that the tobacco stain on my finger nail clearing up. :D

Postby ~Vēġó~ » November 15th, 2011, 9:07 pm

honestly I have to thank a serious chest congestion for getting me through the first few days....the smoke simply wasn't going down and I said it made no sense trying to smoke....and from then I just decided to stop.....

I have made 71 days smoke free ($1207 min. saved btw), but I still get cravings...hell right now I feel for a blends...but I counteract it by breathing deeply, drinking water or doing something to take my mind off of it - some push-ups or a lil jog if I'm home or something of the sort.....

I was a smoker for around 23 years and made many many attempts to stop but the withdrawal symptoms made it really hard.....I gave up trying, but I really wanted to stop because I found myself smoking more and more and I knew that this was not going to get better..... In all honesty I asked the ONE to help me rid myself of this addiction.....I serious!!!!

Again, I would say that this time was different, because I had the chest congestion and bad cough/cold to get me through the initial few days. I thought what the hell I made a few days smoke free let me use this time to quit and then I took it day by day from then on with the firm resolve that I wouldn't put another blends to my lips again!!!!!

You got to really get that willpower cranking and take control of that mind!!!

Postby ~Vēġó~ » November 29th, 2011, 12:30 am

85 days smoke free!!!!

354 days alcohol free!!!

How's the progress going guys?

Postby rfari » November 29th, 2011, 7:54 am

You gave up during christmas season? Ways. I slipped a bit last week. But back on track now. Need to stockpile e-liquids

Postby ~Vēġó~ » November 29th, 2011, 9:13 am

^^^yup, after a possibly life altering moment due to over inebriation on December 9th last year.....

for me it's either all in or nothing....there is no middle ground- either I do it or don't!

civic minded

Postby civic minded » November 29th, 2011, 9:57 am

so vega - since you dont have drinking and smoking as vice - what you doing now?

cant say you dont have a vice - every man have one...lol

Postby ~Vēġó~ » November 30th, 2011, 5:51 am

^^^losing weight, improving overall fitness/physique...which reminds me I got to hit the treadmill now...

other things- to develop my oneness with the cosmic energy, controlling of anger and mind and just trying to be a better, friendlier person to all whom I may encounter.

Postby kurpal_v2 » November 30th, 2011, 6:12 am

~Vēġó~ wrote:^^^losing weight, improving overall fitness/physique...which reminds me I got to hit the treadmill now...

other things- to develop my oneness with the cosmic energy, controlling of anger and mind and just trying to be a better, friendlier person to all whom I may encounter.

Damn hippie :lol: :lol:

Postby AllTrac » November 30th, 2011, 1:33 pm

~Vēġó~ wrote:^^^yup, after a possibly life altering moment due to over inebriation on December 9th last year.....

like de wife threaten to leave yuh or wah vega? :lol: :lol:

Postby AllTrac » November 30th, 2011, 1:35 pm

civic minded wrote:so vega - since you dont have drinking and smoking as vice - what you doing now?

addicted to nasty man porn, ah talking about REAL SICK sheit, from preggo straight down to 2girls1cup business

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » November 30th, 2011, 2:59 pm

AllTrac wrote:
addicted to nasty man porn, ah talking about REAL SICK sheit,

After all this time,You still doing that? :roll: :roll:

Postby rfari » November 30th, 2011, 4:21 pm

AllTrac wrote:
civic minded wrote:so vega - since you dont have drinking and smoking as vice - what you doing now?

addicted to nasty man porn, ah talking about REAL SICK sheit, from preggo straight down to 2girls1cup business

I doh see the problem there. :|

TriP

Postby TriP » November 30th, 2011, 5:11 pm

Du Maurier cigarettes went from $17.00 to $19.00 - $20.00 ..an Half Packs from $10.00 to $13.00 this week..!!

Postby rollingstock » November 30th, 2011, 5:20 pm

^ saw the ad in the papers, mofo's can't even get a pack of dunhill lights for a 20, friggin 21 now

Invisible

Postby Invisible » November 30th, 2011, 5:35 pm

Saving even more money now!!!

Postby Stephon. » November 30th, 2011, 5:44 pm

Cig prices gone up? Good news for quitters :lol: - must admit though after my last exam (yesterday) I had a cigarette while coolin off the exam stress.

Postby S_2NR » November 30th, 2011, 6:16 pm

i buying marlboro and dunhill for 19$ in the grocery normel normel

Postby Trini Hookah » November 30th, 2011, 6:45 pm

TS Chinese cigarettes = worst thing ever invented, thing harder than Du Maurier red :|

Postby Mark! » November 30th, 2011, 6:56 pm

dais the cig the Chine fella give u the other day? :lol:

Postby Trini Hookah » November 30th, 2011, 7:04 pm

Yea dan, not me and free cigs again na. All I wanted was a phonecard to buy :|

Postby ~Vēġó~ » November 30th, 2011, 10:24 pm

AllTrac wrote:
~Vēġó~ wrote:^^^yup, after a possibly life altering moment due to over inebriation on December 9th last year.....

like de wife threaten to leave yuh or wah vega? :lol: :lol:

if only it was something that simple...had absolutely nothing to do with the wife or family....but it could have affected them.....dais a story I go have to relate in person bro....btw you does still come in rio on thursday or yuh leave out dah wuk??

increase in cig prices has made me so glad that I have stopped!!!! Saving even more now man Invisible!!!!

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » December 1st, 2011, 7:43 am

TriP wrote:Du Maurier cigarettes went from $17.00 to $19.00 - $20.00 ..an Half Packs from $10.00 to $13.00 this week..!!

Das joke...
I started buying whole pack dum's when it was $5.25!

Postby ~Vēġó~ » December 1st, 2011, 6:45 pm

^^I started when it was $4.00 and half was $2.50....

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 2nd, 2011, 3:29 am

~Vēġó~ wrote:^^I started when it was $4.00 and half was $2.50....

:shock: :shock: :shock: WTF I used to sell cigs in school, made a killing and I still believe thats where I realised I wanted to be a business man :lol:

Recently I realised how bad cigs tasted and what it was actually doing to me. I dropped cigs, I was a 5-day kinda guy and got an e-cig so I could get my fix without the smell/after feeling etc.

Got myself a joye 510 and its been 3weeks, honestly right now I can breathe deeper, as a result my endurance is lengthened and that really helped make me realise how much I was cutting my daily activities by. I could now walk from Hugh gooding-across UWI and to Watts St (average 20-mins walking) without feeling like Im dieing, I run a lot more, even when talking, with cigs Id run out of breath fast during presentations. Now I speak louder and clearer and come across as more confident, when I told my lecturer the changes, he told me he noticed I no longer *ate up* my words.

The no smell thing is a major plus for me, no more awkward feeling, no more covering up, no more walking with hand-sanitizer etc etc. My gf likes it as I have no smokey mouth and well she's enjoying the deeper breaths I can take now :mrgreen:

I like the ecig because I could vape how much I want, unlike a cig I have to smoke a whole one. I found two puffs are good enough for me for an hour or so, I vape more at times but thats my average.

Anyway, a few days ago I smoked a du maurier because Ill admit I was curious as to what Im missing and I was missing some element of smoking, IDK if its the "burn" you get or what IDK. But WOW at the first pull I was SICK, I wanted to vomit, my mouth began to water epic and I was in utter disgust so I took another pull, Same effect. I out that cig and gave a vagrant the rest of the half pack, I really couldnt believe that is what I was smoking and this is only after 3weeks of the ecig. Right now Im smoking a vanilla blend and really happy with it. Only drawback is Im still smoking and when I wake up in the morn my throat hurts just as if I smoked 10cigs the day before.

On my average Im not saving any money for a few months but I dont plan to keep smoking so long :lol: Hopefully by next year this time Im 100% free of my addictions, I used to drink heavy and dropped that. Every fete I was spending upwards of $1000 a night in rum and just getting wasted and vommiting the hell outta my life. Sheit hit the fan when it was 4.20am and I was drunk in the backseat rushing to San Fernando Hospital slapping and fighting with my buddy who looked a palish blue unable to take a proper breath to just hold on 2 more mins. After that night my eyes opened DAMN wide on what I was doing in my life and I made the vow to change. I still drink but a glass of wine or a shot of amaretto to keep my creative mind awake is all I take.

So yea thats my story, been avoiding posting it but hey admittance makes us feel better right?