Postby Habit7 » August 22nd, 2011, 10:29 am

S_2NR wrote:i now catch myself..
curfew n sheit for independence night :(

Yip. No fireworks this year, I hope the kiddies could understand :cry:

Re: T&T put in Limited State of Emergency

Postby S_2NR » August 22nd, 2011, 10:31 am

pete wrote:WRT people coming in via the airport, on the radio I heard it mentioned that you can go to certain police posts to apply for a pass if you need to travel within the curfew period. They said one would be set up at the airport so you can either go to a police station and find out about getting the pass or wait for more information to confirm that they will be able to get the pass when they come back in.

im a little lost.
what does this mean for people arriving from the US? would they get trouble coming through customs?

Bezman

Postby Bezman » August 22nd, 2011, 10:32 am

AbstractPoetic wrote:
Bezman wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:So let me get this straight:

Identifying and keeping "hot spot" areas on lockdown will presumably help curtail crime in Trinidad and Tobago? This is what Kamla calls an effective plan?

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Instead of putting enough WELL-PAID manpower on the roads, while strategically working to prevent the increase of arms trade and drugs in the country they instead choose to hire an overpaid foreignah and go on this state of emergency/curfew tirade?

Manning must be well laughing, oui.

UNC, allyuh good yes!

i have not said this yet, but have been thinking, with the jamaat involvement in the PSA funk the other day, strikes, the huge drug haul, and like 12-15 gang/robbery murders in the last 3 days, i think the govt may be doing this as a preventative matter to curb any social uprising or jamaat craziness...

everyone has been saying this social tension echos the riots of the 70's and pre coup in the 90's and these things happen in cyccles of avout 20 years..

they are not going to be just setting up road blocks, they will eb using the authority and rights to go kick down doors and lock up entire gangs for no reason.. if they tackle the white collar criminals thats another thing... but the gun man on the block, the drug den and gan hide outs i am sure will all be leveled with one foul swoop and they roadblocks will catch the roaches as they flee

So you think this is an effective approach?

And even if it was Bezman, those same white collar criminals can easily find more manpower to run their business. They need to not only find those white collar criminals but prosecute them. The small man ain't the problem.

Unfortunately, for Trinidad and Tobago, them bosses are politicians or friends of politicians.

effective, well depends on if they really do kick down the door and eliminate some of the gangs that distribute and protect, transport the drugs guns et etc.. if "the man" cant find thugs to do their work cause they are either afraid to get lockup again etc, it will def slow the trade..

but i also think the bigger picture was stopping some kinda social uprising they got wind of or suspected was about to climax..

me personally, i have been begging for something like this for a looooooooong time, how effective it will be will rely completely on what they do over the next 15 days and more importantly, what they do after

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » August 22nd, 2011, 10:35 am

It's most unfortunate for the business owners who depend on the evening crowds to make an income. I hope the government intends to compensate these citizens.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » August 22nd, 2011, 10:37 am

Bezman wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:
Bezman wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:So let me get this straight:

Identifying and keeping "hot spot" areas on lockdown will presumably help curtail crime in Trinidad and Tobago? This is what Kamla calls an effective plan?

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Instead of putting enough WELL-PAID manpower on the roads, while strategically working to prevent the increase of arms trade and drugs in the country they instead choose to hire an overpaid foreignah and go on this state of emergency/curfew tirade?

Manning must be well laughing, oui.

UNC, allyuh good yes!

i have not said this yet, but have been thinking, with the jamaat involvement in the PSA funk the other day, strikes, the huge drug haul, and like 12-15 gang/robbery murders in the last 3 days, i think the govt may be doing this as a preventative matter to curb any social uprising or jamaat craziness...

everyone has been saying this social tension echos the riots of the 70's and pre coup in the 90's and these things happen in cyccles of avout 20 years..

they are not going to be just setting up road blocks, they will eb using the authority and rights to go kick down doors and lock up entire gangs for no reason.. if they tackle the white collar criminals thats another thing... but the gun man on the block, the drug den and gan hide outs i am sure will all be leveled with one foul swoop and they roadblocks will catch the roaches as they flee

So you think this is an effective approach?

And even if it was Bezman, those same white collar criminals can easily find more manpower to run their business. They need to not only find those white collar criminals but prosecute them. The small man ain't the problem.

Unfortunately, for Trinidad and Tobago, them bosses are politicians or friends of politicians.

effective, well depends on if they really do kick down the door and eliminate some of the gangs that distribute and protect, transport the drugs guns et etc.. if "the man" cant find thugs to do their work cause they are either afraid to get lockup again etc, it will def slow the trade..

but i also think the bigger picture was stopping some kinda social uprising they got wind of or suspected was about to climax..

me personally, i have been begging for something like this for a looooooooong time, how effective it will be will rely completely on what they do over the next 15 days and more importantly, what they do after

We'll have to wait and see.

Keep yourself and your family safe, brethren.

Postby Stephon. » August 22nd, 2011, 10:40 am

I'll be happy if this happens, no fireworks either, let the country learn a damn lesson.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » August 22nd, 2011, 10:42 am

S_2NR wrote:
pete wrote:WRT people coming in via the airport, on the radio I heard it mentioned that you can go to certain police posts to apply for a pass if you need to travel within the curfew period. They said one would be set up at the airport so you can either go to a police station and find out about getting the pass or wait for more information to confirm that they will be able to get the pass when they come back in.

im a little lost.
what does this mean for people arriving from the US? would they get trouble coming through customs?

My good friend just canceled his trip. A lot of people are canceling their trips to TT. This is going to cost TT millions of dollars.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » August 22nd, 2011, 10:43 am

http://www.power102fm.com/press/?p=1861

http://www.power102fm.com/press/?p=1849

NB: The entire country – Trinidad & Tobago is under a State of Emergency. The curfew of 9pm to 5am is subjected only to the Hot Spot areas.
Last edited by silent_riot on August 22nd, 2011, 10:44 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby S_2NR » August 22nd, 2011, 10:43 am

AbstractPoetic wrote:
S_2NR wrote:

im a little lost.

My good friend just canceled his trip. A lot of people are canceling their trips to TT. This is going to cost TT millions of dollars.

yes but what about people returning after vacation abroad.
i have family abroad returning soon.

Postby Chimera » August 22nd, 2011, 10:44 am

*takes ps3 out of storage*

Postby Stephon. » August 22nd, 2011, 10:44 am

AbstractPoetic wrote:
S_2NR wrote:

im a little lost.

Well this sucks. I have a friend coming in mo end. I probably won't get problems to pick her up, but shes staying at one of the hot spot areas. I would offer for her to come by me until it's over but ......

Postby dougla_boy » August 22nd, 2011, 10:48 am

yuh kno, just the other some day last week i was saying that a coup/uprising/riot is due for us.....and now this.....but this gov't is a waste of time, paying how much large amt of money to a commish who as statistics show hasn't done anything to deal with crime....sigh...i hope innocents don't get harmed for a problem that should have been dealt with from early'o'clock....and we as citizens have a part of the blame to take...cuz we make them feel as if they have power....when in fact, we are more powerful than they.....someone should walk in d red house and say, "kamla, jack, and allyuh mc...allyuh fired!!!" GTFO!!!!"

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » August 22nd, 2011, 10:54 am

dougla_boy wrote:yuh kno, just the other some day last week i was saying that a coup/uprising/riot is due for us.....and now this.....but this gov't is a waste of time, paying how much large amt of money to a commish who as statistics show hasn't done anything to deal with crime....sigh...i hope innocents don't get harmed for a problem that should have been dealt with from early'o'clock....and we as citizens have a part of the blame to take...cuz we make them feel as if they have power....when in fact, we are more powerful than they.....someone should walk in d red house and say, "kamla, jack, and allyuh mc...allyuh fired!!!" GTFO!!!!"

THIS

Postby ismithx » August 22nd, 2011, 10:54 am

honda hoe wrote:Designated Hot Spots that will see curfew from 9pm to 5am

The City of Port of Spain -

St. James East
St. James West
Woodbrook
Northern Port of Spain
Belmont East
Belmont North & West
Southern Port of Spain
East Dry River
St. Ann’s River South
St. Ann’s River Central
St. Ann’s River North
Belmont South

The City of San Fernando –

Cocoyea/Tarouba
Les Efforts East/Cipero
Les Efforts West/La Romain
Marabella East
Marabella South/Vistabella
Marabella West
Mon Repos/Navet
Pleasantville
Spring Vale/Paradise

The Borough of Arima –

Calvary
Arima North East
Arima West
Arima Central
Malabar
Tumpuna
O’Meara

The Borough of Chaguanas –

Charlieville
Edinburgh/Longdonville
Enterprise North
Enterprise South
Cunupia
Montrose
Felicity/Endevour
Munroe Road/Caroni Savannah

The San Juan/Laventille Regional Corporation –

Maracus Bay/Santa Cruz/La Fillette
Febeau/Bourg Mulatresse
Morvant/Upper Malick
San Juan West/Caledonia
St. Ann’s/Cascade/Mon Repos West
St. Barb’s Chinapoo
Beetham/Picton
Success/Trou Macaque
Aranguez/Warner Village
Barataria
Petit Bourg/Champ Fleurs/Mt. Lambert
San Juan East

The Diego Martin Regional Corporation -

Chaguaramas/Glencoe
Goodwood/La Puerta
Covinge/Richplain
Diamond Vale
Morne Coco/Alyce Glen
Petit Valley/Cocorite
St. Lucien/cameron Hill
Belle Vue/Bossiere #1
Moka/Bossiere #2

What you need to know…

· Soldiers will exercise powers enjoyed by police during the period of the Limited State of Emergency:
- Search and seizure powers enhanced because you don’t need a search warrant
- Powers of arrest and detention are included; they will be able to arrest but will hand over detainees to police.

· Police can arrest and detain for up to 24 hours after which a magistrate, or assistant superintendent (or higher), will be able to add an extra 7 days
- No bail for those arrested during the State of Emergency; courts no longer will have the power to grant bail.

· You must comply with all requests by police to stop for search and seizure protocols
- A special 3-person tribunal will be set up by Chief Justice to oversee and adjudicate all possible cases of abuse of power
- Religious services, educational services, entertainments, etc. are exempt from requesting advanced permission from the Police Commissioner

how the firetruck where i living is a crime hotspot???????

Postby ismithx » August 22nd, 2011, 10:55 am

AbstractPoetic wrote:
Habit7 wrote:Image

:rofl: :rofl:

o goarrr take win

Postby 16 cycles » August 22nd, 2011, 10:57 am

press conference at 12 noon today (11am delayed)

most local radio stations should be broadcasting...

Postby Habit7 » August 22nd, 2011, 11:05 am

Derrick Chin set to lose millions in his Movietownes in Chaguanas and POS

Postby janfar » August 22nd, 2011, 11:12 am

wow... looks like i will be staying by the Holiday inn when i come home... ***calls BANzai***

Postby AllTrac » August 22nd, 2011, 11:13 am

silent_riot wrote:http://www.power102fm.com/press/?p=1861

http://www.power102fm.com/press/?p=1849

NB: The entire country – Trinidad & Tobago is under a State of Emergency. The curfew of 9pm to 5am is subjected only to the Hot Spot areas.

did you really have to post those links? :( when i clicked on live stream i saw an albino working there, i shat bricks.

silver

Postby silver » August 22nd, 2011, 11:14 am

hot spots looks suspicious...

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » August 22nd, 2011, 11:20 am

dougla_boy wrote:yuh kno, just the other some day last week i was saying that a coup/uprising/riot is due for us.....and now this.....but this gov't is a waste of time, paying how much large amt of money to a commish who as statistics show hasn't done anything to deal with crime....sigh...i hope innocents don't get harmed for a problem that should have been dealt with from early'o'clock....and we as citizens have a part of the blame to take...cuz we make them feel as if they have power....when in fact, we are more powerful than they.....someone should walk in d red house and say, "kamla, jack, and allyuh mc...allyuh fired!!!" GTFO!!!!"

THIS

Postby rfari » August 22nd, 2011, 11:24 am

silver wrote:hot spots looks suspicious...

same thing i was thinking. dais nah the constituencies that pnm win last elections? :?

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » August 22nd, 2011, 11:25 am

RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:
crossdrilled wrote:
rollingstock wrote:Ha well look at innocent citizens going about their business gonna get boots from Defence Force personnel for no apparent reason, and no way of retribution lmao

For real.... people fail to realize that army men have no mandate to serve and protect. They are trained killers... nothing more.

great, send them into laventille, morvant beetham Blanca village, caranage and all other criminal infested areas after giving them a STIFF 3 cups of coffee, maybe it will help them to be even more trigger happy and get rid of more idoit bandits in these places.

why u dont shut ya kornt jed? u always outta timing with saying all who is bandits,,they should shoot you in yuh mouth

Postby rollingstock » August 22nd, 2011, 11:32 am

Rahtid wrote:
RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:
crossdrilled wrote:
rollingstock wrote:Ha well look at innocent citizens going about their business gonna get boots from Defence Force personnel for no apparent reason, and no way of retribution lmao

For real.... people fail to realize that army men have no mandate to serve and protect. They are trained killers... nothing more.

great, send them into laventille, morvant beetham Blanca village, caranage and all other criminal infested areas after giving them a STIFF 3 cups of coffee, maybe it will help them to be even more trigger happy and get rid of more idoit bandits in these places.

why u dont shut ya kornt jed? u always outta timing with saying all who is bandits,,they should shoot you in yuh mouth

Then reallybigfiretruck his gyul in teh back of his ranger :|

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » August 22nd, 2011, 11:32 am

Habit7 wrote:Derrick Chin set to lose millions in his Movietownes in Chaguanas and POS

like anyone really gives a damn bout he

Postby Stephon. » August 22nd, 2011, 11:34 am

Wait, no parties either? I scheduled to go transfoam this weekend :? :(

Postby zoom rader » August 22nd, 2011, 11:38 am

rfari wrote:

same thing i was thinking. dais nah the constituencies that pnm win last elections? :?

Can we please have PNM free thread !

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » August 22nd, 2011, 11:39 am

I love how the government in power gave these criminals a 4 hour head start of what was going to go down. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Criminals have TV, too, Kamla.

I wonder if Bayshore, Westmoorings, Glencoe, et al on the "hot spot" list?

trvs

Postby trvs » August 22nd, 2011, 11:43 am

The Proclamation and Emergency Powers Regulations 2011 giving effect to the limited State of Emergency signed by the President George Maxwell Richards on August 21, 2011

Read More and Download the Legal Notices Here: http://www.news.gov.tt/index.php?news=9025

Postby Stephon. » August 22nd, 2011, 11:43 am

rfari wrote:

Can we please have PNM free thread !

Then bye!