National Strike updates/ watch/ News

Re: National Strike updates/ watch/ News

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 15th, 2011, 4:36 am

geodude wrote:oo crap completely forgot about this, i wonder if my driver will come to work in the morning?
me thinks this will be hilarious

well is the police that resting.....the amalgamated prison van drivers should still be out so no worries there geodude.....they'll pick u up in the morn......lol.... :D :D :D

geodude

Postby geodude » August 15th, 2011, 5:28 am

^^^ but will there be police to escort my driver i doh wha be in traffic like alluh set ah nobodies :)

Postby Stephon. » August 15th, 2011, 1:17 pm

Work as normal today. Nemesis how's that strike going for you? What drinks allyuh runnin?

Postby RBphoto » August 15th, 2011, 1:31 pm

I see a few police out, riding their bike. They also responded to the little misshap on the beetham this morning. Guess they still working?

Postby redmanjp » August 15th, 2011, 8:20 pm

TV6 news say 70% attendance on average

gov't said it was a flop

Postby Stephon. » August 15th, 2011, 8:40 pm

National flop.

Postby Dizzy28 » December 6th, 2011, 12:55 am

Unions plan ‘big’ protest Friday
Roget: Alleged assassination plot a stunt
Published: Tue, 2011-12-06 21:00
Rhonda Krystal Rambally

The joint trade union movement is mobilising workers for what is expected to be a massive protest on Friday to continue the fight for better salaries and outstanding negotiations. The unions’ representatives are expected to host a press conference this morning at 10 am at the Communications Workers’ Union Hall, Henry Street, Port-of-Spain, said president general of the Oilfields Workers’ Trade Union, Ancel Roget.

He said the state of emergency was a failure and the alleged plot to assassinate the Prime Minister and three Cabinet Ministers was a public relations stunt. In an interview yesterday, Roget said he maintained the state of emergency, which was declared 107 days ago by Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar, was to prevent trade unions from campaigning for just salaries and decent wage settlements.

The state of emergency officially ended at midnight yesterday. Roget said the only people who believed the state of emergency was a success was Persad-Bissessar, Attorney General Anand Ramlogan and several members of “the cabal.” He added: “The state of emergency has failed, and failed miserably.”

Roget said the alleged plot was merely a distraction from the failure of the state of emergency. He said on Friday workers would meet at the Brian Lara Promenade, Independence Square, Port-of-Spain, at 9 am to continue their protests for better salaries and poor governance. He said negotiations for Petrotrin, T&T Electricity Commission, National Petroleum and Trinidad Cement Ltd and other companies still needed to be resolved.

“We will continue to have our street marches, meetings and will intensify our campaign,” he said.Meanwhile, president general of the Banking, Insurance and General Workers’ Union Vincent Cabrera said: “We intend to resume activities and make use of our civil rights.”

Postby ~Vēġó~ » December 6th, 2011, 6:13 am

I will be protesting next year.....

Postby S_2NR » December 6th, 2011, 6:56 am

I think a nationwide protest is needed now.
I for one would fully support.
Its about time trinis stop accepting poor performance from the government.
They are here to serve us at the end of the day.

Postby RBphoto » December 6th, 2011, 7:09 am

S_2NR wrote:I think a nationwide protest is needed now.
I for one would fully support.
Its about time trinis stop accepting poor performance from the government.
They are here to serve us at the end of the day.

You are being too general there bro. Unless you have a specific grouse, I would assume that this rethoric is what daddy is tellng you at home. I know what my beef is:

1) Health care
2) False information about the SOE
3) Running this country like a PR campaign
4) Nonsensical medians on the highway
5)etc....

What's bothering you?

Postby S_2NR » December 6th, 2011, 7:14 am

trust me i have alot of problems with where Trinidad as a country is headed but let me not start.. people would start saying i am "crying down the country and that i should migrate".

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » December 6th, 2011, 12:24 pm

faking stupid unions.

i hope a tidal waves washes them all away

Postby BrotherHood » December 6th, 2011, 12:48 pm

Was expecting this to resume along with other things. national strikes, marches, public meetings, protests etc. Wonder if a riot will begin to take place somewhere there?

Postby Hook » December 6th, 2011, 1:00 pm

remember, baighan, das d same man who say Trinis need to riot in the other thread...he eh really put a whole lot of thought into it

Postby RBphoto » December 6th, 2011, 1:47 pm

Hook wrote:remember, baighan, das d same man who say Trinis need to riot in the other thread...he eh really put a whole lot of thought into it

Oar.... Scene. If it was not for Anil Roberts, i would become a COP supporter at this point. I would vote PNM just to spite the PP for their ongoing PR campaign and lies about the SOE.

Postby Dizzy28 » December 6th, 2011, 2:19 pm

crossdrilled wrote:
Hook wrote:remember, baighan, das d same man who say Trinis need to riot in the other thread...he eh really put a whole lot of thought into it

Oar.... Scene. If it was not for Anil Roberts, i would become a COP supporter at this point. I would vote PNM just to spite the PP for their ongoing PR campaign and lies about the SOE.

No body eh deserve your vote dawg. they all stank. Go stain ur finger get ur 3 hours off and put in an empty ballot.

Postby Hook » December 6th, 2011, 2:50 pm

aye, we going off topic now...it have other threads for that kinda talk

I now get a msg abt some kinda "go fill up yuh tank just in case"...anybody with reliable info?

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » December 6th, 2011, 3:04 pm

No DIESEL in the port of spain Area, thats about all ive confirmed Hook

Postby TRAE » December 6th, 2011, 3:07 pm

stueps this again... why this never happen in the PNM?

vickyexp

Postby vickyexp » December 6th, 2011, 3:13 pm

RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:No DIESEL in the port of spain Area, thats about all ive confirmed Hook

just filled up diesel at Peakes

Postby RBphoto » December 6th, 2011, 4:04 pm

Been seeing the gas trucks lined up for a few days now like things moving slow.

Postby teems1 » February 13th, 2012, 12:24 pm

NP striking or what?

Level traffic by Medford's...

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » February 13th, 2012, 12:43 pm

Medfords was closed for a while last evening due to their gas running out.

Postby Hook » February 13th, 2012, 12:43 pm

you assume a strike cuz ONE gas station have a long line?

Postby Chimera » February 13th, 2012, 12:44 pm

i get quite a few messages bout strike so ppl panic buying anyway...

Postby Hook » February 13th, 2012, 12:45 pm

lawd faddah...I goin an buy a roti oui...leightrz

ironman2012

Postby ironman2012 » February 13th, 2012, 12:46 pm

no gas down by me

Postby teems1 » February 13th, 2012, 12:47 pm

Hook wrote:you assume a strike cuz ONE gas station have a long line?

based on previous evidence, that sort of traffic and lines usually only happens when there are petrotrin/np strike rumours.

Postby wagonrunner » February 13th, 2012, 12:51 pm

got a call aout the "gas shortage" last night.
however saw two tankers delivering gas within the hour of that call (last night).
even if there's a strike, delivery falls to the regiment, not so?
so why are folks still "announcing" gas strikes? and why are the other idiots flocking to the gas stations?