Re: Government Increases Age On Importing Used Cars

Postby Trini Hookah » July 24th, 2011, 11:44 am

Postby nervewrecker » July 24th, 2011, 12:02 pm

vrampersad14 wrote:Look ting if yuh interested jack

http://www.tradecarview.com/used_car/ja ... r/7536827/

I like the Fielder eh, dont get me wrong, its a nice car bout its too long for me & there isnt much aftermarket parts for it. I tend to like the smaller cars, the runx & vios are nice small cars with some 'pep in their step' :mrgreen: but sadly I might not be able to maintain one of those properly (at least so I think). :cry:
Plus a load of audio equipment in a car built for speed kind of defeats the purpose of having a lightweight fast-ish car.

I'd settle for a van so I can put my audio equipment in the cargo area but probably one day when I get a nice job i'd get a vios or a runx to play with :oops:

Postby Chimera » July 24th, 2011, 12:43 pm

ah want a altezzaaaaaaa

Postby Trini Hookah » July 24th, 2011, 1:22 pm

With or without the Asian guy?

NEILSPEEED

Postby NEILSPEEED » July 24th, 2011, 11:17 pm

Just so you know: In 1997 visiting diamond motors showroom to see the mitsubishi lancer i compared the fact that they had lancers with manual windows no fogs, no sun-roofs, no flarekits, while used imported lancers were fully powered, i saw the date of manufacturer tag (in 1997) as 1991, old stocks.
Ever wonderd why the same model car took so many years to change.Thank the foreign used dealers, they made new car dealers bring the latest models. Trucks 10yrs an under are allowed to be lic'd, cars only get 4 cauz they say emmisions concern. Jack essess!!

NEILSPEEED

Postby NEILSPEEED » July 24th, 2011, 11:19 pm

wat wrong wit 3rd party insured cars? only idiots need fully comprehensive insureance!

NEILSPEEED

Postby NEILSPEEED » July 24th, 2011, 11:22 pm

wat wrong wit 3rd party insured cars? only idiots need fully comprehensive insureance!

bump

Postby S_2NR » July 24th, 2011, 11:47 pm

is bump u jus bump yu own post they..:|

Postby SmokeyGTi » July 24th, 2011, 11:48 pm

yunno people talking about how much cars it have on the road but at the same time all of them own a car and ent giving it up for nothing.

I'm pretty sure that some of those bad talking the move to 6yr cars own foreign used cars as well.

Apollo Trinidad

Postby Apollo Trinidad » July 25th, 2011, 12:20 am

aight..so if i'm interested in this car : http://www.tradecarview.com/used_car/japan%20car/nissan/wingroad/7685860/

can I get it here myself...without having to go to a dealer?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 25th, 2011, 1:37 am

gracen wrote:I have no problem yet :| Some of the best cars (IMO) were from 2005

Madness.

Some of the best cars were from 1992 and up.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 25th, 2011, 1:41 am

NEILSPEEED wrote:Just so you know: In 1997 visiting diamond motors showroom to see the mitsubishi lancer i compared the fact that they had lancers with manual windows no fogs, no sun-roofs, no flarekits, while used imported lancers were fully powered, i saw the date of manufacturer tag (in 1997) as 1991, old stocks.
Ever wonderd why the same model car took so many years to change.Thank the foreign used dealers, they made new car dealers bring the latest models. Trucks 10yrs an under are allowed to be lic'd, cars only get 4 cauz they say emmisions concern. Jack essess!!

Exactly.

Its a conspiracy I tell you. Nobody eh remember when Panday did say dat how new car dealers were financing the PNM?

I am very disappointed in Kamla and Jack still. I was expecting to see some more 1998 B14 being imported in this country. It would bring down the peice of B14 and continue to make parts easy to get etc.

Where is the democracy?

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » July 25th, 2011, 6:20 am

This is so true. I remember when Panday gave the okay for Foreign used to come in, a Super Saloon B14 that came RORO had more frigging features than that being sold locally. RORO has opened up consumer options.

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
NEILSPEEED wrote:Just so you know: In 1997 visiting diamond motors showroom to see the mitsubishi lancer i compared the fact that they had lancers with manual windows no fogs, no sun-roofs, no flarekits, while used imported lancers were fully powered, i saw the date of manufacturer tag (in 1997) as 1991, old stocks.

Exactly.

Its a conspiracy I tell you. Nobody eh remember when Panday did say dat how new car dealers were financing the PNM?

I am very disappointed in Kamla and Jack still. I was expecting to see some more 1998 B14 being imported in this country. It would bring down the peice of B14 and continue to make parts easy to get etc.

Where is the democracy?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 25th, 2011, 11:39 am

^ a guy told me that back when foreign used cars could not be brought down into this country. 1992 and stuff around there That how the local new car dealers used to take out the AC and charge you extra for it etc.

He also told me he had to do artie around the sales man foot and lick his butt crack and nut sack etc just to buy a Corolla.

then came a wise man who said enough is enough and the consumers must have a choice lets open the Foreign used market. And while we at it lets abolish Tax on computers etc.

People against old foreign used cars but nobody not against bringing down Cheap 1996 Skyline and Mitsu EVO into this country.

Apollo Trinidad

Postby Apollo Trinidad » July 25th, 2011, 3:09 pm

Audiofreaks wrote:aight..so if i'm interested in this car : http://www.tradecarview.com/used_car/japan%20car/nissan/wingroad/7685860/

anyone :roll:

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 25th, 2011, 3:37 pm

lets look at this realistically.

A 96 Skyline or Evo will work quite well and will only need minor repairs like Ball Joints and bushings etc. Unlikely anything else will go wrong, maybe water pump?

Not exactly a road hazard considering we still have cars from the 70's driving on our roads.

Any car can last a lifetime and work just as good as a new car it all depends on how you take care of it.

Apollo Trinidad

Postby Apollo Trinidad » July 25th, 2011, 4:02 pm

anyone....someone?

Seeker

Postby Seeker » July 25th, 2011, 11:47 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ a guy told me that back when foreign used cars could not be brought down into this country. 1992 and stuff around there That how the local new car dealers used to take out the AC and charge you extra for it etc.

He also told me he had to do artie around the sales man foot and lick his butt crack and nut sack etc just to buy a Corolla.

then came a wise man who said enough is enough and the consumers must have a choice lets open the Foreign used market. And while we at it lets abolish Tax on computers etc.

People against old foreign used cars but nobody not against bringing down Cheap 1996 Skyline and Mitsu EVO into this country.

Is true...I old enuff to say so. Case in point N&M used to take out the a/c and the deck from the Blue Bird and say you have to pay extra for it. Real people do without a/c and deck in their car because their greed :evil:

Postby Trini Hookah » July 25th, 2011, 11:55 pm

Audiofreaks wrote:
Audiofreaks wrote:aight..so if i'm interested in this car : http://www.tradecarview.com/used_car/japan%20car/nissan/wingroad/7685860/

anyone :roll:

Yes you can, just would help to know someone that knows their way around Customs to give you an Idea of the duties and help you with paperwork etc.

Apollo Trinidad

Postby Apollo Trinidad » July 26th, 2011, 12:06 am

^thanks

Postby cinco » July 26th, 2011, 8:01 am

or go to the ministry of trade and industry and enquire within

Postby r3iXmann » July 26th, 2011, 8:36 am

cinco wrote:or go to the ministry of trade and industry and enquire within

nah dan..easier to have 2nrs do yuh work for yuh :lol:

Postby toyolink » July 26th, 2011, 9:20 am

All dealers have to wait for the Gov't to issue formal authority and until such time no imports as stated by the Minister can be executed.You can only do preliminary work.
Now long it takes for issuance of lic's is dependent on administrative and other processes.

Apollo Trinidad

Postby Apollo Trinidad » July 26th, 2011, 10:24 am

r3iXmann wrote:
cinco wrote:or go to the ministry of trade and industry and enquire within

nah dan..easier to have 2nrs do yuh work for yuh :lol:

yea boi dog boi.....I got a lot of useful information here on tuner besides yours :fist:

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » July 26th, 2011, 10:25 am

so can I bring in a ITR 2005 car now?

Apollo Trinidad

Postby Apollo Trinidad » July 26th, 2011, 10:26 am

thanks vrampersad14, toyolink & cinco! bless