Re: ***THE FARMERS CHED***

Postby X_Factor » May 28th, 2013, 7:13 am

fellas i notice a mealy bug starting to appear on some flowers plants
whats the best fix for them?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 28th, 2013, 9:12 am

try something called cypro...does smell stink as hell but it works.I use it on hibiscus and other ornamentals,everything dries up and the tree starts all over again.is about $20 or so for it...read directions b4 use.

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » May 29th, 2013, 5:56 am

Doing some planting soon, the land was recently back filled with a clay type of soil which I guess was previously deep in the ground.

Any tips to help aerate the soil?
Looking to plant avaocado, soursop etc..

Thanks

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 29th, 2013, 6:14 am

long time I aint hear ah fella wanting to plant avocado...gluk meng...

not to sure about the soil though.

Postby X_Factor » May 29th, 2013, 7:45 am

the best fix for any soil is organic matter
so get alot of manure and maybe even some sharp sand
plough that into the clayey soil and leave it for 3-4mths

geodude

Postby geodude » May 29th, 2013, 12:01 pm

so the rain push back my plans with the paw paw, seedlings into their 7th week already so this weekend come rain or shine they going in the ground.
I want to spay a weedicide on my beds to retard the growth of weeds so that the paw paw will get to a certain size where it would be safe to run weedwackers.
I thinking if I could get something that would retard the weeds for 4-6 weeks, but I want something that I can spray on the bed before I plant that will not affect the paw paw plants. Any ideas ?

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » May 29th, 2013, 5:02 pm

X_Factor wrote:the best fix for any soil is organic matter
so get alot of manure and maybe even some sharp sand
plough that into the clayey soil and leave it for 3-4mths

Thanks, this is what I was thinking.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 30th, 2013, 3:39 pm

geodude wrote:so the rain push back my plans with the paw paw, seedlings into their 7th week already so this weekend come rain or shine they going in the ground.
I want to spay a weedicide on my beds to retard the growth of weeds so that the paw paw will get to a certain size where it would be safe to run weedwackers.
I thinking if I could get something that would retard the weeds for 4-6 weeks, but I want something that I can spray on the bed before I plant that will not affect the paw paw plants. Any ideas ?

I may be mistaken about the name,but for controlling small grass like that I used agil or something so.worked well.

geodude

Postby geodude » May 30th, 2013, 9:28 pm

Shakes I asked around most ppl recommended Swiper but they said I should spray it to the bed atleast 10 days before I plant, right now I don't have that extra time so I just gonna plant and deal with the grass the old fashion way

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I727 using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 31st, 2013, 8:10 am

geodude wrote:Shakes I asked around most ppl recommended Swiper but they said I should spray it to the bed atleast 10 days before I plant, right now I don't have that extra time so I just gonna plant and deal with the grass the old fashion way

swiper,2 4 D....all those things are good but from what I understand they are used for heavy bush and well it takes time for it to work een..they are systemic.

geodude

Postby geodude » June 1st, 2013, 1:49 pm

So ppl I hazard ah extra crate of paw paw plants "red lady " variety they are going into their 8th week so they good for transplanting Any one interested pm me.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » June 3rd, 2013, 9:41 am

what is the best method to clear some land of bush to start planting..

my options:
wacker the bush, manual hoe and uprooting of weeds or burning. i am starting this saturday one way or another. dont want to use any weedicide/pesticide as i want to do fully organic growing.

i tried to get a backhoe to use the backfill to manually created my irrigation rows but i fedup of them making style.. so the previous BOs i called wont get my 1 acre project since they find my 3lot project was too small.

i am thinking easiest thing to do is to wacker everything, leave it to dry out a bit and then burn everything. but this saturday something gonna happen. tired of waiting for this one and that one. project should have been harvesting crops by now.

also interested in linking with other 'ORGANIC' farmers for trade/barter for personal use. do we have a forum/facebook page where we can organise and help eachother?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 3rd, 2013, 10:01 am

rocknrolla wrote:what is the best method to clear some land of bush to start planting..

my options:
wacker the bush, manual hoe and uprooting of weeds or burning. i am starting this saturday one way or another. dont want to use any weedicide/pesticide as i want to do fully organic growing.

i tried to get a backhoe to use the backfill to manually created my irrigation rows but i fedup of them making style.. so the previous BOs i called wont get my 1 acre project since they find my 3lot project was too small.

i am thinking easiest thing to do is to wacker everything, leave it to dry out a bit and then burn everything. but this saturday something gonna happen. tired of waiting for this one and that one. project should have been harvesting crops by now.

also interested in linking with other 'ORGANIC' farmers for trade/barter for personal use. do we have a forum/facebook page where we can organise and help eachother?

if you're going organic you can't go wrong with this plan...level diesel and gas.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » June 3rd, 2013, 10:18 am

One thing though, organic and pesticide/chemical free are two different concepts which people love to use interchangeably. A lot of seedlings produced locally and seeds sold are treated with pesticides so be mindful of that.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » June 3rd, 2013, 10:20 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
rocknrolla wrote:what is the best method to clear some land of bush to start planting..

my options:

if you're going organic you can't go wrong with this plan...level diesel and gas.

i dont even want to use gas to tarnish the soil :lol: but if push come to shove i might try to use it sparingly and leave the soil to wash out a lil before planting.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » June 3rd, 2013, 10:24 am

hustla_ambition101 wrote:One thing though, organic and pesticide/chemical free are two different concepts which people love to use interchangeably. A lot of seedlings produced locally and seeds sold are treated with pesticides so be mindful of that.

true.. when i say organic i mean no pesticides/chemical/hormone enhancements that sort of thing. but good tip ill try to source organic seeds for all my crops to be even closer to the natural form of the plants.

doo-bee-dan

Postby doo-bee-dan » June 30th, 2013, 4:53 pm

hey guys u know where can i purchase ph plus or kompat? tried a few places am in south

jramsarran

Postby jramsarran » June 30th, 2013, 9:49 pm

^^ where in south?

C&A Agro-chemicals and Hardware St Mary's Village, Moruga Road
Bissessar's Sando
High Quality nursery and by Laura San Francique junction...

neals

Postby neals » June 30th, 2013, 9:53 pm

anywhere buys mass corn? or do i have to stick to side of the road selling?

doo-bee-dan

Postby doo-bee-dan » June 30th, 2013, 10:58 pm

jramsarran wrote:^^ where in south?

C&A Agro-chemicals and Hardware St Mary's Village, Moruga Road
Bissessar's Sando
High Quality nursery and by Laura San Francique junction...

am in p.town..thanks doe! will try dem

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 1st, 2013, 6:38 am

neals wrote:anywhere buys mass corn? or do i have to stick to side of the road selling?

from my experience,"side of the road selling" usually rakes een more.you could probably check NAMDEVCO for more info doh.

jramsarran

Postby jramsarran » July 2nd, 2013, 7:18 pm

neals wrote:anywhere buys mass corn? or do i have to stick to side of the road selling?

check the ppl who you see parked selling int he side of the road bro...
most times they are actually buyers....srs...
i spoke to one in curepe abt a yr ago...was thinking abt planting some...bought the seeds...put it in the refrigerator and they somehow got wet...
i not gonna risk planting it out and they no longer viable...soo blehh...

anyhow...check them...won't hurt...

doo-bee-dan

Postby doo-bee-dan » July 8th, 2013, 10:13 pm

hey jramsarran got one question,is there any one solution nitrogen fertilizer with cal/mg and trace elements together or does cal/mg & trace elements sold separately? and u mix them together?

whats a good source of cal/mg & trace elements locally?

any good recipe for massive roots after transplanting?

got thru with the ph plus by bisessar's thx alot!

aliman

Postby aliman » July 11th, 2013, 11:45 am

got some hibrid tomatoes anyone interested 3735468

TUNER POPO

Postby TUNER POPO » July 14th, 2013, 7:25 pm

just a thought guys does anywhere sells "used" promix soil?need a couple feed bags for a project

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 14th, 2013, 7:42 pm

this place in Aranguez on the highway (not sure about name) you cud try them..^

also fellas,seeing some strange white flies on several of my ornamental plants...usually come out around 5pm or so...what can I use to get rid of them?

TUNER POPO

Postby TUNER POPO » July 14th, 2013, 7:53 pm

d landscaping placee???

Postby hustla_ambition101 » July 14th, 2013, 7:58 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:this place in Aranguez on the highway (not sure about name) you cud try them..^

also fellas,seeing some strange white flies on several of my ornamental plants...usually come out around 5pm or so...what can I use to get rid of them?

hit them a pesticide, I does use rogor on my plants, stopped now though since they flowering. If you want to go a more environmentally friendly way soapy water

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 14th, 2013, 8:08 pm

TUNER POPO wrote:d landscaping placee???

if heading west,located on the left-hand side of the highway..

@hustla...thanks man gonna try it...

TUNER POPO

Postby TUNER POPO » July 17th, 2013, 12:04 am

TUNER POPO wrote:just a thought guys does anywhere sells "used" promix soil?need a couple feed bags for a project